Disc Golf Store
Iowa City, IA 
Peninsula Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
-- / 282ft.   -- / --   -- / 282ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  The good, the bad, and the ugly

5+    7/15/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: Jonathan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout, proximity to Iowa City, no waiting for tee boxes.
Cons: Weeds, bugs, more bugs, and susceptibility to flooding.
Other Thoughts: The Good:
1. As a previous reviewer pointed out, the layout of this course is excellent. The first hole is wide open, as are several holes on the back 9. About half of the holes are heavily wooded, but there are clear lanes for your drives. Multiple basket positions make for a great variety of left and right turning fairways, short, medium, and long holes. If not for the flooding, the weeds, and the bugs, this could easily be the best course in the area.
2. The course is the closest course to Iowa City. From downtown Iowa City, the drive to the park is less than 10 minutes.
3. Because the course is so buggy and weedy during the summer (see below for more details) there are very few people who play at this course. I have never had to wait for the people in front of me at this course.

The Bad:
1. Because of its proximity to the Iowa River, about half of the back 9 is sometimes flooded. Since the flood a few years ago, I have not played holes 11-16 with any real consistency.
2. The weeds can get really, really bad at times. Of course, lots of courses have weeds. Searching for a disc that you shanked into the weeds is commonplace at a lot of courses. The difference at Penisula Park is this: A lot of the weeds are poison ivy and/or stinging nettles. So, if you have to wade through the weeds for too long, your legs are going to burning and itching for a while. Wear pants to prevent the itching.
3. The mosquitos are BRUTAL after prolonged rains. Once you get into the woods (which start at hole 2) you will be completely assaulted by the bugs. Will bug spray work? Maybe. Best plan of action is too simply resolve yourself to being eaten alive out there.

The Ugly:
Ticks. Yes. Ticks. I have never had a problem with ticks at a disc golf course before, but the disc golf area of Peninsula Park simply seems too rugged to get special treatment in terms of city pest control. If you don't normally use bug spray, I recommend at least putting some on your shoes and ankles to keep the ticks at bay. And don't forget to check for ticks afterwards.

OVERALL: If you can deal with the weeds and bugs, this is a great course. I would give a 5 because the layout is terrific, but the weeds, bugs, ticks, and occasional flooding cause my rating to decrease.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Wonderful Course

5+    5/3/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: XythAdar
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout, dual cement tees on all holes, wonderful signs though some have been damaged, multiple pin locations, requires well-thought-out shots on every hole. An absolute beauty of scenery as well as serenity. Course is never packed, and you rarely see more than 3-4 groups playing. Provides a great mix of challenging wooded holes as well as open long shots. Makes you play your best or suffer the consequences.
Cons: Bugs and nettle can be a problem after mid-April until fall kicks in. Depending on when the course gets worked on, can run into some thick brush if you miss your shot.
Other Thoughts: (Course was mowed and weed-wacked May 3rd) This is still among the best courses I've played. It really makes me sad that the usuals I play with don't appreciate it and have little patience with the bugs and weeds. Still, I manage to get out there once a week for at least 9 holes just to enjoy the beauty that one can enjoy while disc golfing. If you are in the area during early-spring or fall, or just are patient and have some long pants and bug spray, this is a must play course. I would even suggest making a trip to this area, as there are also 2 other wonderful course nearby, Turkey Creek, and Sugar Bottom, though these are typically much busier and while great, not quite up to the scale of Peninsula Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating.

1    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: xharkx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Blaze orange baskets, teepads are nice for the most part. Good mixture of open and wooded holes. Practice basket. Well signed. Multiple pin and pad locations.
Cons: Well. This course was flood damaged. So the fact that you couldn't play half the back 9 has no reason why it is rated at a 2.5

The overgrowth is horrible in this course. Full of nettles and all sorts of other wonderful plants to make looking for a disc a nightmare. Also it is by far the buggiest course I have ever played. I was doused in bug spray and throwing was still effected by all the bugs. Some of the wooded holes need some trees removed. I mean when you look at a wall of trees with maybe a foot in between the saplings it makes it pretty much a throw and pray situation. Some long walks in between holes. Missing some signs which could be due to flooding.
Other Thoughts: If you play this course wear long pants and bring bug spray and pray that is good enough. I am not local to this course. I have no plans on ever playing it again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Unique course

1    10/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: moehawks21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The park is very scenic, great place for a disc golf course. Multiple tee pad options is a plus.
Cons: The front nine is heavily wooded which makes it rather difficult and I can see how in the summer the bugs and weeds would be a huge problem.
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great course!

5+    8/21/2008   2/21/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of stuff to list: Great signs on every hole with all the info you need, some of the best ones in the area. Excellent well placed dual teepads on all the holes, with some of the longer tees adding a great deal of challenge. Mach III baskets are in awesome shape and love the orange color that stands out in the woods. Fair mix of short/long holes. About a third of the course is fairly open with the rest going through heavily wooded sections with large trees. Tests all skills in disc golf. Bring your big arm on some of the holes. The front 9 is very difficult due to the multitude of trees. Not beginner friendly. The back 9 opens up a bit more but more distance is added to the holes.
Cons: In summer months can have tons of mosquitos and the stinging nettle and weeds will drive you nuts if you lose your disc in the weeds. Bring bug sray and long pants and you are good. This course suffers greatly from flooding that takes place on a regualr basis. This course seems to always need repair/work do to this fact. Unfortunately that is what you get when it is placed so close to the river. Some elevation changes, but not as much as others in the area.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in eastern Iowa. Have played this course on multiple occasions and every month of the year. I love the challenge and fun this course has to offer. I no longer live in Iowa and miss this course! This course needs to be played and reviewed on! This course does need frequent repiar due to the flooding issues. When the course is in great shape it is awesome, but unfortunately that is hit or miss depending on the season. Late fall is when it is at it's best.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Pinto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is new with multiple tee boxes and baskets for all varying degrees for variability or different skills. It has great signs, tees, facilities. I feel its hole layout would be great in a few years. (See my Cons.)
Cons: I will not play this course again in its current condition. After the first few holes, you enter the woods. The woods' foliage was out of control, requiring spotters to see and mark where your companions' discs landed. Worse, the foliage was full of poison ivy and stinging nettles, which added to the aggravation of my group. The back nine was opening up again, however found it to be a tick-infested field. Due to nature, this is not a fun course to play.
Other Thoughts: I don't know the condition of the course post-2008 flood. I want to give it a higher score due to the layout, however I will never play this course again until foliage is improved, so rating it low.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.