Disc Golf Store
Toledo, OH 
Ottawa Park Share
Uploaded By: ejvogie Hole #17 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 286ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Short Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Discs from the Hood

2-4    8/10/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 98  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tees
2) 2 sets of tees
3) elevation changes
4) well placed tees utilize the the trees to create interesting holes
Cons: 1) Not in a great area of town (won't affect course rating)
Other Thoughts: Played this course from the shorts last year 1 time and played it again last weekend in the Michigan Ohio Border Shootout from the longs.

This course is fun. It's somewhat open, but there's plenty of mature trees around to affect your shots. Elevation comes into play on some holes, which is awesome for this area of the state.

The tees are set up in such a way as to create shot shaping to get around the trees. You've got straight, S shots, anhyzer and hyzer shots. There's quite a few mature pine trees that are gorgeous. They're so big that it reminds me of some Northern Cali courses that I've played.

The pro tees are even better than the shorts. If you're looking for challenge, you have to play the longs. If I go back there, I'll play from the longs for sure.

The only complaint I have is that the neighborhood isn't the best around the course. That said though, it's not that bad and it didn't affect my round or my feeling of safety while playing. Maybe just only play with at least 2 people and you've got no worries.

If you're looking for a challenging and fun course to play, this is it for the Toledo area. Worth traveling to if you've never played it. Other people have knocked it for navigation, but I didn't have a problem. Just pay attention and use a course map and you'll be fine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Toledo!

1    10/1/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
Pros: Dual Concrete tees and good baskets.
Very nice park setting.
Large trees throughout the course.
Nice length variation.
Great sign atbthe first tee.
Cons: Some of the tees are short.
Little difficult to follow the first time.
Holes not marked too well.
Can be a busy park.
Some of the stated hole lengths were incorrect.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park setting but can be very busy at times. I really liked the flow of the course. All the very large trees were great and on many holes were directly in play. Very good elevation changes on the back nine. Didn't have any security issues but understand the concern. There was a police cruiser in the park when I played.

  Ottawa

1    6/25/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: borisbecker475
Played: 95  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice laid out course.
Option to play Pro or Smokey Safari tees.
Skilled Shots to get around the trees.
Cons: Lots of traffic on the roads right next to the course. Be aware of the cars.
Ghetto on one side of the park!
Other Thoughts: Being a recreational park, there are many other golfers playing at the same time. Make sure to let faster or smaller groups play through (I was in group of 3 and the group of 7 in front of us DIDN'T let us play through!!)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Old Faithful

5+    11/18/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: Canis Lupis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained public city course. Grass is almost always cut and they do collect leaves in the fall.
- Beginners will find this to be a little challenging, but a great place to hone their skills.
- This is a hard place to lose a disc
- Lots of good people playing the course.
- Good mix of wooded, lightly wooded, and open holes.
- Relatively self-contained course. Not much distance in between holes
Cons: - Folks from the surrounding getty cut through the course without yielding to play. They don't like getting hit either.
- When playing for the first time, navigation can be tricky, but ask someone and they will point you in the right direction.
- Evenings can get crowded. Early morning/early afternoon should be fine though.
Other Thoughts: As a student at UT this is my go to course. I enjoy the distance and "elevation changes" here compared to Parmalee and Vienna. I have never had a problem with the bordering getty. There is seemingly always a cop sitting somewhere in the park taking breaks if you need them. Our tax dollars at work!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ottawa

5+    7/28/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: jbrock
Played: 656  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers plenty of tight, challenging shots. This will help you to develop your accuracy and let you throw big on occasion. The people are very friendly for the most part. Although it feels like the park is in a rough part of town, there are usually enough people their to make you feel safe.
Cons: This course gets a ton of traffic because it is the only one in Toledo, so be prepared to wait if you go during peak hours. You can usually play early during the week and avoid the wait times. With all the high traffic comes the litter. Trash cans are overflowing quite often. The course is on a main road, which opens the door for hecklers driving by holes 3-5.
Other Thoughts: Worth a trip. One of my favorite courses to play. It can be very confusing to find some of the holes, such as: hole 9. Follow the red paint on the baskets. They point you in the direction of the next tee. If you do get lost, just ask someone. The people there are more than willing to help out.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  All-around good

5+    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: aceofglace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners of the game and for the experienced trying to work on their shots. The short tees are fun and have a good variety of easy to moderate holes. The pro tees add a whole new perspective to the course with moderate to hard holes. Very laid back course and a great place to practice!!
Cons: The ghetto. While I have never had any problems and hardly anyone I know has, its still the ghetto. Also, if you are a beginner, STUDY THE MAP! It can be confusing your first time out but after the first game, you will find your way easy.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all skill sets. There are always disc sellers there as well that have great deals on discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/20/2008   3/12/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners to midlevel players, as it is diverse in its hole design and is relatively easy to play.

There are nice concrete tee-pads, which is always a plus, and each is clearly oriented with the pin you are aiming at. There are also two sets of tees for an added variance and more fun.

Good course design, no two holes are exactly alike and you must use both forehand and backhand to do well on this course. The pins are also creatively placed providing a challenge to find the best line.

Also, there are several disc sellers who frequent the park. On any given afternoon one may be there, and the disc are inexpensive.
Cons: It is in the city, so it is not the cleanest or most serene park ever. That being said, it is fairly well maintained.

The hole signs on the tees are sometimes wrong or missing. Holes are easy to see though, so it is not a huge deal.

Several trees like to eat discs, but none are terribly hard to avoid.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoy this course. The par is not easy, but it is possible to score well with a good round. Also there are doubles every week and many tournaments throughout the year. If you are ever visiting the UT campus, give this course a try. It is literally two miles away and well worth the time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ACE RUN!!

2-4    7/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice fun open course,mature trees throughout serve as natural obstacles and provide little challenge,I believe only two holes are over 300ft.,cement Pro and Am tees on every hole although not much difference between the two,signs on most holes,practice/warmup hole #19,great for mid/short game practice,with accurate drives every hole is a birdie/ACE oppurtunity,porta pottie in parking lot,appeared to be a well matintained park with all fairways mowed,hard to loose a disc,well designed course flows nicely and has good variety,can play 9 or 18 with ease #9 ends next to #1,
Cons: A little confusing your first time but you will want to play it again once you figure it out,there was large groups of casual players drinking when I was there(across street from Univ.of Toledo),I play in AM4 and did not find this course very challenging,park has a playground close to several holes every round I played we had to wait a while for people to move,
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to take a beginner,this course plays a lot like Fire
Fighters park in Troy, MI but the trees are easier to avoid,

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Only Course in Toledo Proper

5+    10/14/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun Course. Well designed, and the new painted prongs on baskets help with some confusing areas of layout.

Expertly laid-out so you can grab a quick 9 holes on your lunch-break. Holes 9 and 19 both end right at the parking area, country club style.
Cons: Can get crowded. Not in the best neighborhood, however there is no safety issues.
Other Thoughts: A guy out there tries to get money from players. He starts with "Do you know what time it is?" Then, follows up with a story about how his wife and kids are stranded on the highway out of gas, and he needs a couple bucks to go get them.

He's full of it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: Jgolferboy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short and far concrete tees. No two holes are alike. Definitely worth the stop if you're in the area.
Cons: Pars are not marked as of yet. Its seems that the far tees were recently put in, so pars should be posted soon. Had to search a little bit for a few holes. It would be a good idea to print out a map before hand.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.