Toledo, OH 
Ottawa Park Share
Uploaded By: ejvogie Hole #6 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 333ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Pro Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Old Faithful

5+    11/18/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: Canis Lupis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained public city course. Grass is almost always cut and they do collect leaves in the fall.
- Beginners will find this to be a little challenging, but a great place to hone their skills.
- This is a hard place to lose a disc
- Lots of good people playing the course.
- Good mix of wooded, lightly wooded, and open holes.
- Relatively self-contained course. Not much distance in between holes
Cons: - Folks from the surrounding getty cut through the course without yielding to play. They don't like getting hit either.
- When playing for the first time, navigation can be tricky, but ask someone and they will point you in the right direction.
- Evenings can get crowded. Early morning/early afternoon should be fine though.
Other Thoughts: As a student at UT this is my go to course. I enjoy the distance and "elevation changes" here compared to Parmalee and Vienna. I have never had a problem with the bordering getty. There is seemingly always a cop sitting somewhere in the park taking breaks if you need them. Our tax dollars at work!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In great shape

5+    11/16/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained by the city, always cutting the grass and collecting leaves.
- Fun open course with birdie holes throughout, mixed with some more challenging holes.
- Very hard to lose a disc, unless you shank one out of site, or into some high evergreens.
- They have added some dirt behind a few tee pads to extend their length.
- New Warm-up Basket located by the first tee.
Cons: - Sketchy neighborhood, but I have never had any problems.
- Navigation can be tricky for first time players. The 8th basket to 9th hole is not well marked.
- Can get busy during early afternoon 4-7pm during the summer.
- With surrounding tennis courts and playgrounds very close to the course be careful.
Other Thoughts: - Not the greatest looking course, but a great course to get a few rounds in without exhausting yourself walking miles and miles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/6/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good layout
-lots of deuce opps
-lots of mature trees as obsticles
-some rolling hills add to shot complexity
-no chance of loosing a disc
Cons: -in the ghetto
-hard to navigate
-gets crowded
-seems kind of run down
Other Thoughts: it's been awhile since i've been to this course, usually when i'm in the area i prefer to play parmelee or vienna. i here they have a good league in the area so i might be back up to check it out

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good gone bad

2-4    8/24/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice course with multiple teepads, good for all.
good mix of shots, I ended up throwing about everything but a roller.
Inside park so there are a lot of things to do after/before your round.
Tennis court and a playground and I think I even saw a basketball court.
Practice basket and bonus hole
Really liked how the little elevation was used nicely.
Cons: So when you get there, They have a sign about a litter problem. Also something about pulling the course?? But there really aren't many garbage cans throughout the course.
Navigation was a big problem, If I didn't take a picture of the map at the beginning with my phone I wouldn't have played it right
No numbers on baskets.
#19 is fun but could be bad as I was there one day. Three discs went into the road and Even seen a car hit. But not a big deal
No tee signs, a few holes had a little plastic piece on the pad that said the distance. But there was also a hole that said 212ft and was 350+
Other Thoughts: So there is a random abandoned house on the course. Would be nice to buy that and live there right? To bad I'd be divorced then

This really could be a nice course. They just need to work on a few things.
Navigation was a huge problem, have arrows or stones in the ground pointing the way.
Add numbers to the baskets, all of them.
Teesigns would be nice
A few garbage cans wouldn't hurt
The Shed provides scorecards
Wish I lived closer. the local league should get together or have some fundraising events to hook this place up

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

s'alright...

2-4    8/15/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Relatively challenging without feeling intimidating - good for beginners and experienced players alike. Makes good use of the many trees scattered about this open city park.

Long and short concrete pads were in good shape (although some were a bit short). The different pads really change look and line of about half of the holes, while only varying length without significantly changing the shot on many.

Mostly flat, with some slight to moderate elevation changes.

Nice, clean city park with no brush = low risk of disc loss.
Cons: Navigation was the biggest issue. Gets confusing around hole 10 or so, plus the walk from 16 to 17 made no sense. Had some difficulty, even with the course map. Apparently, some baskets were moved not that long ago, so red/blue spokes aren't necessarily pointing in the right direction.

Not always clear what basket you're aiming at (only a problem on a few holes).

Not an issue when I played, but discs could end up in nearby roads on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Decent, typical course, but certainly nothing out of the ordinary. Holes 15, 16 & 18, were my favorites, and I enjoyed my round, but personally, I don't see how this course racks up 3.5's and 4.0's. Nearby Vienna may be flatter, but is more interesting and offers more variety.

What's up with the 3rd set of distances posted under Hole Info? There's only 2 sets of tee pads - perhaps 3rd set is for temp tees for tourney? Neighborhood was a non-issue, and the park is pleasant enough (although the ride to the park goes through isn't exactly scenic).

Worth a round if you're in town, but definitely not "destination disc golf."
Only a few miles from downtown Toledo, so you can enjoy a bit of what Toledo has to offer without going too far - went to a Mudhens game after my round.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 MECCA***City 'Til I Die!

2-4    6/1/2012   4/5/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OK OK so to call this course "Mecca" is a bit of a stretch, but that's certainly what it felt like, trekking down from J-town to play. And I wasn't alone. Literally a hundred golfers there to play, and not once were we slowed down. The atmosphere was something to behold. Despite what other reviewers have said, the park was extremely clean and everyone very friendly. The holes varied enough to keep the course fresh, and there were two additional holes in for the doubles tournament that was going on (did I mention no wait?!).

***update***
Got to play this course on a drizzly Friday afternoon, and it was quite a contrast from the overpopulated sea of people I encountered on my last trip down.

I was able to get a better feel for the terrain and layout, and I came away impressed. Elevation changes and O.B. areas are the main challenges here, as this city park has mature oaks and pines and a fairly clean underbelly.

Concrete tees were in good shape and they had changed up a couple holes so the old cement was still around - a good sign that they are keeping things fresh. Dual tees on most holes, too.

Some darn good lines for a city course, especially as the course moves along. One or two errant throws and you will be paying for your mistake. I wasn't expecting such a challenge from the looks of things driving in.
Cons: It is kinda ghetto on the one side of the course, but there weren't any issues with that. Some of the tee pads were short. Not much elevation change throughout, although the last two or three holes took advantage of what was there. Not many hazards (is that a con?)

***update***
Main complaint is signage. There isn't any. There's a nice big sign at the beginning of the round, but that's it. And since the whole course plays through one big plot of land, there isn't a natural guideline to follow. I play with one of the locals who knows his home course very well, but without him I would be lost. There isn't even a distinction between pro and am tees, and without tribal knowledge it would be a pain to navigate.

Several holes nearly overlap. A few times you are staring at a group of people that look like they are aiming straight for your teepad. Again, without local guidance, I would've aimed at the wrong pin several times. (Actually, I did, but he corrected me).
Other Thoughts: I guess the course was just recently modified. Apparently the park guys went in and cut down a bunch of trees that made it challenging, so the designer pulled all the pins (except for three) and moved them to new locations. I wish I would have been able to play the old course, so I had a comparison. The holes were a lot of fun regardless. The grass was green and the sky was blue. I wish Cass Benton was more maintaned, like this course. Despite the amount of traffic everyone was having a good time and they should turn that boarded up house by 15 into a Throw Shop. Or a bar. Or both. Recommended golfing!

***update***
The extra holes were gone and that was fine. I would say Ottawa Park's sister course would be Begg Park in Springfield, MI. Both city parks that are cared for and are a step above the standard fare. Ottawa gets the nod here because of the local scene.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ottawa

5+    7/28/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: jbrock
Played: 656  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers plenty of tight, challenging shots. This will help you to develop your accuracy and let you throw big on occasion. The people are very friendly for the most part. Although it feels like the park is in a rough part of town, there are usually enough people their to make you feel safe.
Cons: This course gets a ton of traffic because it is the only one in Toledo, so be prepared to wait if you go during peak hours. You can usually play early during the week and avoid the wait times. With all the high traffic comes the litter. Trash cans are overflowing quite often. The course is on a main road, which opens the door for hecklers driving by holes 3-5.
Other Thoughts: Worth a trip. One of my favorite courses to play. It can be very confusing to find some of the holes, such as: hole 9. Follow the red paint on the baskets. They point you in the direction of the next tee. If you do get lost, just ask someone. The people there are more than willing to help out.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  All-around good

5+    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: aceofglace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners of the game and for the experienced trying to work on their shots. The short tees are fun and have a good variety of easy to moderate holes. The pro tees add a whole new perspective to the course with moderate to hard holes. Very laid back course and a great place to practice!!
Cons: The ghetto. While I have never had any problems and hardly anyone I know has, its still the ghetto. Also, if you are a beginner, STUDY THE MAP! It can be confusing your first time out but after the first game, you will find your way easy.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all skill sets. There are always disc sellers there as well that have great deals on discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/20/2008   3/12/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners to midlevel players, as it is diverse in its hole design and is relatively easy to play.

There are nice concrete tee-pads, which is always a plus, and each is clearly oriented with the pin you are aiming at. There are also two sets of tees for an added variance and more fun.

Good course design, no two holes are exactly alike and you must use both forehand and backhand to do well on this course. The pins are also creatively placed providing a challenge to find the best line.

Also, there are several disc sellers who frequent the park. On any given afternoon one may be there, and the disc are inexpensive.
Cons: It is in the city, so it is not the cleanest or most serene park ever. That being said, it is fairly well maintained.

The hole signs on the tees are sometimes wrong or missing. Holes are easy to see though, so it is not a huge deal.

Several trees like to eat discs, but none are terribly hard to avoid.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoy this course. The par is not easy, but it is possible to score well with a good round. Also there are doubles every week and many tournaments throughout the year. If you are ever visiting the UT campus, give this course a try. It is literally two miles away and well worth the time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    12/15/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: elahti
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great city course with mature trees on almost every hole. No two holes are the same layout, so many types of shots are required. A practice hole which doubles as number 19 is included. The practice green has offset stepping stones for putting practice as well. Two sets of tees: red for beginner and blue for advanced. The blue can offer quite a challenge and a much different view of the course than the red tees. Also, some officials of the TADGA sell discs, give advice and advertise upcoming tournaments. Some ace opportunities on 3, 5, 8, 13, 14, 15, and 17 if you can avoid some trees.
Cons: Its in a shady part of town so bring a friend or two and don't go after dark. First timers WILL get lost. Study the sign at hole 1 or print off one of the linked maps. The course can get crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! It was my first course and I still play it often. This is the TADGA's home course, so there are many tournament opportunities and the park is kept is great shape. The blue tees can offer quite a challenge to those who consider themselves advanced.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.