Toledo, OH 
Ottawa Park Share
Uploaded By: ejvogie Hole #15 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 bring cold weather gear

1    12/12/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: all of the holes are short and fairly easy. lots of trees for good obsticles



Cons: playing in 27 degree weather is tough. your plastic bounces more on the frozen ground so lay ups can be tricky

the group of people that i played with told me that you need to watch your back in the summer time. they almost were robbed last year. best thing is to go in larger groups.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2007   12/9/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Fun layout that gives you natural obsticals but at the same time dosnt make you have to alter the power on your shot too much. Mostly all the holes are medium to longer.

Course Maintenance--
I went awhile back and the baskets where brand new and every thing was in place, but I havnt been there in a while. There are concrete tee pads on every hole.
Cons:
Course Navigation--
There are no signs and sometimes its hard to determine where the next hole is or what basket goes to that hole. It would be a good idea for a first timer to print a map off this site!!
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
You kinda feel like your in the the middle of the hood when on the way to this course but once you get there you see its a nice park.

Hazards--
Not too many, a couple spots where it can be a little thick but it would still be very hard to lose a disc.

--This is a perfect course to hit up on your way to cedar point (coming from michigan or the east).

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Introductory Course

5+    11/22/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ottawa Park is a very solid course for beginning golfers from the red tees. If you're rated at or under 900, you'll find some challenge from the shorts. If you're higher rated, you'll want to golf from the blue tees for a decent challenge. The blues offer a decent challenge for anyone rated at or under 950.

Altogether the lack of undergrowth off of the fairways, and forgiveness to bad drives, makes it an excellent course to introduce new golfers at. Additionally there is an excellent pre-set Safari Route to play for a great challenge, a map is on the Links/Files page.
Cons: It is smack between the ghetto and the college neighborhood. This results in a lot of beer bottle buildup on the course. The trash is an issue, and bags are frequently carried during weekly leagues to keep it clean.

There is an issue with confusion between holes 8 and 9, where some players can inadvertently head for hole 10's teepad which is near 8's pin placement. Be sure to check the course map beforehand to get your bearings.
Other Thoughts: There are better courses around, but Ottawa Park is the only one in the city limits.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ACE RUN!!

2-4    7/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 83  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice fun open course,mature trees throughout serve as natural obstacles and provide little challenge,I believe only two holes are over 300ft.,cement Pro and Am tees on every hole although not much difference between the two,signs on most holes,practice/warmup hole #19,great for mid/short game practice,with accurate drives every hole is a birdie/ACE oppurtunity,porta pottie in parking lot,appeared to be a well matintained park with all fairways mowed,hard to loose a disc,well designed course flows nicely and has good variety,can play 9 or 18 with ease #9 ends next to #1,
Cons: A little confusing your first time but you will want to play it again once you figure it out,there was large groups of casual players drinking when I was there(across street from Univ.of Toledo),I play in AM4 and did not find this course very challenging,park has a playground close to several holes every round I played we had to wait a while for people to move,
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to take a beginner,this course plays a lot like Fire
Fighters park in Troy, MI but the trees are easier to avoid,

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Only Course in Toledo Proper

5+    10/14/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun Course. Well designed, and the new painted prongs on baskets help with some confusing areas of layout.

Expertly laid-out so you can grab a quick 9 holes on your lunch-break. Holes 9 and 19 both end right at the parking area, country club style.
Cons: Can get crowded. Not in the best neighborhood, however there is no safety issues.
Other Thoughts: A guy out there tries to get money from players. He starts with "Do you know what time it is?" Then, follows up with a story about how his wife and kids are stranded on the highway out of gas, and he needs a couple bucks to go get them.

He's full of it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Toledos Course

5+    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: AncientGill
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the fact that each basket has a mark pointing to the next tee and you don't have to cut across a fairway to get there.

This is the only course I know of that both the first nine and the full eighteen circle around and come right back to the parking area.
The holes are technical but I didn't have to spend any time searching through a bunch of weeds for my disc, its really hard to lose a disk on this course.

The 19th hole is a great place to practice and even a couple of vendors will offer tips.
Cons: The tee signs could use a little work.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: Jgolferboy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short and far concrete tees. No two holes are alike. Definitely worth the stop if you're in the area.
Cons: Pars are not marked as of yet. Its seems that the far tees were recently put in, so pars should be posted soon. Had to search a little bit for a few holes. It would be a good idea to print out a map before hand.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Split Second Decision

1    7/23/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: PNovak22
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We happened to be in the Toledo area one weekend happening to have our discs with us we decided to check it out. Ottawa Park was a very well laid out course with a great variety of shots. The course seemed pretty clean and everyone seemed to be pretty nice.
Cons: The course was kind of hard to follow for being our first time. We had to ask a few times to make sure that we were throwing at the right baskets, and a couple of time we weren't. Oh well, still fun i guess.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: ptsawyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, tight course, relatively short but very technical. Good variety
Cons: Maintainence is sometimes lacking, but has improved over the past 2 years. Could use improved tee signs. Course layout can be a little confusing the first time out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.