Plainfield, IL 
Avery Preserve Share
Uploaded By: WindyCityROCer Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket (as seen from the gap as the treeline breaks left)



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Hard to find, fun to play

1    8/4/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat area with some open space, and some dense brushy woods. The holes play into and out of the woods, testing accuracy on your drive or approach, and punishing errant shots. There is a creek in play on a couple holes, and it adds a cool risk/reward element on this part of the course.

There is a nice mix of shorter reachable holes, and some holes that leave room to air it out but still require control. The woods and surrounding fields were used well to define fairways requiring various types of shots to score well here. A couple blind holes added some extra difficulty throughout the round.

There were two tees on most holes, and the longer set of tees looked like they added distance and difficulty to the holes, and often gave a very different looking shot. There were tee signs at each short tee giving distance from both tees, and hole location. The baskets were in decent shape and caught fine. The grassy parts of the park were mowed, and the entire area was clean and felt taken care of.
Cons: The course is not at all obvious to get to. The closest parking lot is the gravel lot by the baseball fields, and you have to walk quite a ways to get to the first tee. If you didn't see where the course was from the road, it's not immediately obvious where to park, or which way to go from the lot.

The course was pretty buggy, make sure to bring bug spray. The tees are natural, and some were not very level or smooth. This made for poor footing in spots, and the long tees didn't look any better. There are only signs at the short tees, so if you're playing the longs you'll end up walking past the tee to look at the sign, then back to the tee (if you can find the markers flush with the ground).
Other Thoughts: This course is not very beginner friendly, with challenging holes and lots of places to lose discs. It's a great place to challenge your accuracy for more experienced players, and will quickly get you in trouble if you stray from the fairway. I enjoyed the challenge and the variety of this course, better tees and some signage at the parking lot would easily raise my rating.

If you enjoy a challenge, this course has some fun holes that will test different shots. Stop by here and play a round if you're in the area, but it's not a good enough course to warrant driving way out of your way to get to.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to find, Tough to play

5+    7/12/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: berserker333
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured and maintained
Decent quiet location
Nice water features
Accurate tee signs
Cons: Parking and location of first tee unmarked
9th Tee sign still shattered
Path to 8th Tee unclear to first timers
Other Thoughts: This is a very demanding course that will challenge your skills to their limit.
getting birdies are difficult and eagles are rare.
Hole 3 is ridiculous as a par 3 200' left u-turn.
Course seems to be homegrown as all the tees have sponsers listed.
This was laid out by golfers who apparantly put a lot of thought in to each hole to be a skill shot and not for chuckers. You be punished for underestimating this course.
If you have skills play on, if not, go to West Park and have fun instead of bashing your head into the wall on this one.
Park by the Baseball field parking lot and walk west along the north side and go through the break in the trees to get to the first pin. Pay attention to the signs for the next tee position or you will be hunting around a bit to find your way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This 9-holer

1    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 holers:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (The dense underbrush whether early on some fairways or late on others will add a stroke to your score if you mess up. Good variety in how the underbrush is used in the course design.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A (This course suits my skill level well. Some reward good accuracy, some reward good length.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Quite good, but a few too many holes start out wide open so it is more about shot placement, not shot shaping per se.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+ (The stream that runs at the back of the course is a very nice touch! You feel very off in nature on all the holes except the ones in view of the road - 1 & 6?)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Forgetable

1    6/22/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: braddrag
Played: 94  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some nice open shots
Cons: Hard to find
Confusing Layout
Other Thoughts: We had to drive past three times as we could not figure out where to park for the course. You have to walk across a field just to get to hole 1. Hole 8 is hard to find as you have to go past 2 and edge around a stream.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Garbage......

1    5/15/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 296  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2011
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: They have disc golf baskets!
Cons: Lots of sun, Lots of small thick brush, minor walk to the course.
Other Thoughts: I live in Naperville which is not that far of a drive and I was disappointed that I even came down to play the course. If I lived extremely close to the course I might like it a little better. There are too many other courses in the area to play that are way better. In my mind..... If I was driving by the course I might stop to play but other than that I wouldn't make the effort.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Avery Preserve

5+    5/9/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: Smoost4T
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Interesting Shots
- Mix of wooded and open shots.
- Favors both Forehand and Backhand players
Cons: - Thick grass
- First timers may be confused by the layout
- Metal junk by hole 3
- Parking is a 5 minute walk
Other Thoughts: Holes used to be missing from people stealing them.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Let's Play Two!

5+    4/10/2011   4/6/2009
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 119  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice mix of shots (left,straight,right)
* Healthy portion of obstacles
* Tee Signs explaining shot (ones that have not been damaged)
* Nice flow
* Played here many times and is never busy so a quick 2 rounds is easily possible
* Enjoyable enough to make you ant to play a second/thrid round
* Clean, vegetation well maintained and minimal littering.
Cons: * No tee pads, just grass
* Hole 9 tee sign shattered
* Hole 1 tee sign missing
* Long walk from parking lot
Other Thoughts: Hey, the pros definitley outweigh the cons. Play Hole #8 from the pro tee, it's a much funner shot than the normal tee and the normal tee for #8 is downright one of the worst holes I've ever played. So play the pro tee. This is a course that should be played if you are passing through or close to this area. Hop on 59 and also hit up the Shorewood course and make a day out of it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.