Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 2/2016)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Difficult Course with Epic Views

2-4    10/22/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tremendous Elevation Changes
Multiple shot types presented
Multiple Pin Placement (changed semi-monthly)
Relaxing Vibe
Cons: Very easy to lose disc[s]
Extremely challenging (NOT beginner friendly)
Hot in the summer (with little shade)
A few gaps in the layout in terms of finding next hole
Terrain can be tough to wade through if OB (some rough patches of OB)
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely one everyone should play, but only after they have achieved a decent skill level. Also, you absolutely need to play as a group and have at least one spotter. It is incredibly easy to lose discs on this course. (Thankfully for the past year the marsh is dry because of the drought so that saves a few discs at least.)
This course is a challenge in terms of hole distance, mandos, use of terrain, several TOW shots, etc. An advanced player will love it -- I just recommend that rookies avoid this course.
Despite all of the challenges, there are a few ace runs possible (hole 10 for example) even with a weaker arm.
The layout is largely obvious, but I do recommend consulting a map beforehand just to get an idea of what to expect. There are a few "gaps" in my opinion between a few holes so you may have to search a little bit to get your bearings. Overall though an excellent layout.
I am rating this as 3.5 based on my 2 experiences here. The more you play this course the higher you will rate it. That also coincides with your skill level improving too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Tough course, but fun

2-4    9/3/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Vandalfan0023
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.5 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has it all: uphill, long downhill, left-handers, right-handers, wooded, field, etc. There are multiple basket locations, which would make it interesting every time I played if I actually lived in the area! This course definitely challenges a player!
Cons: Being I played this on a holiday weekend, the entry fee was $15. For 3 people playing 3 9's, that was worth it, but a single would be a high price. There are multiple baskets in view on several holes which made navigation difficult for newbies and the baskets did not have numbers on them (see the Other Thoughts for tip). Quite exposed on the Front 9 which means you will get fried if you are not careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought this was a good destination course. If it's the first time playing the course since there are multiple tee locations, look in the upper left-hand corner of the hole overview at the tee. There is a washer with A, B, C, D, E that shows which basket location is being played. Took us almost 9 holes to figure that out! Make sure you bring hats and sunscreen on sunny days as you WILL get burned.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: prosmotter
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This course has a wide variety of obstacles. There is a ton of elevation change, so you gotta have up and down hill shots. Also have to be prepared for a trek. (not a stroll through the park) I am a mediocre player and i found the course to be very satisfying. I think it would be enjoyable for all skill levels.

This is a very scenic course located near a lake. Perfect if your trying to make a camping trip out of it, seeing as it is located on a campground. Also a good combination of technical shots and some long shots.Signs and flags on baskets for every hole, making it easy to follow. Also not very crowded.
Overall, i found this course to be very amusing, while somewhat challenging.
Cons: The course can get windy and has a few blind pin locations. Also its somewhat easy to loose discs if your not paying attention. There is brush covering a lot of the course which can swallow discs.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Fun and Challending

4/26/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: kwartz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging with a good variety of holes. Some wide open, some narrow through the trees, a couple across water. Friendly locals. Beautiful surroundings with awesome views of the lake, especially in the morning. Pretty well maintained and clean from trash I thought. Baskets and tees were in good shape. Great camping options for a day or two of disc golf.
Cons: The first few times it was a little difficult to find my way around the course, the signs to the hole can be hard to decipher, and finding the next tee involved a lot of guesswork. Also having to pay the day use fee ($8 going up to $10 in September 2008). But it's definitely worth the money.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I don't really consider hills a con so I didn't put it in that section, but if you don't like hills this isn't the course for you. Reminded me somewhat of DeLaveaga in Santa Cruz, but less crowded and less garbage. And less poison oak. Very much recommend it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.