Ventura, CA
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: OcDiscGolf Hole #5 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 270ft.   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tough course

1    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: surefee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice challenging pin placement. Elevation changes. Well maintained. Clean cut
Cons: Thick brush. Lost three of my discs. One in a tree 30 feet in the tree too high to get down and 2 others in the brush.
Can get very hot
Pay to play $15 on summer weekends
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ozzy Dog Review for Coyote Point-Lake Casitas, CA.

5+    1/1/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: cmoriarity666
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Difficult course with lots of trees, blind shots, and elevation changes. Long holes with great views of the lake. Store in the park sells discs and the market right before the entrence has a great selection of beer and discs as well. You can bring your dog but it will cost you a couple extra bux.
Cons: First timers maker sure to get a scorecard at the entrence with a map, some Tee's are hard to find for the first time. Very thick brush and trees which makes it easy to loose discs. 10$ per vehicle so it pays to carpool, and a couple extra bux for the dog.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    9/25/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: OOMAUMAU
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The views are great for SoCal. Elevation changes. Great signage with a picture of the hole from how you see it on the Tee pad instead of a top down view. Coarse changes basket locations monthly. Lots of signature holes.9 holes brings to back to the parking area. Camping right next to course.
Cons: Hot in summer, lots of campers, not much shade on front nine. Entrance fee to the lake, more expensive on weekends during peak season.
Other Thoughts: Avoid Holidays. Bring sun protection and good hiking shoes.Drinking water can be found on or near Hole #'s 6, 8, 10, 11, 13 and 14 in campground I, top of 18. Picnic table or bench on every hole but 11. Restrooms near # 1, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15. You might have to walk a short way.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A day in SoCal

5+    8/10/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: lion
Played: 493  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. I liked the fact that the course is like two 9 hole loops. This enables you to stock up on drinking and gives you a rare chance to use the bathroom again.
2. All the holes have multiple pin placements.
3. The concrete tee pads are good and have lasted the test of time since they were installed. There nice and flat and I didn't notice any dips, bumps, or inclines.
4. Nice mixture of elevation and hole lengths.
5. Course caters to right and left hand throwers.
6. There is some shade on the course and it's very welcomed in the summer. Nice to find benches around some teepads. It really helps with a few of the longer walks.
7. There are a few holes that have amazing views and have a chance for nice breezes.
8. Looks like maintenance on the course is performed on occasion and dramatically helps keep the course flowing.
9. Plenty of parking by hole 1!
10. Camping is on site and there are a ton of sites at Lake casitas.
Cons: 1. The price to get in is 10 dollars and that can be a lot if it's one person going to play a round. 15 dollars to play on holiday weekends is a lot and sometimes the course isn't even open on holiday weekends.
2. Some of the views from the teepad show multiple baskets and it can be confusing.
3. A few of the fairways can be crossed or are close which will slow play. (like 7 & 8)
4. A few baskets need signs close by pointing to the next pad. A few pin placements can make it confusing finding the next hole.
5. There are multiple holes where high grass comes into play and it can make it very difficult to find your disc like on the top of the world shot and others throughout.
6. With all the lakes I thought it was a con they didn't get used in the course design.
7. A few holes lack shade and really leave you out in the elements. We did notice a wasp or bee nest on one of the holes (10, 11, or 17.) in that area.
8. Need of more trash cans would be nice and drinking water would be nice if it was available especially since golfers pay to play either a lot.
9. It would be nice to see more bathroom options. The bathrooms by hole 1 are out of the way once you tee and a lot of people dont know of the bathrooms off of hole 6's teepad in the camping area. I also believe there is some type of bathroom by 15's pad but I don't know.
10. Small hike up the hill from teepad one to practice basket makes it feel like the basket is ment to be used after the round. Wish the basket was place in another spot. There was also some random graffiti.
11. The OB road on hole 14 wasnt really diffitive. Hole 15's brush was really high and hard to clear for the majority of players.
12. There was a few blind holes that could of used some flags on poles on top to help spot for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Overal this course is definitely one of the top 10 is the southern California area. This course is pretty secluded and since there isn't another course close by its hard to justify spending the entire day to get there and play at just that course. I wish the club would try to get another course on the facility or in town to really make it more worth coming out. The courses that have been set up in past years for the coyote classic were epic and I wish that this course would evolve into two 18's or a 27 hole monster. The store on sight isn't bad and if you forget something you might want to pick it up there instead of driving a long way out of the way. In the summer bring lots of drinks and a good cooler. There isn't really any shade in the parking spots by hole 1.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Classic California

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
12 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A course in the hills overlooking Lake Casitas. Just perfect terrain for a course. Lots of elevation, oaks and manzanitas. Nice concrete pads on every hole. Good signs that show the multiple basket positions. No repetitive holes, boring holes or gimmick holes. There are ups, downs and mandos to make you use all your shots. There are long holes, short holes,technical holes and let 'er rip holes. Great variety. I could play this course repeatedly, and never get bored. When you tee of down the hill on 1 it will give you an idea of what you have to look forward to playing. Just a really fun technical course.
Cons: $10/$15 to play a round.

The course plays very close to a camping area. There are multiple places where bike/walking paths cross fairways, and create some dangerous situations. I had to repeatedly wait for kids on bikes, or walkers to clear the fairway. In a couple cases it's hard to see tham coming.
Other Thoughts: I am not a fan of courses mixed in with other park facilities, but sometimes that's the only way a course gets installed. While the course itself is one of the best I have played in CA, the interference from other people spoils the fun. This course ranks up there with Stafford and Napa of the CA courses I've played. If at all possible the best way to handle this course would be to make a weekend of it and make use of the campground. Then you could turn a negative into a positive. Crawl out of your tent , and start throwing. If you like to fish or bike, there is plenty to do around the lake. That makes this a great destination course.

12 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/26/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: CubbieBlue
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, great course. Holes had plenty of variety of shots and distances. I threw every shot I had in the book. Only one mando from what I remember (hole 3?), but made a cake 100-some foot hole no gimme deuce. Hole 16 was spectacular too; sitting on top of the hole overlooking the beautiful park and lake and letting it fly to the basket, absolutely beautiful.
Cons: Very few downfalls, the only one I could think of was doing a better job letting the thrower know which basket to throw too. Quite a few holes are blind the only way to know which basket you're going to for sure is to run down and take a look around. A few holes need some markers stating where the next tee pad is as well. Even with a scorecard it is hard to locate the next tee pad off the map.
Other Thoughts: Great course, definitely one of my top 3. Has a great mixture of shots and just a beautiful view.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Big Disc Golf

5+    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite disc golf destinations. I love the elevation shots, the variety of holes, the broad spectrum of shots required and the locals. Fantastic scenery, serenity and fun is what Lake Casitas is all about.

One of the best tournaments and tournament courses around is at Coyote Point every year.
Cons: I think the layout is kind of screwball in some spots because I think it was designed with shots and holes in mind not necessarily flow. Also you have to pay to enter the park.
Other Thoughts: Not for the out of shape or non-adventure types. If you like throwing discs off big hills and watching them fly and fly then you'll have fun. If you like throwing through tight windows and up hills then you'll have fun. If you like playing in natural environments with laid back locals then you'll have fun. If you think a DG course requires park-like grass and perfectly manicured greens then you won't like it much.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeking out

1    4/16/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.2 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful location
Exellent use of natural terrain/obstacles
Good signage
Great elevation changes
Multiple pin placement
Cement tees
Camping on site
Great variety of holes--hyzers, anhyzers, very long, technical, water hazards, driving over valleys, elevation drop drives, and a couple of the most unique tee off challenges I've ever seen (Hole 3 for example...CRAZY!)
Not very crowded
Excellent downloadable map
Cons: Can get very windy in the afternoon
A few of the holes have blind placements and some were a challenge to locate before teeing off
Deep brush to lose a disc if you have an errant throw (definitely have someone ready to spot for you)
These "cons" are not a result of "faulty design"--just a fact of the area/terrain and you should be aware of it so you can plan properly
Other Thoughts: This is a great destination course as part of a DG road trip...
As said in other reviews...be prepared with water, snacks, sun/brush protection

This course is well worth the effort to seek out and drive to...

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 good course, not to difficult

2-4    12/4/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: easy to follow, change tees often, and good map. changes of elevation, and wonderful view. can by some over priced disc at store. nice practice tee
Cons: out of the way, and 8 bucks for parking, besides that, not much
Other Thoughts: good for pros and ppl with some experience. first time place when about 7 over which was average for a first round for me

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Coyote HOWLS!

5+    9/6/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: thrownow
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: On a stunning piece of land alongside Lake Casitas is the most attractive course in So Cal. They did a good job meeting the design challenge. Did they make the best use of the beautiful area available for the course? Go play and you be the judge. Good camping right alongside the course. Love this course!
Cons: Crossing fairways (7 and 8). Drives on #7 are too close to one camping spot. $10/car/day entry.
Other Thoughts: When I last played this super fine course, it mainly lacked only sophisticated tees to be a 4.5 rated course.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.