Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #12
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 273ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
the pinnacle of SoCal disc golf

1    5/21/2013   6/1/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent terrain for disc golf: rolling hills, big elevation changes
-design makes great use of the land available
-breathtaking views of the hills and the lake
-concrete tees, baskets, and signage are top-notch
-lots of signature holes and just straight up fun shots
-3 to 5 different pin positions on each hole, with indicators on the tee sign for the present position
-double loop design
-huge parking lot, tourney parking not a problem
-restrooms available, trash cans, benches
-general store in the park on the way to the course
-pay to play, keeps out the riff raff (per vehicle, easy to carpool and split)
Cons: -some areas of the course are very open and lack any shade, can be oppressive during the summer
-there are a few holes that have crisscrossing fairways, notably 7 and 8
-there are also many fairways next to the long downhill shots that would be subject to errant throws. while the downhill shots are awesome, one really has to be paying attention on those tees. the same goes if you're down the hill on the holes below.
-some holes are close to camping areas that may be filled with people
-navigation can be tricky without a map or local guide, a few tees are hidden from view from the last basket, no next tee signs
-SoCal drought conditions mean the water is usually dried up. also, being so close to the lake and not having a better water carry is disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Coyote Point is without a doubt the best course that I have played in California, limited as my experience is there. This course combines spectacular views of Lake Casitas, the Los Padres National Forest, and the coastal mountains with a fun variety of shots that make great use of the elevation and terrain, finished with top notch amenities: concrete pads, Mach 5's, and great tee signs that indicate which of the several pin positions is currently in use.

The course starts with a mouth-watering downhill drive across a (dried up) inlet of the lake. The rest of the front 9 plays up and down the rolling hills of a mostly open area but utilizing the few huge mature oaks as obstacles. Hole 4 features a steep uphill drive through a mando of arched branches and hole 5 has a great steep downhill drive. Hole 9 is another steep uphill across the inlet back toward tee 1. This completes the first loop and brings you conveniently back to the parking lot where you'll probably need to refill your water after all the steep hikes on the front 9.

The back 9 is more wooded and kicks off with a wild downhill tunnel shot. It's really tempting to run right at this hole but you'll think twice once you've had a bad rollaway or overthrow. Tunnels or low ceilings are featured on holes 10, 11, 13, 14, and 18, there are a few more open shots, and hole 16 is the signature top of the world shot.

The multitude of different pin positions on each hole is one of the biggest draws of this course beside the elevation changes. I'm not sure how often the pins are moved but the number of positions out there mean that you could return every few months and never play the same layout. The only drawback is that some of the different locations won't significantly change your shot, particularly on the open holes, but at least it changes the routine for the locals. Most the of the holes will not force a specific line since it is mostly open, except for the tunnel shots or hole 4's mando. LH, RH, and OH throws are all accomodated on many fairways. Dealing with the wind is also a major factor, especially on the open and/or downhill shots.

This brings up a few of the safety issues that could come into play here. There are some crisscrossing fairways, particularly 7 and 8, and holes near camping areas (again 7 and 8). Players on holes 2, 8, and 9 could be subject to errant throws from tee 1's downhill shot and 2, 3, 12, and 17 could be in the line of fire from hole 16's big down hill drive also. A windy day will exacerbate these dangers as downhill drives get blown off course.

Overall, this course makes for a really fun round with a variety of shots and distances in an incredibly beautiful and secluded natural setting. It is the perfect contrast to SoCal's many crowded park courses. Additionally, there seems to be a vibrant and dedicated community of local golfers who take serious pride in this course, keep it in great condition, and frequently hold great events and tournaments. This is absolutely a destination course and a must play for anyone in the Ventura/LA area or any travelers through SoCal.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local course

5+    2/5/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: DJMisterG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery & wildlife, there's a couple golden eagles and bald eagle that hang out in the trees.

Holes are challenging, lots of elevation, some tricky technical shots and a couple to let loose and bomb on.

Pin sets change often, and really change each hole drastically.

Fall /Spring/Wintertime is gorgeous weather, there's camping and a store for food and discs on the way to the course.

Locals are really nice, don't hesitate to ask your way around the course.

Because of the challenging terrain, not a lot of new players or young kids, people move fast through holes.
Cons: Summertime is HOT!

10 dollar fee, 15 on busy holidays to get into the lake.

couple of huge disc eating oak trees.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scenery and wind.

2-4    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall: located in a scenic, huge park with camping, boating and plenty of open space, an hour and a half north of LA, this really is the most scenic and complete course Ive played in SoCal.

Signature holes: #3 and #4 are low-ceiling shots that force you to think about disc and shot selection.
#1, #5 and #16(especially) big downhill shots that let you play with the wind, and really make you think about wind direction as your disc gets farther out into open air. #16 is a great 500ft downhill toss with a few different lines, I mostly went the big hyzer route that worked well and let you watch your disc fly forever.

Shot selection: As I mentioned above there are a ton of holes that force you to carve shots on lines a more open course wouldn't force you to attempt. A number of tees have trees very close and in front of them (#11!) forcing you to really concentrate on release points and angles.

Bomber Holes: #7 and #8 for anyone maxing out sub 500ft. of distance these will let you try and air it out as hard as you can after fighting your way through a few tight technical holes. Stress Relief.

Amenities: Camping, Clean bathrooms, Free water, tons of parking, decent signage, scenic views, aside from a pro-shop this course is pretty accommodating.
Cons: Crossing Fairways. Especially finishing 17 leading to 18 pops you out right into 11's fairway (head on a swivel) Hole 16 depending on how badly the person is throwing can lead to a disc bombing down on 3 if not 4 holes, and with the wind whipping around yelling FORE doesn't always reach the people down below.

Hole 10, short gimmicky downhill hole that is just as liable to punish a great shot as it is to reward a horrible one, I got a 2 the last time I shot this hole after missing my line badly but getting hung up in a low tree, not a fan.
Other Thoughts: Coming up from Los Angeles this is simply an awesome road trip, there is a market for beer/water on your way in. Bring some buddies as it is $10 to get your car into the park, but I wouldn't consider it a con, worth it if you carpool. Overall a great tiring day, hiking on the hills. Not a lot of shade so plan your headwear/sunscreen accordingly.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Hills

2-4    9/30/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2013
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course begins with a tantalizing downhill ace run across a steep valley, and things don't get any less interesting after that. Elevation comes into play on every hole, and many of the pins are located on hills to maximize risk/reward. On the 8th hole I landed 20 feet from the basket on my drive but took a 5 after two clanged putts followed by rollaways. It doesn't feel great in the moment, but good courses punish bad putts.

There are some pretty unique holes here. Holes 3 and 4 have challenging shots under arching tree branches that provide an unusual challenge. Hole 5 was probably my favorite, a left-to-right cliff shot that will really test a RHBH player's turnover shot. If your shot flattens out and hyzers, you'll be nowhere near the hole. Turnover too much and you'll end up with an unwanted roller.

Hole 10 is a short but tough downhill tunnel shot where going for the ace is probably a terrible idea. Hole 11 is a tough left-to-right shot along a curving road with plenty of danger to the left (once again, if your disc hyzers out here, you're in trouble). This kind of hole exposes the gaps in your game.

The last hole worth mentioning is 16, another huge cliff shot.

All the tees are concrete. The tee signs are photographs with all of the pin positions and distances shown. If you want a little scenery to go along with your round, it doesn't get a lot better than this: rolling hills surrounding a beautiful lake.
Cons: A couple times navigation wasn't great and took a little hunting around. In particular, finding my way from 8 to 9, 14 to 15, and 16 to 17 took awhile.

There are a couple places where fairways criss cross a bit, and while hole 16 is a blast, it really has the potential to be unsafe. You may need to throw well to the right of the hole just because of the massive fade you can get in the wind, but if it doesn't come all the way back you're landing on the fairway for another hole (#2, I think) where you won't even be able to see the people to yell "fore."

The footing on a couple of the hills, particularly on #1 getting from the tee to the basket, was a little shaky.

The flies were pretty bad here. No bug bites, just the annoying buzzing in your ear.

I obviously won't hold this against the course, but that lake sure looked inviting for a post-round swim. Unfortunately, it's a reservoir and swimming isn't allowed.
Other Thoughts: The map shows several holes playing over water, but when I was there (late September) the area was bone dry.

Some people will complain about the $10 park entrance fee, but I don't understand this gripe. It's a state park; that is the fee that everyone (campers, bikers, hikers, kayakers) must pay. State parks are usually some of the most beautiful areas and thus the best places for disc golf courses, so we can't complain when we have to pay the price of a movie ticket to play there. I felt like this course was well worth the cost and even came back a second time on my trip.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was the highlight of my Southern California tour. The park is a massive campground and activity center on the lake. I would love to go back and devote an entire weekend to camping, fishing, boating, and disc golf.

By the time I got to the first tee, I knew I was in for a good afternoon of golf. The first hole has all the feel of a signature. It offers a nice vista over the course from the top of the hill. The mountains in the background make a perfect backdrop. The shot itself is not overly difficult. It's a simple downhill through a large opening in the trees. A perfect way to start.

After a couple holes in the valley, the course works its way back up the hill on the other side with a tricky mando shot under an arched tree branch. The top of this hill offers another spectacular view over the course with the lake in the background. After taking a minute to soak it all in, you get another fun downhill shot on the fifth tee.

The rest of the front nine plays over fairly open terrain, ending back up the hill near the parking lot. This makes offers an opportunity to stop after nine if you don't have the time or energy for all 18.

The back nine is a bit tighter than the front nine, with a lot more vegetation in play. Line shaping on the back is key. Hole 16 offers a final signature tee shot with a long downhill.

Signage throught the course is great, showing all of the pin locations with distances.

Speaking of multiple pin locations, there are plenty of different layout options, so each time you return, you're likely to see a slightly different course.
Cons: There are a few crossing or very close fairways that can impede play a bit.

There were a few points that I had a little bit of trouble finding the next tee. Particularly hole 6. From the fifth basket there was no indication of where to go. After a little wandering I ended up at the seventh tee. Eventually I managed to backtrack my way back to six.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I had more time here. I only had enough time to get one round in. I would love to play this place over and over again. This course provides everything: chances to crush big drives, tight line shaping shots, uphill, downhill, etc.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Oh...The hole is over there?

1    3/12/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Navnetso
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful. The terrain is tough but not as hard to find errant Disc's as you might think. I like the challenge of this place. If you're not focused you won't do well, but the risk reward is great here. When most disc golf courses are free or almost free this place is worth the $10 park entrance fee. Lastly the people that play here are really nice, so if you play with a local they'll help you around and it's really a good time.
Cons: Poison Ivy. I'm not sure I wanna bring beginners to this place just because it's so challenging that I don't want them to become discouraged. The course is hard to navigate if you haven't played it before... However see the pros for how to remedy.
Other Thoughts: This site is one of the best I've seen for housing a large tournament... I'm hoping some more get organized.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 EPIC destination course!!

1    3/26/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
24 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: OVERVIEW: This course is grand on a scale that dwarfs human endeavor. One does not "conquer" Casitas: one survives it, endures it, and becomes a better person for having played it.

DETAILS: The setting is pure coastal California. Huge grass-covered (probably long & dry in the summer) hills, spectacular views, an abundance of nature in all directions. Nearby Ojai is an artist colony / tourist mecca where non-golfers can enjoy [fill in the blank - it's all there]. The course itself occupies a very small part of a very large campground / nature area that offers multiple opportunities for fun, including boating, fishing, hiking, and generally communing with the great outdoors.

Course design was probably a challenge: how do you fit 18 holes into a scene that it seems could easily support 36 without getting boring? The end result shows a lot of thought by people who know the game inside and out. You have uphills, downhills, a TON of mandatory shot-shaping, some uber-fun holes (#4 comes to mind immediately, with its crazy through-the-hole mando), and fresh surprises around every corner.

The day I played was right after a huge rainstorm moved through, which meant that not only was the course itself a challenge, but the gusty, swirling wind and residual water on the ground just added to the fun factor.

Mechanically, the course was perfect. Baskets in good shape, signage excellent (including really nifty pin-position indicators), concrete tee pads placed well, in good shape, and surface-rough for traction. One MAJOR plus was the benches at every tee - those hills enforce the need to take a load off!
Cons: The only real "con" was the trash cans, bathroom facilities, and water, of which there were not enough. Ten bucks to get into the park is steep but totally fair, considering the multitude of activities available for the whole fam dambly. (If DG was the only thing there, it would be a bit of a rip.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, you play this course and you know you've had an experience to treasure for a lifetime. It's not really comparable to any other So Cal course except maybe Wrightwood (or whatever they're calling that now) - an epic destination to travel to from wherever you happen to be sitting right now.

24 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

2-4    12/16/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.2 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety of hole types, difficulties, necessary throws, and blind / distant pins. Tremendous elevation changes makes this a very exciting course.

Good signage, altho when I played the pictures at the tboxes were a bit off, the placements were not all accurate, however the distances seemed to be.

There's a 'vibe' here. It just seems special, like nothing you've played before. Well, I had yet to play something as epic as this.

Even with a full course, we rarely had to wait or warn players we were throwing. Good use of the space allowed. I will say, though, they could probably fit a 27 into the area no problem.
Cons: Not the easiest to traverse. I had to keep watching my footing, granted I was wearing flat Adidas instead of something with more tread.

It's worth $10 (per auto) for someone like me; out-of-stater on the disc golf road trip. And whereas the cost was WELL worth it, if you lived nearby and played frequently $10 seems a bit steep. I'm not sure if they have a discount program or whatever.

If I had to dock this course a half a point, I would do so in the area of refinement. The course was all chopped up, very rocky, and didn't seem very 'polished'. Don't get me wrong it was fine, but, IMO, a 5 star course should be a bit more maintained in that respect.
Other Thoughts: What an amazing course! One of the best I've played....if not THE best.

My buddy & I got there at 1pm or so and still had time to play 36 holes. So, despite the terrain you can make good time if you're diligent with your throws and walking lines.

We met up with a solo player for our second round, and he was cool to throw with. People on CA courses are all friendly (420) and we didn't meet a single bum on our west coast disc golf trip!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the Walk

1    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety
Lots of challenge
Very fun layout over the hiils and through the brush
Not a lot of ground cover to lose discs in
Awsome scenery in a great park
The elevated tee pads on 1, 5, 16 etc are a blast!
Cons: $10 day use fee
Course not marked on the main park map
Kinda poor directions to the parking area (ok yeah this ones a little nit-picky)
No swimming in the lake!? Ok I get it - this is a water supply resivour but really? The gas and oil mixed in the water from all the boats does not do damage? The bodily fluid mixing from the local wildlife is not detrimental? There's no water treatment regimine before drinking? (Sorry for the rant, I know it has nothing to do with DG, but this seems silly)
Other Thoughts: This has to be a destination course to play for anyone visting the area. Definitely one of the best I've played. I can see how this could get crowded on the weekend but I played on a Wednesday in August when it was 105 out. Only two other groups on the course the entire round.

Some tips:
Don't think you can park at the gate and walk in to skip the $10 fee (not that I tried and got a half mile in before realizing how big the park is and went back and happily paid the fee). It's 3 miles from the gate to the parking area.

The hole layout maps at each tee pad have a small washer on the upper left corner. The letter at the 12 o'clock position is the basket in play. (I know now that this is common practice but did not until I finished my round and a local clued me in).

If playing in the summer bring a water bottle! The store mentioned in the description is closed. There is a bait and tackle store over by the other boat ramp though (turn left as you get in the gate rather than right).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course/More Challenging Terrain!

1    4/2/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2012
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start with, this is just a wonderful piece of ground to have a course. The views are lovely with the lake alway present in the near distance. Epic "Top of The World" holes especially # 16, 508' staight downhill. There is elevation to contend with on almost every hole. Like mentioned before, even the shorter, so called easier holes, all have some element which adds to the degree of difficulty. This happens in the form of low lying branches which you must throw under, extreme elevation gain or loss, or right or left turns or in one case, nothing more than a long, straight, extremely tight tunnel type shot. I feel, while the course is a challenge for sure, the more challenging aspect was the grueling terrain. I was dog tired with about 5 holes to go. Playing two or three tournament rounds here in one day would be a grueling event physically. The signs are excellent with 3-4 basket placements for each hole. They are indicated on the signs with a washer with A, B, C, or D on it. Unfortunately, one or two washers were dialed to the wrong letter leaving me and my spotter wife slightly confused at times. My hats off to the designers of Coyote Point. I haven't played many courses where I was more impressed with the course variety and overall, general flow and ebb of the course.
Cons: I think of the general up and down terrain as a Con as well as a Pro. When you pay $10 to get into the park, I think most players would like to play multiple rounds. I played on an extremely comfortable day, temperature wise, and I would have needed some lag time to regroup before challenging it again. It's not a course one could play alone. Spotters are most helpful. It certainly isn't somewhere to teach someone the game.
Other Thoughts: This is a destination course! It's absolutely one of the best designs that I've encountered. It's a tremendous challenge, both to your disc golf abilities as well as your physical stamina. Bring water! Bring your power drink! Bring a lunch for between your rounds! Play in a group to help so you have some spotters. I would feel pretty confident stating that this is one of California's top courses.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.