Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #9
3 / 266ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 coyote rocks

2-4    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: beautiful views nice park camp grounds many variations per hole it is super fun
Cons: high winds in the afternoon many spots to loose plastic look out for rattlesnakes on hot days $8 day fee $10 on weekends
Other Thoughts: this is a great place to take the fam some bros the boat a tent and stay a couple of days

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Course

1    5/28/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Crazy elevation (holes 1, 9 and 16 were my favorites), beautiful natural setting, well-marked and maintained course with multiple pin placements that are rotated regularly.
Cons: There is a fee per vehicle to enter the faciility - bring a carful of friends to make it more cost effective. Pretty far from the interstate along a windy, twisting two-lane highway into the mountains. Wind, particularly in the afternoon, is a serious problem, and make many of the holes extremely difficult. Loss of discs is highly likely. There is a real possibility of running into rattlesnakes and mountain lions. Sunscreen and water are absolute musts. Wear good shoes and bring a hat.
Other Thoughts: A magnificent DG experience. There is camping and lots of other outdoor recreation there (including a kiddie water park) - imagine taking the family camping and getting in 36 holes every day you're there.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeking out

1    4/16/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful location
Exellent use of natural terrain/obstacles
Good signage
Great elevation changes
Multiple pin placement
Cement tees
Camping on site
Great variety of holes--hyzers, anhyzers, very long, technical, water hazards, driving over valleys, elevation drop drives, and a couple of the most unique tee off challenges I've ever seen (Hole 3 for example...CRAZY!)
Not very crowded
Excellent downloadable map
Cons: Can get very windy in the afternoon
A few of the holes have blind placements and some were a challenge to locate before teeing off
Deep brush to lose a disc if you have an errant throw (definitely have someone ready to spot for you)
These "cons" are not a result of "faulty design"--just a fact of the area/terrain and you should be aware of it so you can plan properly
Other Thoughts: This is a great destination course as part of a DG road trip...
As said in other reviews...be prepared with water, snacks, sun/brush protection

This course is well worth the effort to seek out and drive to...

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    1/20/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Beautiful Course
Great Layout (Front and Back Nine End at Parking Lot)
Great Amenities
Amazing Location
Very Challenging
Great Elevations Changes
Nice Teepads
Multiple Pin Placements (Four Per Hole)
Camping Right Beside Course
General Store in the Park
Nearly Every Shot in the Bag Will Be Used
Amazing Tee Signs (Some of the Best I have Seen)
Best Mandos in the Game (Only One I Have Like)
Restrooms and Fountain near First Tee
Ample Parking
Great Locals
Pin Positions Are Changed Regularly
Benches at Nearly Every Tee
Trashcans and Recycling Bins on Course
Cons:
*There aren't really any cons, but these improvements would make it a truly 5 disc course.

Longer Tee Pads
Some "Next Tee" Signs In A Couple Of Places
Some Fairways/Path to Next Tee Cross Each Other



Other Thoughts:
This course, located near Ventura, CA, in Lake Casitas Recreation area, is probably the best course that I have played so far. Very challenging, but even if your score is awful, you won't care. The scenery is beautiful and the layout is amazing. The great elevation changes, well placed tees, mature trees (that seem to be perfectly placed), and water hazards are just some of the things that make this course the best I have played.

Once you get to the park you will need to go to the entrance booth and pay the entrance fee, it was $8.00 per car when we were there, that was in January. This may seem expensive to some, but trust me it is well worth it. I would have very well payed double just for myself to play the course. There are also many other amenities in the park as well, making the entrance fee justified. Once you get through the entrance station take the road to the right, and follow it until it dead-ends into the large parking lot, about 2 miles. The first tee is located near the back of the parking lot, the side furthest from lake.

The course is challening right from the beginning. Hole 1 is a long downhill shot, over a little cove of the lake. This was dry while we were there, but I could see it being a real issue if the water level was up. For the terrain that you are playing through I would say that the course is fairly easy to navigate. There is a great course map, so with that you should have no problems getting through the course.

Each hole has only one tee pad, but multiple pin positions. Not only does each position change the distance, in most cases can change the hole drastically keeping the course fresh each time you play. The locals change the positions pretty frequently and have a great washer sytem on each tee sign indicating which placement each hole is in.

I mentioned the terrain above, it can really be a work out. There are steep elevation changes, and the course can be very hot, dry, and dusty, so bring plenty of water, and snacks, and be prepared to hike. The course also has some undergrowth, bushes, and trees, all can easily hide discs. Your best bet is to try to have someone spotting for you when you throw. This would be especially helpful on some of the holes with huge elevation changes, the discs can get into the wind and fly what seems like forever, if you don't keep an eye on it, you could be looking for a while. All of that said, don't let any of that deter you, this really is an amazing course.

The park itself has many other amenities. There are multiple campgrounds in the park and you can camp literally right next to the course. Obviously there is also a lake, Lake Casitas, so fishing and boating is available, but being a source of drinking water they do not allow swimming or pets in the lake. There is also a general store up the park road from the course, and they have just about everything you could think of and some you can't, from camping supplies to discs to snacks.

As I stated before this is the best course I have played so far, and the only con that I can really think of is that it's completely across the coutry. I can't wait to get back to the west coast to play this course, its a must play, even if you have to drive 2400 miles to play it like I did.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Tough and scenic course

2-4    5/18/2008   5/4/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes fantastic use of the terrain and foliage on the land here. Holes play up and down hills that range from easy slopes to very steep shots. The course was designed with a great variety of shots, and will make you pull out every shot in your bag. There is a nice mix of holes where accuracy is key, and holes where you pull out a driver and rip it, and this keeps the round interesting throughout.

The tees are nice concrete and seemed well maintained. The signs are well-kept, and easy to follow to the variety of pin positions. The various placements seemed designed to really change up the holes, rather than simply adding length to a very similar shot.

This course is very tough, but very enjoyable. It is clear that there is a significant amount of maintenance done, but that care is taken to preserve the wild vegetation and the natural beauty. Many holes have excellent views of the lake and the surrounding hills.
Cons: This course can get hot and dusty, make sure to bring lots of water. There are a few places where losing discs was a strong possibility, especially near the water (no swimming allowed). A couple holes play too near a campsite, and sometimes campers wander onto the fairways. The cost is a little high if playing solo, but not too bad if you split it up with a group (all in one car).
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course with myriad challenges. One of the most scenic courses I've played, and also one that really made me think about every shot. The variety of different types of holes and different pin positions make this a course that will present new challenges every time you play. Make sure to wear sturdy walking shoes, and you'll definitely enjoy this course!

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Course

5+    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: LHSharpie5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation changes and natural obstacles create a very challenging course that forces the player to utilize many different types of shots. Located on the banks of beautiful Lake Casitas, there are picturesque views on just about every hole. An underrated quality of the course is how quiet it usually is (especially Monday through Friday) as compared to courses in some city parks where you have traffic noise or other distractions. All holes have signage with different pin positions and measurements and for the most part I have found the course easy to navigate. Beautiful oak trees are found throughout the course providing challenging obstacles and a very cool through the tree mandy on #4. On the road to the course there is a nice store where you can buy discs or refreshments.
Cons: Pay to play. Fees to enter the park are $10 on weekdays, $15 on weekends, or $100 for an annual pass. While this might seem a little steep, I find it a small price to pay for a great day of disc golf. Course is very hilly at some parts and may be a bit of a hike for some players. Springtime brings lots of tall grass on many of the holes and finding a disc can be challenging (definitely speaking from experience on this one). Beware of rattlesnakes during the hotter months.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/28/2011   4/21/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only course in Southern California that combines stunning views and exotic terrain with excellent signs, longer holes and cement tee pads.

Mostly wide open with some wooded holes, with varied amounts of elevation changes ranging from flat to extreme.

Some flatter and shorter wooded holes that reward precision on the back nine, such as Holes 10,11, 13 and 14.

Hole 16 is exceptional with a tee overlooking a 600' hill. Hole 5 is similar, with an elevated tee over several large trees (candidate for 'best thumber hole'). Hole 7 is a slightly elevated tee through a small opening, leading 500+ feet to Lake Casitas that is also a favorite. Also has multiple basket placement.

Probably the best overall course in SoCal, with several unforgettable epic holes (1, 5, 7, 12, 16).
Cons: Not many cons here. With a $10-15 fee, it's one of the more expensive places to play.

Very hot on 4/19/09 (100+ degrees F). A couple of crossing fairways and mandatories (no need for mandys in this space), such as Holes 3 and 4.

Lots of thick brush to lose discs in (this was less of an issue when played in 2010).

Isolated location with little shade, lots of water a must.
Other Thoughts: A fabulous all-around course, with elevation (both up and down), tech and plenty of grip-and-rip holes. Increased precipitation and grass growth in the last couple of years (along with improved maintenance) has improved the course, making it far and away the best in the area.

Hiking boots or other rugged footware is recommended.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good course, not to difficult

2-4    12/4/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: easy to follow, change tees often, and good map. changes of elevation, and wonderful view. can by some over priced disc at store. nice practice tee
Cons: out of the way, and 8 bucks for parking, besides that, not much
Other Thoughts: good for pros and ppl with some experience. first time place when about 7 over which was average for a first round for me

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Updating Review

5+    9/20/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays right next to Lake Casitas and eventhough the water level is down a bit, this is some of the best scenery you will find playing disc golf. The course is quite challenging and offers a lot of variety. There is a good mix of wide open holes, tight fairways, righty holes, lefty holes, uphill holes and downhill holes. When the baskets are in their long placements, you better hope you brought your "man arm" because the length adds another challenging dimension. Overall, there are a lot of fun and interesting holes you don't see at most park courses. They also do a good job of moving around basket placements with great new tee signs showing all of the possible locations. The local club is very active and takes great care of the course. You get the feel that they are constantly trying to improve this course (i.e. adding new basket placements, tee signs, tournaments).
Cons: Better bring your hiking boots and water! The course is very long and rugged. Given high summer temperatures and little shade, exhaustion could be a factor. Beware of poison oak and rattlesnakes as you look for your discs. The day use fee for the park is $15 now.
Other Thoughts: I recently re-read my original review for this course and realized I did not do it justice with my rating and review. The more I play Coyote Point, the greater appreciation I get for this wonderful course. This course presents a new challenge every time I come out. As my game has improved over this past year, it has been fun to see if I can rise to those challenges. This is a definite must play if you are in the area.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Coyote HOWLS!

5+    9/6/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: thrownow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 39.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: On a stunning piece of land alongside Lake Casitas is the most attractive course in So Cal. They did a good job meeting the design challenge. Did they make the best use of the beautiful area available for the course? Go play and you be the judge. Good camping right alongside the course. Love this course!
Cons: Crossing fairways (7 and 8). Drives on #7 are too close to one camping spot. $10/car/day entry.
Other Thoughts: When I last played this super fine course, it mainly lacked only sophisticated tees to be a 4.5 rated course.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.