Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: Ventura_Tom Hole #8
3 / 282ft.   3 / 399ft. Par / Distance:
View of Lake Casitas from behind Basket 8



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
the pinnacle of SoCal disc golf

1    5/21/2013   6/1/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent terrain for disc golf: rolling hills, big elevation changes
-design makes great use of the land available
-breathtaking views of the hills and the lake
-concrete tees, baskets, and signage are top-notch
-lots of signature holes and just straight up fun shots
-3 to 5 different pin positions on each hole, with indicators on the tee sign for the present position
-double loop design
-huge parking lot, tourney parking not a problem
-restrooms available, trash cans, benches
-general store in the park on the way to the course
-pay to play, keeps out the riff raff (per vehicle, easy to carpool and split)
Cons: -some areas of the course are very open and lack any shade, can be oppressive during the summer
-there are a few holes that have crisscrossing fairways, notably 7 and 8
-there are also many fairways next to the long downhill shots that would be subject to errant throws. while the downhill shots are awesome, one really has to be paying attention on those tees. the same goes if you're down the hill on the holes below.
-some holes are close to camping areas that may be filled with people
-navigation can be tricky without a map or local guide, a few tees are hidden from view from the last basket, no next tee signs
-SoCal drought conditions mean the water is usually dried up. also, being so close to the lake and not having a better water carry is disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Coyote Point is without a doubt the best course that I have played in California, limited as my experience is there. This course combines spectacular views of Lake Casitas, the Los Padres National Forest, and the coastal mountains with a fun variety of shots that make great use of the elevation and terrain, finished with top notch amenities: concrete pads, Mach 5's, and great tee signs that indicate which of the several pin positions is currently in use.

The course starts with a mouth-watering downhill drive across a (dried up) inlet of the lake. The rest of the front 9 plays up and down the rolling hills of a mostly open area but utilizing the few huge mature oaks as obstacles. Hole 4 features a steep uphill drive through a mando of arched branches and hole 5 has a great steep downhill drive. Hole 9 is another steep uphill across the inlet back toward tee 1. This completes the first loop and brings you conveniently back to the parking lot where you'll probably need to refill your water after all the steep hikes on the front 9.

The back 9 is more wooded and kicks off with a wild downhill tunnel shot. It's really tempting to run right at this hole but you'll think twice once you've had a bad rollaway or overthrow. Tunnels or low ceilings are featured on holes 10, 11, 13, 14, and 18, there are a few more open shots, and hole 16 is the signature top of the world shot.

The multitude of different pin positions on each hole is one of the biggest draws of this course beside the elevation changes. I'm not sure how often the pins are moved but the number of positions out there mean that you could return every few months and never play the same layout. The only drawback is that some of the different locations won't significantly change your shot, particularly on the open holes, but at least it changes the routine for the locals. Most the of the holes will not force a specific line since it is mostly open, except for the tunnel shots or hole 4's mando. LH, RH, and OH throws are all accomodated on many fairways. Dealing with the wind is also a major factor, especially on the open and/or downhill shots.

This brings up a few of the safety issues that could come into play here. There are some crisscrossing fairways, particularly 7 and 8, and holes near camping areas (again 7 and 8). Players on holes 2, 8, and 9 could be subject to errant throws from tee 1's downhill shot and 2, 3, 12, and 17 could be in the line of fire from hole 16's big down hill drive also. A windy day will exacerbate these dangers as downhill drives get blown off course.

Overall, this course makes for a really fun round with a variety of shots and distances in an incredibly beautiful and secluded natural setting. It is the perfect contrast to SoCal's many crowded park courses. Additionally, there seems to be a vibrant and dedicated community of local golfers who take serious pride in this course, keep it in great condition, and frequently hold great events and tournaments. This is absolutely a destination course and a must play for anyone in the Ventura/LA area or any travelers through SoCal.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you like Wrightwood ...

1    4/20/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: xuaeded
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: You'll love casitas. It is a challenging course. It will demand your full attention and stamina. Has a shot for every disc in your bag (and then some). Top of the world shot is one of the best.
Cons: Campers might get in the way, depending on how polite they are. There are many "tree caves", like Sylmar hole 10.
Other Thoughts: Eat a full breakfast. Bring water. Wear high socks or pants. You will be walking through the haggard weeds. Back straps are better than shoulder straps for this terrain. Small pro shop in park store. They have beer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Local course

5+    2/5/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: DJMisterG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery & wildlife, there's a couple golden eagles and bald eagle that hang out in the trees.

Holes are challenging, lots of elevation, some tricky technical shots and a couple to let loose and bomb on.

Pin sets change often, and really change each hole drastically.

Fall /Spring/Wintertime is gorgeous weather, there's camping and a store for food and discs on the way to the course.

Locals are really nice, don't hesitate to ask your way around the course.

Because of the challenging terrain, not a lot of new players or young kids, people move fast through holes.
Cons: Summertime is HOT!

10 dollar fee, 15 on busy holidays to get into the lake.

couple of huge disc eating oak trees.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tough course

1    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: surefee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice challenging pin placement. Elevation changes. Well maintained. Clean cut
Cons: Thick brush. Lost three of my discs. One in a tree 30 feet in the tree too high to get down and 2 others in the brush.
Can get very hot
Pay to play $15 on summer weekends
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Scenery and wind.

2-4    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 36  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall: located in a scenic, huge park with camping, boating and plenty of open space, an hour and a half north of LA, this really is the most scenic and complete course Ive played in SoCal.

Signature holes: #3 and #4 are low-ceiling shots that force you to think about disc and shot selection.
#1, #5 and #16(especially) big downhill shots that let you play with the wind, and really make you think about wind direction as your disc gets farther out into open air. #16 is a great 500ft downhill toss with a few different lines, I mostly went the big hyzer route that worked well and let you watch your disc fly forever.

Shot selection: As I mentioned above there are a ton of holes that force you to carve shots on lines a more open course wouldn't force you to attempt. A number of tees have trees very close and in front of them (#11!) forcing you to really concentrate on release points and angles.

Bomber Holes: #7 and #8 for anyone maxing out sub 500ft. of distance these will let you try and air it out as hard as you can after fighting your way through a few tight technical holes. Stress Relief.

Amenities: Camping, Clean bathrooms, Free water, tons of parking, decent signage, scenic views, aside from a pro-shop this course is pretty accommodating.
Cons: Crossing Fairways. Especially finishing 17 leading to 18 pops you out right into 11's fairway (head on a swivel) Hole 16 depending on how badly the person is throwing can lead to a disc bombing down on 3 if not 4 holes, and with the wind whipping around yelling FORE doesn't always reach the people down below.

Hole 10, short gimmicky downhill hole that is just as liable to punish a great shot as it is to reward a horrible one, I got a 2 the last time I shot this hole after missing my line badly but getting hung up in a low tree, not a fan.
Other Thoughts: Coming up from Los Angeles this is simply an awesome road trip, there is a market for beer/water on your way in. Bring some buddies as it is $10 to get your car into the park, but I wouldn't consider it a con, worth it if you carpool. Overall a great tiring day, hiking on the hills. Not a lot of shade so plan your headwear/sunscreen accordingly.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Ozzy Dog Review for Coyote Point-Lake Casitas, CA.

5+    1/1/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: cmoriarity666
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Difficult course with lots of trees, blind shots, and elevation changes. Long holes with great views of the lake. Store in the park sells discs and the market right before the entrence has a great selection of beer and discs as well. You can bring your dog but it will cost you a couple extra bux.
Cons: First timers maker sure to get a scorecard at the entrence with a map, some Tee's are hard to find for the first time. Very thick brush and trees which makes it easy to loose discs. 10$ per vehicle so it pays to carpool, and a couple extra bux for the dog.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hills

2-4    9/30/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2013
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course begins with a tantalizing downhill ace run across a steep valley, and things don't get any less interesting after that. Elevation comes into play on every hole, and many of the pins are located on hills to maximize risk/reward. On the 8th hole I landed 20 feet from the basket on my drive but took a 5 after two clanged putts followed by rollaways. It doesn't feel great in the moment, but good courses punish bad putts.

There are some pretty unique holes here. Holes 3 and 4 have challenging shots under arching tree branches that provide an unusual challenge. Hole 5 was probably my favorite, a left-to-right cliff shot that will really test a RHBH player's turnover shot. If your shot flattens out and hyzers, you'll be nowhere near the hole. Turnover too much and you'll end up with an unwanted roller.

Hole 10 is a short but tough downhill tunnel shot where going for the ace is probably a terrible idea. Hole 11 is a tough left-to-right shot along a curving road with plenty of danger to the left (once again, if your disc hyzers out here, you're in trouble). This kind of hole exposes the gaps in your game.

The last hole worth mentioning is 16, another huge cliff shot.

All the tees are concrete. The tee signs are photographs with all of the pin positions and distances shown. If you want a little scenery to go along with your round, it doesn't get a lot better than this: rolling hills surrounding a beautiful lake.
Cons: A couple times navigation wasn't great and took a little hunting around. In particular, finding my way from 8 to 9, 14 to 15, and 16 to 17 took awhile.

There are a couple places where fairways criss cross a bit, and while hole 16 is a blast, it really has the potential to be unsafe. You may need to throw well to the right of the hole just because of the massive fade you can get in the wind, but if it doesn't come all the way back you're landing on the fairway for another hole (#2, I think) where you won't even be able to see the people to yell "fore."

The footing on a couple of the hills, particularly on #1 getting from the tee to the basket, was a little shaky.

The flies were pretty bad here. No bug bites, just the annoying buzzing in your ear.

I obviously won't hold this against the course, but that lake sure looked inviting for a post-round swim. Unfortunately, it's a reservoir and swimming isn't allowed.
Other Thoughts: The map shows several holes playing over water, but when I was there (late September) the area was bone dry.

Some people will complain about the $10 park entrance fee, but I don't understand this gripe. It's a state park; that is the fee that everyone (campers, bikers, hikers, kayakers) must pay. State parks are usually some of the most beautiful areas and thus the best places for disc golf courses, so we can't complain when we have to pay the price of a movie ticket to play there. I felt like this course was well worth the cost and even came back a second time on my trip.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    9/25/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: OOMAUMAU
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The views are great for SoCal. Elevation changes. Great signage with a picture of the hole from how you see it on the Tee pad instead of a top down view. Coarse changes basket locations monthly. Lots of signature holes.9 holes brings to back to the parking area. Camping right next to course.
Cons: Hot in summer, lots of campers, not much shade on front nine. Entrance fee to the lake, more expensive on weekends during peak season.
Other Thoughts: Avoid Holidays. Bring sun protection and good hiking shoes.Drinking water can be found on or near Hole #'s 6, 8, 10, 11, 13 and 14 in campground I, top of 18. Picnic table or bench on every hole but 11. Restrooms near # 1, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15. You might have to walk a short way.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A day in SoCal

5+    8/10/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: lion
Played: 543  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. I liked the fact that the course is like two 9 hole loops. This enables you to stock up on drinking and gives you a rare chance to use the bathroom again.
2. All the holes have multiple pin placements.
3. The concrete tee pads are good and have lasted the test of time since they were installed. There nice and flat and I didn't notice any dips, bumps, or inclines.
4. Nice mixture of elevation and hole lengths.
5. Course caters to right and left hand throwers.
6. There is some shade on the course and it's very welcomed in the summer. Nice to find benches around some teepads. It really helps with a few of the longer walks.
7. There are a few holes that have amazing views and have a chance for nice breezes.
8. Looks like maintenance on the course is performed on occasion and dramatically helps keep the course flowing.
9. Plenty of parking by hole 1!
10. Camping is on site and there are a ton of sites at Lake casitas.
Cons: 1. The price to get in is 10 dollars and that can be a lot if it's one person going to play a round. 15 dollars to play on holiday weekends is a lot and sometimes the course isn't even open on holiday weekends.
2. Some of the views from the teepad show multiple baskets and it can be confusing.
3. A few of the fairways can be crossed or are close which will slow play. (like 7 & 8)
4. A few baskets need signs close by pointing to the next pad. A few pin placements can make it confusing finding the next hole.
5. There are multiple holes where high grass comes into play and it can make it very difficult to find your disc like on the top of the world shot and others throughout.
6. With all the lakes I thought it was a con they didn't get used in the course design.
7. A few holes lack shade and really leave you out in the elements. We did notice a wasp or bee nest on one of the holes (10, 11, or 17.) in that area.
8. Need of more trash cans would be nice and drinking water would be nice if it was available especially since golfers pay to play either a lot.
9. It would be nice to see more bathroom options. The bathrooms by hole 1 are out of the way once you tee and a lot of people dont know of the bathrooms off of hole 6's teepad in the camping area. I also believe there is some type of bathroom by 15's pad but I don't know.
10. Small hike up the hill from teepad one to practice basket makes it feel like the basket is ment to be used after the round. Wish the basket was place in another spot. There was also some random graffiti.
11. The OB road on hole 14 wasnt really diffitive. Hole 15's brush was really high and hard to clear for the majority of players.
12. There was a few blind holes that could of used some flags on poles on top to help spot for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Overal this course is definitely one of the top 10 is the southern California area. This course is pretty secluded and since there isn't another course close by its hard to justify spending the entire day to get there and play at just that course. I wish the club would try to get another course on the facility or in town to really make it more worth coming out. The courses that have been set up in past years for the coyote classic were epic and I wish that this course would evolve into two 18's or a 27 hole monster. The store on sight isn't bad and if you forget something you might want to pick it up there instead of driving a long way out of the way. In the summer bring lots of drinks and a good cooler. There isn't really any shade in the parking spots by hole 1.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was the highlight of my Southern California tour. The park is a massive campground and activity center on the lake. I would love to go back and devote an entire weekend to camping, fishing, boating, and disc golf.

By the time I got to the first tee, I knew I was in for a good afternoon of golf. The first hole has all the feel of a signature. It offers a nice vista over the course from the top of the hill. The mountains in the background make a perfect backdrop. The shot itself is not overly difficult. It's a simple downhill through a large opening in the trees. A perfect way to start.

After a couple holes in the valley, the course works its way back up the hill on the other side with a tricky mando shot under an arched tree branch. The top of this hill offers another spectacular view over the course with the lake in the background. After taking a minute to soak it all in, you get another fun downhill shot on the fifth tee.

The rest of the front nine plays over fairly open terrain, ending back up the hill near the parking lot. This makes offers an opportunity to stop after nine if you don't have the time or energy for all 18.

The back nine is a bit tighter than the front nine, with a lot more vegetation in play. Line shaping on the back is key. Hole 16 offers a final signature tee shot with a long downhill.

Signage throught the course is great, showing all of the pin locations with distances.

Speaking of multiple pin locations, there are plenty of different layout options, so each time you return, you're likely to see a slightly different course.
Cons: There are a few crossing or very close fairways that can impede play a bit.

There were a few points that I had a little bit of trouble finding the next tee. Particularly hole 6. From the fifth basket there was no indication of where to go. After a little wandering I ended up at the seventh tee. Eventually I managed to backtrack my way back to six.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I had more time here. I only had enough time to get one round in. I would love to play this place over and over again. This course provides everything: chances to crush big drives, tight line shaping shots, uphill, downhill, etc.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.