Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 2/2016)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A day in SoCal

5+    8/10/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: lion
Played: 603  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.5 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. I liked the fact that the course is like two 9 hole loops. This enables you to stock up on drinking and gives you a rare chance to use the bathroom again.
2. All the holes have multiple pin placements.
3. The concrete tee pads are good and have lasted the test of time since they were installed. There nice and flat and I didn't notice any dips, bumps, or inclines.
4. Nice mixture of elevation and hole lengths.
5. Course caters to right and left hand throwers.
6. There is some shade on the course and it's very welcomed in the summer. Nice to find benches around some teepads. It really helps with a few of the longer walks.
7. There are a few holes that have amazing views and have a chance for nice breezes.
8. Looks like maintenance on the course is performed on occasion and dramatically helps keep the course flowing.
9. Plenty of parking by hole 1!
10. Camping is on site and there are a ton of sites at Lake casitas.
Cons: 1. The price to get in is 10 dollars and that can be a lot if it's one person going to play a round. 15 dollars to play on holiday weekends is a lot and sometimes the course isn't even open on holiday weekends.
2. Some of the views from the teepad show multiple baskets and it can be confusing.
3. A few of the fairways can be crossed or are close which will slow play. (like 7 & 8)
4. A few baskets need signs close by pointing to the next pad. A few pin placements can make it confusing finding the next hole.
5. There are multiple holes where high grass comes into play and it can make it very difficult to find your disc like on the top of the world shot and others throughout.
6. With all the lakes I thought it was a con they didn't get used in the course design.
7. A few holes lack shade and really leave you out in the elements. We did notice a wasp or bee nest on one of the holes (10, 11, or 17.) in that area.
8. Need of more trash cans would be nice and drinking water would be nice if it was available especially since golfers pay to play either a lot.
9. It would be nice to see more bathroom options. The bathrooms by hole 1 are out of the way once you tee and a lot of people dont know of the bathrooms off of hole 6's teepad in the camping area. I also believe there is some type of bathroom by 15's pad but I don't know.
10. Small hike up the hill from teepad one to practice basket makes it feel like the basket is ment to be used after the round. Wish the basket was place in another spot. There was also some random graffiti.
11. The OB road on hole 14 wasnt really diffitive. Hole 15's brush was really high and hard to clear for the majority of players.
12. There was a few blind holes that could of used some flags on poles on top to help spot for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Overal this course is definitely one of the top 10 is the southern California area. This course is pretty secluded and since there isn't another course close by its hard to justify spending the entire day to get there and play at just that course. I wish the club would try to get another course on the facility or in town to really make it more worth coming out. The courses that have been set up in past years for the coyote classic were epic and I wish that this course would evolve into two 18's or a 27 hole monster. The store on sight isn't bad and if you forget something you might want to pick it up there instead of driving a long way out of the way. In the summer bring lots of drinks and a good cooler. There isn't really any shade in the parking spots by hole 1.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was the highlight of my Southern California tour. The park is a massive campground and activity center on the lake. I would love to go back and devote an entire weekend to camping, fishing, boating, and disc golf.

By the time I got to the first tee, I knew I was in for a good afternoon of golf. The first hole has all the feel of a signature. It offers a nice vista over the course from the top of the hill. The mountains in the background make a perfect backdrop. The shot itself is not overly difficult. It's a simple downhill through a large opening in the trees. A perfect way to start.

After a couple holes in the valley, the course works its way back up the hill on the other side with a tricky mando shot under an arched tree branch. The top of this hill offers another spectacular view over the course with the lake in the background. After taking a minute to soak it all in, you get another fun downhill shot on the fifth tee.

The rest of the front nine plays over fairly open terrain, ending back up the hill near the parking lot. This makes offers an opportunity to stop after nine if you don't have the time or energy for all 18.

The back nine is a bit tighter than the front nine, with a lot more vegetation in play. Line shaping on the back is key. Hole 16 offers a final signature tee shot with a long downhill.

Signage throught the course is great, showing all of the pin locations with distances.

Speaking of multiple pin locations, there are plenty of different layout options, so each time you return, you're likely to see a slightly different course.
Cons: There are a few crossing or very close fairways that can impede play a bit.

There were a few points that I had a little bit of trouble finding the next tee. Particularly hole 6. From the fifth basket there was no indication of where to go. After a little wandering I ended up at the seventh tee. Eventually I managed to backtrack my way back to six.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I had more time here. I only had enough time to get one round in. I would love to play this place over and over again. This course provides everything: chances to crush big drives, tight line shaping shots, uphill, downhill, etc.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/24/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: SofaKing OATy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Incredible scenery, extreme elevation changes and spectacular layout. More signature holes that you can shake a stick at.

This is one of the best courses you will find in socal.
Cons: No big con'son this one, maybe the $10 but it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth going out of your way to play. Camping on site makes for a great weekend trip.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Tough course, but fun

2-4    9/3/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Vandalfan0023
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25.9 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has it all: uphill, long downhill, left-handers, right-handers, wooded, field, etc. There are multiple basket locations, which would make it interesting every time I played if I actually lived in the area! This course definitely challenges a player!
Cons: Being I played this on a holiday weekend, the entry fee was $15. For 3 people playing 3 9's, that was worth it, but a single would be a high price. There are multiple baskets in view on several holes which made navigation difficult for newbies and the baskets did not have numbers on them (see the Other Thoughts for tip). Quite exposed on the Front 9 which means you will get fried if you are not careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought this was a good destination course. If it's the first time playing the course since there are multiple tee locations, look in the upper left-hand corner of the hole overview at the tee. There is a washer with A, B, C, D, E that shows which basket location is being played. Took us almost 9 holes to figure that out! Make sure you bring hats and sunscreen on sunny days as you WILL get burned.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Oh...The hole is over there?

1    3/12/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Navnetso
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful. The terrain is tough but not as hard to find errant Disc's as you might think. I like the challenge of this place. If you're not focused you won't do well, but the risk reward is great here. When most disc golf courses are free or almost free this place is worth the $10 park entrance fee. Lastly the people that play here are really nice, so if you play with a local they'll help you around and it's really a good time.
Cons: Poison Ivy. I'm not sure I wanna bring beginners to this place just because it's so challenging that I don't want them to become discouraged. The course is hard to navigate if you haven't played it before... However see the pros for how to remedy.
Other Thoughts: This site is one of the best I've seen for housing a large tournament... I'm hoping some more get organized.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 EPIC destination course!!

1    3/26/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.6 Years
25 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: OVERVIEW: This course is grand on a scale that dwarfs human endeavor. One does not "conquer" Casitas: one survives it, endures it, and becomes a better person for having played it.

DETAILS: The setting is pure coastal California. Huge grass-covered (probably long & dry in the summer) hills, spectacular views, an abundance of nature in all directions. Nearby Ojai is an artist colony / tourist mecca where non-golfers can enjoy [fill in the blank - it's all there]. The course itself occupies a very small part of a very large campground / nature area that offers multiple opportunities for fun, including boating, fishing, hiking, and generally communing with the great outdoors.

Course design was probably a challenge: how do you fit 18 holes into a scene that it seems could easily support 36 without getting boring? The end result shows a lot of thought by people who know the game inside and out. You have uphills, downhills, a TON of mandatory shot-shaping, some uber-fun holes (#4 comes to mind immediately, with its crazy through-the-hole mando), and fresh surprises around every corner.

The day I played was right after a huge rainstorm moved through, which meant that not only was the course itself a challenge, but the gusty, swirling wind and residual water on the ground just added to the fun factor.

Mechanically, the course was perfect. Baskets in good shape, signage excellent (including really nifty pin-position indicators), concrete tee pads placed well, in good shape, and surface-rough for traction. One MAJOR plus was the benches at every tee - those hills enforce the need to take a load off!
Cons: The only real "con" was the trash cans, bathroom facilities, and water, of which there were not enough. Ten bucks to get into the park is steep but totally fair, considering the multitude of activities available for the whole fam dambly. (If DG was the only thing there, it would be a bit of a rip.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, you play this course and you know you've had an experience to treasure for a lifetime. It's not really comparable to any other So Cal course except maybe Wrightwood (or whatever they're calling that now) - an epic destination to travel to from wherever you happen to be sitting right now.

25 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf at its Best

5+    2/18/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.8 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Spectacular scenery, with views of the lake and mountains.

- Rugged terrain with massive elevation changes on every hole.

- Great variety of shots, pleanty of opportunities to air it out mixed in with some tight tunnel shots that require shorter range precision.

- Multiple tee positions on every hole.

- Benches and signs at every tee with a washer that indicates the tee placement.

- Signature holes everywhere. Hole 16 is the common favorite and most memorable however each hole is unique with no "filler" holes.

- Camping onsite, this would be an excellent place to camp and disc golf for a weekend.

- Baskets are in great shape with flags on top.
Cons: I feel like I'm reaching here to find cons. Obviously the $10 entry fee is a bit steep, the most I've ever paid for disc golf. It is definitely worth it as a destination course but it would be a bit steep as a home course.

It would be nice to have more garbage cans here, but again I feel like I'm reaching to find cons.
Other Thoughts: Out of the 50+ courses I've played this is far and away the best of them all. In my opinion this course offers the perfect balance of challenge and fun. The layout is technical with a lot to think about, however it isn't so difficult that it isn't fun for the average disc golfer.

A spotter is must, there are plenty of blind shots that require the use of a spotter Or else you could be searching a long time. Fortunately the terrain isn't so thick that you can't find your disc, however you can be searching a long time.

Be sure to plan ahead for this course. Make sure you bring lunch and plenty of water. Rounds can take a while due to the terrain, and if you play once you will want to play again.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

2-4    12/16/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: chillis
Played: 95  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.9 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety of hole types, difficulties, necessary throws, and blind / distant pins. Tremendous elevation changes makes this a very exciting course.

Good signage, altho when I played the pictures at the tboxes were a bit off, the placements were not all accurate, however the distances seemed to be.

There's a 'vibe' here. It just seems special, like nothing you've played before. Well, I had yet to play something as epic as this.

Even with a full course, we rarely had to wait or warn players we were throwing. Good use of the space allowed. I will say, though, they could probably fit a 27 into the area no problem.
Cons: Not the easiest to traverse. I had to keep watching my footing, granted I was wearing flat Adidas instead of something with more tread.

It's worth $10 (per auto) for someone like me; out-of-stater on the disc golf road trip. And whereas the cost was WELL worth it, if you lived nearby and played frequently $10 seems a bit steep. I'm not sure if they have a discount program or whatever.

If I had to dock this course a half a point, I would do so in the area of refinement. The course was all chopped up, very rocky, and didn't seem very 'polished'. Don't get me wrong it was fine, but, IMO, a 5 star course should be a bit more maintained in that respect.
Other Thoughts: What an amazing course! One of the best I've played....if not THE best.

My buddy & I got there at 1pm or so and still had time to play 36 holes. So, despite the terrain you can make good time if you're diligent with your throws and walking lines.

We met up with a solo player for our second round, and he was cool to throw with. People on CA courses are all friendly (420) and we didn't meet a single bum on our west coast disc golf trip!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Disc Golf

1    9/7/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 52  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent scenery/setting
Great tee signs
Lots of hole variety
Cons: $10 park fee per vehicle
A bit of a drive off the highway
Other Thoughts: This review will be short & sweet, as the other reviews say all that needs to be said: phenomenal course. This is what a disc golf course should be.

The only real downside is that it takes a good drive to get there off the highway, and of course the $10 park fee which would get real old if you lived in the area and wanted to play regularly.

Spectacular scenery, well though out holes. Loved playing this course. It's a must-play if you are anywhere near the area.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Classic California

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
12 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A course in the hills overlooking Lake Casitas. Just perfect terrain for a course. Lots of elevation, oaks and manzanitas. Nice concrete pads on every hole. Good signs that show the multiple basket positions. No repetitive holes, boring holes or gimmick holes. There are ups, downs and mandos to make you use all your shots. There are long holes, short holes,technical holes and let 'er rip holes. Great variety. I could play this course repeatedly, and never get bored. When you tee of down the hill on 1 it will give you an idea of what you have to look forward to playing. Just a really fun technical course.
Cons: $10/$15 to play a round.

The course plays very close to a camping area. There are multiple places where bike/walking paths cross fairways, and create some dangerous situations. I had to repeatedly wait for kids on bikes, or walkers to clear the fairway. In a couple cases it's hard to see tham coming.
Other Thoughts: I am not a fan of courses mixed in with other park facilities, but sometimes that's the only way a course gets installed. While the course itself is one of the best I have played in CA, the interference from other people spoils the fun. This course ranks up there with Stafford and Napa of the CA courses I've played. If at all possible the best way to handle this course would be to make a weekend of it and make use of the campground. Then you could turn a negative into a positive. Crawl out of your tent , and start throwing. If you like to fish or bike, there is plenty to do around the lake. That makes this a great destination course.

12 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.