Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: chiggins Hole #2
3 / 231ft.   3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
From the tee on Hole 2



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    10/24/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: SofaKing OATy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Incredible scenery, extreme elevation changes and spectacular layout. More signature holes that you can shake a stick at.

This is one of the best courses you will find in socal.
Cons: No big con'son this one, maybe the $10 but it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth going out of your way to play. Camping on site makes for a great weekend trip.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Tough course, but fun

2-4    9/3/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Vandalfan0023
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.5 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has it all: uphill, long downhill, left-handers, right-handers, wooded, field, etc. There are multiple basket locations, which would make it interesting every time I played if I actually lived in the area! This course definitely challenges a player!
Cons: Being I played this on a holiday weekend, the entry fee was $15. For 3 people playing 3 9's, that was worth it, but a single would be a high price. There are multiple baskets in view on several holes which made navigation difficult for newbies and the baskets did not have numbers on them (see the Other Thoughts for tip). Quite exposed on the Front 9 which means you will get fried if you are not careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought this was a good destination course. If it's the first time playing the course since there are multiple tee locations, look in the upper left-hand corner of the hole overview at the tee. There is a washer with A, B, C, D, E that shows which basket location is being played. Took us almost 9 holes to figure that out! Make sure you bring hats and sunscreen on sunny days as you WILL get burned.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Oh...The hole is over there?

1    3/12/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Navnetso
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful. The terrain is tough but not as hard to find errant Disc's as you might think. I like the challenge of this place. If you're not focused you won't do well, but the risk reward is great here. When most disc golf courses are free or almost free this place is worth the $10 park entrance fee. Lastly the people that play here are really nice, so if you play with a local they'll help you around and it's really a good time.
Cons: Poison Ivy. I'm not sure I wanna bring beginners to this place just because it's so challenging that I don't want them to become discouraged. The course is hard to navigate if you haven't played it before... However see the pros for how to remedy.
Other Thoughts: This site is one of the best I've seen for housing a large tournament... I'm hoping some more get organized.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 EPIC destination course!!

1    3/26/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
24 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: OVERVIEW: This course is grand on a scale that dwarfs human endeavor. One does not "conquer" Casitas: one survives it, endures it, and becomes a better person for having played it.

DETAILS: The setting is pure coastal California. Huge grass-covered (probably long & dry in the summer) hills, spectacular views, an abundance of nature in all directions. Nearby Ojai is an artist colony / tourist mecca where non-golfers can enjoy [fill in the blank - it's all there]. The course itself occupies a very small part of a very large campground / nature area that offers multiple opportunities for fun, including boating, fishing, hiking, and generally communing with the great outdoors.

Course design was probably a challenge: how do you fit 18 holes into a scene that it seems could easily support 36 without getting boring? The end result shows a lot of thought by people who know the game inside and out. You have uphills, downhills, a TON of mandatory shot-shaping, some uber-fun holes (#4 comes to mind immediately, with its crazy through-the-hole mando), and fresh surprises around every corner.

The day I played was right after a huge rainstorm moved through, which meant that not only was the course itself a challenge, but the gusty, swirling wind and residual water on the ground just added to the fun factor.

Mechanically, the course was perfect. Baskets in good shape, signage excellent (including really nifty pin-position indicators), concrete tee pads placed well, in good shape, and surface-rough for traction. One MAJOR plus was the benches at every tee - those hills enforce the need to take a load off!
Cons: The only real "con" was the trash cans, bathroom facilities, and water, of which there were not enough. Ten bucks to get into the park is steep but totally fair, considering the multitude of activities available for the whole fam dambly. (If DG was the only thing there, it would be a bit of a rip.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, you play this course and you know you've had an experience to treasure for a lifetime. It's not really comparable to any other So Cal course except maybe Wrightwood (or whatever they're calling that now) - an epic destination to travel to from wherever you happen to be sitting right now.

24 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf at its Best

5+    2/18/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Spectacular scenery, with views of the lake and mountains.

- Rugged terrain with massive elevation changes on every hole.

- Great variety of shots, pleanty of opportunities to air it out mixed in with some tight tunnel shots that require shorter range precision.

- Multiple tee positions on every hole.

- Benches and signs at every tee with a washer that indicates the tee placement.

- Signature holes everywhere. Hole 16 is the common favorite and most memorable however each hole is unique with no "filler" holes.

- Camping onsite, this would be an excellent place to camp and disc golf for a weekend.

- Baskets are in great shape with flags on top.
Cons: I feel like I'm reaching here to find cons. Obviously the $10 entry fee is a bit steep, the most I've ever paid for disc golf. It is definitely worth it as a destination course but it would be a bit steep as a home course.

It would be nice to have more garbage cans here, but again I feel like I'm reaching to find cons.
Other Thoughts: Out of the 50+ courses I've played this is far and away the best of them all. In my opinion this course offers the perfect balance of challenge and fun. The layout is technical with a lot to think about, however it isn't so difficult that it isn't fun for the average disc golfer.

A spotter is must, there are plenty of blind shots that require the use of a spotter Or else you could be searching a long time. Fortunately the terrain isn't so thick that you can't find your disc, however you can be searching a long time.

Be sure to plan ahead for this course. Make sure you bring lunch and plenty of water. Rounds can take a while due to the terrain, and if you play once you will want to play again.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

2-4    12/16/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety of hole types, difficulties, necessary throws, and blind / distant pins. Tremendous elevation changes makes this a very exciting course.

Good signage, altho when I played the pictures at the tboxes were a bit off, the placements were not all accurate, however the distances seemed to be.

There's a 'vibe' here. It just seems special, like nothing you've played before. Well, I had yet to play something as epic as this.

Even with a full course, we rarely had to wait or warn players we were throwing. Good use of the space allowed. I will say, though, they could probably fit a 27 into the area no problem.
Cons: Not the easiest to traverse. I had to keep watching my footing, granted I was wearing flat Adidas instead of something with more tread.

It's worth $10 (per auto) for someone like me; out-of-stater on the disc golf road trip. And whereas the cost was WELL worth it, if you lived nearby and played frequently $10 seems a bit steep. I'm not sure if they have a discount program or whatever.

If I had to dock this course a half a point, I would do so in the area of refinement. The course was all chopped up, very rocky, and didn't seem very 'polished'. Don't get me wrong it was fine, but, IMO, a 5 star course should be a bit more maintained in that respect.
Other Thoughts: What an amazing course! One of the best I've played....if not THE best.

My buddy & I got there at 1pm or so and still had time to play 36 holes. So, despite the terrain you can make good time if you're diligent with your throws and walking lines.

We met up with a solo player for our second round, and he was cool to throw with. People on CA courses are all friendly (420) and we didn't meet a single bum on our west coast disc golf trip!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Disc Golf

1    9/7/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent scenery/setting
Great tee signs
Lots of hole variety
Cons: $10 park fee per vehicle
A bit of a drive off the highway
Other Thoughts: This review will be short & sweet, as the other reviews say all that needs to be said: phenomenal course. This is what a disc golf course should be.

The only real downside is that it takes a good drive to get there off the highway, and of course the $10 park fee which would get real old if you lived in the area and wanted to play regularly.

Spectacular scenery, well though out holes. Loved playing this course. It's a must-play if you are anywhere near the area.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Classic California

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
12 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A course in the hills overlooking Lake Casitas. Just perfect terrain for a course. Lots of elevation, oaks and manzanitas. Nice concrete pads on every hole. Good signs that show the multiple basket positions. No repetitive holes, boring holes or gimmick holes. There are ups, downs and mandos to make you use all your shots. There are long holes, short holes,technical holes and let 'er rip holes. Great variety. I could play this course repeatedly, and never get bored. When you tee of down the hill on 1 it will give you an idea of what you have to look forward to playing. Just a really fun technical course.
Cons: $10/$15 to play a round.

The course plays very close to a camping area. There are multiple places where bike/walking paths cross fairways, and create some dangerous situations. I had to repeatedly wait for kids on bikes, or walkers to clear the fairway. In a couple cases it's hard to see tham coming.
Other Thoughts: I am not a fan of courses mixed in with other park facilities, but sometimes that's the only way a course gets installed. While the course itself is one of the best I have played in CA, the interference from other people spoils the fun. This course ranks up there with Stafford and Napa of the CA courses I've played. If at all possible the best way to handle this course would be to make a weekend of it and make use of the campground. Then you could turn a negative into a positive. Crawl out of your tent , and start throwing. If you like to fish or bike, there is plenty to do around the lake. That makes this a great destination course.

12 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the Walk

1    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety
Lots of challenge
Very fun layout over the hiils and through the brush
Not a lot of ground cover to lose discs in
Awsome scenery in a great park
The elevated tee pads on 1, 5, 16 etc are a blast!
Cons: $10 day use fee
Course not marked on the main park map
Kinda poor directions to the parking area (ok yeah this ones a little nit-picky)
No swimming in the lake!? Ok I get it - this is a water supply resivour but really? The gas and oil mixed in the water from all the boats does not do damage? The bodily fluid mixing from the local wildlife is not detrimental? There's no water treatment regimine before drinking? (Sorry for the rant, I know it has nothing to do with DG, but this seems silly)
Other Thoughts: This has to be a destination course to play for anyone visting the area. Definitely one of the best I've played. I can see how this could get crowded on the weekend but I played on a Wednesday in August when it was 105 out. Only two other groups on the course the entire round.

Some tips:
Don't think you can park at the gate and walk in to skip the $10 fee (not that I tried and got a half mile in before realizing how big the park is and went back and happily paid the fee). It's 3 miles from the gate to the parking area.

The hole layout maps at each tee pad have a small washer on the upper left corner. The letter at the 12 o'clock position is the basket in play. (I know now that this is common practice but did not until I finished my round and a local clued me in).

If playing in the summer bring a water bottle! The store mentioned in the description is closed. There is a bait and tackle store over by the other boat ramp though (turn left as you get in the gate rather than right).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/26/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: CubbieBlue
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, great course. Holes had plenty of variety of shots and distances. I threw every shot I had in the book. Only one mando from what I remember (hole 3?), but made a cake 100-some foot hole no gimme deuce. Hole 16 was spectacular too; sitting on top of the hole overlooking the beautiful park and lake and letting it fly to the basket, absolutely beautiful.
Cons: Very few downfalls, the only one I could think of was doing a better job letting the thrower know which basket to throw too. Quite a few holes are blind the only way to know which basket you're going to for sure is to run down and take a look around. A few holes need some markers stating where the next tee pad is as well. Even with a scorecard it is hard to locate the next tee pad off the map.
Other Thoughts: Great course, definitely one of my top 3. Has a great mixture of shots and just a beautiful view.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.