Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: OcDiscGolf Hole #16 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 457ft.   3 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  Fun and Challending

4/26/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: kwartz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging with a good variety of holes. Some wide open, some narrow through the trees, a couple across water. Friendly locals. Beautiful surroundings with awesome views of the lake, especially in the morning. Pretty well maintained and clean from trash I thought. Baskets and tees were in good shape. Great camping options for a day or two of disc golf.
Cons: The first few times it was a little difficult to find my way around the course, the signs to the hole can be hard to decipher, and finding the next tee involved a lot of guesswork. Also having to pay the day use fee ($8 going up to $10 in September 2008). But it's definitely worth the money.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I don't really consider hills a con so I didn't put it in that section, but if you don't like hills this isn't the course for you. Reminded me somewhat of DeLaveaga in Santa Cruz, but less crowded and less garbage. And less poison oak. Very much recommend it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff.

1    6/4/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coyote Point is the catalyst for my obsession with disc golf. As an outdoorsman Lake Casitas could offer nothing more in terms of beauty and diversity. The terrain changes from stark open field to oaken shelter to reeded water side in a matter of a few holes. I learned the game here and feel confident that the diversity of the lake has prepared me for any shot at any course.

Coyote Point offers some good technical holes mixed among wide open drives. There are some great elevation changes that the course designers used effectively to maintain variety throughout the round. Each hole offers, at least, 3 pin placements (up to 5) so be sure you're sure of where you're throwing.
Cons: Keep your Technu and water on hand. In the summer the plants can be scratchy and a menace to to your socks. Gaiters help with the foxtails and thistles. There is plenty of Poison Oak. The club does try to get rid of most of it but be sure you know what it looks like.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a destination course. There is camping right next to the course. Once a year, in October, the bordering campsite turns into Tournament Central for the Coyote Classic. If you only play one tournament a year this is it.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2/20/2007   8/16/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 278  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just $8 to play what I think is one of the most challenging and fun courses around!
Cons: Very exposed, not too much tree cover so bring some water.
Other Thoughts: Some "great" courses can be difficult to find satisfying as a beginner. I found this course to be open-enough to make sure beginners don't get too frustrated with both elev changes AND trees. The placement of all the trees are just perfect. Is it hole #3 you're teeing off from essentially inside the tree? So many unique holes and in a beautiful setting. Makes me consider moving to the area.

Massive elevation changes and beautiful holes. Great tee pads and signage. I can't say enough great things about the course. I played with 2 locals who were great guys

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Mini DeLa

7/2/2007   7/9/2007
Review By: OrangePeanutButter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. Well designed and maintained. Lots of different pin positions that can change the course from par to bogey real fast, but always fun.

Great holes with lots of elevation change and trees to keep you digging through your bag for just the right disc.
Cons: $8 entry fee, but if you think you'll play it enough you can get a year pass for $80...10 times and it pays for itself.
Other Thoughts: Get out for the monthly on the second Saturday of each month and get to learn how to throw the course from some of the locals as well as making some great friends.

Check out:

www.venturadiscgolf.com

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 SPEC. TACULAH.

10/22/2006   6/26/2007
Review By: chiggins
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stunning environment and picturesque holes
Excellent spectrum of elevation shots (uphill and downhill)
Great mix of short/technical and long/open shots
Pads are excellent, signage is great, fairways are lovingly tended but left fairly wild
Getting par on this course is a solid accomplishment
The locals are truly great folks. That's a fact.
Cons: It gets to triple digits in the summer (and 6 am becomes the best tee time), so take a buncha water
Keep an eye out for poison oak
During camping season, take care on fairways adjacent to the campsites
No swimming in the lake! That's a tough one when it's good and hot. But whatta ya gonna do, it's a reservoir.
Other Thoughts: This is where I fell in love with the game, and no small part of that was being in love with the course and the folks who created and maintain it.

The first hole is a dazzling downhill shot from the edge of a tall ridge, with a great view of the course, onto another hillside across water. From there, you hike up and around the hills overlooking beautiful blue Lake Casitas shooting long open drives, tight technical shots from under the trees (and through them), drives to holes 520 feet out (and 200 feet below) the tee, you name it.

On top of a first rate course, there's the added benefit that you can camp right there on the lake. And when I say right there, I mean your spot can be literally 40 feet from the nearest basket.

If you're in (or plan on being in) the Southern California area in the fall, The Coyote Pointe Classic is an outstanding tournament. The club reserves the campground that runs by holes 5 through 8 (with views of many more) for the tournament weekend, and the event is a blast. Can't tell you how much I dig getting up early, climbing out of the tent, making a cup of coffee, grabbin' discs and walking 10 or 20 paces to a teebox as the sun comes up over the lake.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.