Joliet (Lockport), IL 
Trinity Links Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 205ft.   3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Goats Head Soup

1    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lockport is a pretty good short par 3 course. A lot of the course flows through some woods and there are a couple of water carries. The course is flat, but a few things have been added (# 4 runs along a berm with a drop-off on either side, there is a big mound on # 17 that the basket sits on and one pro tee is up on a mound) to add a bit of elevation to it. There are two sets of tees, and some add quite a different look to the shots. The shots are generally short and technical, but #7 is a nice "bomb's away" hole. It's not long enough to be a pro-challenging course, but there is enough trouble there to keep Intermediate players challenged.
Cons: I wasn't blown away by the design. #6 shoots across an open field, then you turn around and walk back where you came from to get to the tee for # 7. The baskets for # 6 and # 18 are pretty close together, and in a couple of other places baskets and tees are easily reached by an errant throw from another hole. If the course was busy, I could see a lot of conflicts and back-ups caused by the design. A couple of the wooded holes were pretty much poke and pray, including one shot on the back (I think it was # 15) that went over water. When I'm shooting over water, I'd like a defined route.

The course does have some water hazards, but the water appears to be from the property not draining well. It's basically a couple of large, stagnant, stinking cesspools that contribute greatly to the nasty bug problem this course has in warm weather. It's also not the kind of water you want to go after a disc in.

The tees are crushed limestone and not all that great. There are tee signs at each hole, and each one seemed to be vandalized in some way. There was a lot of trash around (the tee for # 8 was surrounded by garbage from the neighboring property) and a lot of broken glass on a couple of fairways. Add to that the stinking stagnant water hazards and bugs, and the overall effect is a less than aesthetically pleasing course.
Other Thoughts: There were goats in the fairway on # 4, which seemed to come from the neighbors property. That was a new one for me.

Lockport is not the kind of course you would want to go out of the way to play, but it is right down the road from Highland, and Highland is a course you would want to go out of your way to play. Once you make it to Highland, Lockport is a good enough course to add to your courses played list.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Father, Son, and HOLY *$#@ is that a Goat?

2-4    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Trinity DGC sits on a mostly flat piece of land that weaves in and out of woods, over small ponds, and through grassy fields. All sorts of shots are needed on this course, which ranges from wide open grassy fields to the tightest of corridors through trees forcing an anhyzer. The course makes the most of both water hazards and the little elevation with which the designer had available. Balance between short and long hole lengths keep things fresh for everyone.
- Pro tees add length and difficulty, often changing the entire feel of the hole.
- The first two holes incorporate short water carries, and get the round off to a fun start.
- #17's basket sits atop a small slope that unexpectedly drops off about four feet behind the basket, revealing a small disc-hungry pond, waiting deviously for uncautious putters.
- Several protected pin placements: bushes, mature trees, and smaller trees all help keep the baskets a challenge to reach.
- Glow rounds!
Cons: - The teepads consist of lumpy, rutted gravel/crushed rock. They are in poor shape and detract greatly from this otherwise fine course.
- Some of the holes have overlapping fairways, making spraying another fairway with wayward discs a definite possibility.
Other Thoughts: - If better tees were installed or the current ones restored to decent shape I would definitely rate this course higher, but as it stands the tees are brutal.
- Watch out for bands of roving goats (apparently originating from one of the neighbor's yards?)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bit Better Than Average

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B- (Only 3-4 holes will punish you with an extra stroke if you miss your line on your drive. Overall, basket locations are not too creative.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B- (Half the holes are pretty good and rewarding due to shape and obstables, but too many holes that are too short to get a high grade here)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (This is the strength of this course. About half the holes force you to shape your shot in a specific way. But too many are too open for my preference. Also, there is no terrain to work with)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+ (The open fields surrounded with dense woods are beautiful and provide very nice seclusion)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: bunk'g
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes. A good mixture of open holes and wooded holes. Water comes into play on a couple. IMO each hole has a tricky, but great pin placement, even the open holes. The maps make the course easy to navigate. The course is very clean.
Cons: The course is very buggy, BRING BUG SPRAY. The woods and vegetation are very thick, discs can be easily lost. Watch out for some poison ivy and oak. The dense woods make for chances of mud. No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play the course more often, the bugs were too brutal for this time of year though.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.