Disc Golf Center
Joliet (Lockport), IL 
Trinity Links Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #17 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The LOVE Shows

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
**You can tell that someone loves this course by the care and little touches that have been put into it.
**Blue plastic garbage cans on every hole.
**Brand new, professionally done Concrete tee pads on the short tees.
**Nice new wooden benches in several locations.
**Basic signage was good enough to get us throwing in the right direction.
**Love the funny little OB pit and drop zone painted in front of hole #7.
**Mostly tight and technical, I love this kind of course since I don't have a big arm.
Cons: .
Treat the water in the pond to get rid of the mosquitoes, algae Etc. It would look a lot better, plus, give you a chance to pull out an errant disc.
Other Thoughts: .
A little hard to findů
My GPS said it was on the wrong side of the road, we drove by it twice. I just happened to spot the #4 basket on the berm as we went by for a third time. It looks like two businesses to me with a parking lot behind/in between them.

Some pretty severe storms with down-burst winds had just rolled through the area right before we were there. Every course we played had "A Bunch" of downed limbs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really had a lot of great features, some of which were wooded holes, open holes and WATER. Most of the tees were very easy to find as a first time player. The baskets looked newer and were in very good condition. Some things that I really like about the design of the course was the use of Hyzer, Anhyzer and straight shots. On several holes there was a risk reward shot and then there was the safe play shot. Most holes had a Pro and Am tee, which is always nice to see. Holes 1, 2 and 15 played around a small pond, which could come into play if you make a poor shot. The course does not seem to get crowded with tons of players, which will allow you to play at your own pace and you won't have to worry about getting stuck behind a large group of players
Cons: Unfortunately, this course did struggle where I see a lot of courses; the tees. They used crushed limestone tees which by itself would not normally be terrible, but the issue here is with the poor drainage of the land they tend to get more muddy than anything else. Some other plaguing issues I saw here was the flow of the course. Several time you walked up fairways that you just played or in very close proximity to another fairway, errant shots could become potentially hazardous. As I mentioned this course seems to drain very poorly, a lot of it seems to be perpetuated by the pond (yes it is actually a real pond). There are a few holes where the pro tees are really enclosed by tight trees. As they mature there will be little to no shot; I think some of it is right now that they were just put in a few of those pro tees.
Other Thoughts: While this was a fairly simple course it definitely did have a certain "fun" factor. If the tees were repaired or made concrete I could see this course being a lot easier to play and get better ratings. It looks as though there were some small attempts to fix the drainage on the course, but if they actually put in drainage creeks and mare then OB it would help with water and add some difficulty to the course. If you are in the area, it is a course to consider only if it has been dry the past few days.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trinity Links is a pretty good course with a good amount of challenge and plenty of shot variety.

The first thing you'll notice about this course is its seclusion. This place is on private property in the middle of nowhere, and I've rarely seen more than two other groups here. If you're looking for a peaceful place where you can take your time for 18 holes, this is the best course in the area.

There's a great variety of shots... some open bombs, wooded shots, baskets protected by trees, and some cool dogleg shots. Many of these will really test your accuracy. The course will favor players who prefer open distance shots, but there is also a good amount of accuracy required.

Other stuff... baskets are in good shape, I've never seen issues with garbage or anything on the course, and a few holes have dual tees (although they are somewhat hard to find). There's a message board by the first tee where you can usually find info on local tourneys and whatnot.
Cons: This is not a beginner-friendly course at all.
The OB is saddistic and this place eats discs like crazy. On some holes the OB is just dangerous. A few spots have old barbed wire hidden amongs the foliage, that you have to watch out for (namely #11). Others play close to fenced off private property, and the bog is an all-time nasty water hazard. This is not the "fun" type of punishment for bad shots, just unenjoyable.

This course plays through a low lying area and does not drain well at all. The tee boxes are crushed rock and do not drain well either, so this course is not enjoyable after significant rainfall.

Navigation can get confusing the first time playing, and a couple spots could use 'next tee' signs.
Other Thoughts: How much you enjoy this course has a lot to do with when you play it. I've played it every time of year except the dead of winter, and I'd definitely recommend hitting it during the fall or spring to avoid the bug and posion ivy problem many other reviewers have mentioned. This summer the mosquitoes have been absolutely insane on the holes that play near the bog, but during the cooler months they're not a problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/24/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: surgeflx87
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice secluded course. Fairly easy to navigate except a couple of holes you might have to look for. There are a couple nice mandos that make shots tougher then they look.
Great variety of shots. Will test your skill with all shots. Hyzers, straight and plenty of anhyzer shots. Very well maintained since this a private course. Multiple sets of tees that add uniqueness to shots and not just added pro tees for distance like some courses. Some shots that make you think twice about going for it or ending up in some swampy lake. I for one love the way the water takes its effect on this course. Especially pro tee on hole 2 shooting over a pond and pond running along hole 15 with basket located on hill next to water.
Cons: Crushed rock tees are not bad but would be a great course if concrete tees were added. Like others said water does not drain at all on this course but i have seen worse drainage problems at channahon. Used to be bad poison oak and ivy problems but have not been problems at all recently. Some mean little dogs barking at hole four past two times playing but not an issue just annoying.
Other Thoughts: This could be a even better course if they add concrete tees in the future. Also can be a little hard to find if this is your first time playing there. Id love to see how this course keeps improving in the future with the great maintence crew they have. In my opinion this is not a course to just skip in the joliet area. But is also not for beginners. Will test your skill greatly like others have said with some holes and accuracy with many holes. And if you find a soft magnet at the bottom of the pond on 15 enjoy cus i did!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good for a short course

1    2/4/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation pretty easy. We did play in winter; so no greenery to hide long tees. We found them easily.
Crusher run tees. While this can also be a con; for winter play; they were in good shape, and perhaps give better footing than even cement; with the ice and snow. They were somewhat rutted though; and I bet this becomes a con in the summer.
Course maintenance crew doing a lot of work; in the middle of winter. More than one huge brush pile was being burnt the day we were here.
Flags in the ground to mark long tees; were in place; again, in the middle of winter. In other words, I reiterate, course maintenance crew does a nice job here. Tees framed by 4 X 4s, and thus can be filled an tamped. These tees are not going to spread 10 feet in each direction.
A couple of longer holes; combined with pretty tight wooded holes; allows for pretty solid variety.
Some pretty extreme dog legs.
Cons: Some of the cons go hand in hand with pros. Crusher run tees were nice in the winter/ perhaps even better than cement would have been; with snow and ice on them. However, during summer; these are probably not ideal.
Longs tees marked with orange flags; were well marked in winter. However, these could be fairly tough to find in summer; if maintenance crew doesn't keep up with them regularly. (I bet they do).
Tee signs only on short tees.
Water in play on a few holes. Make sure to walk hole #1 before throwing. Water just a few feet to left of basket. Short tee #1 requires throw entirely over water to pin. (I actually consider this a pro; but if you're unaware that water is here; you can very easily lose plastic. From long tee; you may not be aware water is in play.
Water on #15, again frozen for us; but you will want to walk this hole in summer to check out landing area.
No bugs in winter; but it is easy to see that this could be a major issue in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Again, this course is one of a number of good courses in the Joliet area. Others are better; but, the overall grouping of Trinity, Lewis University DGC, West Park, Shorewood Park, Community Park, and especially Highland Park, makes this a destination area. Half of these are old school lengths; i.e. Trintity, Lewis, Shorewood, and West; but are good examples of this length of courses. All of these courses are maintained well; tees were cleared on nearly all of them in the middle of winter.....and most of them have been through major redesigns over the years; to provide the best possible playing experience.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Lockport

5+    10/15/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lockport is on private property but is open to the public. There is a building with a large parking lot. It can be diffcult to spot since there is no sign. There are some heavily wooded areas along with some nice open areas. Thick rough comes into play as well as water on several holes. There are a few unique areas in the woods and minor elevated areas.

There are 2 sets of tees which adds variety.

There are several unique holes and green areas.

There are quite a few nice tunnel holes in the woods and some tight shots throwing in/out of the woods.

Several shots acorss and near water.

Punishing rough.

Adequate tee signs.

Nice newer upgraded baskets.

This course does not get much play and is not crowded.
Cons: Even with all the heavy rough and semi tight holes this is an under 54 par course. SSA is 49 -5 to 48 -6 using a mix of long/short tees at the Joliet Championships.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=9611

The tee pads are limestone and many times are uneven.

This course can have standing water and mud after rain.

It can be difficult to navigate. Finding both sets of tees can be a challenge.

Just like other Northern IL courses the bugs can be very bad during the warmer monthes.Bring bug spray!!
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginner course. It can play tough to newer players.

If you are in the area i'd suggest playing Highland Park and West Park in Joliet.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but punishing

1    9/7/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through small meadows set in dense woods with lots of thick brush. Many of the holes play into or out of the woods for some cool challenges. There are two holes where water is in play near the basket that add a little bit of risk/reward element to both drives and putts.

There is a wide variety of hole shapes, with some straight shots, but mostly holes that turn left or right, and a few with sharp doglegs. The variety of shapes means you'll need a lot of different shots to score well and stay on the fairways. Errant drives are punished with thick trees and brush, and leaving the fairway will often cost you a stroke. Though many of the holes are fairly short, they're also pretty technical and still test accuracy. There are a couple holes with more room to let a drive rip, but still will punish an errant shot.

There are tee signs that make the course pretty easy to follow most of the time, and they seemed accurate in terms of distance and pin location. The grounds are very nicely maintained, with no trash, and well-kept fairways both in and out of the trees. It's clear lots of work goes into maintaining the course.
Cons: The two water hazards are fun, but neither is visible off the tee, and they aren't marked on the tee signs. If it's your first time through the course, it's worth walking hole 1 and hole 15 (I think) to see where you don't want to land. The water is pretty gross, and you likely won't get a disc back that goes in.

The tees were crushed gravel, which didn't always make for the best footing. Many were a little small, and quite a few were a little uneven, making for less than ideal spots to tee from. There were a few tough navigation spots, where we had to spend a little time looking for the next tee, a little more signage would have helped a lot.

As others have stated, the bugs here are particularly bad, especially anywhere near the places with standing water. If you have an issue with mosquitoes, bring lots of bug spray here.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not the best place for beginners. With tough hole shapes, punishing rough, and lots of chances to lose a disc, most newer players would be pretty frustrated here. There are enough challenges to keep a more advanced player on their toes here, and it provides a great place to work on accuracy.

There are better courses in the Joliet area, so don't make this one a priority if you've only got time for a few. It is worth a stop though, it's a fun place to play and you'll probably get the course to yourself.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 very enjoyable in my opinion

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: decent signs, nice baskets, clean course, has some narrow openings and wide open fields, really long shots with more moderate in length, goes through the woods for some holes, some wide open shots, some shots with a few trees. i like the variety with left-right right-left straight-on shots. very peaceful place with no one else in sight for most of the course, next tee shown on tee signs.
Cons: gravel kind of boxed in tees didn't allow for great footing or run up room. only a few holes where u had to back track just check the signs for next tee location, pretty dense brush and woods bordering or around most holes which punishes your poor accuracy
Other Thoughts: not as much a beginner course because you need a decent amount of accurate throws, but a fun course for the intermediate to good player, i would come here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good Course

1    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: gsmit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.) Nice Variety of holes. Each hole is a little different. A bunch of dog-leg left & right. A few straight shots. Some real long holes (520 ft.) And still a couple short ones.

2.) Each of the dog-leg holes differ as well. Some have a real quick dog-leg (within the first 50 ft), while others don't turn until 200-300 ft from the tee box.

3.) A nice variety of wooded holes, open holes, and a combination of both.

4.) A fun course that has some challenging holes, as well as some hole you need to be very creative and careful.

5.) Not crowded at all. Very open for a great day of disc golf.
Cons: 1.) The BUGS are ridiculous!!! I read other reviews, and I thought, "Really, how can the bugs be that bad." No joke, the bugs are everywhere, biting you non-stop! You NEED to bring bug-spray or you will not enjoy this course as much as you should!

2.) This course EATS discs! My buddy and I have never lost a disc, but between the 2 of us, we lost 4 yesterday! 2 in the water, 1 in the woods, and 1 in a persons backyard.

3.) Tee-boxes are not very well-maintained. They are gravel, and can be a little unstable.

4.) The course is fairly easy to navigate, but some of the signs are a little misleading on where the chains are. It is very beneficial to walk from the tee-box to locate exactly where the chains are before you throw!
Other Thoughts: - This course can be little difficult to locate. If you click the link for Google Maps, it is exactly where it says on Oak Ave, but there are no signs. There is a little Octagon shaped building out front with another apartment-like building. It is there, right where it is supposed to be.

Overall, I enjoyed playing this course. It wasn't one of my favorites, but because of the level of difficulty and variety of holes, this course has a lot of upside. It kind of left a sour taste in my mouth because I lost 2 of my favorite discs, but a good course overall.

- Hole 1 has water/swamp directly behind and to the side of the chains, so be careful on your drive. It is not a very far drive, so don't bomb your drive. Take a walk to find the chains before you drive here.

-Hole 14 or 15? This is a wooded hole that has a huge (hidden from the tee box) swamp to the left of the tee box. The Chains are up a little hill, with the swamp right behind it. If you over-shoot the hole on your putt, you WILL lose a disc. If you drive RHBH with a stable disc, it is very likely you will fade into the the swamp! Stay to the right of the tee off you drive! Be careful on this hole, we lost 2 discs here in the swamp!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.