Joliet (Lockport), IL 
Trinity Links Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 205ft.   3 / 211ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Come Play Trinity

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 111  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a solid 3 to 3 1/2 stars when I first played it in 2008. I am bumping it up to 4 stars because the boys have done such a good job making improvements on an already cool course The addition of paved long tees is a real plus. The course offers a nice amount of variety. What little elevation there is out there is brought into play. A few baskets are up on mounds, creating a chance for roll-aways. The first two holes now have tees that play over water. They are risk- reward options. The risk is losing a disc if you are not accurate enough off the tee. The reward is an easier line to the basket. Hole 7 was already a bomber hole. They have pushed it back, making it about a 600ft. hole, and added a little more challenge getting it to the hole by tucking it between a row of trees. Some holes favor a hyzer for right handers, while some favor antihyzers or forearm shots. I really like holes 15 and 16 in the woods. They are short holes that can easily be deuced if you avoid the trees. However, a 4 can easily be recorded if your tee shot hits one of the many trees and rolls behind another tree creating a tough lie.The changes on 17 made it go from a routine par 3 to a very challenging three for most folks who cannot throw it much over 300 feet. The basket now sits atop a mound and is well guarded by trees. An aggressive approach could lead to a roll-away disc getting wet in the pond behind the hole.
This course is definitely worth a stop for any level player. Beginners will find out what hitting your line is all about. Even more advanced players will find some challenge out here.
Cons: I like holes 15 and 16, but the fairways do overlap a little. It could be an issue on crowded days, but I guess it is not that much of a con. I am OK with the water on hole 15 near the basket. It adds to the challenge, but like another reviewer said, it is a bit nasty. There is no way I would want to wade in there to fish out a disc, and getting wet on this hole is a real possibility. A bounce the wrong way off a tree means wet disc in nasty stuff. There is nothing the boys who have worked so hard on this course can do about elevation, but this course does not have the elevation variety of a West Park, Highland Park, or even Lewis U. That is the only factor really lacking on this course as far as I am concerned. If it had the elevation of those courses, I would seriously consider making this a 4 1/2 star course. I still appreciate the way they used the little bit there is. There is a group of teens who live in the neighborhood around the course who like to hang out here. I think they are responsible for a good part of the trash you find on the course. They are probably the ones who upset the garbage cans and vandalized a few of the signs as well. PUNKS!
Other Thoughts: A big thumbs up and 5 stars for the effort put into making this such a fun course to play! I hope all the disc golfers who play here appreciate the effort put into this place and go out of their way to pick up after themselves. Do not be like the local punks who trash the place. One more thing. Make sure you wave to los rancheros you see riding their caballos (horses) on Oak and Briggs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the good stuff

5+    11/22/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: notBOB
Played: 127  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: along with highland blues, trinity long tees is my favorite layout in the area. (this review is mostly referring to the long layout)

this course keeps growing due to the extensive maintenance by thor and the boys.. thank you and keep it up! that being said, currently the length along with other general course info is a bit off on the course homepage

-trinity is very technical and quite lengthy
-it is well balanced with a mix of technical midrange holes and open bombs- equally challenging
-multiple tees on every hole, most have 3 tees
-many signature holes: hole 2 is awesome- tees over the foot of the pond thru a gap cornering right and straitening back left to a hanging basket on a well protected green.
-hole 7 long tee offers an initial tight gap opening into a 700 ft plus bomb finishing back in the woods with OB immediate in front of the basket, par 3
-hole 17 is interesting and tough: mando forcing hyzer to the right off the tee and a choice of 2 gaps- basket is on a hill leading to water behind the hole. danger danger
-this course forces an all around game to do well- versatility is key
-trinity is private which hinders overall traffic-hoodlems and buttholes included as it is not in the best area
-practice basket in the field near 1
-benches and garbage cans throughout
Cons: -hole 4's long pad shares a long pad the opposite direction with no. 10 (was changed after the fact to enhance no. 4, which i'm all about, however, makes for a sloppy mix with traffic flow)
-the walk after 15 has you backtrack thru the length of fairway and partially thru 16's fairway. could be dangerous and makes for bad flow.
-signs are damaged if not inaccurate due to updates- no big deal
-mach II news are spittin shat everywhere. chain left, chain thru bounce off the damn pole...what can ya do???
-dammit dale i dont smoke cigarettes!!! please remember this!!
Other Thoughts: there is a highly dedicated group of individuals responsible for turning this into the beautiful course it is today.

i would like to extend my thanks to thor and the crew.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of my new favorites

1    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Awesome mix of shots here
-Concrete pads for both the "short" pad and the "pro" pad.
-Water. Need I say more? Who doesn't like a nice risk/reward shot?
-Punishing rough makes you make sure those throws are going where you want them to.
-Couple "bomber" holes.
-Lots of holes that demand well shaped shots.
-Nice new wooden benches on a couple of holes,
-Plenty of garbage cans, which is great but there are beer cans everywhere in the woods. This is a private course that is "open" to the public so show some respect people.
-Excellent use of available property, Almost no fairway overlap, which is impressive because there is not a ton of room here,
Cons: -There are a couple boring holes,but every course has one or two, right?
-There was an extremely creepy bum following people around asking for smokes. He was blatantly in the way of a group of people waiting to tee off and they asked him a dozen times to move before he did.
-It isn't closer to my house.
Other Thoughts: I played here today for the first time and I loved it. This is seriously one of the best courses I've played. I had a good time and so did my buddies. I liked the challenging holes but welcomed the easier ones for a quick and easy deuce. I really couldn't come up with anything real for the "cons" as I really digged this course.

I was unaware that this course had been recently re-designed, Which makes me wonder if the older ratings and reviews are doing this course some injustice in it's current state... 3.13 overall rating seems awfully low for this course. I've played much worse park district courses with higher ratings than that.

Maybe the good time I had here was just the result of a fun trip down to the J town to hit this course up... We stopped at aces and chains to thumb through their stuff and trade some stuff in then went to white castle to shake my hangover. Next thing I knew we were driving up briggs and there are mexican cowboys riding horses along the sides of the roads and all over near the course. Wish I would have seen these goats I've heard about.

Sweet course, Cant wait to get back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

trinity in lockport

1    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - i would like to start by saying thanks to the owners of this course. it is a private course but is open to the public.
-the basic stuff nice private park. good cement pads pro pads on every hole make for some really fun shots
-hole 2 is a nice fun shot with part of the pond being right in front of the tee nice benches on many holes. and the basket is hainging up in a tree what i thought made it a diffrent shot
-almost all the holes have some sort of tree cover.(at my local courses there are a lot of open holes) i think there were only two holes that could use some trees
-i forgot the what holes but lots of nice wooded shots that force a good mid game some of these can be a choice depending if u throw from the normal pad or the pro pad
-16 is an awesome hole with heavy woods and the tee raised on a small hill( and looks like a creek that was dried up at the time
-hole 17 is a little confusing the sign shows it hooking hard to the right but the basket was moved i guess to be straight ahead on a small hill in the woods with the lake on the other side. but i imagine this made the hole a lot more fun(first time playing it was today)
Cons: -it seems that lots of people like to throw trash all over the place. this actually kinda pisses me off the owners of this course do not have to keep it open to the public so please clean up after your selves
-the creepy old homeless dude was weird kept asking people for smokes. and just walked up to me stood about 10 feet away and just stared at me for like 2 min before saying anything. i was almost expecting him to like stab me but i think he is
Other Thoughts: -was a little hard to find but was able to find after a few min.
-i had a blast at this course why do all the better courses have to be so far away the only 18 around the wheaton area that even compares to the courses down by 80 is cress creek. at least as far as average + players

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.