Joliet (Lockport), IL 
Trinity Links Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 305ft.   4 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Come Play Trinity

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 111  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a solid 3 to 3 1/2 stars when I first played it in 2008. I am bumping it up to 4 stars because the boys have done such a good job making improvements on an already cool course The addition of paved long tees is a real plus. The course offers a nice amount of variety. What little elevation there is out there is brought into play. A few baskets are up on mounds, creating a chance for roll-aways. The first two holes now have tees that play over water. They are risk- reward options. The risk is losing a disc if you are not accurate enough off the tee. The reward is an easier line to the basket. Hole 7 was already a bomber hole. They have pushed it back, making it about a 600ft. hole, and added a little more challenge getting it to the hole by tucking it between a row of trees. Some holes favor a hyzer for right handers, while some favor antihyzers or forearm shots. I really like holes 15 and 16 in the woods. They are short holes that can easily be deuced if you avoid the trees. However, a 4 can easily be recorded if your tee shot hits one of the many trees and rolls behind another tree creating a tough lie.The changes on 17 made it go from a routine par 3 to a very challenging three for most folks who cannot throw it much over 300 feet. The basket now sits atop a mound and is well guarded by trees. An aggressive approach could lead to a roll-away disc getting wet in the pond behind the hole.
This course is definitely worth a stop for any level player. Beginners will find out what hitting your line is all about. Even more advanced players will find some challenge out here.
Cons: I like holes 15 and 16, but the fairways do overlap a little. It could be an issue on crowded days, but I guess it is not that much of a con. I am OK with the water on hole 15 near the basket. It adds to the challenge, but like another reviewer said, it is a bit nasty. There is no way I would want to wade in there to fish out a disc, and getting wet on this hole is a real possibility. A bounce the wrong way off a tree means wet disc in nasty stuff. There is nothing the boys who have worked so hard on this course can do about elevation, but this course does not have the elevation variety of a West Park, Highland Park, or even Lewis U. That is the only factor really lacking on this course as far as I am concerned. If it had the elevation of those courses, I would seriously consider making this a 4 1/2 star course. I still appreciate the way they used the little bit there is. There is a group of teens who live in the neighborhood around the course who like to hang out here. I think they are responsible for a good part of the trash you find on the course. They are probably the ones who upset the garbage cans and vandalized a few of the signs as well. PUNKS!
Other Thoughts: A big thumbs up and 5 stars for the effort put into making this such a fun course to play! I hope all the disc golfers who play here appreciate the effort put into this place and go out of their way to pick up after themselves. Do not be like the local punks who trash the place. One more thing. Make sure you wave to los rancheros you see riding their caballos (horses) on Oak and Briggs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the good stuff

5+    11/22/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: notBOB
Played: 135  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: along with highland blues, trinity long tees is my favorite layout in the area. (this review is mostly referring to the long layout)

this course keeps growing due to the extensive maintenance by thor and the boys.. thank you and keep it up! that being said, currently the length along with other general course info is a bit off on the course homepage

-trinity is very technical and quite lengthy
-it is well balanced with a mix of technical midrange holes and open bombs- equally challenging
-multiple tees on every hole, most have 3 tees
-many signature holes: hole 2 is awesome- tees over the foot of the pond thru a gap cornering right and straitening back left to a hanging basket on a well protected green.
-hole 7 long tee offers an initial tight gap opening into a 700 ft plus bomb finishing back in the woods with OB immediate in front of the basket, par 3
-hole 17 is interesting and tough: mando forcing hyzer to the right off the tee and a choice of 2 gaps- basket is on a hill leading to water behind the hole. danger danger
-this course forces an all around game to do well- versatility is key
-trinity is private which hinders overall traffic-hoodlems and buttholes included as it is not in the best area
-practice basket in the field near 1
-benches and garbage cans throughout
Cons: -hole 4's long pad shares a long pad the opposite direction with no. 10 (was changed after the fact to enhance no. 4, which i'm all about, however, makes for a sloppy mix with traffic flow)
-the walk after 15 has you backtrack thru the length of fairway and partially thru 16's fairway. could be dangerous and makes for bad flow.
-signs are damaged if not inaccurate due to updates- no big deal
-mach II news are spittin shat everywhere. chain left, chain thru bounce off the damn pole...what can ya do???
-dammit dale i dont smoke cigarettes!!! please remember this!!
Other Thoughts: there is a highly dedicated group of individuals responsible for turning this into the beautiful course it is today.

i would like to extend my thanks to thor and the crew.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my new favorites

1    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Awesome mix of shots here
-Concrete pads for both the "short" pad and the "pro" pad.
-Water. Need I say more? Who doesn't like a nice risk/reward shot?
-Punishing rough makes you make sure those throws are going where you want them to.
-Couple "bomber" holes.
-Lots of holes that demand well shaped shots.
-Nice new wooden benches on a couple of holes,
-Plenty of garbage cans, which is great but there are beer cans everywhere in the woods. This is a private course that is "open" to the public so show some respect people.
-Excellent use of available property, Almost no fairway overlap, which is impressive because there is not a ton of room here,
Cons: -There are a couple boring holes,but every course has one or two, right?
-There was an extremely creepy bum following people around asking for smokes. He was blatantly in the way of a group of people waiting to tee off and they asked him a dozen times to move before he did.
-It isn't closer to my house.
Other Thoughts: I played here today for the first time and I loved it. This is seriously one of the best courses I've played. I had a good time and so did my buddies. I liked the challenging holes but welcomed the easier ones for a quick and easy deuce. I really couldn't come up with anything real for the "cons" as I really digged this course.

I was unaware that this course had been recently re-designed, Which makes me wonder if the older ratings and reviews are doing this course some injustice in it's current state... 3.13 overall rating seems awfully low for this course. I've played much worse park district courses with higher ratings than that.

Maybe the good time I had here was just the result of a fun trip down to the J town to hit this course up... We stopped at aces and chains to thumb through their stuff and trade some stuff in then went to white castle to shake my hangover. Next thing I knew we were driving up briggs and there are mexican cowboys riding horses along the sides of the roads and all over near the course. Wish I would have seen these goats I've heard about.

Sweet course, Cant wait to get back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 trinity in lockport

1    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - i would like to start by saying thanks to the owners of this course. it is a private course but is open to the public.
-the basic stuff nice private park. good cement pads pro pads on every hole make for some really fun shots
-hole 2 is a nice fun shot with part of the pond being right in front of the tee nice benches on many holes. and the basket is hainging up in a tree what i thought made it a diffrent shot
-almost all the holes have some sort of tree cover.(at my local courses there are a lot of open holes) i think there were only two holes that could use some trees
-i forgot the what holes but lots of nice wooded shots that force a good mid game some of these can be a choice depending if u throw from the normal pad or the pro pad
-16 is an awesome hole with heavy woods and the tee raised on a small hill( and looks like a creek that was dried up at the time
-hole 17 is a little confusing the sign shows it hooking hard to the right but the basket was moved i guess to be straight ahead on a small hill in the woods with the lake on the other side. but i imagine this made the hole a lot more fun(first time playing it was today)
Cons: -it seems that lots of people like to throw trash all over the place. this actually kinda pisses me off the owners of this course do not have to keep it open to the public so please clean up after your selves
-the creepy old homeless dude was weird kept asking people for smokes. and just walked up to me stood about 10 feet away and just stared at me for like 2 min before saying anything. i was almost expecting him to like stab me but i think he is
Other Thoughts: -was a little hard to find but was able to find after a few min.
-i had a blast at this course why do all the better courses have to be so far away the only 18 around the wheaton area that even compares to the courses down by 80 is cress creek. at least as far as average + players

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The LOVE Shows

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
**You can tell that someone loves this course by the care and little touches that have been put into it.
**Blue plastic garbage cans on every hole.
**Brand new, professionally done Concrete tee pads on the short tees.
**Nice new wooden benches in several locations.
**Basic signage was good enough to get us throwing in the right direction.
**Love the funny little OB pit and drop zone painted in front of hole #7.
**Mostly tight and technical, I love this kind of course since I don't have a big arm.
Cons: .
Treat the water in the pond to get rid of the mosquitoes, algae Etc. It would look a lot better, plus, give you a chance to pull out an errant disc.
Other Thoughts: .
A little hard to findů
My GPS said it was on the wrong side of the road, we drove by it twice. I just happened to spot the #4 basket on the berm as we went by for a third time. It looks like two businesses to me with a parking lot behind/in between them.

Some pretty severe storms with down-burst winds had just rolled through the area right before we were there. Every course we played had "A Bunch" of downed limbs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 trinity links

5+    12/20/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: 01rocfreak
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/22/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has under gone a ton of change. the new tee pads are amazing ( cement) and the new lay out makes this course a lot more challenging. Hole 1 and 2 shoot over the water which is an awesome way to start your round. hold four was moved to make it a tough shot that is elevated. hole five has a new pro tee pad that is challenging. 7,8,9,19,12 all have new pro tee pads and 9 and 12 regular tee pads have been changed. 15 is a risk reward shot shooting over a small pond that can cause trouble. 17 and 18 are new lay outs that make the course finish with a bang. the new layout does have some walking but it is worth it to play the shots you get to play.
Cons: the water on the course is a problem. I have noticed a lot of people working out there digging trenches ( these guys do it by hand and the trenches are 3 feet deep and about 100 yards long.) the two ponds have duck weed on them and make it look like artificial grass, seriously. other then that the bugs like every course suck but they have been spraying the course and last summer the bugs did not pose an issue.
Other Thoughts: this course has had a face lift and looks and plays great. the course is really clean. Just be prepared to be asked for a cigarette from one of the local residents. A lot of am players struggle on this course because you need to have a consistent accurate throw and then be able to throw so bombs. ( 4,7,9,10,13) over all I would say come play the course. It is private and I know for a fact if you are caught messing around you will be kicked out if not have the police called on you. serious golfers only

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 as of June 1, 2011

5+    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: airspuds
Played: 100  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2011
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 18 Updated 6-5-11 >>> Tee not permanent short basket tucked into woods on hill with h20 behind basket
17 added length > basket on hill with water behind it
15 basket on island position
---
some longer tees being worked on

course spot less
some drainage dug out (thanks guys !!!)
Cons: short tees wet but there was rain night before, longs looked in better shape
gnats > carry the bug spray
Other Thoughts: big fan of this course > good mix of shots needed > good one to play when in the area > there is water so bring "water disc"

aceandchains disc golf store in area ( west park area )

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really had a lot of great features, some of which were wooded holes, open holes and WATER. Most of the tees were very easy to find as a first time player. The baskets looked newer and were in very good condition. Some things that I really like about the design of the course was the use of Hyzer, Anhyzer and straight shots. On several holes there was a risk reward shot and then there was the safe play shot. Most holes had a Pro and Am tee, which is always nice to see. Holes 1, 2 and 15 played around a small pond, which could come into play if you make a poor shot. The course does not seem to get crowded with tons of players, which will allow you to play at your own pace and you won't have to worry about getting stuck behind a large group of players
Cons: Unfortunately, this course did struggle where I see a lot of courses; the tees. They used crushed limestone tees which by itself would not normally be terrible, but the issue here is with the poor drainage of the land they tend to get more muddy than anything else. Some other plaguing issues I saw here was the flow of the course. Several time you walked up fairways that you just played or in very close proximity to another fairway, errant shots could become potentially hazardous. As I mentioned this course seems to drain very poorly, a lot of it seems to be perpetuated by the pond (yes it is actually a real pond). There are a few holes where the pro tees are really enclosed by tight trees. As they mature there will be little to no shot; I think some of it is right now that they were just put in a few of those pro tees.
Other Thoughts: While this was a fairly simple course it definitely did have a certain "fun" factor. If the tees were repaired or made concrete I could see this course being a lot easier to play and get better ratings. It looks as though there were some small attempts to fix the drainage on the course, but if they actually put in drainage creeks and mare then OB it would help with water and add some difficulty to the course. If you are in the area, it is a course to consider only if it has been dry the past few days.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Goats Head Soup

1    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lockport is a pretty good short par 3 course. A lot of the course flows through some woods and there are a couple of water carries. The course is flat, but a few things have been added (# 4 runs along a berm with a drop-off on either side, there is a big mound on # 17 that the basket sits on and one pro tee is up on a mound) to add a bit of elevation to it. There are two sets of tees, and some add quite a different look to the shots. The shots are generally short and technical, but #7 is a nice "bomb's away" hole. It's not long enough to be a pro-challenging course, but there is enough trouble there to keep Intermediate players challenged.
Cons: I wasn't blown away by the design. #6 shoots across an open field, then you turn around and walk back where you came from to get to the tee for # 7. The baskets for # 6 and # 18 are pretty close together, and in a couple of other places baskets and tees are easily reached by an errant throw from another hole. If the course was busy, I could see a lot of conflicts and back-ups caused by the design. A couple of the wooded holes were pretty much poke and pray, including one shot on the back (I think it was # 15) that went over water. When I'm shooting over water, I'd like a defined route.

The course does have some water hazards, but the water appears to be from the property not draining well. It's basically a couple of large, stagnant, stinking cesspools that contribute greatly to the nasty bug problem this course has in warm weather. It's also not the kind of water you want to go after a disc in.

The tees are crushed limestone and not all that great. There are tee signs at each hole, and each one seemed to be vandalized in some way. There was a lot of trash around (the tee for # 8 was surrounded by garbage from the neighboring property) and a lot of broken glass on a couple of fairways. Add to that the stinking stagnant water hazards and bugs, and the overall effect is a less than aesthetically pleasing course.
Other Thoughts: There were goats in the fairway on # 4, which seemed to come from the neighbors property. That was a new one for me.

Lockport is not the kind of course you would want to go out of the way to play, but it is right down the road from Highland, and Highland is a course you would want to go out of your way to play. Once you make it to Highland, Lockport is a good enough course to add to your courses played list.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oh! Oh!... No! Not the water!...crap.

5+    10/28/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has an immense variety of shots, not just for the area it has, but for any course in the area. Hole 3 in particular almost forces you to throw a spike anhyzer (if you can imagine that). The amount of diversity here is wonder.
-This course has 4 true water hazards, for which it is the only course in the area. While Community Park has water, it takes a really poor or unlucky shot to end up there, and overall just isn't as intimidating. What makes it even better is the best 2, are on the first and second holes! Its just such an intense way to begin the round. The other two less outstanding hazards are on holes 15, just before the basket, and on hole 17, just behind the new pin placement on a hill, making for scary roll aways.
-The pro tees from this course offer great new feels for the course. A few holes have recently had new pro tees installed for the upcoming Joliet Championships, and these are also extremely well thought out.
-This courses baskets are in great shape, and the signs are as well. Some of the signs are now slightly off in distance, but that's due to new pro tees and pin placements and are in the process of being remedied. Overall a very easy course to navigate.
-This is also an excellent course for glow rounds. I've only played here twice and not had a glow round.
Cons: -The tee pads here do need some work. While the guys hosting the tournament are in the process of fixing up these pads, currently the fresh crushed gravel is still loose. Hopefully the recent rains have helped compact it some.
-This course does have some tough schule, but that shouldn't be a problem if you stay in the fairway. ;) if only it were that easy, right?
Other Thoughts: The tees are the only outstanding flaw to this course. Once these are in better shape you'll see the ratings of this course skyrocket. This course makes up for this with its great variety of lines, from tight wooded fairways, to open bombs. Also, this course is so close to Highland Park, which is a must play in the Joliet area. With it being less than 5 minutes away, I can't see why you shouldn't play this along with Highland, unless you are completely strapped for time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.