Joliet, IL 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
5 / 454ft.   5 / 454ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: "The Green Mile"

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A great old course

1    7/3/2016   8/8/2016
Review By: SpartanDisc
Played: 133  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 24 holes with 2 tees per hole makes for a lot of disc golf to be played
- Good shot variety. While there aren't a ton of extremely wooded holes, there are a few tight ones and the design of the course allows for a lot of different shots to be played in a round.
- A few signature holes make good use of the bit of elevation, specifically #2 which is a blind shot off a cliff and over a creek and hole #16 which is a downhill tunnel shot through some pretty thick rough
- Not that it affects the play of the course, but it is nice to see that the oldest course in Illinois is still up and running in good condition
- Not really a true "pro," but since the course is really old, the course par is insanely easy. Just feels good to use the DGCG scorekeeping app and at the end of the round be told I shot 23 under par ;)
Cons: - The course could use a bit better signage as there are some spots where finding the next tee can be challenging unless you know the course. Also a few places where you tee off a road could be better marked in terms of where the tee pad should actually be.
- In some places the teepads are marked by white or red stones/markings for the white or red pads, but on some holes they don't seem match which tee the sign says should be where. Whites are supposed to be longer but on some holes I felt it was the opposite, or maybe I was just confused which pad was which due to it not being totally clear.
- On the back half of the course, it was clear that the holes were just kind of jammed in there. There are a lot of pads and baskets near each other, which in addition to making navigation confusing, leads to some dangerous areas if the course is packed. A few holes play within a few feet of a road (not counting the small road through the park) which could lead to a car being hit or a disc being ran over
- Gets really muddy if there has been a lot of rain
- Doesn't have pads for all 48 tees
Other Thoughts: In writing this, I feel like it might sound like my "cons" are a lot more descriptive and thoughtful than my "pros" and make it sound like I'm being negative. Truthfully, I really enjoy playing this course, and it is one of my constant go-to's in the area. It has a few issues, but it is a lot of fun to play and overall it is very well designed on a majority of holes. I was torn between a 3.5 or 4 but the 3 or 4 overlapping holes on the back 9 made me decide to go with a 3.5. I highly recommend anyone in the area checking it out, if for no other reason than to play the oldest course in the state.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun course

5+    5/16/2016   5/17/2016
Review By: Dbandit2816
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. #2 is an excellent hole. You throw from a cliff to a hard left. Has a good variety of long open drives and technical wooded shots. Can be a challenging park for beginners. But overall a very fun course to throw.
Cons: Its hard to navigate holes a little bit these days. Some of the signs are hard to see or read. Some of the tee offs could really use some tlc..

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    3/9/2015   3/11/2015
Review By: joelhartzell
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the drop off of Hole 2. Good variety, the front 12 are mostly wooded and the back 12 are mostly open shots. Signs are all in ok condition considering how old this course is.
Cons: Not a fan of hole 3 with the deep disc-eating dirty creek right behind the basket. Only complaint though.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, and almost great

5+    7/6/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of elevation
- Several fun holes
- Decent variety and pacing
- Easy enough for beginners to have a good time, challenging enough for the more advanced to hunt for birdies.
- 24 holes
Cons: - No concrete teepads, hopefully will be remedied soon. Natural pads eroded significantly in some areas.
- Course really suffers after a significant rain.
- Through 24 holes, only a few where you can really break out your drivers.
- Navigation can be tricky your first time out. My buddies and I got lost between 8 and 9 and again briefly on the back end
Other Thoughts: West Park is a very fun, if not overly challenging, course. There are many fun and interesting holes sprinkled through the course, and while some may feel redundant, they do not take away much from the overall experience.

Many shot shapes are needed, and elevation is used to great effect on several fairways and greens.

While you will be able to get by with a putter or midrange on the majority of holes, there are enough opportunities to breakout the driver to keep things from getting too stale.

Concrete tees and a bit of work on some of the more eroded areas would really improve the playability of this course, especially after a day or two of rain.

West Park is a lot of fun to play, and combined with one or more of the other Joliet area courses, makes for a great day of disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Old course reviewed by old player

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 108  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 41.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A somewhat short technical course that's wooded and challenging.

The course offers a wide variety of shot options.

The course caters to all skill levels and under normal conditions, is very fun to play.

It is one of the oldest courses in Illinois, with the original 18 being put in the ground in 1979.

Friendly locals and a long standing tradition of fun tournaments.
Cons: The course is not so fun when its raining out, or after a heavy rain. It can get very muddy.

The course could really benefit from some concrete tee pads.

It can get very crowded.

The navigation can be a little tricky. I would recommend a guide, if playing for the 1st time.
Other Thoughts: I started playing this course when it was first put in, and it was the 1st course that I played with baskets for targets. It will always be my home course, and hold a special place in my heart.

The cons have not changed over the years, but with that in mind, it is still a very fun course for all skill levels and a must play for this area. It really is a piece of Illinois disc golf history.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wild Wild West

2-4    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 88  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Oldest course in IL!
-Tons of different shots here
-Excellent use of elevation
-Good mix of distance
-Lots of reward for well thrown shots, consequently errant shots are punished and can cost you multiple throws to get yourself out of trouble.
-Pretty good flow from hole to hole
-A couple of real tight, challenging fairways which I really like.
-Very quiet minus the noise generated by the nearby highway
-24 holes, I wish more courses were this long. I like to play until I'm tired and this course is perfect for starting or ending a day of disc'n when you play another one of the nearby courses or play around this one twice
-This is one of those "must play" courses in the chicagoland area, That in itself says something about the course.
-Lots of "fun factor" here, This is a fun course, No doubt about that.
Cons: -Navigation, the baskets are not taped to direct you to the next hole and although most of the time it is relatively straightforward there are a couple or confusing spots, Luckily locals pointed us in the right direction.
-Natural tees, I know this is being a bit picky but there are a couple of real sketchy tees. The natural tees are true to this course's old school roots but concrete would be a nice addition to an already great course.
-This course is a MESS after it rains. If there has been recent rains, skip it. It does dry out quick though.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses I day-tripped to play when I was still wet behind the ears in the disc golf world and it had been a while since I had been back and after playing it again today I realized how much I really liked it.

You have to remind yourself when you play this course that it is the FIRST disc golf course in Illinois, Thats super cool to me. Think of all the aces and good times that have been had here over the years.

This may not be the most beginner friendly course out there but we took a rookie out today and he had a rough time on some of the holes but he said he really enjoyed it.

Also, aces and chains disc golf store ( ) is right around the corner (Intersection of jefferson and larkin, behind the subway) if you need anything disc golf related, stop by. Skip the big stores, Support locals and shop locally.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic short course

5+    7/15/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 227  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There's a variety of holes requiring unique lines here. There are two sets of tees on some holes. There is some cool elevation on several holes. A fun opportunity to rip it is there in the open on hole 11. Hole 10 from the long tee is unique as it requires a righty backhand flex line.
Cons: This is a very short course. It can feel repetitive throwing a lot of putters and mids. This course is very eroded and most of the lines are very open and not very demanding. I don't really care for hole 16, a blind hole with ob road 1 foot behind the basket. There is not many opportunities to throw drivers here.
Other Thoughts: One of the oldest courses around.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in Southwest Chicagoland

5+    8/12/2005   7/29/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love the elevations of the course. Excellent fairways to execute. Good shots out of tree line, especially the one on top of the hill pretty much thrown over the forest.
Cons: The area turned, making it a better course to play afternoon well before day break.
Other Thoughts: Probably the most elevated course I've played on in the south burbs. Always a challenge. Great use of space and always maintained.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Last 1's To Play In Da Heat

5+    7/4/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: Water_Wind_Spirit
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very cool course! One of the first courses I played when I got into the sport of DiscGolf. Witnessed my friend getting an ace on hole #5
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Hole #3 feels like your in Jurassic Park!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

5+    6/9/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 88  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the best variety of holes with a few special ones that are as good as you'll see anywhere.

Hole 2 could be my favorite hole ever. You tee from the edge of a cliff down through some trees to a hole that looks so small that it's unreachable, but I usually manage to have a reasonable putt for a deuce. There's a water hazard (creek) that you can usually retain your disc from, which adds an extra something. There is another blind shot that's downhill from elevation that's a similar, but shorter version.

There's a good mix of wooded and elevation in the first 15 or so and then it starts to open up a bit for the final several holes. They've carved out some nice angles using the trees.

It's a beautiful park with a creek, hills and plenty of tall trees.

While an errant shot can be punished by giving you a bad angle at the pin, there aren't too many places where you'd struggle to find your disc.
Cons: As someone who has played it a couple times a year for many years I know not to play it when it's wet. Just keep that in mind because if you know to simply play when it hasn't rained a lot recently that's not a factor. It will drain (and is often bone dry) unlike some of the drainage ditch courses in the Chicago area.

Despite my familiarity with the course I always tend to get a little lost in a couple places. Some sign improvements could make this the best course around.

A lot of people complain about the tees, but I've played it when it's really dry and the natural tees work just fine. That said, a lot of people seem to care about what kind of tees there are so natural tees is a con to some.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this a 4.0, but the more I thought about it the more the lack of directions within the course had to bump it down a peg. Regardless, you must play this course if you love disc golf. 24 with good baskets, variety and fun shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.