Joliet, IL 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 285ft.   4 / 335ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Fairway



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Last 1's To Play In Da Heat

5+    7/4/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: Water_Wind_Spirit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course! Always look forward to coming to this course. Very surreal experience, sort of feels like your in Jurassic Park on a couple of holes!
Cons: Like to see concrete t-pads but no big deal.
Other Thoughts: Great course offering a nice challenge

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

5+    6/9/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the best variety of holes with a few special ones that are as good as you'll see anywhere.

Hole 2 could be my favorite hole ever. You tee from the edge of a cliff down through some trees to a hole that looks so small that it's unreachable, but I usually manage to have a reasonable putt for a deuce. There's a water hazard (creek) that you can usually retain your disc from, which adds an extra something. There is another blind shot that's downhill from elevation that's a similar, but shorter version.

There's a good mix of wooded and elevation in the first 15 or so and then it starts to open up a bit for the final several holes. They've carved out some nice angles using the trees.

It's a beautiful park with a creek, hills and plenty of tall trees.

While an errant shot can be punished by giving you a bad angle at the pin, there aren't too many places where you'd struggle to find your disc.
Cons: As someone who has played it a couple times a year for many years I know not to play it when it's wet. Just keep that in mind because if you know to simply play when it hasn't rained a lot recently that's not a factor. It will drain (and is often bone dry) unlike some of the drainage ditch courses in the Chicago area.

Despite my familiarity with the course I always tend to get a little lost in a couple places. Some sign improvements could make this the best course around.

A lot of people complain about the tees, but I've played it when it's really dry and the natural tees work just fine. That said, a lot of people seem to care about what kind of tees there are so natural tees is a con to some.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this a 4.0, but the more I thought about it the more the lack of directions within the course had to bump it down a peg. Regardless, you must play this course if you love disc golf. 24 with good baskets, variety and fun shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Almost an outstanding course

1    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 95  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My review of West Park DG Course is one that I'm very torn on... there were parts of my round here where I thought to myself "I want to make this a favorite" and parts where I wanted to pick up my discs and go home. The pros are the following:

*24 holes! Mentally, I felt like the round was nearing an end around hole 15 or so, but then I remembered that there was still a lot of disc golf to be played!

*Scenic holes... Hole 2 in particular was awesome! Pretty much throwing off of a mini-cliff with some trees to sculpt a line for you to hit. This is one that I would love to ace (or see aced) some day.

In all, it was a pretty challenging round with a lot of fun holes and a few like number two that I would call good "signature" holes.
Cons: *Unfortuante lack of tee-pads. Sometimes this isn't too bad of a thing, but here it got pretty bad in that there were roots and slopes and crazy things preventing a solid approach.

*Bad flow... I was lucky to have someone who had played the course before with me because I would have had no idea.

*For me, a feeling of being isolated or seperated from the rest of the world is an awesome thing while disc golfing (for both safety and enjoyment reasons). That did not happen here! Multiple playgrounds and streets and houses come into play here which kind of made the round less fun for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Timeless Classic

5+    3/23/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Jax11
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - High fun factor
- Lots of birdie opportunities
- Solid elevation changes
- Well defined fairways
- Variety of lines required
- Some distance variety
- Some risk/reward decisions
- Course flows well from hole to hole
- Bathroom on site in the back near hole #9
Cons: - Teepads are natural and rough
- Erosion issues regarding the teepads, they are treacherous!
- Holes 2-5, 11, and 16 can get extremely sloppy after a significant rainfall.
- Lacks challenge, it is a true deuce or die kind of course
- Majority of holes lack distance
Other Thoughts: West Park is a timeless classic and despite its shorter distance and sometimes lack of a challenge, it is an extremely fun course to play. Most of the holes play through moderately wooded and hilly terrain. The elevation is used very well and provides some really enjoyable down hill shots. Despite the fact that most holes are under 300ft, there are a few holes that let the bigger arms air it out. The fairways are well defined and the navigation is easy. Most holes are rather straight-forward and do not require a guide or walk down the fairway in order to understand the designer's intention.

The creek on the left of #2 drops off near the center and it is possible to lose a disc in there. Otherwise, the creek generally stays pretty low and any disc that goes in should be fairly easy to see and retrieve.

Bathrooms right near hole #9's teepad, but they are sometimes locked.

Bring bug spray as the mosquitoes get pretty bad in the summer.

Overall, West Park is a timeless classic. It is worth a play at least once if you are within a couple hours. The fun factor is extremely high as every hole seems to present a deuce or ace opportunity. With renovations such as concrete teepads and some way to deal with the flooding on holes 2-4 this course could be a 4 or 4.5

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 West Park Fun and fast

1    9/7/2010   7/2/2011
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 132  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very fun course with many interesting holes. Course is great for all skill levels I feel. Lots of woodsy holes and several made me smile when I first saw them. Nice use of the hills and elevation variations. 24 holes.

Close to the highway. Well marked and easy to follow .
Cons: The pads were ... bad.
Other Thoughts: Not a world championship caliber course but it rates highly on my fun scale. We need courses like this... they make this game fun for all. For advanced players every hole is 2 able but, there are risks involved. For beginners and intermediates this course would be fun too. I was impressed with the design and how well marked the course was. Great job you guys!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

dont drink the bog water

5+    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 126  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: old civil war base<great home course< cant beat the terrain
-variety of cliff shots, mostly short technical, a few long open bombs with towering trees
-10 holes have two tees, whites(longs) and reds> shorts
-tee signs on every hole and garbage cans
-endless safari possibilities when the course is empty
-many different routes for shortened rounds
Cons: -gets swamped with big groups
-nasty creek...
-natural tees- erosion issues..
-sledders inhibit snow disc
-mosquitos and poison ivy
-holes 5 and 6's tees are painted on the asphault may be hard to see if unacquainted with the course
-long walk from 8 to 9, back tracking, so what.
-hole 14's long tee..? can i call it a tee?? standin on rocks dawg
Other Thoughts: always fun rounds at westy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all ages

5+    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 413  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is spread out in a large park with many different features. It is an older course and an even older park, with a definite old school feel.
- Lots of elevation changes to be found through the first 18 holes. There are two great cliff shots, and some decent uphill tosses. A lot of gently sloping fairways as well, which can be very relevant when shaping lines to avoid trees. Some spots have big dropoffs off the fairway, starting with #1.
- Various trees and forested areas to contend with at all times. Majority have large mature trees to avoid, but there are other tighter spots with denser bushes and whatnot. A lot of the holes with elevation have windows to hit or fairways to stay on.
- Punishment in other spots due to water and/or swamp. A small creek is in play on numerous holes, crossing over a few and bordering others. It really helps to define the holes and set up some tricky approach shots and drives. A few baskets are protected this way very well.
- Decent mix of different shots needed. Most of the holes play straight, more or less, but there is the occasional spot where a left or right shot really made things easier.
- Good baskets for an old course, decent signage, and ok creek crossings. Can be a little tricky to navigate the first time through.
Cons: - Part of the old school feel is shorter hole lengths. There are a few longer holes and a decent amount over 300', but there are also a ton around 200'. A lot of these holes can be done in 3 without much effort, which really takes away from the difficulty.
- Back 6 or so feel a little tacked on, just a mostly flat field with some mature trees. Kind of a let down after the first 18.
- Teepads can be pretty muddy, just like the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: - This course has a very high fun factor, with shorter hole lengths, great elevation changes, and lots of hazards. Water is used very well on a good amount of holes, in different ways. A few great cliff shots and even some sloping greens. It is easy to score well, but it does not feel cheap or boring like other shorter courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Rough around the edges

5+    8/14/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park offers quite a bit of challenges to the RHBH thrower like myself. The number of finessed anhyzers required really tests my game even on the best days. The only drives you can really let loose on are too tight to reach the pin reliably, and for all of the obstacles this course presents, none of the punishments are really unfair. Big fan of holes 9-18. Great course design for the most part. The two sets of tees offer some different challenges on the ten holes that have them, and since I live in Orland, its often worth the drive out to west, so long as there's not a huge backup on I-80.
Cons: I've been spoiled by rubber and concrete teepads, so the dirt pads here at west can sometimes get on my nerves, to the point I won't play this course if it's rained recently (opting instead for nearby highland, or back to our default course, The Oaks). There are plenty of nearby roadways that can do a lot of damage to a brand new disc. I'm also a big fan of long tosses, and this course really only tests your distance throw twice...though they are beautiful holes.
Other Thoughts: Right off the interstate...on a dry day, you shouldn't pass this one up!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 West Park

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 110  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun to play. It was awesome to play the oldest course (out of the 100+) in Illinois and really get a feel for what started it all. The course is very well taken care of and there are a lot of "signature" shots (like #2) which set this course apart from all of the others. The course was very well manicured and seemed to flow very, very well. I didn't get lost at all and it was my first time playing without a map.
Cons: Three minor things stick out, none of which aren't that bad.
1. No cement tees. This wasn't really a big deal to me because it kept reminding me that this course was made in 1979 and if they added tees, it would take away from the personality of the course.
2. This is a seasonal thing, but the mosquitos were pretty bad. Not a major complaint because they're everywhere so I still give this course a 4.5.
3. It had a lot of traffic when I played here which resulted in the most waiting behind a tee I've ever had. (3 groups waiting behind the Green Mile).
Other Thoughts: It was awesome to play the oldest course in Illinois and the first ever wooded course in the world. Like I said earlier, it was nice to see the course that "started it all". I drove 2 hours to play this course and I'd definitely say it was worth it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/12/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 114  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A Classic, West Park is the first permanent disc golf course in IL.
-24 holes
-More elevation than almost all Chicago area courses.
-Plenty of shade for hot days
-Several memorable/unique holes:
2 Mid/putter hyzer with 20' elevation drop over creek
16 Another downhill with a sea of underbrush below. A drive that doesn't make it into putting range is penalized severely

-Course is mostly wooded with a few mostly open holes to break things up
Cons: -Rutted, natural tees.
-Well used baskets.
-Favors RHBH a little.
-Can be very crowded on nice days or weekends.
-Some paths can be dangerous when muddy
-Loud highway noise on first third of course
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun. Beginners can enjoy it along with more advanced players (although it is short by long arm standards). The terrain used for this course is rare in this area and is well used.

Close to other good courses:
Highland Park, Joliet (great)
Community Park, Channahon
Trinity Links, Lockport

If taking Rte. 171/Archer Ave to Joliet area, stop by Little Johns in Lockport. Great Italian Beefs, mexican Coke in the glass bottles.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.