Disc Golf Store
Joliet, IL 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 285ft.   4 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Fairway



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Old course reviewed by old player

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A somewhat short technical course that's wooded and challenging.

The course offers a wide variety of shot options.

The course caters to all skill levels and under normal conditions, is very fun to play.

It is the oldest course in Illinois that's still in the ground. (1979)

Friendly locals and a long standing tradition of fun tournaments.
Cons: The course is not so fun when its raining out, or after a heavy rain. It can get very muddy.

The course could really benefit from some concrete tee pads.

It can get very crowded.

The navigation can be a little tricky. I would recommend a guide, if playing for the 1st time.
Other Thoughts: I started playing this course when it was first put in, and it was the 1st course that I played with baskets for targets. It will always be my home course, and hold a special place in my heart.

The cons have not changed over the years, but with that in mind, it is still a very fun course for all skill levels and a must play for this area. It really is a piece of Illinois disc golf history.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wild Wild West

2-4    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Oldest course in IL!
-Tons of different shots here
-Excellent use of elevation
-Good mix of distance
-Lots of reward for well thrown shots, consequently errant shots are punished and can cost you multiple throws to get yourself out of trouble.
-Pretty good flow from hole to hole
-A couple of real tight, challenging fairways which I really like.
-Very quiet minus the noise generated by the nearby highway
-24 holes, I wish more courses were this long. I like to play until I'm tired and this course is perfect for starting or ending a day of disc'n when you play another one of the nearby courses or play around this one twice
-This is one of those "must play" courses in the chicagoland area, That in itself says something about the course.
-Lots of "fun factor" here, This is a fun course, No doubt about that.
Cons: -Navigation, the baskets are not taped to direct you to the next hole and although most of the time it is relatively straightforward there are a couple or confusing spots, Luckily locals pointed us in the right direction.
-Natural tees, I know this is being a bit picky but there are a couple of real sketchy tees. The natural tees are true to this course's old school roots but concrete would be a nice addition to an already great course.
-This course is a MESS after it rains. If there has been recent rains, skip it. It does dry out quick though.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses I day-tripped to play when I was still wet behind the ears in the disc golf world and it had been a while since I had been back and after playing it again today I realized how much I really liked it.

You have to remind yourself when you play this course that it is the FIRST disc golf course in Illinois, Thats super cool to me. Think of all the aces and good times that have been had here over the years.

This may not be the most beginner friendly course out there but we took a rookie out today and he had a rough time on some of the holes but he said he really enjoyed it.

Also, aces and chains disc golf store (www.acesandchains.com ) is right around the corner (Intersection of jefferson and larkin, behind the subway) if you need anything disc golf related, stop by. Skip the big stores, Support locals and shop locally.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in Southwest Chicagoland

5+    8/12/2005   7/29/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Love the elevations of the course. Excellent fairways to execute. Good shots out of tree line, especially the one on top of the hill pretty much thrown over the forest.
Cons: The area turned, making it a better course to play afternoon well before day break.
Other Thoughts: Probably the most elevated course I've played on in the south burbs. Always a challenge. Great use of space and always maintained.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Wild West

5+    1/18/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: gowiththeFLOW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -24 Hole course
-Technical course
-Variety of holes
Cons: -Swampy when rainy
-Can lose discs easily
Other Thoughts: West park, or the wild west, because you dont know whats in store. very nice course to become a well rounded player. Many technical holes from start to finish.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Illinois

5+    9/25/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Oldest course in Illinois
- Lots of elevation change thoughout the course
- Water comes into play on a few holes
-Never gets boring
-Combo of open field and wooded holes
- Long open field shots so yo can really open up
-Very friendly people
-Combo of hyzer and anti-hyzer shots
Cons: -Hard to navaigate without previous knowledge
-Rain will ruin some holes
- Not very well kept
-Some holes have water as a factor
- Some holes are next to a residential street
- Thick woods on blind shots can lead to lost discs
Other Thoughts: Great course for the more expierienced. Be careful or you will throw your disc into the water.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: West Park is a classic, unique course that's very easy to love. The shot selection here is excellent -- even with 24 holes.

The course starts out in a tree filled area with a 300ft R to L dogleg with a big elevation drop to the left of the pin. #2, which many consider to be the signature hole is a shorter R to L shot down a big elevation drop into a more open area of the park.

The next section throws back and forth through a more open area where a few mature trees serve as obstacles, with some minor elevation change (with the exception of #5 a fun shot uphill, across the stream into a heavily forested area).

#10 is kind of a weird shot from the red tee (at around 200ft RHBH players have to throw a big hyzer that almost has to fade back towards you). The white tee adds some distance and makes it a little more of a "normal" dogleg shot.

#11 is a bomb over an open, but narrowing fairway, with the stream to the left creating a water hazard. At this point in the course it feels good to air one out after a series of short to medium length holes.

#12 is a great hole with a sharp L to R dogleg that also goes up a hill and at 330ft from the white tee, it is a pretty tough shot for most players.

13, 14, and 15 are shorter, technical holes through tight, tree filled fairways, with 15 being the longest at 312ft from the whites.

#16 is like a more difficult version of #2, shooting R to L down a big hill, this time with a lot more trees, and the street right behind the pin.

#17 is the worst hole of the course, a little 200ft L to R dog leg right along the road.

More on #18 through #22 in a minute. #23 is a very cool shot through a narrow wooded fairway, to the basket which sits atop a big hill. #24 plays similar to #1 in the same section of the course with a steep drop off just left of the pin as punishment for a bad shot.
Cons: West Park is a great course that will challenge a lot players players, and will be fun for pretty much all players, but it lacks the challenge of an elite course. Basically, when I'm looking for a relaxing and enjoyable round of DG in Joliet I play West Park, but when I want to challenge myself I play Highland Park.

There are two areas of the course where shots begin to feel repetitive. From holes 3-9 (excluding #5) all shots are 250-300ft shots that require minimal thought. Then towards the end of the course holes 18-22 play through an area of the course filled with large mature trees, and while these shots aren't bad, they begin to drag on, especially since these holes follow some of the best holes of the course.

Due to its reputation and the accessibility for new players, this course is usually pretty crowded. Most people I've seen here are pretty respectful though, and I've never seen any issues with course etiquette.

The lack of concrete tee pads isn't a huge issue for me except the two or three that are somewhat rutty. In a way the dirt tee pads (and the few pavement tees) add to the charm of the course and remind you that you are playing the oldest course in the state.
Other Thoughts: West Park just has a cool, old school feel that makes it easy to come back to. Those who play here for the first time will definitely enjoy the variety and uniqueness of many of the shots. This is a legitimate 4 star course that definitely ranks among the best in Illinois

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and Unique Classic

5+    8/19/2009   7/3/2010
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a very wide range of holes and challenges for players. There are a number of signature holes, such as hole 11 (The green mile), hole 16, and hole 2, which is one of my favorite holes out of the 20+ courses I have played. There are no missing pins or signs, and each sign is accurate and helpful. I had to use every disc in my bag for this course, with long drives, anhyzyers, hyzers, and unique approaches. Many of these holes really test your ability to accurately place drives. Regular par is forgiving, while pro par is a challenge for anyone. The course uses a great blend of open and wooded holes, using the terrain in the park to provide a great experience.
Cons: The course is 24 holes, which can feel pretty long after a while. This can easily be a pro too depending on your preference. Some of the navigation and terrain can be a challenge as well. Hole 2 for example does not provide an easy way over the creek you throw across. More athletic individuals will not find this to be a problem. Hole 9 can be hard to find, but just backtrack hole 8 and keep going and you'll find it easily. Unless you can drive straight for 226 feet be prepared to look for your disc on hole 16. Mud is my only personal issue. This course can stay muddy after rain and such for over a week, so bring a towel for your discs. Natural tees are always a slight downer compared to concrete.
Other Thoughts: Overall is a very fun course to play that will test your ability to throw many different types of shots. This course is a great example of how to take full advantage of the space provided. It's the oldest course in Illinois in case you have not heard, so there is some history with this course as well. Despite it's age, this course is among the best in the Chicago area, even Illinois. If you live in the area, this is one course you play, even if you live an hour away. This course along with Highland make Joliet one of the best disc golf towns in the area as well. Play West Park and you will not be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Mother of IL DG

5+    5/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can't imagine this land being used for anything but disc golf.
About 1/3-1/2 the holes have back tees that add a MUCH different experience to the course...
#2 is the original thriller shot in IL... off the top of a ravine, across a creek, TO THE LEFT NOW (see cons)
Lots of elevation change
A variety of shots are required, despite the short length of holes...
Cons: For the first course in Illinois, it is showing its age (erosion).... the natural tees are at best, not a safety hazard... The lack of distance on most holes will be a turn off to pros.

For myself, personally, the 2007? redesign DESTROYED this course that Steady Ed himself created, particularly holes 2, 20, and 23...
Once again (I love Joliet's enthusiasm) the course tends to be crowded, if you don't tee off before 10am on weekends, forget it...
The course is terrible after any significant rain.... holes 2-9 play in the bottom of a ravine., be prepared to tee off with a few pounds of mud on each foot...
Other Thoughts: I've been putting this review off for a while, because I really wanted to try and get it right, despite all of my cons, this course is a MUST PLAY if you're in the area.

Having said that, to be honest, the first time I played here, I was like "really, this is the course you all talk about" (1st ever wooded course) it took another round or 2 to realize how great it really is/was (damn redesign)...

Highlights...
#2 is an amazing shot, I could throw rocs all day!
#5 a mid seemingly into the middle of a tree, the basket is actually elevated, and fairly protected by branches...
#10. A very fun/tough L>R hole over a road, which is LOWER than the ground (ie it ALMOST caught green, so you just get the stroke)
#12 L>R shot through a gully, uphill to the basket.... love it...
#16 as much as I don't like the design, it's a fun hole, down a hill, schule/trees the entire time... close your eyes and throw it...
17-22 are actually the bland part of the course, parkland, little elevation change...
23 is a tight shot though the woods/ravine, it used to be over the ravine, but I digress...

EROSION WARNING!!!! Even when dry, watch your footing! There are many untamed slopes and creeks on the course (part of the charm til you fall in!)

I'm giving this a 4.0 because it's a must play.... THIS MAY CHANGE!!!



6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

2-4    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Jonboy5820
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a great design, it makes you feel as if you're playing an epic adventure! Plenty of variation, it's a beautiful park.
Cons: Some litter here and there, but you can't police the world at all times I guess. Sometimes the tee for the next hole is a little hard to locate. If you follow the map for hole 8, you won't find hole 9.
Other Thoughts: If they were to update the park just a little, make it a little more clear as to where you need to go for the next tee, this park would have been a 4.5 for me. If you haven't played this course before make sure your first time is with someone who has. Or, be ready to ask the people playing behind you where the next hole is. :)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  I drive an hour to go back

5+    9/6/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: Tim Hultgren
Played: 94  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the nicest courses in northern Illinois. Elevation changes, woods and a creek play throughout the course. Evan though it is on I-80 I have seen foxes and wildlife on the course. The course is not overly long, but appropriately challenging.
Cons: The tees are dirt mostly and quite poor. The signs need some help and navigating the first time might be hard.
Other Thoughts: Give it a try. I have met some great people on the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.