Joliet, IL 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 285ft.   4 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Timeless Classic

5+    3/23/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - High fun factor
- Lots of birdie opportunities
- Solid elevation changes
- Well defined fairways
- Variety of lines required
- Some distance variety
- Some risk/reward decisions
- Course flows well from hole to hole
- Bathroom on site in the back near hole #9
Cons: - Teepads are natural and rough
- Erosion issues regarding the teepads, they are treacherous!
- Holes 2-5, 11, and 16 can get extremely sloppy after a significant rainfall.
- Lacks challenge, it is a true deuce or die kind of course
- Majority of holes lack distance
Other Thoughts: West Park is a timeless classic and despite its shorter distance and sometimes lack of a challenge, it is an extremely fun course to play. Most of the holes play through moderately wooded and hilly terrain. The elevation is used very well and provides some really enjoyable down hill shots. Despite the fact that most holes are under 300ft, there are a few holes that let the bigger arms air it out. The fairways are well defined and the navigation is easy. Most holes are rather straight-forward and do not require a guide or walk down the fairway in order to understand the designer's intention.

The creek on the left of #2 drops off near the center and it is possible to lose a disc in there. Otherwise, the creek generally stays pretty low and any disc that goes in should be fairly easy to see and retrieve.

Bathrooms right near hole #9's teepad, but they are sometimes locked.

Bring bug spray as the mosquitoes get pretty bad in the summer.

Overall, West Park is a timeless classic. It is worth a play at least once if you are within a couple hours. The fun factor is extremely high as every hole seems to present a deuce or ace opportunity. With renovations such as concrete teepads and some way to deal with the flooding on holes 2-4 this course could be a 4 or 4.5

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: Aysizhi
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain on this winding wooded course. You don't need a huge arm on this course to be successful. If you just play a smart game and make consistent accurate throws, you will be rewarded.
Cons: The mud/dirt tees can be daunting, but you get used to it.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Illinois and also the course I've played the most... nearly 100 rounds I'd say, so I might be biased.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Wild West

5+    1/18/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: gowiththeFLOW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -24 Hole course
-Technical course
-Variety of holes
Cons: -Swampy when rainy
-Can lose discs easily
Other Thoughts: West park, or the wild west, because you dont know whats in store. very nice course to become a well rounded player. Many technical holes from start to finish.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    8/12/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: RipHausser
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: My home course and love it. Nothing bad to say about it other than needing concrete tees. Its a classic and a staple in Joliet. Been playing it since 97
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads and scum bag control.
Other Thoughts: Hole 16 has been trimmed up finally.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

West Park Fun and fast

1    9/7/2010   7/2/2011
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 141  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2015
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very FUN course with many interesting holes. I think the course is fun for all skill levels because although there are few chances to throw a driver there are many holes that demand a well chosen and executed line. Lots of woodsy holes and several made me smile when I first saw them. Nice use of the hills and elevation variations. 24 holes.

Close to the highway if you are passing through I highly recommend this stop.
Cons: The pads were rough and this course would be much improved by good tees. If it is muddy I am sure this could be a problem. Not a course to let you throw the big air drives much, though there are a few chances. At points course was a bit tricky to follow and some signage could be very helpful to new visitors.
Other Thoughts: Not a world championship caliber course but it rates high on my fun scale which is why I give it a 3.5. Only a couple longish holes, more of a control type of course which causes you to find your line and hit it. We need courses like this... they make this game fun for all.
For advanced players every hole is 2 able but, there are risks involved (as there should be in my book). For intermediates this course would be fun too, and even for beginners I believe though it is far from wide open being in the woods so much.

I had a blast playing it. I was fairly hot that day and made 21 deuces out of 24 holes.. I was impressed with the design, Great job you guys! *****
Not sure why I get thumbs down? I am not descriptive of holes I guess... Others do that enough and I don't recall enough to do that playing it only once, but I recommend this course if you get the chance to play it. It is high on my fun list and I have to believe most folks would agree.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Still fun for an older course

1    3/11/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee signs on every hole and each tee sign also noted where the next tee for the following hole would be located. On the baskets they were indicated as to what hole they were as well so there was never any confusion of whether or not you were throwing at the correct basket. The course was a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots as well as elevation changes. All the baskets caught well and seemed as though they were in excellent shape. On many holes there were alternate tees as well.
Cons: The tees were just plain terrible, part of it was due to a very wet winter season, but most of it was due to they were just trashed and it doesnt seem like anyone takes the time to fix them. In most instances I found them to be very dangerous because of how muddy they were. The first six or seven holes were fairly plain and basically just went back and forth, up one fairway down the next. While i stated that there were designated tee areas, in some instances I found it hard to locate them and in the case of hole 4 I never did.
Other Thoughts: it was a lot of birdie runs and with the exception of "the green mile" they were all fairly reachable. On a few instances I took a few steps back or to the side of some tees to avoid injuring myself in the mud. Hole 16 was interesting and I unloaded most of my bag in an effort to try and make the shot. If they came around and fixed the tees it would definitely be a much better park. Also, why 24 holes? there is plenty of room to make 27 or go back and make 18 holes with more challenge. A few small fixes to the park and it would definitely be in the 3+ disc range

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 dont drink the bog water

5+    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 141  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: old civil war base<great home course< cant beat the terrain
-variety of cliff shots, mostly short technical, a few long open bombs with towering trees
-10 holes have two tees, whites(longs) and reds> shorts
-tee signs on every hole and garbage cans
-endless safari possibilities when the course is empty
-many different routes for shortened rounds
Cons: -gets swamped with big groups
-nasty creek...
-natural tees- erosion issues..
-sledders inhibit snow disc
-mosquitos and poison ivy
-holes 5 and 6's tees are painted on the asphault may be hard to see if unacquainted with the course
-long walk from 8 to 9, back tracking, so what.
-hole 14's long tee..? can i call it a tee?? standin on rocks dawg
Other Thoughts: always fun rounds at westy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An old little gem

1    1/10/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: surgeflx87
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let be start off by saying that this is the oldest courae in illinois and that makes it good in some ways, but bad in others.
-Has a good use of elevation for the land available. (holes 2 & 16 are some fun downhill shots with a significant drop)
-This is a very fun course I believe it was a steady ed design. At least the original design was.
-Good mix of holes: left, right, uphill, downhill and all in between.
-There are some bodies of water and flowing creeks that sometimes can come to play on an errant shot. Water holes are always a plus on courses, though these arent the best water holes they add some fun to it.
-Some holes have multiple teepads which change up some of the shots and not just by adding length.
-Rough is not that bad here. Most likely not going to lose discs due to errant shots.
-Some good pin placements on the edge of creeks or close to OB roads.
-Has a good amount of OB streets and pavement in play to and to holes.
Cons: -Old signs which some are vandalized.
-The baskets are not the best, but not the worst either.
-The tees here are natural and horrible. Most are rutted, some have sharp rocks sticking up from them. They especially get bad when it rains or icy in the winter.
-Huge groups of 10+ kids play here in the summer who can get annoying when they think you shouldnt play through.
-Flow is not the best. After 8 you have to walk all the way back down the fairway to get to 9. Also you must cross some.other fairways to get to another hole. Whoch could lead to getting it in the way of other groups or getting injured.
-You can tell it was designed for lids back in the day from most of the shorter holes 200ft and under.
Other Thoughts: For as being as old as this course is, I always have fun and enjoy a round here. When I first starting playing I loved coming to this course and still enjoy it. Its not the hardest course but offers some very fun shots. If the teepads were better, this place could have much more to offer and I would bump the rating up. Having good even tees is a must imho. If your looking to warm up for one of the harder courses in the area or want to enjoy a fun doubles game this is the place to come.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Illinois

5+    9/25/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Oldest course in Illinois
- Lots of elevation change thoughout the course
- Water comes into play on a few holes
-Never gets boring
-Combo of open field and wooded holes
- Long open field shots so yo can really open up
-Very friendly people
-Combo of hyzer and anti-hyzer shots
Cons: -Hard to navaigate without previous knowledge
-Rain will ruin some holes
- Not very well kept
-Some holes have water as a factor
- Some holes are next to a residential street
- Thick woods on blind shots can lead to lost discs
Other Thoughts: Great course for the more expierienced. Be careful or you will throw your disc into the water.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ummm...the other day I had a ricochet biscuit.

2-4    11/27/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You have to love old courses that still hold up as good courses today. West Park is that kind of course. It has a nice mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots, plays though some heavy woods and some moderately wooded areas, and has a nice use of the available elevation. It's a putter/Roc course with not much in the way of long shots other than # 11, so it's not going to be on the top of the big guns list of places to play. For the rest of us it is a nice challenge that can provide a good round for a wide range of skill levels. There are some cool elevated shots like # 2 that are just plain fun to throw. The baskets have recently been updated. Despite its age and the lack of distance, it's still a solid course.
Cons: The tees are horrid. They are nothing more that rutted, uneven patches of dirt; some have the added bonus of roots and/or rocks poking out. Courses that are as heavily played as West Park really can't get away with natural tees.

The design is not top-notch. The shots shoot back and forth in places, which means look out because a disc might be headed at you at any time. A lot of the tees and baskets are pretty close together, which was common back in the lid days when this course was designed but not a great idea today. At one point the design has you shoot #8, then walk all the way up the fairway past the #8 tee another couple hundred feet before you find the tee for #9. There are 24 holes, and a lot of them are similar in design and distance. They get pretty repetitive after a bit. As with every old course with good elevation, there are erosion issues and the course can get slippery when it's wet.
Other Thoughts: The first time I traveled to the Chicagoland area for golf in the 90's, West Park and Channahon were THE places to play. Now these courses are eclipsed by Highland, Mokena, and Lemon Lake as the destination courses in the area. However, they still have a lot of life left in them. West Park remains one of the busiest courses in the area and holds up well as a fun course to play.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.