Joliet, IL 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 275ft.   4 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Course

2-4    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Jonboy5820
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a great design, it makes you feel as if you're playing an epic adventure! Plenty of variation, it's a beautiful park.
Cons: Some litter here and there, but you can't police the world at all times I guess. Sometimes the tee for the next hole is a little hard to locate. If you follow the map for hole 8, you won't find hole 9.
Other Thoughts: If they were to update the park just a little, make it a little more clear as to where you need to go for the next tee, this park would have been a 4.5 for me. If you haven't played this course before make sure your first time is with someone who has. Or, be ready to ask the people playing behind you where the next hole is. :)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  I drive an hour to go back

5+    9/6/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: Tim Hultgren
Played: 94  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the nicest courses in northern Illinois. Elevation changes, woods and a creek play throughout the course. Evan though it is on I-80 I have seen foxes and wildlife on the course. The course is not overly long, but appropriately challenging.
Cons: The tees are dirt mostly and quite poor. The signs need some help and navigating the first time might be hard.
Other Thoughts: Give it a try. I have met some great people on the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Memorable for sure

1    7/11/2005   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balance! Wooded holes, great use of ravine for uphill, downhill, and half-pipe type holes. True water hazards that actually come into play. Long holes, short holes, tight woods, open rippers, etc. This course was a LOT of fun to play. More than 18 holes!
Cons: Dirt tees are okay in general, but the amount of use has them very rutted. The city setting, traffic, and noise really takes away from a great relaxing experience. The water hazards offer a great balance that I seek, but man you do NOT want to be in them - talk about city sewar runoff!!! I seem to remember many signs busted, full of graffitti, and in poor shape. The baskets were abused, but caught discs just fine.
Other Thoughts: I played this course quite a while ago, so forgive me if things have changed. However, the course is VERY impressive, enough so to make me want to review it. I played this course along with 10 other courses on a 2 day cannonball run to Indianapolis. In regards to my rating system this one scores right up there as a 4.5. I want to knock it down .5 due to the "IT" factor missing because it is in a busy, city park with a freeway bordering much of the course. Too much noise to truly lose yourself. So, you get more than 18 holes, making it a worthwhile trip from afar (could score a 5). All the balanced design elements are nearly there (tight woods, open rippers, uphill, downhill, right, left, etc). Only one huge downhill bomber hole (like throwing off a hill 500'+ is missing. So, it only misses a 5 by missing this one design element. It loses another half point because it's stuck in the city (I know, too bad). But it is a VERY solid 4, probably the best of all courses I've rated a 4. All in all, it is definitely worth a round, even for a travelling player.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

1    8/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(About 1/4 of the holes have a decent amount of trouble that might get you a bogey with a poor drive. Other than that, it is a relatively tame course in the punishment department.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(About half the holes fit the bill. The others are still fun. It helps that there are 24 holes since that yields 12 good holes that float my boat is a great way.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(Lots of shots required to score well here. Great variety of open/tight, right/left, up/down/flat and long/short. This is the biggest strength of this course IMO.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B (Pretty park with overall decent seclusion from society in many parts of the park. Being right next to an interstate is a downer in that there is no peace and quite.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of Northern Illinois's Better Courses

5+    7/26/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great layout (minus hole 8)
-phenomenal signature holes off large hills
-great variety in holes. wooded/open, elevation/flat, short/long. it's got it all.
-oldest course in IL
-Large, majestic oaks. very nice scenery
-Designed by Steady Eddie himself
Cons: -very few benches
-dirt tee boxes
-FEELS like the oldest course in IL
-layout on hole 8 was an oversight in design
Other Thoughts: I absolutely LOVE this course. worth the drive for anyone wanting to get a great day of discing in. I used to say that this was the best course within a few hours, but then they put in Highland a few miles away. Still a can't miss and with all of the great courses in the area, you could easily spend a weekend in the Joliet area hitting up 5-6 different cool courses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Old School Fun Disc Golf

2-4    7/16/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed what this course had to offer. There was much variety with long, short, left, right, open, and wooded holes.

It allows you to use all of your throws to get to the holes and the people were very helpful who were playing on the course.

It was a nice park and we didn't have to wait long for most of the course though there seemed to be many people there.

Signs and baskets were just okay and tee pads were dirt.

Feels like the oldest course in Illinois, but that also makes it more fun to play.

24 holes and a cool disc golf experience.
Cons: It was kind of hard to navigate through the first time but the tee signs point in direction of next tee off so look for that.

I am not a fan of dirt tee pads as they are kind of uneven and have probably gotten worse.

Most holes can be short as this was made in the 70s, but it still a great course to play.
Other Thoughts: Take the time to come out to this course as it is one of the better ones in the Chicago land area. Also go to highland park which is within 5 miles as it is a better and more challenging course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 There are hills in Chicago?

2-4    7/5/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park that is mostly heavily wooded with streams and abandoned roads running throughout. Nearly all of the course is disc golf only, so there are only a couple holes where you ever have to worry about other park users. The elevation is used really well to make fun and interesting holes, especially hole 2 off the top of a bluff over a creek.

There are a couple holes that are more open, a handful of holes in scattered mature trees, and the rest in woods. This makes for nice variety throughout the round, and provides different challenges. The course never gets repetitive, with each hole seeming new and different. The design is fantastic, making the most of the foliage and elevation changes available. There is just about every kind of hole you could want here, so bring all your shots if you want to get those birdies.

Half the holes have two tees, making for some different challenges and looks at the baskets. There are signs on all the short tees, though some aren't in great shape. The tees are easy to find with red or white markers in the ground delineating the front of each tee box.
Cons: The first time you play this course, there are some confusing spots. The holes do a nice job of not overlapping or playing too close to one another, but to make this happen there are some long walks that aren't always obvious. The worst one was from hole 8 to hole 9, where you had to walk all the way back down the fairway to get to the next tee.

The tees are mostly dirt, and can get really rutted and rough. If there has been rain recently, the tees in the low parts of the park near the creek can be pretty muddy and slick. Some of the signs are falling apart and difficult to read, so your first time out you'll have to scout some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Once you get past the navigation issues, this is a really fun course. There are all kinds of fun and unique holes, and the course stays fun and interesting throughout. Especially with Highland Park nearby, this course and the Joliet area are worth the drive to play.

This course is playable for beginners, with a number of shorter holes. There are, however, many opportunities to lose discs in dense underbrush, so beginners could get frustrated with that. More experienced players will have lots of birdie opportunities, but will find the course fun and interesting, and more challenging from the longer tees.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    10/21/2008   7/4/2009
Review By: fox metro discer
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: old school course with many fun holes playing throughout a small creek valley. Many holes with elevation changes and varies from open to dense woods and everything in between.
good variety of shots, left, right, short, long, up, down
24 holes with multiple tees for each


creek comes into play on multiple holes
Cons: some tees difficult to find if not familiar with course,
becomes very muddy after rain,
shallow. older baskets
Other Thoughts: This is one of Illinois oldest courses and was designed by Steady Ed himself, which makes the course with the trip alone.
Hole 2 is a great shot; throwing from the top of a cliff down over the stream to a grassy green below,
Hole 11 is a long 400+ ft bomber with the fairway narrowing all the way down the hole to a penninsula where the basket is located and a drop off with the stream to the left.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SOLID!

1    7/18/2007   6/11/2009
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 152  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Oldest course in Illinois with an awesome course design. Great use of elevation throwing up and down. Challenging course with a good mixture of long and short holes. Hole 2 is one of my favorite holes i've ever played. You throw off a hill 40 ft down over a creek. The Green Mile, hole 11, 454 ft of awesomeness.
Cons: Signs can be confusing. I got lost in the middle of my round, and I almost lost a disc or two. Lots of vegetation. I'm not a big fan of dirt tees, but what else should you expect from the oldest course. Can be busy
Other Thoughts: This is in my top ten list of courses I'VE played. This course has something to offer for everyone. If you are in the Chicagoland area go out of your way, you won't be disappointed. I missed an ace by an inch which really helped make the experience even more enjoyable.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Best course design I've ever seen, with great variety, no filler holes, and every hole is fun and challenging
-Oldest course in Illinois
-Hole #2 is without a doubt the signature hole
-lots of elevation which will have you throwing down cliffs
-Friendly locals who helped me find a few holes
-Little creek that winds through a number of holes and adds challenge
-Tournaments held here all the time prove this course is a quality one
-24 hole layout which is nice considering all the 9 holers I usually play
-Uphill shots
-Downhill shots
-Challenging but not unfair holes
-No distractions with Football/Baseball fields and Parks which are usually at other courses
-Nice dogleg shots
-Beautiful Par 5 hole that has the creek on the left and requires a monster drive
-Fun hyzer shots
-Couple blind shots but not too many
-Signs show where next tee pad is
Cons: -Dirt tee pads
-Signs are weird and somewhat hard to read and take getting used too
-Easy to lose a Disc if you're take too many risks or are new to the sport
-Pretty hard to get through the first time and would most likely take a few times to get used to the layout
-Sometimes I thought I might have been going towards the wrong basket, numbers on them would have been a nice addition.
-Parking lot was very crowded offering just a handful of empty spots when I arrived
Other Thoughts: I haven't played that many courses but this is my favorite Disc Golf course for sure. The design is top notch and nothing in the Chicago area can compare to it. Joliet offers a handful of nice courses too so check the others out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.