Joliet, IL 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: Preacher Hole #24
4 / 243ft.   4 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Short Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Excellent course, could use some work

2-4    5/10/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: m1ke
Played: 44  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding course design and layout (with one glaring exception; see below).
-Lots of elevation here, and utilized very well.
-Plenty of variety; up and down to different degrees, multiple degrees of woodedness, varying degrees of technicality, left and right holes, etc. Lots of fun.
-Plenty of challenge.
-Two tees for most holes.
-Crowded, but with friendly people. Yes, I'm putting crowded as a pro; if it hadn't been for all the other players there I'd have been lost looking for the next tee several times, and I'd never have gotten back my driver from hole 16.
Cons: Dirt tees.
-Very hard to navigate; I had to ask locals where the next tee was at least 4 times, and there were a couple of other holes I found unaided just by blind luck.
-Hole 16 is a serious disc-eater. I spent almost 30 minutes looking for my drive, during which time 4 other players coming through each spent about 5 minutes beating the bushes with me looking for their disc. One mentioned he's lost two discs on that hole before. Send a member of your group down the hill to play spotter. Heck, consider sending everyone who's not the player currently throwing.
-Very busy on my one visit
-Not enough parking around 1st tee; I was lucky to snag the very last space- saw somebody else pull up and then drive off to find somewhere else to park.
-To get to the tee for 9 you walk back along 8's fairway. So if there's a group behind you not only do they have to wait for you to play the hole, then they have to wait for you to come back before you're out of the way; very dumb layout.
-Noisy highway near first third of course detracts from atmosphere a bit.
-A bit of poison ivy here and there. I saw it all along the treeline on 10, and down in the gulley on 23 if you end up in the underbrush.
Other Thoughts: Okay, I've got a fairly lengthy list of Cons there, huh? And yet I'm still rating this course a 4 and telling you not to miss it if you're in the area. That should tell you how much fun you can have here. I drove an hour to get there and will unquestionably do so again.

If they'd put in concrete tees, add some kind of navigation aid, and fix the transition from 8 to 9, this would easily be a 4.5 and maybe even a 5.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Park

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: RHXJ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great people, Great environment, Great layout, Great range of different types of holes (Long, short, left turns, right turns, straight shots, heavy trees, open fields, etc..) A MUST PLAY.
Cons: Parking gets a bit crowded afternoon, Gets muddy as hell after it's rained, and the tees could use a lil updating (mostly dirt and rocks
Other Thoughts: Great park, a must play if in the area.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: jdunk03
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 2 is an unbelievable You throw from the top of a hill. long holes short holes nice old trees to block your way tons of locals come and play. water on some holes but not deep. all baskets are back!
Cons: some holes u have to walk back threw the fairway to get to the next hole sucks if you got any one beyond you. some new players get lost sometimes going 5 to 6 they dont know you have to back track. tee pads are geting old roots are in 2 or 3 of them
Other Thoughts: great course must play. play grounds on the side of some holes nice place to take the kids if you have some

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite

5+    3/21/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: Trick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mature Oak trees in many areas of the course. Some great (and some not so great) scenery. Nice mix of shots left and right, up and down. The creek winding thru the park makes a nice obstacle. Hole #2 is awesome and difficult, but very rewarding if you get your tee shot right. The tee is at the top of the side of a large ravine. Contrary to what one reviewer said, it's at least 40-50 feet high. You have to throw to the right of the basket, with a late left hook (or else you'll hit a tree 2/3 of the way to the hole). Aces are definitely possible as are birdies, but only with a near perfect throw off the tee. Too much left hook and you end up in the creek. Hole #11 is nicknamed the "green mile" and is about 450 feet or so. There are some open holes as well. Overall, a nice mixture.
Cons: Holes 3-5 can be extremely muddy in early springtime. Mature trees tend to make it take longer to dry out. Still, not as bad as Shorewood and some other courses in the area. Tees are dirt, and hole #8's tee off is practically a hole. Many golfers actually skip #8 and go straight to #9 to avoid the long walk back from hole #8, well past the tee off to hole #9, which is in the opposite direction. Probably the most glaring mistake in design for the course. Neighborhood isn't great, but it isn't scary either. Course can be crowded. (Though most golfers are polite and will let faster players play thru).
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area. It definitely has it's faults, but I really like it. Others might like Highland Park in Joliet, The Oaks in Mokena, or even the Jericho Lake course in Aurora better. But this is definitely my favorite. I'd really love to give it 4, or even 5 stars, but objectively, 3.5 hits it right on the nose.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2005   11/22/2008
Review By: bears_rule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging Course played in dense woods. Elevation and a creek comes into play. 24 hole course provides you with fuller round. Pro and Amatuer pads are available and are dirt.

HOLE 2 is an unbelievably awesome disc golf hole. You throw from the top of a hill/cliff about 30 feet above the basket. You have to make your throw clear a creek that winds around the left side of the basket, thus punishing big Hyzers. On the right side of basket is a huge tree that loves to slap discs out of the air. Behind the basket is Extremely dense woods with a small fence blocking off a highway. This hole has been aced and can be birdied.
Cons: Course is not well maintained and is often missing baskets. Dirt Tees can get real muddy and ruin your day. Lay out has one major flaw making it tough to find hole 9.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if your in Chicago and have the time to hit up Joliet. Hole 2 is a signature hole and any disc golf enthusiast should play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course that shows its age

1    10/10/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs on each hole which pretty clearly define where you're playing toward, as well as two sets of tees for most holes. Fine variety here, lots of different shots...most of moderate length, though a couple of long ones are in there. With 24 holes (I guess 23 and a half, but I'll get to that later) this is definitely one of the longer courses in the area. Good elevation and challenge on most holes.
Cons: The biggest disappointment was the missing basket on 15 or 16...I can't recall which hole - whichever hole has the blind, downhill shot through a huge thicket of trees. This isn't marked, so before all is said and done, you might lose your disc in the heavy woods before realizing there is no basket. It is also very, very hard to find your way through the course. I played with someone who has been at West Park before, so I was able to manage, but first-timers may have a hard time. They're currently doing a lot of work in the park (and not necessarily to improve the course) so the maintenance people can get in the way. Some shots dangerously close to the road. The course does look its age - not the most aesthetically pleasing. The terrain is rough in some places and the stairs on the course are pretty dangerous and unstable.
Other Thoughts: Despite its shortcomings, West Park is still a very good course. Definitely one that you should play in the Chicagoland area. Just wear good shoes (but ones you won't mind getting dirty) and be patient going hole to hole. I enjoyed my round here and I would certainly play again - definitely recommended!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5/24/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really fun course with some really cool shots and lots of elevation - which is always a plus. The creek comes into play on several holes. It also has a good variety of shots (long, short, left, right, straight).
Cons: It was super crowded when we played - which gets annoying. You will spend some time searching for holes your first time playing. There's some poor design flaws in some areas. For example, after putting out on 8, you have to walk back down the fairway, past 8's tee, to get to 9's tee. Also, the tees are dirt - which I don't care for.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was a fun experience. I hit a SWEET ace on #16 which totally made my day. I would definitely play this course again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center