Milan, IL 
Camden Park - I Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 165ft.   3 / 178ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very fun course!

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 154  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course tested a variety of shots, including massive elevation changes, short finesse shots, steep uphill, heavily wooded, and open. The first 5 holes are pretty wooded, and hole 4 is very intriguing - you have to see it to understand.
Cons: This course is one hell of a hike! The elevation changes create a nice burn in the calves. The pars marked on the tee signs are far too lenient. Almost all holes are par 4 or par 5, with a majority of them being less than 400'. I don't quite understand 250' par 4's, but it sure helps make for a nice score!
Other Thoughts: Some really nice but challenging holes to snag an ace on!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised

1    8/29/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with all pertinent information and a general overview of the hole. Hole # and distance stated and a decent map. Always a plus in my book as a travelling disc golfer!

2) Massive concrete tees are also always well received when I play a course. I hate playing on grass from the tee becuase so often it is rutted and wore down to dirt or gravel.

3) 4 Hole pitch and putt course is in between Camden I and II. Nice place for beginniners ot practice. It is ideal when someone comes up and asks how do I play you send them over there with a putter and say throw it until you are in the chains or basket. Awesome concept to have it attached to two 18 hole courses.

4) Mach baskets with the number plates. Number plates facing the tee are also very helpful as often times the people who put the baskets in pay no regard to where the tee is and confusing areas where multiple baskets may be visible. It is really only a problem the first time someone plays a course, but I am that travelling wilbury so it is always nice to have it done right.

5) Benches are available in a few spots through the course. They maybe could use a few more as I could imagine some bottlenecks on some holes from time to time, especially since this is apparently one of the most played courses in the Quad Cities area.

6) Elevation changes are prevalent here and used very well. Holes 2-4 would be dull and boring but they use some terracing of the turf as well as can be done. The holes have some character with the terracing in play and they make boring to lame holes moderately challenging and more fun to throw. In the wooded area of Holes 6-18 there is just enough elevation change to make the course fun, but not so much (SEE CAMDEN II REVIEW) that is infringes upon the fun of the course. The character of this course simply put is based on the elevatin usage coupled witht he dense wooded setting.

7) This course is tough and challenging, but at the same time it is fair. There are shots you need to hit, but at least those shots are duplicable. I hate it when luck plays too much a role in ho a course plays and the only place this happens is the uphill tight fairway on #12.
Any throw that hits the scrub can kill you, and any rollaway off the scrub could theoretically put you in jail. All in all though the skill/luck balance is good.

8) Garbage cans are available in a few spots and overall the course seems fairly clean, again especially considering that this is one of the most played courses in the Quad Cities.

9) This course is the epitomy of diversity. There is elevation change used both ways, there are risk reward baskets available, there is some water in play, there is tight woods and some more open ripper holes along with some short ace (or birdie) runs. I mixes it up very well although the front nine is the longer more open nine and the back nine is the tighter more technical side (not a negative, but it feels like 2 different courses).

10) A bucnh of high school college aged kids who I generally think to be douchers, were very courteous and allowed me to play through, they were very complementary to my shot, and also helped me try and figure out where the Camden II course was and gave me some insight into that course. Gotta love it when locals surprise you!

10) Challenging, but also still somewhat beginner friendly. It is fair to an average player so a beginner might be hit or miss on this course. I wouldnt take a first timer or maybe even a 1oth timer, but someone who has started to learn a little about disc selection and shot shaping should do ok here.
Cons: 1) The sign on #13 is in a really bad spot. It seems to be right in the way of a RHBH shot. There is no reason a sign should be in the front of the tee.

2) 12-15 are kindof goofy. Sure they are short and technical (which I like) but the layout is really goofy. There is basktracking to get to some tees and there are dangerous areas where errant tee shots could cause danger.

3) I'll mention it again that this is one o the most played courses in the Quad Cities. It is visible in some of the compaction issues arising as well as the erosion issues that folow the compaction. In many places around this course there are area that are totally bare and they will continue to erode. It is a fact of life, and it doesn't really impact the play negatively (unless you hit one of these areas with a driver and you get a massive skip where you don't want to go), but it is worth mentioning becuase it is what happens to courses over time. It is also a negative because if any environmental person were to come out those areas would be reaosn enough for them to want to shut down the course. It is just somthing that happens on disc golf courses, and I certainly hope it doesn't become the issue that takes down a lot of courses.

4) Danger comes into play on those shorter tighter holes 12-15. There are shots that come very close to other fairways and any individual tree hit could send you sailing off into another fairway.

5) There seems to be a little bit of an offset in the luck/skill balance on 12-15, or you better be able to thread the needle. It isn't a huge negative because they are shorter holes to begin with, but still worth mentioning

6) Alternate tees???? Where? I wish I could find them.

7) There seemed to be some changes in the design because from the teesign on #6 I certainly didn't think that the hole played the way the sign said, nor did #7. I really struggled to figure out where I was headed on #6 after my drive because the teesign had the basket tucked way right and it was way longer than the sign stated. Not sure what happened there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and initially I wanted to give it a 3 to 3.5 but I realized that the fundamentals are all there and I have to rate it a 4. If I were to go to the Quad Cities this would be my second play behind West Lake. The variety is what keeps this course a 4 disc rating from me. If it didnt have a little of anything it might fall back into the "norm" category of the 2.5-3.5 disc course. This biggest con in my eyes is the erosion and compaction, but because it doesnt really impact play, I cant fault the course much for that being its biggest issue.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good and balanced course

5+    3/16/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a good mixture of long, short, tight and open holes. Starts out with some open, relatively easy middle and long range holes, then goes into the woods with some middle and short range holes. Has decent signs, pads, and tees.
Cons: Can be muddy if it has rained recently. A few holes are very challenging, almost comically. If you throw into the woods, you may be looking for awhile.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is quite good. Pads and tees are nice and the layout is mixed and challenging. Course is just challenging enough so that you feel good about the round.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/21/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: rajsheels
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: first 5 holes open with a few trees
lots of wind knowledge of your discs flight needed
wooded holes rock,chance for aces some blind baskets
chance of losing a disc small
Cons: if you don't pay attention you will skip past hole 7
Other Thoughts: not a beginner course

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.