Milan, IL 
Camden Park - I Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
4 / 300ft.   4 / 300ft.   4 / 360ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
funner than it looked

2-4    11/2/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun little course . Every hole is reachable but one .Lots of holes in the open but with slick greens,bunch of ace runs ,great course right next door ,plays fast
Cons: not many bathrooms,could see it being kinda boring if played all the time ,not enough distance or bomber shots
Other Thoughts: Really nice having this course and camden 2 on same property warm up at cam1 then good luck on cam2 . very nice destination

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent as a complement to Camden II

5+    7/21/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19
Pros: This is the older brother of the awesome Camden II course. Camden I is nowhere near as good, but having both in the same park is an advantage because Camden I does add to the overall variety of holes by including a number of open holes on the hills where wind can be a huge factor.

It is a hilly course, only a couple of holes lack elevation change. The first 6 are mostly open, and then after that it varies from scattered trees to tunnel fairways through denser woods. Hole 6 was redesigned in the last couple years; it is now a legitimate par 4 hole playing along a meandering creek. It is a great hole, that starts out wide open but requires a little attention to placement of the drive in order to have a chance to approach cleanly for a 3. The approach has to cross the creek, which has some steep gully walls, so there is good risk/reward and trying to park the approach can add a couple strokes from a bad lie if you come up short. This is followed by a tough tunnel shot on hole 7. Holes 6,7 are the highlights of the course. Most of the rest of the course is made up of standard holes with decent variety, and a lot of deuce opportunities. Several holes call for midrange off the tee.
Cons: The course can be crowded, so its best played in mornings or weekdays.

Tons of rec players frequent this course and some of them have no understanding of course etiquette or cleaning up after themselves, so the course is sometimes not in the best shape. However the silver lining of that is that having this course side-by-side with Camden II draws those problems away from the great Camden II course.

 Camden I- The Good Cop

1    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Biggest hills in Illinois I have seen.

Easier of the two courses, more open with some moderate to kind of dense woods.

Some good holes with nice elevation but lacked obstacles.

Nice layout and a good warm up for 'the other side.'

Good signs on most holes, good baskets with good practice basket space.

Locals were nice and informative.
Cons: Course seemed very short after the first few open holes on the hill. A lot of 150' to 250' holes on the back nine.

Some signs missing, but we followed a nice group in front of us.

Was expecting some more length and shot variety on Camden I, but 'the other side' more than makes up for it.

Tended to favor RHBH throws.

Some minor hole overlap and close fairways could be a problem.

Not many obstacles in the open and moderately wooded holes which made them fairly easy.
Other Thoughts: If you stand at the SE parking lot between the courses, you can hear Camden I on your right saying "You want a nice relaxing and fun day of disc golf don't you? Please choose me and you can get as many birdies and pars as your heart desires! I won't punish your bad throws and I'll make sure the holes are nice, visible and make-able so you feel good about your skills :)"

But, on your left you hear Camden II beckon you over to the other side and say "Why don't you man up and stop playing that busch league crap you call disc golf. Let's see where you really stand and if you even deserve to play this game. So what if I have a few trees shaping every shot and a huge ravine pit that eats your plastic, this is how disc golf was meant to be played. If you don't like it then you should go back to ball golf with your little sand boxes, nicely mowed grass, and reserved tee times at the country club. Now is the time where you become a man and prove why you deserve to throw this plastic >:D"

If you think I'm crazy go and play these courses for yourself!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 153  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course tested a variety of shots, including massive elevation changes, short finesse shots, steep uphill, heavily wooded, and open. The first 5 holes are pretty wooded, and hole 4 is very intriguing - you have to see it to understand.
Cons: This course is one hell of a hike! The elevation changes create a nice burn in the calves. The pars marked on the tee signs are far too lenient. Almost all holes are par 4 or par 5, with a majority of them being less than 400'. I don't quite understand 250' par 4's, but it sure helps make for a nice score!
Other Thoughts: Some really nice but challenging holes to snag an ace on!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    10/23/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a good sized park, with a hilly field, a gnarly forest, and a small creekbed. Pretty much devoted completely to the disc golf.
- Front and back parts are set in the open field, with a sprinkling of mature trees to contend with. Very good elevation changes on a couple holes, and more dense trees on others. A couple holes play out of and near the forest area for some more challenge.
- The rest of the course is carved out of a dense, mildly hilly forest that has a lot of character. Most of the holes are on the short side, with a ton of different lines to hit. There's uphill, downhill, left, right, straight, gradual and swift. There's thick underbrush, tight fairways, and at times a low canopy.
- Small creek is in play on one hole, which must be crossed to reach the basket. Great hole from the longs; as most will have to lay up before attempting to cross.
- Lots of baskets are heavily protected by trees or sloping greens, or both. Getting it close to the basket is sometimes not enough, it's got to be on the right side, too.
- Good tee pads and baskets, great signs. Pretty good crossings/stairs where needed. Navigation can be a tad tricky at spots.
Cons: - Some of the holes are a bit bland, mostly just due to open lanes and short length. The short length overall kind of hurts the course; almost every hole can be reached from the tee and really presents a ton of deuce-or-die opportunities, and not much else.
- Walking path and some other man-made stuff can be in play, but only in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: - This is a very well rounded course, with both the open and forested areas presenting a bunch of different looks. Good elevation changes and different lines really help to mix things up, a lot of unique looks. Plenty of hazards in the form of dense rough, fast greens, and a small creekbed. Any level of player should enjoy the tricky shots needed to get to the basket.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised

1    8/29/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with all pertinent information and a general overview of the hole. Hole # and distance stated and a decent map. Always a plus in my book as a travelling disc golfer!

2) Massive concrete tees are also always well received when I play a course. I hate playing on grass from the tee becuase so often it is rutted and wore down to dirt or gravel.

3) 4 Hole pitch and putt course is in between Camden I and II. Nice place for beginniners ot practice. It is ideal when someone comes up and asks how do I play you send them over there with a putter and say throw it until you are in the chains or basket. Awesome concept to have it attached to two 18 hole courses.

4) Mach baskets with the number plates. Number plates facing the tee are also very helpful as often times the people who put the baskets in pay no regard to where the tee is and confusing areas where multiple baskets may be visible. It is really only a problem the first time someone plays a course, but I am that travelling wilbury so it is always nice to have it done right.

5) Benches are available in a few spots through the course. They maybe could use a few more as I could imagine some bottlenecks on some holes from time to time, especially since this is apparently one of the most played courses in the Quad Cities area.

6) Elevation changes are prevalent here and used very well. Holes 2-4 would be dull and boring but they use some terracing of the turf as well as can be done. The holes have some character with the terracing in play and they make boring to lame holes moderately challenging and more fun to throw. In the wooded area of Holes 6-18 there is just enough elevation change to make the course fun, but not so much (SEE CAMDEN II REVIEW) that is infringes upon the fun of the course. The character of this course simply put is based on the elevatin usage coupled witht he dense wooded setting.

7) This course is tough and challenging, but at the same time it is fair. There are shots you need to hit, but at least those shots are duplicable. I hate it when luck plays too much a role in ho a course plays and the only place this happens is the uphill tight fairway on #12.
Any throw that hits the scrub can kill you, and any rollaway off the scrub could theoretically put you in jail. All in all though the skill/luck balance is good.

8) Garbage cans are available in a few spots and overall the course seems fairly clean, again especially considering that this is one of the most played courses in the Quad Cities.

9) This course is the epitomy of diversity. There is elevation change used both ways, there are risk reward baskets available, there is some water in play, there is tight woods and some more open ripper holes along with some short ace (or birdie) runs. I mixes it up very well although the front nine is the longer more open nine and the back nine is the tighter more technical side (not a negative, but it feels like 2 different courses).

10) A bucnh of high school college aged kids who I generally think to be douchers, were very courteous and allowed me to play through, they were very complementary to my shot, and also helped me try and figure out where the Camden II course was and gave me some insight into that course. Gotta love it when locals surprise you!

10) Challenging, but also still somewhat beginner friendly. It is fair to an average player so a beginner might be hit or miss on this course. I wouldnt take a first timer or maybe even a 1oth timer, but someone who has started to learn a little about disc selection and shot shaping should do ok here.
Cons: 1) The sign on #13 is in a really bad spot. It seems to be right in the way of a RHBH shot. There is no reason a sign should be in the front of the tee.

2) 12-15 are kindof goofy. Sure they are short and technical (which I like) but the layout is really goofy. There is basktracking to get to some tees and there are dangerous areas where errant tee shots could cause danger.

3) I'll mention it again that this is one o the most played courses in the Quad Cities. It is visible in some of the compaction issues arising as well as the erosion issues that folow the compaction. In many places around this course there are area that are totally bare and they will continue to erode. It is a fact of life, and it doesn't really impact the play negatively (unless you hit one of these areas with a driver and you get a massive skip where you don't want to go), but it is worth mentioning becuase it is what happens to courses over time. It is also a negative because if any environmental person were to come out those areas would be reaosn enough for them to want to shut down the course. It is just somthing that happens on disc golf courses, and I certainly hope it doesn't become the issue that takes down a lot of courses.

4) Danger comes into play on those shorter tighter holes 12-15. There are shots that come very close to other fairways and any individual tree hit could send you sailing off into another fairway.

5) There seems to be a little bit of an offset in the luck/skill balance on 12-15, or you better be able to thread the needle. It isn't a huge negative because they are shorter holes to begin with, but still worth mentioning

6) Alternate tees???? Where? I wish I could find them.

7) There seemed to be some changes in the design because from the teesign on #6 I certainly didn't think that the hole played the way the sign said, nor did #7. I really struggled to figure out where I was headed on #6 after my drive because the teesign had the basket tucked way right and it was way longer than the sign stated. Not sure what happened there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and initially I wanted to give it a 3 to 3.5 but I realized that the fundamentals are all there and I have to rate it a 4. If I were to go to the Quad Cities this would be my second play behind West Lake. The variety is what keeps this course a 4 disc rating from me. If it didnt have a little of anything it might fall back into the "norm" category of the 2.5-3.5 disc course. This biggest con in my eyes is the erosion and compaction, but because it doesnt really impact play, I cant fault the course much for that being its biggest issue.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with variety

1    4/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with a great mix of open areas and heavy woods. The course starts out with a few more open shots, then heads into the woods for most of the middle of the course with a few more open holes to finish up. The variety is nice, with some holes where you can rip a drive and many where inaccurate shots will be punished with thick rough in the woods. This makes for some great risk reward shots on the tighter holes.

There is some great elevation here, especially on the more open section of the course. There are some good up and down hill shots and some that play across the hill with roll away potential. There is a small stream in play on some holes that adds a little more risk. There is a good mix of right and left turning shots, the course seemed to be fair to righties and lefties.

The amenities at this course are pretty good. The main set of tees is concrete with nice tee signs. The signs have good hole maps and distance, and are very visible and easy to read. There is a great practice area by the parking lot with four baskets, some elevation, and some trees with enough room to throw longer approach shots between some of the baskets.

Cons: On the signs, the two alternate sets of tees looked like they would add some variety to the course with different lengths and some different looks at the holes, but they were very difficult to find on most holes and not in good shape where they were visible. There are a couple navigation areas that are a little tricky, especially with the basket for hole 6 missing and using basket 15 instead. The tee for hole 9 is tough to see, you have to head up the hill from hole 8 otherwise you'll end up wandering a bit.

The open areas of the course are so open that they can get a little boring. The first few holes have almost no trees, so they don't really force any kind of line shaping. It would have been fun if the downhill holes included a longer bomb kind of hole. Hole 6 looked like it would have been a lot more fun and challenging in the original position, but playing to basket 15 removes the risk of shooting across the creek and leaves the hole much more open.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some diifferent challenges. Newer players will find the course tough but not unfair. More experienced players won't find the course too terribly difficult, but there are lots of fun holes and a few good challenging shots.

This course is definitely worth a stop, especially with another good course on site, and the best practice area I've seen (it's better than a couple courses I've played...). The quad cities area is a fun destination for disc golf, and this park is one of the places to hit while you're here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good and balanced course

5+    3/16/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a good mixture of long, short, tight and open holes. Starts out with some open, relatively easy middle and long range holes, then goes into the woods with some middle and short range holes. Has decent signs, pads, and tees.
Cons: Can be muddy if it has rained recently. A few holes are very challenging, almost comically. If you throw into the woods, you may be looking for awhile.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is quite good. Pads and tees are nice and the layout is mixed and challenging. Course is just challenging enough so that you feel good about the round.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Camden 1

1    4/17/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Camden 1 plays on the west side of a very well kept piece of property. This course has some pretty nice sized rolling hills with half of the course being fairly open and the other pretty heavily wooded. Water comes into play on several holes and there are some very unique areas. There are also areas of pretty heavy rough.

Camden 2 is located directly across from this park. It is the most heavily and longest wooded course in Illinois.

There is a good sized practice area off the parking lot. There are 4 practice baskets.

Variety with 3 sets of tee pads. Nice cement tee pads for 1 set. There open, uphill, downhill, and tight wooded holes.

Very nice tee signs. They are very descriptive.

Nice Mach3 Baskets.

Overall this is a fun par 54 disc golf course.
Cons: The 2 sets of natural tee pads are hard to find.

This course is on the short side.

It can be hard to navigate in a few areas.

There are several areas that are eroded and can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Both courses compliement each other nicely with Camden 1 being more beginner friendly.

The Quad Cities has some very good disc golf. Plan a vacation here and play as many course as you can. You will not be disappointed.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 cut my teeth on this course

5+    11/7/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 364  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Camden 1 has a nice balance of open and wooded holes. The first six and the last 2 are open and the rest are fairly wooded.
-The course also makes good use of elevation, most of which are gentle to somewhat steep slopes.
-There is also a good mix of shot variety required at this course and some of these are the only lines for the hole. For instance 16 is a hard left to right uphill, 12 is a slight right to left downhill.
-There are 4 practice baskets to throw at for warm up.
Three sets of tees that offer different looks at the holes
Nice landscaping around trees in the open part of the course and a fairly intuitive layout.
Cons: -Only a portajohn and nature for bathrooms, no water, and parking area is a bit congested at times.
-Although there are 3 sets of tees, the shorts and the longs are only marked with a 2x4 painted either red or blue and can be hard to find or the teepads are just junk, washed away with erosion, unlevel etc.
-6 is kind of a confusing hole navigation wise, it's pretty much a straight shot but the pin you see is actually 15's pin, 6's pin is across the creek to the right of the bridge.
-A lot of the holes have not withstood the test of time the way they were designed is no longer the masses play them. For instance 13 now has 2 lines, a straight and easy one cut through the woods (new line which didn't exist when designed) or a right to left skip or roller shot (old line), it just seems like people find an easier route and decide to play it that way insead of the way it was intended.
-Although there are a few longer holes, none of these holes are in the woods, so the wooded holes get a bit repetitive
-Holes 3-5 have no trees on them at all, just wide open shots with elevation involved
-The course has a walking path on it so be careful on the open holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoy playing this course thoroughly, it's where I spent a lot of my early days playing and I had a lot of fun there. I will definitely keep coming back especially since there is another excellent champ 18 onsite.

Also, do yourself a favor on hole 9, the only line looks to be a big right to left shot, which makes the hole fairly difficult to 3, but you can throw a high left to right shot over hole 8 and have an easy 3 and a possible duece :)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.