Disc Golf Store
Laramie, WY 
Spring Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist  
Hole #12 Tee: Basket near creek



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 home base

5+    11/28/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: ed IV
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Never easy, every type of shot. no crowds. my first course played, and still a challenge every time. Wind
Cons: Never easy, every type of shot. minimal elevation change Wind. serious Wind.
Other Thoughts: Dry Creek is Awesome. I play here 3 times a week and anything below 58 feels like a victory. lots of ob and wind. in cheyenne wind is a fact of life, but I know what to do in a 30mph head cross.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

water front property

2-4    11/20/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: used disc seller
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of water to make this course more challenging. Not to far off of I-80. Some long holes to really open it up.
Cons: I found the mail box and it had the hole numbers and who was sponsoring the holes but not map, which made it super hard to navigate. Does not flow well, would not be to hard to add in some more baskets and redo some holes to make it flow better.
Other Thoughts: Its a place to stop while traveling thru WY what more can you ask for.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 baskets 18 tees

5+    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pin locations for each hole. At least two, 3 on many. Most of them aren't a harder and easier location but just a different location. It keeps the game fresh if you play here often.
-Creek and pond provide hazards. Creek is good because you can almost always get your disc out of it. The pond is less forgiving.
-Many risk/reward shots, especially near the pins. Many are on slopes near the creek.
-The tees and baskets are nice.
-This course has a lot of support from the city and local businesses. Every hole is sponsored.
-Course maps and scorecards are very plentiful at the start of the course on the south side. You will absolutely need a map your first few times playing this course.
-There is a practice basket.
-There is good length and a good variety of length on this course.
-Very scenic, views of the Snowy range to the west and pole mountain to the east.
Cons: -Can be very very windy as the course doesn't really have any trees.
-Could lose a disc in the pond
-There are 9 baskets to 18 tees which means that you might have to wait as someone playing a different hole to your basket might be finishing up.
-I think due to the 9 baskets and 18 holes that the walking distance between holes is long. The course really doesn't flow very well. You often have to walk around to a bridge to cross the creek. Some places you can jump over the creek but it is high right now.
-The pond is very popular amongst kids and their parents and is often near the course. Other park users walk around the course with dogs and there is a playground although that isn't really in the way.
Other Thoughts: This course would be a lot better if there were 18 baskets. It would improve the flow a lot and make the walking less and the fun more. I think that these factors have greatly affected the ratings of this course. I think this course is fun and a good challenge for most levels, especially when the Wyo wind is blowing. I would recommend playing here and if you live here you really have no choice. The object course at UW is just that, an object course.

The mailbox at the start of the course always has scorecards but doesn't always have maps. If you haven't been here before, you NEED a map or a guide. Go to Atmosphere Mountainworks in downtown Laramie to get one and some plastic.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fair Scenic Course

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thr course has a good variety of holes and offers a nice challenge for everyone. The longer holes are mostly grip it and rip it (and very open) but there are a lot of shorter holes offering a better risk reward decision. The creek is used continiously throughout the course.
Cons: The tee pads are really confusing at times. going from hole to hole is a challenge for a first time player at this course. Fortunately someone has been good enough to add a map of the course located near the first tee box. I highly suggest picking up a copy of this in the mailbox if its your first time on the course. There are a lot of non players using the space as well. WATCHOUT FOR THEM
Other Thoughts: Take advantage of the map in the mailbox on the first tee. This is a nice little park in a higher altitude town. This being said you will have to share the park with the non disc golfing public as well. I would not suggest this course for a quick round because the space is well traveled by many local users that seem unaware that the tees are near to their locations. Just check twice for families before throwing at blind holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Discn

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: anthonyippi
Played: 66  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course had some good distance holes and shorts holes. I like the creek running through the course, makes you have to putt well.
Cons: To tricky of a layout, hard to find the next tee pad sometimes. Needs posts next to the tee pads,
Other Thoughts: It was my first course i ever played over 5000 ft high and in WY, but i would def play it again. enjoyed the pond and scenic mountains

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Decent City Park Course

5+    5/8/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Harkius
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is nice and long, with a number of holes requiring a good arm. The creek water hazard is well-utilized, with most holes centering around it. It's nice that you can "go wet" without losing a disc, at least in the creek. The streets make a nice (un?)natural boundary, as well. Be careful for the pond, though, because discs going into it rarely come back.
Cons: The course would be better if maps were available on the course.

It would be nice if there were more obstacles, particularly trees, although I seem to have a knack for nailing the one on hole 4.

The other thing that could make this better would be if there was less cross play.

Remember that there are people with their dogs in the park, as well. They have a tendency to enjoy picking up discs and taking them for a little run. We find this to be a fun way to add a little variability to the course...a "dog penalty" if you will.
Other Thoughts: If Laramie had another viable disc golf course, it would be nicer to play this one. As is, on a nice day you will see fifteen or so others on the course (at a minimum), some of whom don't have the greatest tact. Keep an eye on those who try to play through, or you might get a disc in the head.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ditto DGtourist

7/19/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: macilsoul
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets with a variety of lengths from 175 feet to over 700. Some holes on the grassy part of the park with mature trees. I enjoyed the baskets along the creek.
Cons: You really must have the map to play this course. It is a 9 basket course that plays 18, but the path to the next tee is not necessarily intuitive and often if quite a distance. My sons and I felt like we had played 18 after 9 holes. Additionally, watch for the sewage bog near the 17th tee. One of my sons stepped in it and we threw his shoes away at the park. Although it is nice to have concrete tees, these tees are extremely short considering you are often throwing 400' or more.
Other Thoughts: With the map in hand we found the tees much easier, but the considerable walk between holes was exhausting. The wind makes it feel like you are on the plains of Wyoming, which, by the way, you are! Still worth playing this course because there are some interesting shots and I like the length.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 hiking in the wind

5+    4/1/2008   4/1/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They make use of the pond and creek by putting most of the baskets near them. The baskets and tee pads are in great shape. The park is easy to find. For a nine hole, with dual tee pads making 18 the course is not repeating. The tee pads point you in the direction of your target and have the feet marked on them. If you land in the creek its not a big deal, your disc will be easy to retrieve. Many hole use the creek which is the highlighting feature of the course. The most prominent features here is length and creek water. I play here often between classes and find it most fun to jump on and play whatever random teebox is nearest.
Cons: The dual tee pads are spread throughout the course which makes the walking to the next tee pad illogical at times, there are numerous holes in which the walking to the next tee pads is actually longer than the length of the hole. You end up wandering the course so much that you are relieved to be finished. For a small city park course, the terrain lacks green and trees. Many of the holes are very long adding to the length. I've heard that the locals have their own way of getting in 18 but I've never gotten on with a group playing this way. You absolutely must stop to get a map, otherwise you will not be able to make your way. Plus, it gets so windy most of the time that a long flat wide open round loses its appeal.
Other Thoughts: Edit, I've add a big pic of the map, You'll need it. I picked up the map at a place called Atmospheres on 2nd between Ivinson and Grand. Lots of disc selection there.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.