Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #18 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 336ft.   5 / 685ft.   5 / 685ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Let's take a walk

2-4    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained college campus. You probably aren't going to spend too much time looking for lost discs. The baskets are usually in plain sight with obstacles allowing for a good challenge. They really try to make three different places to tee from for different levels of player.
Cons: They kind of went "mat happy" as there are throwing mats all over the place.
Also, I think the course could have been designed a little better. A friend told me the guy that designed the course lost weight playing frisbee golf so he purposely made it quite a walk for no reason other than to walk. After hole 11 you basically walk back to the tee pad for 11 and 10 feet to the right is the tee for 12. Other than that it's not too bad.
Other Thoughts: They say the hanging basket on 12 is the funnest and really, I say that's just dumb. Novelty at best.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

5+    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you read all the previous reviews I have nothing new to add. It is laid out great, long holes with terrain and woods, many available tee positions, and three tee boxes at most holes. Some holes have a walk from the basket to the next tee box, but nothing hard and the signs point you in the right direction.
Cons: The Par distances are long. I am by no means a seasoned player, but they seem to be really long Par 3's through out the course.
Other Thoughts: The only thing I would like to see is trash picked up off the course. Every hole has a 55 gal trash can, but the trash makes it through out the course. It may be because it is on the college campus. I paid my dollar donation, but would think they could have the college grounds keepers do a trash walk.

Update: Played last week and the college had grounds keepers cleaning up broken tree limbs that have fallen. The trash is still littering the course. Don't get me wrong it is a GREAT course but people need to use the trash can or "Carry in, Carry out".

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice campus course

1    9/17/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I would have loved to have a course like this on my college campus. It's a great exposure for the sport, and a nice activity to have available for the students. The course plays mostly through a park style area with grassy fairways and mature trees. A few holes play a little more technical with woods and brush in play to add some punishment for errant shots.

Elevation is a major factor here on most of the shots. There are a few tough uphill shots, and plenty of interesting rolling terrain that adds challenge and variety. The creek area creates a couple valley shots and a great pin position hanging from underneath a bridge with lurking ob water.
Cons: The signage and navigation are mediocre here, there are some long transitions that aren't obvious and some places where you walk back the length of the hole to get to the next tee. A little work on tee signs to make it a little clearer where to throw and a few next tee signs would go a long way.

Overall the course is a little open for my tastes, lots of places where there just isn't much punishment for throwing a bad shot off the tee nor are there a whole lot of tight gaps you have to hit. I prefer more technical challenges where specific lines are required.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable if a bit long. There is lots of fun elevation and plenty of room for error. More experienced players won't find this to be too much of a test, but it has some fun places to rip some drives and some very cool and unique shots. If you're in the area, this course is definitely worth a stop.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: T-Manz420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well marked. Not too hard to find next tee. Love the elevation changes. Trash can on every tee is nice, the course is clean. Low pressure,no body else was playing on a nice Fri. afternoon. Multiple tee's,and Baskets. This course will challenge all takers.
Cons: Keep thinking..... None yet. Oh yeah, if these are all par 3 I'll kiss your a**!
Other Thoughts: get your group together,set your own par, Have a good round! Don't forget to donate your $, money well spent.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design - The course flows very nicely and has a variety of shots. Some short, some long, some right, left, wooded, open, uphill, downhill. There are only a few hikes between holes, mainly #12-#13, and #18-#1, but they aren't all that long. The course is pretty easy to navigate. Gotta love the signature hole #12 with the hanging basket over the creek. The red tees are pretty manageable for the experienced golfer, but still offer a challenge. The blue tees, however, step up the difficulty level quite a bit, and the gold tees even more. Any skill level can be challenged here. It appeared that there are multiple pin placements for each hole.

Location - One of the best things about this course is the location. It is located on the campus of Iowa Western Community College, which is an exceptionally nice school. The campus is filled with new buildings, and takes up a lot of space. Since it is a college, the grounds are in very good shape. You don't have to deal with much undergrowth and the grass is mowed often. While many holes are wooded, the course is nicely manicured and landscaped. A very small creek runs through the campus and comes into play on a handful of holes. Restrooms and water/snacks are available in most of the buildings on campus, several which left open during the day. The college is located right off of the interstate, so it is easy to get to and from. IWCC is also only 5 min. or so away from Council Bluffs, and 10-15 min. away from downtown Omaha, so there are plenty of restaurants and lodging close by. Even though it is located on a college campus, there is plenty of space available and it doesn't really feel like your cramped by buildings/people. Every time I've played here it has been pretty quiet, and I have been able to enjoy a nice round without waiting or feeling rushed by others.

Infrastructure - The course features rubber tee pads, most of which are pieced together from a couple smaller tee pads combined to create a larger one. There are nice, large trash barrels at every tee that have the hole number in large white numbers on the side, very visible. The tee signs are very nice and are updated regularly. There are three tees for each hole; red, blue and gold. Each tee is easy to find and are marked with a flag to let you know which is which. Some tees share one tee pad, but they are marked with the flags so it's easy to figure out. There are several signs posted that help you navigate the course.
Cons: Land - I suppose there could be more elevation, but the course design takes advantage the elevation that is already there pretty well. The course is lacking a real water feature, as the little creek doesn't really count.
Not much to complain about.

College Atmosphere - I haven't had any real issues, but do remember this is a college campus. In between classes there can be a lot students moving around outside, but it isn't too big a deal as most of the course plays away from the busiest areas. There is always the possibility of a stupid college kid yelling/honking at you while your playing to put on a show for their friends, but for the most part everyone here as been respectful.
Other Thoughts: Wow, this is a fun course. It is very challenging and will test just about every shot you have. The course is beautiful and I'm jealous I didn't go to school here! Playing a round here and then hitting up Hummel Park in Omaha would make for a fabulous day of golf. Interstate 80 is an extremely busy route and passes right by the school, so if you are driving through please stop and play a round, you won't be disappointed!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone

1    12/28/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large grounds of a community college, that gives a ton of land up for some disc golf. A few holes play by a gazebo, and a couple are by a road, but overall the disc golf is pretty well separated.
- A couple different patches of forest help to add good variety here. A more open forest with large, tall, mature trees offer some fun line shaping, like the over-the-OB-valley shot on #3, and the wooded holes #7-#9. A different patch is much tighter, holes #15 and #16 need a much more accurate tee shot to get a good look at the pin.
- More open holes still try to provide some challenge with mature trees or twisting fairways. #4's pin is located within some short pine trees, #6 is bordered on the right by the sloping woods, #11 is a long uphill holes with a few trees, but a blind 90 degree turn (mando) to deal with. A few others have more trees by the pin, and #18 has OB on both sides thanks to a road and a roped area. Line shaping is not as important, but shot placement is.
- Constant factor throughout the entire course is elevation changes. Almost every hole has some sort of elevation to content with. Some decent uphill shots like #7, #10, #11, #14, and #18, and downhills like #2, #5, #8, #13, and #17, definitely noticable on all of these with some more dramatic ones. A few blind baskets due to the hills, like on #2, #5, #11, #14, and #17. Lots of fun.
- Great mix of hole lengths, with some real bombers (both wooded and open), at 740', 520', 469', and more! Short ones as well, with four holes under 300' that offer fair deuce opportunities.
- Good amount of hazards here, with the OB valley on #3, a roped area, and a small road providing some artificial areas to avoid. A small creek is also present - on holes #2 and #12. #12's basket is hanging under a bridge, almost above the creek. Very cool basket placement.
- Signs were ok... but a lot were missing. Rubber mats are nice and big, when dry at least. Good baskets. Navigation is fairly easy, especially with the map.
Cons: - A few of the holes are wide, wide open, or just slightly tricky. #6 only has trees on one side, #5 only has a hill to deal with, and #10 is fairly easy to reach. Still fun, but just gripping and ripping.
- A few spots of the course were extremely muddy, even without wet conditions. Getting around by hole #2 was nasty, I would hate to imagine what it would be like with some rain.
- Almost no seclusion to be found here, playing by school buildings, a busy road, and parking lots. Just distracting, not a conflict at all.
Other Thoughts: - Very good variety at this course, with some tight wooded holes, open bombers, and a lot of stuff in between. Even mix of line shaping, and shot placement, with holes through and around the woods. Constant elevation changes, and some tricky basket placements. Nothing super-extraordinary, but a solid course throughout. The hazards here aren't too bad to destroy beginners, but at the same time, expert players will definitely find something to enjoy here. Really a good course for almost any skill level.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Omaha metro

2-4    9/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: BalataGrande
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to begin. This course is LONG and has multiple holes that require right and left turning drives. There are many tight/technical drives as well. Hole 9 is a monster at 750+ feet through a highly treed ravine. Hole 12 is a "signature" hole with the basket hanging from a bridge and you throw through a creek bed to the basket. From an asthetic standpoint, it winds through the Iowa Western CC campus which is very beautiful (I was surprised).
Cons: The only downside I could say is the distance between some holes is excessive and I'd like to see a more "legitimate" par on this course. It's course par and there's quite a few holes that even the "pros" would struggle with IMO
Other Thoughts: Other than me whining about a par 54 setup, I love this course, and will be back many times. This was my second trip here in the last couple of months and the course had been manicured recently making this experience even better than the first. The most challenging course in the Metro!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 For the Big Arms

2-4    7/23/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice Tees
+Signage with distance, picture, par on every hole for every tee
+Decent amount of trees, not crowded or too open
+Good elevation on the property and they used it well
+Hanging basket on 12(?) was pretty cool
+Signs pointing to next hole are helpful
+Long!
Cons: -Not many ace chances, especially from the long tees. Many holes were a little too long.
-Maybe too long, I don't like driving twice on the same hole.
-Lots of walking, layout wasn't the greatest.
-Is kind of hard to follow even with the signs pointing to next hole.
-Could use a few garbage cans, drinking fountains, scorecards, etc.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable course to play. I think it could be made better if it flowed better and was a little shorter with more variations in hole distance. I did appreciate the work that has been put in at this course and was surprised by how well kept the buildings and grounds were at Iowa Western.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine College Course

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love college courses. The cove really had me blown away by the awesome scenic views of the rolling Loess Hills and the dramatic elevation changes throughout the course. The are three sets of rubber fly tee pads to work on different levels of game. There is a great variety of different shots required to score well here. There are some nice bomber holes with a nice mixture of left and right shots and some tunnel shots throughout the course. The course is obviously very clean and well maintained with trash cans spread out through most of the course. The signs are in very good shape, giving you all the hole information and some directing you the the next tee.
Cons: We caught ourselves scratching our heads, wondering were the next tee was on some holes. You might want to print out a map before you play here, to help navigate the course a little bit easier.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beautiful and was designed really well. I recommend this course to anyone who is ready for a awesome disc golf experience. This is a must play if you are in the area. Don't forget to donate a dollar.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Club? Sweet.

2-4    4/5/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course truly stands out. Being originally from Nebraska, it was common to make fun of Iowa and more specifically "Council-tucky." However, despite those stereotypes, this course is phenomenal. The course artfully mixes long holes with short holes. They have both right hand and left hand holes. Additionally, this course features several shots you will see nowhere else. Including gold tee #3 over the pipes, and a hanging basket underneath a bridge. Beautiful course. It is in a nice park that is clean. The course also has a lot of elevation changes which is nice.
Cons: One problem is the layout can be a bit confusing. #12 and number #13 are very far apart. Of course there is a sign under the bridge that will tell you to go back to the gazebo, but nevertheless still a hike. The course also has a basket that is precariously close to a basketball court. For right handers, you have to take extra caution. Another obstacles is the amount of cars in the parking lots. You can easily throw to these cars so watch out.
Other Thoughts: While waiting for some friends to play, we ran into one of the athletic science professors, and he told us of the disc golf club at the college. This is really cool. Thinking of starting one at UNL.
Make a trip here. You won't regret it, even though it means going into Iowa.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.