Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #12 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Hanging Basket Close Up



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice campus course

1    9/17/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I would have loved to have a course like this on my college campus. It's a great exposure for the sport, and a nice activity to have available for the students. The course plays mostly through a park style area with grassy fairways and mature trees. A few holes play a little more technical with woods and brush in play to add some punishment for errant shots.

Elevation is a major factor here on most of the shots. There are a few tough uphill shots, and plenty of interesting rolling terrain that adds challenge and variety. The creek area creates a couple valley shots and a great pin position hanging from underneath a bridge with lurking ob water.
Cons: The signage and navigation are mediocre here, there are some long transitions that aren't obvious and some places where you walk back the length of the hole to get to the next tee. A little work on tee signs to make it a little clearer where to throw and a few next tee signs would go a long way.

Overall the course is a little open for my tastes, lots of places where there just isn't much punishment for throwing a bad shot off the tee nor are there a whole lot of tight gaps you have to hit. I prefer more technical challenges where specific lines are required.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable if a bit long. There is lots of fun elevation and plenty of room for error. More experienced players won't find this to be too much of a test, but it has some fun places to rip some drives and some very cool and unique shots. If you're in the area, this course is definitely worth a stop.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Field of Dreams

1    9/13/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 151  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an awesome amenity to have on a college campus. Good course design that offers a variety of shots required. Different tee pads to add or take away challenge for disc golfers. Tee signs are clearly marked and easy to follow. Blue drums are also visible throughout the course to define where to shoot for each hole. The baskets are in very good condition along with fairly new rubber tee pads.
Being that this course is next to a community college it is very refreshing to see such good use of the land around the campus. The course offers a variety of elevation changes throughout. There is a good mix of long and technical holes which incorporate hyzers anhyzers and doglegs throughout. There are two signature or holes that stood out to me. Hole twelve's basket hangs from a bridge over a creek bed which is a pretty fun hole. Hole nine is also a fun hole in which you throw into a ravine some 700 or so feet away. The overall challenge of this course was a 3.5-4/5 depending on which tees you play from.
Cons: Much of the course had some muddy areas which was an inconvenience and since it hadn't rained (to my knowledge) in a few days it seemed as if this course is muddy much of the time. Also the beginning of the course after hole 2 there is construction going on which changed the course a little bit, but it really doesn't interfere with the overall value of the course. A map is good to have because some holes can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a very fun course in the Omaha/Iowa area. It offered a fun and challenging experience for all levels. There is ample parking and restrooms being that it is on a college campus. It wasn't crowded at all when I went, but I could see it having a good amount of people being on a campus. If you are in the Omaha or Western Iowa area this is probably the best course around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course that could be excellent. Great use of varied terrain. Course flows easily. Temp markers are better than no markers.. With map from web site I was able to make my way thorugh easily. Nice that little of the overall area was spoiled/midofied to put course here... Very little impact to land. Blind holes are O.K.... just throw and have faith... when you get close... you will spot the basket. Underbrush and overgrowth is nice, deep in some places, but will not swallow up discs. All wayward shots were easily located w/o a spotter. I gladly paid my $1 to play here... would galdly pay $2 if the signage was better.
Cons: Signage is poor. Some tee pads are in poor condition. Some hole transitions are not clear. Some holes are mislabeled from a course renumbering (10, 11?). Some baskets have visibility poles, some are missing flags on the tops.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole.
1 - Just the mention of OB for roof of gazebo puts a little fear in you.
2 - GREAT hole, awesome woodsy terrian change. Likely may fave of the course.
3 - Hard to fiugre out where basket was until I spotted alternate tee pad over there... saw what I now know is basket for 12 and was a bit confused.
4 - Nice dog leg. current pin position was shielded well.
5 - Long crazy bomb shot over field. 3 hot days and no mud here... good thing.
6 - tight shooting between field OB and silt curtain from construction. But just a temp thing.
7 - Into the woods for a few nice holes for 7, 8, 9.
8 - Nice use of this section of woodland.
9 - was likely my second fave hold after #2. Nice to shoot long over "valley". I am not a big arm guy, but these over the valley area are great for a bigger rip.
10 - Very tricky with basket nearly imposible to get to behind pines.
11 - Poorlly marked but a nice wide open grassy area to shoot.
12 - Sig hole here... much like 7, 8, 9 except for unique basket placement. Very fun.
13 - slight rise for basket makes poor put a problem. Nice open hole. get siome air with wind behind building.
14 - I liked the basket placement, back into woods. Nice anhyxer opp.
15 and 16 and 17 - Short and a bit out of charecter for the rest of this course... these seem like afterthoughts... and there seems to be room here to rethink these.
18, The long bomb... I actually skipped it... after the other 17 a plain long bomb shot seemed like a bit much on a tired arm. Do I really need or does any disc golf course really need a 750 foot hole?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Reconfigured and better for it

5+    6/16/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderfully hilly course in the loess hills on the IWCC campus. More woodsy than its ever been. Excellent use of elevation and trees with some cleverly tucked pins. Multiple tees available on most holes which provide for varying levels of challenge. Trash receptacles at every teebox with the hole number on them. The hanging basket is unique. Not a lot of crowds here, and most of the players you do run into are serious golfers. Lots of parking available by the arts center, particularly if school is not in session.
Cons: Parts of the course are scattered throughout the campus and there are some long walks between holes. These create some flow issues and you may scratch your head wondering where the next hole is (although this is better than it used to be). Course has been reconfigured, but there are still parts of the old configuration hardware in place, leading to more confusion. Flypads are starting to show some wear and some of them are off kilter. While I like the new layout, I miss the cliff shots on old holes 13 and 14. The loess hills might make great terrain, but man do they get muddy and slick after a hard rain. Nettles in some of the woodsier areas.
Other Thoughts: This course has been a moving target for much of its existence. If you last played the Cove more than a year ago, you may not recognize parts of it. A new football practice field now sits where Hole 15 once did, and because of that, a good chunk of the back nine had to be reconfigured (note: the current pics have the old layout displayed, some of these holes still exist, but there numbers may have changed). The front nine has had new holes added to the wooded perimeter area of the campus and is now the front twelve. The remaining six holes are now old 10-12, two new wooded holes, and old 18 backwards. This is probably my favorite arrangement since the course has been installed. Just a hop off of I-80 and well worth the stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a great course

5+    6/21/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located on campus with lots of room. The land is great for disc golf. The rubber tee pads aren't exactly a plus, but at least there are tee pads. Good baskets and good amenities. The course has some very aesthetically pleasing holes. It also requires you to have some power to score well. Definitely has some bomber holes out there.
Cons: If the course designer/maintainer would stop messing with the course and stick with one layout, this course would be a top notch course.
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you are cruising along I-80.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.