Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 287ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/21/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: T-Manz420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well marked. Not too hard to find next tee. Love the elevation changes. Trash can on every tee is nice, the course is clean. Low pressure,no body else was playing on a nice Fri. afternoon. Multiple tee's,and Baskets. This course will challenge all takers.
Cons: Keep thinking..... None yet. Oh yeah, if these are all par 3 I'll kiss your a**!
Other Thoughts: get your group together,set your own par, Have a good round! Don't forget to donate your $, money well spent.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design - The course flows very nicely and has a variety of shots. Some short, some long, some right, left, wooded, open, uphill, downhill. There are only a few hikes between holes, mainly #12-#13, and #18-#1, but they aren't all that long. The course is pretty easy to navigate. Gotta love the signature hole #12 with the hanging basket over the creek. The red tees are pretty manageable for the experienced golfer, but still offer a challenge. The blue tees, however, step up the difficulty level quite a bit, and the gold tees even more. Any skill level can be challenged here. It appeared that there are multiple pin placements for each hole.

Location - One of the best things about this course is the location. It is located on the campus of Iowa Western Community College, which is an exceptionally nice school. The campus is filled with new buildings, and takes up a lot of space. Since it is a college, the grounds are in very good shape. You don't have to deal with much undergrowth and the grass is mowed often. While many holes are wooded, the course is nicely manicured and landscaped. A very small creek runs through the campus and comes into play on a handful of holes. Restrooms and water/snacks are available in most of the buildings on campus, several which left open during the day. The college is located right off of the interstate, so it is easy to get to and from. IWCC is also only 5 min. or so away from Council Bluffs, and 10-15 min. away from downtown Omaha, so there are plenty of restaurants and lodging close by. Even though it is located on a college campus, there is plenty of space available and it doesn't really feel like your cramped by buildings/people. Every time I've played here it has been pretty quiet, and I have been able to enjoy a nice round without waiting or feeling rushed by others.

Infrastructure - The course features rubber tee pads, most of which are pieced together from a couple smaller tee pads combined to create a larger one. There are nice, large trash barrels at every tee that have the hole number in large white numbers on the side, very visible. The tee signs are very nice and are updated regularly. There are three tees for each hole; red, blue and gold. Each tee is easy to find and are marked with a flag to let you know which is which. Some tees share one tee pad, but they are marked with the flags so it's easy to figure out. There are several signs posted that help you navigate the course.
Cons: Land - I suppose there could be more elevation, but the course design takes advantage the elevation that is already there pretty well. The course is lacking a real water feature, as the little creek doesn't really count.
Not much to complain about.

College Atmosphere - I haven't had any real issues, but do remember this is a college campus. In between classes there can be a lot students moving around outside, but it isn't too big a deal as most of the course plays away from the busiest areas. There is always the possibility of a stupid college kid yelling/honking at you while your playing to put on a show for their friends, but for the most part everyone here as been respectful.
Other Thoughts: Wow, this is a fun course. It is very challenging and will test just about every shot you have. The course is beautiful and I'm jealous I didn't go to school here! Playing a round here and then hitting up Hummel Park in Omaha would make for a fabulous day of golf. Interstate 80 is an extremely busy route and passes right by the school, so if you are driving through please stop and play a round, you won't be disappointed!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone

1    12/28/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large grounds of a community college, that gives a ton of land up for some disc golf. A few holes play by a gazebo, and a couple are by a road, but overall the disc golf is pretty well separated.
- A couple different patches of forest help to add good variety here. A more open forest with large, tall, mature trees offer some fun line shaping, like the over-the-OB-valley shot on #3, and the wooded holes #7-#9. A different patch is much tighter, holes #15 and #16 need a much more accurate tee shot to get a good look at the pin.
- More open holes still try to provide some challenge with mature trees or twisting fairways. #4's pin is located within some short pine trees, #6 is bordered on the right by the sloping woods, #11 is a long uphill holes with a few trees, but a blind 90 degree turn (mando) to deal with. A few others have more trees by the pin, and #18 has OB on both sides thanks to a road and a roped area. Line shaping is not as important, but shot placement is.
- Constant factor throughout the entire course is elevation changes. Almost every hole has some sort of elevation to content with. Some decent uphill shots like #7, #10, #11, #14, and #18, and downhills like #2, #5, #8, #13, and #17, definitely noticable on all of these with some more dramatic ones. A few blind baskets due to the hills, like on #2, #5, #11, #14, and #17. Lots of fun.
- Great mix of hole lengths, with some real bombers (both wooded and open), at 740', 520', 469', and more! Short ones as well, with four holes under 300' that offer fair deuce opportunities.
- Good amount of hazards here, with the OB valley on #3, a roped area, and a small road providing some artificial areas to avoid. A small creek is also present - on holes #2 and #12. #12's basket is hanging under a bridge, almost above the creek. Very cool basket placement.
- Signs were ok... but a lot were missing. Rubber mats are nice and big, when dry at least. Good baskets. Navigation is fairly easy, especially with the map.
Cons: - A few of the holes are wide, wide open, or just slightly tricky. #6 only has trees on one side, #5 only has a hill to deal with, and #10 is fairly easy to reach. Still fun, but just gripping and ripping.
- A few spots of the course were extremely muddy, even without wet conditions. Getting around by hole #2 was nasty, I would hate to imagine what it would be like with some rain.
- Almost no seclusion to be found here, playing by school buildings, a busy road, and parking lots. Just distracting, not a conflict at all.
Other Thoughts: - Very good variety at this course, with some tight wooded holes, open bombers, and a lot of stuff in between. Even mix of line shaping, and shot placement, with holes through and around the woods. Constant elevation changes, and some tricky basket placements. Nothing super-extraordinary, but a solid course throughout. The hazards here aren't too bad to destroy beginners, but at the same time, expert players will definitely find something to enjoy here. Really a good course for almost any skill level.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Omaha metro

2-4    9/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: BalataGrande
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to begin. This course is LONG and has multiple holes that require right and left turning drives. There are many tight/technical drives as well. Hole 9 is a monster at 750+ feet through a highly treed ravine. Hole 12 is a "signature" hole with the basket hanging from a bridge and you throw through a creek bed to the basket. From an asthetic standpoint, it winds through the Iowa Western CC campus which is very beautiful (I was surprised).
Cons: The only downside I could say is the distance between some holes is excessive and I'd like to see a more "legitimate" par on this course. It's course par and there's quite a few holes that even the "pros" would struggle with IMO
Other Thoughts: Other than me whining about a par 54 setup, I love this course, and will be back many times. This was my second trip here in the last couple of months and the course had been manicured recently making this experience even better than the first. The most challenging course in the Metro!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 For the Big Arms

2-4    7/23/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice Tees
+Signage with distance, picture, par on every hole for every tee
+Decent amount of trees, not crowded or too open
+Good elevation on the property and they used it well
+Hanging basket on 12(?) was pretty cool
+Signs pointing to next hole are helpful
+Long!
Cons: -Not many ace chances, especially from the long tees. Many holes were a little too long.
-Maybe too long, I don't like driving twice on the same hole.
-Lots of walking, layout wasn't the greatest.
-Is kind of hard to follow even with the signs pointing to next hole.
-Could use a few garbage cans, drinking fountains, scorecards, etc.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable course to play. I think it could be made better if it flowed better and was a little shorter with more variations in hole distance. I did appreciate the work that has been put in at this course and was surprised by how well kept the buildings and grounds were at Iowa Western.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine College Course

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love college courses. The cove really had me blown away by the awesome scenic views of the rolling Loess Hills and the dramatic elevation changes throughout the course. The are three sets of rubber fly tee pads to work on different levels of game. There is a great variety of different shots required to score well here. There are some nice bomber holes with a nice mixture of left and right shots and some tunnel shots throughout the course. The course is obviously very clean and well maintained with trash cans spread out through most of the course. The signs are in very good shape, giving you all the hole information and some directing you the the next tee.
Cons: We caught ourselves scratching our heads, wondering were the next tee was on some holes. You might want to print out a map before you play here, to help navigate the course a little bit easier.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beautiful and was designed really well. I recommend this course to anyone who is ready for a awesome disc golf experience. This is a must play if you are in the area. Don't forget to donate a dollar.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun in Iowa.

1    3/17/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is unique, has great variety, and something I really love, it has a "signature hole"!

Rubber "fly" pads, in pretty good shape overall. Mach baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are mostly there (color, laminated printouts, nicely detailed) that I would really like to see as complete, permanent signs. The map on the course homepage is more than adequate to navigate the course. Facilities are nice, being on a community college campus. Also very convenient access to the interstate.

Course made AWESOME use of the land available, playing around buildings, through woods, over and around hills, next to athletic courts, etc, really great.

My memorable holes:
3 - From the long tee, a very challenging first shot through a tight opening in the trees, then ANOTHER 400 feet or so to the pin, very nice.
5 - Plays very long from the gold tee, along the side of a hill on your left, have to make it out several hundred feet then hyzer huge around the hill, lucky to take a three on this hole. I was not so lucky.
9 - Plays down the middle of a ravine, 800+ feet, and you have to keep your throw very straight. Never seen a hole like this one before.
12 - THE signature hole. Play through a creek bed, then the basket hangs from chains from a walking bridge, over the creek. Don't miss long or you'll be picking your putter up out of the mud. This is a very cool looking and playing hole.
18 - WOW. I have seen tough holes, but this one is not tough just for the sake of being tough, and not impossibly tough. Up a good sized hill several hundred feet, with OB on both sides, then dogleg left through several sets of trees to the basket. I felt fortunate to take a 7 on this one with an OB stroke, a 5 would have felt great.
Cons: Not really a big con, but apparently the course holds water pretty well. Several holes were muddy or very soft. Also not a permanent con, but there was a lot of construction going on by holes 1, 2, and 13, but easy enough to play around.

Without the course map you will definitely be scratching your head on some next-tee-pad walks. The course flows pretty well, but being on a college campus it is necessarily broken up between some holes, but nothing terrible. You will likely have to walk several holes if it is your first time playing, to make sure you take the correct shots when the pin is not in view.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that this course is a great challenge and is awesomely laid out. There are several very memorable holes that will stay in my memory forever. Can't wait to get back to western Iowa to play this one again.

I also met up with a guy that was very knowledgeable of the course and showed me through most of the back half. He said he also designed or helped designed Seymour Park course in Omaha. Very nice locals.

Overall I feel this course is a MUST PLAY if you are coming through the Omaha/Council Bluffs area. I have only played a couple courses in this area, but based off of what I have read about other local courses, this is THE course to play in the Omaha area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 worth playing

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course with a variety of shots. pretty easy to follow layout... there was never a time when i stood around scratching my head looking for the next tee. pretty challenging course too with a few legit par 4s and maybe even a par 5 on whole 18.
Cons: the bugs in the woods got me a little bit so you might want to bring some repelent
Other Thoughts: neat course on a college campus. worth playing if your in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Rolling Course

5+    7/28/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offers three configurations: red, blue, and gold (just one basket for each hole but up to three tee pads). The reds are pretty doable with a good mix of short and moderately long. The golds require some real distance (the longest is 840 feet and fairly wooded). The blue configuration used to be mostly a mix of the red and gold tees with four or five holes having their own blue pad, but they have added several new blue pads in the past couple weeks, and it's a great intermediate distance. The grounds are impressive. It is mowed frequently, even on the holes in the woods where no one but disc golfers would probably go (14-17). This place never seems crowded, and I don't think I've seen more than four or five groups on it at once. Often there are none! There are signs on every hole indicating the distances from the different tees and the basket location with a photograph (the signs are only at the gold tees, though, so if you're playing the reds/blues, you'll need to walk over to that sign). The course has some very nice rolling elevation and makes use of it. There are a lot of baskets situated on the edge of a steep hill, so there is usually a good risk/reward factor for longer putts. Bathrooms are available in the building near Hole 1 and 13, as is a bookstore with drinks.
Cons: The signs do not indicate pars. I don't love this because many of the holes are definitely not par 3. I ran into the guy who designed the course and runs tournaments there and asked him about it. He was very nice but didn't seem to think it was a pressing issue. For what it's worth, his post about how the pars stack up in tournaments can be found here: http://nebdiscforums.yuku.com...question.html#reply-26000

At any rate, if you play everything as a par 3 like I do, just know that you are going to finish your round with a double bogey on the 750-yard uphill monster that is #18!

Other slight cons: The course has some walks between a few holes, but I understand why it was necessary on a college campus, and there are maps at the first hole. If you have some bad throws, there is definite possibility of losing your disc on the holes lined with thick brush (2, 3, and 14-17) in the summer. Also, some of the distances on the signs are suspect. One of my former complaints was that too many holes have one tee pad for all three course configurations, but it looks like they are adding pads, which is great. Holes 8 and 18 could definitely have more than one tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This course is well thought-out and taken care of. I never knew the Iowa Western campus was so nice! I really love playing here. Definitely the best course in the Omaha metro area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/14/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Break out your distance drivers for this one. Lots of long open shots, many with good elevation changes. I love the long rubber tees.

Each hole is marked by a big blue barrel with a number on it, with colored flags on the tees (red for the easy ones, yellow for the hard ones).

Some unique shots too, like 9 which sits suspended from a bridge in a ravine with a little stream under it.
Cons: This can be exhausting. The fairways are long, and the walks between them can be even longer, particularly on the back 9.

On the front 9, some shots are in fairly close proximity to buildings.
Other Thoughts: Just outside Council Bluffs, IA, on a beautiful college campus (Western Iowa Community College). Just a few miles from downtown Omaha.

Definitely worth the drive out, and the $1 donation.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.