Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #14 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 239ft.   3 / 495ft.   3 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great fun

5+    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you read all the previous reviews I have nothing new to add. It is laid out great, long holes with terrain and woods, many available tee positions, and three tee boxes at most holes. Some holes have a walk from the basket to the next tee box, but nothing hard and the signs point you in the right direction.
Cons: The Par distances are long. I am by no means a seasoned player, but they seem to be really long Par 3's through out the course.
Other Thoughts: The only thing I would like to see is trash picked up off the course. Every hole has a 55 gal trash can, but the trash makes it through out the course. It may be because it is on the college campus. I paid my dollar donation, but would think they could have the college grounds keepers do a trash walk.

Update: Played last week and the college had grounds keepers cleaning up broken tree limbs that have fallen. The trash is still littering the course. Don't get me wrong it is a GREAT course but people need to use the trash can or "Carry in, Carry out".

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Club? Sweet.

2-4    4/5/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course truly stands out. Being originally from Nebraska, it was common to make fun of Iowa and more specifically "Council-tucky." However, despite those stereotypes, this course is phenomenal. The course artfully mixes long holes with short holes. They have both right hand and left hand holes. Additionally, this course features several shots you will see nowhere else. Including gold tee #3 over the pipes, and a hanging basket underneath a bridge. Beautiful course. It is in a nice park that is clean. The course also has a lot of elevation changes which is nice.
Cons: One problem is the layout can be a bit confusing. #12 and number #13 are very far apart. Of course there is a sign under the bridge that will tell you to go back to the gazebo, but nevertheless still a hike. The course also has a basket that is precariously close to a basketball court. For right handers, you have to take extra caution. Another obstacles is the amount of cars in the parking lots. You can easily throw to these cars so watch out.
Other Thoughts: While waiting for some friends to play, we ran into one of the athletic science professors, and he told us of the disc golf club at the college. This is really cool. Thinking of starting one at UNL.
Make a trip here. You won't regret it, even though it means going into Iowa.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Council doesn’t Bluff...This course ROCKS!

2-4    3/27/2010   10/4/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The permanent 18 holes are finished and the course is amazing! I posted the 2010 pictures also. This is the home to one of the hanging baskets we hear about (under a walk bridge along a creek, on #12). It was no different that any other basket as far as putting, but it was rather cool to see a very small creek (3 feet wide) running under it. Loved that hole! The layout and design was really good using much of the land at this college. There was a very long dog leg around the corner of a corn field that no longer has a fence. It was really fun to hyzer (RHBH) around and I loved playing right out on the college's front lawn of #10. #3 from the longs literally throws over a wide creek into a nice sized opening. This course has water, great elevation, open and wooded holes, tunnel shots, simple basket locations, and GREAT scenery. There are tons of trashcans and a great message board. The tee pads are in good shape using the non-slip rubber. There doesn't seem to be too many people walking where you play, so it is a fairly safe area.
Cons: The tee signs were not completed the day I was there, but half of them were done. They are laminated paper signs, so nothing fancy, put they hade great info including pin placements and next tee. No public bathrooms, but I mean who is not going to let you in a building to go? ;o) Navigation on this course is bit crazy, but more and more signs are being put up every day to give you directions. They usually have maps where you put your $1 donation, however, they were out when I was there.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor on this course is Crazy Cool. I love playing here. I will play here each time I am in the area and have so far. If I were to consider a college as a younger guy again, this course would be a big factor for me! BTW, for those who care about this, it is worth every bit of a dollar.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.