Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #13 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 287ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Field of Dreams

1    9/13/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 152  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an awesome amenity to have on a college campus. Good course design that offers a variety of shots required. Different tee pads to add or take away challenge for disc golfers. Tee signs are clearly marked and easy to follow. Blue drums are also visible throughout the course to define where to shoot for each hole. The baskets are in very good condition along with fairly new rubber tee pads.
Being that this course is next to a community college it is very refreshing to see such good use of the land around the campus. The course offers a variety of elevation changes throughout. There is a good mix of long and technical holes which incorporate hyzers anhyzers and doglegs throughout. There are two signature or holes that stood out to me. Hole twelve's basket hangs from a bridge over a creek bed which is a pretty fun hole. Hole nine is also a fun hole in which you throw into a ravine some 700 or so feet away. The overall challenge of this course was a 3.5-4/5 depending on which tees you play from.
Cons: Much of the course had some muddy areas which was an inconvenience and since it hadn't rained (to my knowledge) in a few days it seemed as if this course is muddy much of the time. Also the beginning of the course after hole 2 there is construction going on which changed the course a little bit, but it really doesn't interfere with the overall value of the course. A map is good to have because some holes can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a very fun course in the Omaha/Iowa area. It offered a fun and challenging experience for all levels. There is ample parking and restrooms being that it is on a college campus. It wasn't crowded at all when I went, but I could see it having a good amount of people being on a campus. If you are in the Omaha or Western Iowa area this is probably the best course around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underwhelmed

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 130  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes. Beautiful campus. Great Potential. I really liked throwing from the rubber tee pads.
Cons: Signs missing or in bad condition. Some holes very hard to find even with course map from starting location. Deep weeds on some courses inbounds. Some baskets very hard to see.
Other Thoughts: After reading other reviews I was very excited about playing this course. Perhaps I was just here at a bad time. This course had the potential to be enjoyed as advertised but is in need of some major maintenance. I haven't played too many courses, but his one rates low on my favorites list, but not so low that I wouldn't gladly play it again. It would be a very nice course if someone does some maintenance.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course that could be excellent. Great use of varied terrain. Course flows easily. Temp markers are better than no markers.. With map from web site I was able to make my way thorugh easily. Nice that little of the overall area was spoiled/midofied to put course here... Very little impact to land. Blind holes are O.K.... just throw and have faith... when you get close... you will spot the basket. Underbrush and overgrowth is nice, deep in some places, but will not swallow up discs. All wayward shots were easily located w/o a spotter. I gladly paid my $1 to play here... would galdly pay $2 if the signage was better.
Cons: Signage is poor. Some tee pads are in poor condition. Some hole transitions are not clear. Some holes are mislabeled from a course renumbering (10, 11?). Some baskets have visibility poles, some are missing flags on the tops.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole.
1 - Just the mention of OB for roof of gazebo puts a little fear in you.
2 - GREAT hole, awesome woodsy terrian change. Likely may fave of the course.
3 - Hard to fiugre out where basket was until I spotted alternate tee pad over there... saw what I now know is basket for 12 and was a bit confused.
4 - Nice dog leg. current pin position was shielded well.
5 - Long crazy bomb shot over field. 3 hot days and no mud here... good thing.
6 - tight shooting between field OB and silt curtain from construction. But just a temp thing.
7 - Into the woods for a few nice holes for 7, 8, 9.
8 - Nice use of this section of woodland.
9 - was likely my second fave hold after #2. Nice to shoot long over "valley". I am not a big arm guy, but these over the valley area are great for a bigger rip.
10 - Very tricky with basket nearly imposible to get to behind pines.
11 - Poorlly marked but a nice wide open grassy area to shoot.
12 - Sig hole here... much like 7, 8, 9 except for unique basket placement. Very fun.
13 - slight rise for basket makes poor put a problem. Nice open hole. get siome air with wind behind building.
14 - I liked the basket placement, back into woods. Nice anhyxer opp.
15 and 16 and 17 - Short and a bit out of charecter for the rest of this course... these seem like afterthoughts... and there seems to be room here to rethink these.
18, The long bomb... I actually skipped it... after the other 17 a plain long bomb shot seemed like a bit much on a tired arm. Do I really need or does any disc golf course really need a 750 foot hole?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun in Iowa.

1    3/17/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is unique, has great variety, and something I really love, it has a "signature hole"!

Rubber "fly" pads, in pretty good shape overall. Mach baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are mostly there (color, laminated printouts, nicely detailed) that I would really like to see as complete, permanent signs. The map on the course homepage is more than adequate to navigate the course. Facilities are nice, being on a community college campus. Also very convenient access to the interstate.

Course made AWESOME use of the land available, playing around buildings, through woods, over and around hills, next to athletic courts, etc, really great.

My memorable holes:
3 - From the long tee, a very challenging first shot through a tight opening in the trees, then ANOTHER 400 feet or so to the pin, very nice.
5 - Plays very long from the gold tee, along the side of a hill on your left, have to make it out several hundred feet then hyzer huge around the hill, lucky to take a three on this hole. I was not so lucky.
9 - Plays down the middle of a ravine, 800+ feet, and you have to keep your throw very straight. Never seen a hole like this one before.
12 - THE signature hole. Play through a creek bed, then the basket hangs from chains from a walking bridge, over the creek. Don't miss long or you'll be picking your putter up out of the mud. This is a very cool looking and playing hole.
18 - WOW. I have seen tough holes, but this one is not tough just for the sake of being tough, and not impossibly tough. Up a good sized hill several hundred feet, with OB on both sides, then dogleg left through several sets of trees to the basket. I felt fortunate to take a 7 on this one with an OB stroke, a 5 would have felt great.
Cons: Not really a big con, but apparently the course holds water pretty well. Several holes were muddy or very soft. Also not a permanent con, but there was a lot of construction going on by holes 1, 2, and 13, but easy enough to play around.

Without the course map you will definitely be scratching your head on some next-tee-pad walks. The course flows pretty well, but being on a college campus it is necessarily broken up between some holes, but nothing terrible. You will likely have to walk several holes if it is your first time playing, to make sure you take the correct shots when the pin is not in view.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that this course is a great challenge and is awesomely laid out. There are several very memorable holes that will stay in my memory forever. Can't wait to get back to western Iowa to play this one again.

I also met up with a guy that was very knowledgeable of the course and showed me through most of the back half. He said he also designed or helped designed Seymour Park course in Omaha. Very nice locals.

Overall I feel this course is a MUST PLAY if you are coming through the Omaha/Council Bluffs area. I have only played a couple courses in this area, but based off of what I have read about other local courses, this is THE course to play in the Omaha area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 worth playing

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course with a variety of shots. pretty easy to follow layout... there was never a time when i stood around scratching my head looking for the next tee. pretty challenging course too with a few legit par 4s and maybe even a par 5 on whole 18.
Cons: the bugs in the woods got me a little bit so you might want to bring some repelent
Other Thoughts: neat course on a college campus. worth playing if your in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Rolling Course

5+    7/28/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offers three configurations: red, blue, and gold (just one basket for each hole but up to three tee pads). The reds are pretty doable with a good mix of short and moderately long. The golds require some real distance (the longest is 840 feet and fairly wooded). The blue configuration used to be mostly a mix of the red and gold tees with four or five holes having their own blue pad, but they have added several new blue pads in the past couple weeks, and it's a great intermediate distance. The grounds are impressive. It is mowed frequently, even on the holes in the woods where no one but disc golfers would probably go (14-17). This place never seems crowded, and I don't think I've seen more than four or five groups on it at once. Often there are none! There are signs on every hole indicating the distances from the different tees and the basket location with a photograph (the signs are only at the gold tees, though, so if you're playing the reds/blues, you'll need to walk over to that sign). The course has some very nice rolling elevation and makes use of it. There are a lot of baskets situated on the edge of a steep hill, so there is usually a good risk/reward factor for longer putts. Bathrooms are available in the building near Hole 1 and 13, as is a bookstore with drinks.
Cons: The signs do not indicate pars. I don't love this because many of the holes are definitely not par 3. I ran into the guy who designed the course and runs tournaments there and asked him about it. He was very nice but didn't seem to think it was a pressing issue. For what it's worth, his post about how the pars stack up in tournaments can be found here: http://nebdiscforums.yuku.com...question.html#reply-26000

At any rate, if you play everything as a par 3 like I do, just know that you are going to finish your round with a double bogey on the 750-yard uphill monster that is #18!

Other slight cons: The course has some walks between a few holes, but I understand why it was necessary on a college campus, and there are maps at the first hole. If you have some bad throws, there is definite possibility of losing your disc on the holes lined with thick brush (2, 3, and 14-17) in the summer. Also, some of the distances on the signs are suspect. One of my former complaints was that too many holes have one tee pad for all three course configurations, but it looks like they are adding pads, which is great. Holes 8 and 18 could definitely have more than one tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This course is well thought-out and taken care of. I never knew the Iowa Western campus was so nice! I really love playing here. Definitely the best course in the Omaha metro area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Reconfigured and better for it

5+    6/16/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderfully hilly course in the loess hills on the IWCC campus. More woodsy than its ever been. Excellent use of elevation and trees with some cleverly tucked pins. Multiple tees available on most holes which provide for varying levels of challenge. Trash receptacles at every teebox with the hole number on them. The hanging basket is unique. Not a lot of crowds here, and most of the players you do run into are serious golfers. Lots of parking available by the arts center, particularly if school is not in session.
Cons: Parts of the course are scattered throughout the campus and there are some long walks between holes. These create some flow issues and you may scratch your head wondering where the next hole is (although this is better than it used to be). Course has been reconfigured, but there are still parts of the old configuration hardware in place, leading to more confusion. Flypads are starting to show some wear and some of them are off kilter. While I like the new layout, I miss the cliff shots on old holes 13 and 14. The loess hills might make great terrain, but man do they get muddy and slick after a hard rain. Nettles in some of the woodsier areas.
Other Thoughts: This course has been a moving target for much of its existence. If you last played the Cove more than a year ago, you may not recognize parts of it. A new football practice field now sits where Hole 15 once did, and because of that, a good chunk of the back nine had to be reconfigured (note: the current pics have the old layout displayed, some of these holes still exist, but there numbers may have changed). The front nine has had new holes added to the wooded perimeter area of the campus and is now the front twelve. The remaining six holes are now old 10-12, two new wooded holes, and old 18 backwards. This is probably my favorite arrangement since the course has been installed. Just a hop off of I-80 and well worth the stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a great course

5+    6/21/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located on campus with lots of room. The land is great for disc golf. The rubber tee pads aren't exactly a plus, but at least there are tee pads. Good baskets and good amenities. The course has some very aesthetically pleasing holes. It also requires you to have some power to score well. Definitely has some bomber holes out there.
Cons: If the course designer/maintainer would stop messing with the course and stick with one layout, this course would be a top notch course.
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you are cruising along I-80.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Council doesn’t Bluff...This course ROCKS!

2-4    3/27/2010   10/4/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The permanent 18 holes are finished and the course is amazing! I posted the 2010 pictures also. This is the home to one of the hanging baskets we hear about (under a walk bridge along a creek, on #12). It was no different that any other basket as far as putting, but it was rather cool to see a very small creek (3 feet wide) running under it. Loved that hole! The layout and design was really good using much of the land at this college. There was a very long dog leg around the corner of a corn field that no longer has a fence. It was really fun to hyzer (RHBH) around and I loved playing right out on the college's front lawn of #10. #3 from the longs literally throws over a wide creek into a nice sized opening. This course has water, great elevation, open and wooded holes, tunnel shots, simple basket locations, and GREAT scenery. There are tons of trashcans and a great message board. The tee pads are in good shape using the non-slip rubber. There doesn't seem to be too many people walking where you play, so it is a fairly safe area.
Cons: The tee signs were not completed the day I was there, but half of them were done. They are laminated paper signs, so nothing fancy, put they hade great info including pin placements and next tee. No public bathrooms, but I mean who is not going to let you in a building to go? ;o) Navigation on this course is bit crazy, but more and more signs are being put up every day to give you directions. They usually have maps where you put your $1 donation, however, they were out when I was there.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor on this course is Crazy Cool. I love playing here. I will play here each time I am in the area and have so far. If I were to consider a college as a younger guy again, this course would be a big factor for me! BTW, for those who care about this, it is worth every bit of a dollar.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 

7/14/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Break out your distance drivers for this one. Lots of long open shots, many with good elevation changes. I love the long rubber tees.

Each hole is marked by a big blue barrel with a number on it, with colored flags on the tees (red for the easy ones, yellow for the hard ones).

Some unique shots too, like 9 which sits suspended from a bridge in a ravine with a little stream under it.
Cons: This can be exhausting. The fairways are long, and the walks between them can be even longer, particularly on the back 9.

On the front 9, some shots are in fairly close proximity to buildings.
Other Thoughts: Just outside Council Bluffs, IA, on a beautiful college campus (Western Iowa Community College). Just a few miles from downtown Omaha.

Definitely worth the drive out, and the $1 donation.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center