Fort Wayne, IN 
West Swinney Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #17 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
This course was sweeeet

1    8/15/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 87  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome.
New signs are perfect
Nice shots on most holes
Very easy to navigate
Huge big trees that come into play
A few water shots but nothing crazy
A few wooded shots to go with the open fairway shots
Cons: No where to sit
Baskets are a little beat up, but not a real problem
Other Thoughts: I really liked both the East and West Swinney courses they flow well, and I shot a great game on both without getting lost or losing track of discs. Good courses

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Westside is the best side

1    12/21/2014   12/21/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 333  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Very mature, well maintained park
*Some signature holes- hole 6 peninsula, neat line on 13, and hole 16. Probably forgetting some good ones.
*Lots of elevation for flat Northern Indiana
*Some updated tee signs
Cons: *Several holes with the basket close to other teepads or fairways
*Prone to flooding
*The tee signs that haven't been updated are mostly gone
*I crossed some fairways getting to the next tee
Lots of throwing over walking paths. Not a big deal in the winter though.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was my favorite course on my Fort Wayne road trip. It was a lot of fun with several unique holes. While playing it, I couldn't help but think about how big tournaments are held here. There's just too many dangerous areas if you overthrow a basket by only TEN feet or miss your line by a few feet and fly over the next tee. I parked hole 16 on the mound. When I walked up to the basket, my thought was thankfully I parked it cause ten more feet I'd be sitting on 17's teepad!

I'd love to play here again. Just not during a big tournament with 80+ players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 150  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) Some elevation changes
3) Multiple water hazards
4) Highlight Holes: 6, 7, 14, 15, 16
5) Scenic in parts. Front 9 and 14-17
6) Another 18 hole course right beside it
Cons: 1) Only 1 set of tees
2) Signs are old. Some are unreadable
3) Baskets are prone to spit outs. The inner chains are too short.
4) Canadian geese sitting/interfering on the holes and pooping everywhere
5) Holes 10-13 are boring, but I don't necessarily hold it against the designer because the land isn't as nice in this area. Still a con though.
Other Thoughts: This is a good destination for disc golf if you're in the Fort Wayne area. W Swinney has some fun holes to shoot. Holes 6 and 7 are really cool. 6 is on a mound with water on the left and behind and 7 has the water right behind it and a scenic view of the river on the right. 7 is cool because you have to club down. The water is only 25' behind the basket.

Holes 10-13 are flat and boring in comparison. However, it picks back up with 14-17. Elevation changes come back and water is back in play. Hole 15 looked like a monster 400+ hole with the river on the left and trees throughout with a narrow fairway to shoot through, but I couldn't play it because a giant tree fell on the tee and there were numerous ponds that had formed all throughout the hole from the recent onslaught of rain there.

This is not a championship level course, but it's a fun course and it's worth at least 1 play to experience it. I might go back to play it when it dries out and also to hit up the East course which I didn't have time to play.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Beginners

1    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Kattman103
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Mixture of tight, open, long, and short.
- Fun course to play.
- Many hole in one opportunities.
- Many hazards, but losing a disc is unlikely.
Cons: - No trash cans.
- No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course that is good for beginners. Better than West Swinney in my opinion. Needs more updated signs. Beginners may want to skip the 6th hole, as the basket is on a very tight peninsula.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course across river from another course

1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 100  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is in my opinion the better of the two Swinney Park Courses. There is another course across the river.

19 Spiderweb baskets (including 1 red painted practice basket) that are extremely grippy. Minimal bounce outs.

Water hazards: 6-9 and 14-17 all have water hazards of some sort. 6 stands out the most: a peninsula shot where the basket is about 8 feet higher than the fairway. 14 & 16 cross a creek. 7-9 border a pond. 15 and 17 border a creek.

Elevation: With exception of holes 7, 10, 11, and 12 all holes have some sort of elevation change.

Concrete tees.

Carved signs on most holes. Could use a fresh coat of paint.

Variety. Trees, hills, water, and distances vary per hole. Just when I thought this course was easy, I met hole 6.

Signs are carved out of wood and have a map, distance, and hole number.

Course is two 9 hole loops. 9 and 18 both end near parking lot.
Cons: Some signs are missing and the ones that are still standing need replaced.

Only one tee per hole. Some holes definitely need an alternate tee pad either longer or shorter depending on the hole.

No trash cans nor benches.

No course map at start of course. It would really help new players.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It had several elements that courses where I am from (Indy) do not necessarily have (water, peninsula shot, hills).

Several trees look like they were recently cut down which may have made this course easier. Most of those trees were near baskets.

Trash cans, benches, freshly painted signs, and alternate tees would boost this course to a 4.

I'm not in Fort Wayne very often but I would like to play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice spiderweb baskets
-Interesting pin placements makes for some challenging putts.
-Good concrete teepads
-Some elevation and water to think about
Cons: -Needs new signage.Some signs missing, some broken.I hope they make new signs like the ones at East Swinney across the river.
-No trashcans at all on the course, although not too trasy when i played.
- Course will hold water after a heavy rain. when the river is high, this course will flood.
- A bit of a walk between 9 and 10 & 12 and 13.
- Teepads for #9,#13 and #18 are next to each other. Could be confusing to people new to the course.
Other Thoughts: The restrooms were closed for the season.
Hole 6 basket has been moved back to the peninsula between the ponds. It is now 394'.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

1    10/9/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice city park with a few rolling hills, scattered mature trees, and some wooded areas with brushy rough. There is enough rough on several holes to penalize a shot that goes off line, but not enough to really eat discs. There are some nice stands of evergreen trees that are used well to make some tough and creative pin placements. A few water hazards come into play to add a little risk/reward.

There is a good mix of hole lengths, from ace runs to longer open shots that most players will reach for a driver on. There are some different lines to hit here, some with room to get creative and some where you have to hit a tight line through the trees. The little bit of elevation in the park is used well to add some challenge and fun. The baskets are reasonably new and in great shape. The concrete tees are a good size and have a decent texture on them.
Cons: The course is pretty heavy on the RHBH hyzers, it could use a better mix and balance of hole shapes. The navigation is a little rough in spots, make sure to bring a map or a guide if you don't want to spend some extra time wandering around the course figuring out where to go next. There is a biking and walking path that runs through a lot of the course, so you have to wait on pedestrians and bikers on lots of holes if it's a nice day.
Other Thoughts: This is a course worth hitting up, especially with another course in the same park. Beginners might find the water hazards a little punitive, otherwise it's a pretty beginner friendly course for the most part. More experienced players will find a few nice holes and some creative pin placements, but it's not a really challenging course and it's a little lacking in variety to challenge better players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 More Risk Than Reward

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Mixilpidilstick
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: West Swinney is a challenging course with some good variety. Ranges vary from just over 200' clear out to 405'. Small rolling hills also add some modest difficulty to the park. The baskets appeared nearly brand new. Large trees provide adequate shade through much of the course. You will need to incorporate several types of throw to negotiate this course well.
Cons: The water hazards on this course are ridiculous. Many of the baskets are placed so close to water that you feel penalized for even trying to make good shots. I found myself playing it safe far too much to be enjoyable. While I only had one go in water, which I easily recovered, by the end of the course I felt like I should have just sacrificed a disc to the river simply to appease it.
Other Thoughts: I would not call this a well maintained course. While the baskets are new, that was about the only thing impressive about its appearance. Many of the signs were broken. There were no course maps, which I would have been completely lost had I not had an course experienced player with me. The grass needed cut, fallen limbs picked up, and there were many holes in the lawn.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 250  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: West Swinney has a lot to offer. There are a good amount of trees on the course, it has some nice elevation changes, there's OB mostly in the form of water, it has a great mix of distance and requires a number of different shots. Because of the elevation, water and variety of shots, you really need to hit you lines and place your shots well to score here.
Cons: It rained 2-3 days before I played here and some areas of the course were still swampy and hole 15's fairway was underwater.

The course has looping 9's which is nice if you parked here. I parked at East Swinney and had a hard time finding hole 10 as it's a long walk from hole 9.

Navigation was an issue on a few holes and I nearly missed hole 15.

A few of the holes are so gimmicky I feel I have to mention them. By that I mean there are basket placements that are trying to add difficulty to a hole, but instead they go beyond risk/reward and are now ridiculous and lucky. Hole 9 is a good example of this. It's a downhill hyzer (RHBH) shot that's 280ft. A pond is literally 6ft to the left of the basket so you can easily throw a good shot, land well inside the circle and be OB (I did not lose a disc here so I'm not bitter and trying to take it out on the course). Hole 16's basket is complete guarded by branches on the surrounding pine trees. There's no gap, just poke and hope. Hole 12 is also bordering on a poke and hope.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course I would play a lot if I lived in the area. Because of the amount of water I wouldn't recommend this course for beginners.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    3/13/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: HuntingtonHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: ^Well maintained
^Variety of challenging shots
^Layout has a good flow and uses the parks terrain to its advantage.
^Water is in play on at least 7 holes
^Nice teepads
Cons: ^During wet periods a couple holes will be soggy
^Park can get busy on nice days, and a few holes involve a walking/biking path that you need to watch pedestrians on.
^Not enough trash cans
Other Thoughts: I don't have alot of negative to say about this course as it is IMO the best course in my area. East Swinney is just across the river and makes for a great Double up day. DO NOT back into your parking spot.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.