Albia, IA 
Albia City Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 park course with woods

1    7/9/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 193  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-4-7 play through the woods with a mowed fairway
-Wasn't busy
-Wasn't too bad to navigate, only time we looked was for 3 which you had to walk up the hill and 9 was closer to the woods
-Drinking fountains
Cons: -Small tee pads
-No signs and tee pads had faded painted markings
-Have to throw next to the highway, but it isn't too much in play unless you shank it
-Brush/weeds thick in some areas
-Have to throw over park road a couple of times so watch for traffic
Other Thoughts: All in all it wasn't a bad course. I won't go out of my way to play it again but if you want something different with a couple of challenging holes, and you're in the area, go for it. Everywhere it said there was water it was dry or a think trickle of water in the creek.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Albia City Park

1    4/5/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: This is a 9 hole course that flows faily nicely.
* Concrete tee pads on all holes(small but there)
* Course flows in a nice circle
* End near start Start
* Good use of elavation
* diffrent variaty of shots needed
* bathrooms at start and finish
* Shelters and playgrounds for family members who are not playing.
Cons: * Only 9 holes could use more of park and make 18 holes.
* Concrete tee pads are very small
* No Tee sighns at tee pads
* no course map at begining ( noted on previus review that they said it was on the tennis court fence but i did not see one)
* Hard to find the next tee pad
* I can see if there is alot of rain that some of the holes would be unplayable
* Not very challanging course
* Course looks like it could be over grown easly in summer months
Other Thoughts: I played this course after work when we where in Albia. This course is a nice quick play if you know where to find the holes. It is not one of my favorite courses but will play when in Albia.

  Decent Small Town Course

5+    6/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: jreed
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Mature trees in a fairly established park.
Some elevation change up, and down.
3, 5, and 8 are the best of the nine.
Gives some locals a place to play, with decent variety of shots, short, long, open, tight, and a little water.
Not much traffic.
Moderate parking.
Very near to the city athletic complex, where you can find concessions about every night in the summer, or some open hucking area other times!
Cons: Small teepads! 3x6, if I recall.
Needs manicured throughout the summer, gets very overgrown, as mentioned. Play in the early spring before, or late fall after the trees and bushes get thick.
Not partucularly challenging with the exception of the ridiculous overgrown brush during the summer, and that is more annoying than challenging.
Abundant ivy on the wooded holes.
The traffic that is there is generally kids, some of which are prone to grabbing discs.
People tend to drag picnic tables into the best shade...number 9's fairway.
Other Thoughts: Discatcher baskets, not my personal favorite, but they all match anyway. All in all this is a track I still hit a few times a year for nostalgic purposes...before April and after September to avoid the uber-brush. If this is the closest course to you, by all means go play it, but it is not worth more than a 30 minute drive.

 Rain, Rain, Stay Away

1    6/25/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good balance of hole lengths and the par setting is not too bad. There is a map hanging on the Tennis Court fence by hole #1. There are cement tee pads on almost every hole. There is water, elevation, OB, woods, risk/reward, and open holes here. It will take a variety of shots to play this course well. Some of these holes are quite inventive actually. #5 is kind of a blind, downhill, no seeing the basket (because of the foliage over-growth) shot, however it was a fun hole to play! This place had some tough holes that required well-placed shots to make par on.
Cons: If it rains much, stay away. Some of this course is swampy & messy to get to the baskets and tees. Some of the holes are close to kids' playground areas. Some of the foliage needs to be trimmed back some so the holes can be played as they were designed. #5, if being played as shown on the map, has no cement tee pad. This course does have a little bit of everything, but it doe need to be better maintained. There is an extra tee pad on #1 that throws you off the trail, but even besides that, you will need a map to navigate this place. There were no tee signs. I did not see a bathroom here either.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was not that good as it was tough to get around in all the mud, but this comes with a major footnote. If they took the time needed to get this course cleaned up, updated, and in better playing shape, it could be well worth the trip. This place has some real potential as the layout was very interesting and some of the holes were quite inventive. Crossing my fingers for park department to clean this place up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.