Grand Island, NE 
Stolley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 385ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Trees

2-4    3/17/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: CGChase
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is relatively flat but has a lot of variation and some decent distances.
Concrete T's
Easy parking and restroom facilities.
Cons: Some of the markings have been broken (vandalized?)
Lots of trees.
Other Thoughts: Though there are some wide open shots, Trees are the characterization of this course. A relatively flat course it is heavily wooded with pine. Often the T is lined up with a row of pines with the basket at the end of the row. You Choose to play left or right of the row

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shaded and a challenge.

5+    9/30/2012   5/21/2013
Review By: Gardengrower
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A challenging course with lots of trees. Tees are well marked, baskets as well. The park is well maintained and has restrooms and a nice playground for the kids.
Cons: I think that the biggest con is that, for whatever reason, this course has some of the rudest people. The amount of cussing and unsportsman-like conduct is rather annoying. I believe we have only been once or twice that this did not occur. We have left early before as a result.
The terrain is mostly level, with some interesting angles at basket...number 7, I believe. Very nice course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun City Park, Big Trees

1    9/8/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads, two on all but one hole I believe. With the trees, the pads offered different looks at a hole. You could play 18 different holes essentially.
-Nice baskets
-Nice big trees make you throw certain lines. Many curve right, left, you could throw an overhand or two.
-Adequate parking along with a lot of other amenities in the park. This is the city park here. It felt safe and was very clean.
-Good hole variation. Some were reasonably long but nothing too long or short. A well placed shot could net you an ace but there wasn't any 100 ft straight shots.
-This course would be fun for anybody. Beginners might hit a few more trees but it would be good for their game to play this course and learn control.
-Tee signs had distance and hole # on them at least (see below)
-The flow was good. Had no trouble finding my way around on my first time at the course
Cons: -The tee signs were of the variety that was made with stickers that indicated trees, ob, tee, pin, etc and many of the elements on a hole were peeled off. Some of the signs were relatively useless. Especially on the occaision that the basket was hiding behind a tree.
-No elevation change. That could really spice up the variety. They used the land well, this was no fault of the designers.
-I could see this park being quite busy with both disc golfers and non disc golfers.. It has a lot of fun stuff crammed into one city park.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun here and wish that I had enough time to play a few times. I would have played the short tees my second time around. I did stop at each of the shorts and looked at the line and it was often quite different than the longs. It was a well cared for park. Like other reviewers, I was hoping for a back 9 or something. It was fun but over too fast. If you are cruisin I-80 I would recommend a stop here. It's a fun city park course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun gem

1    7/13/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun Course. Has a variety of technical shots around trees and tunnels. A few holes to air it out for distance. In a nice park setting which is usually maintained pretty well. Great course to stop by and play if you are in the area.
Cons: Due to the fact its in a public park, you have to watch out for pedestrians and little kids sometimes when you are playing, but the course is laid out in a way that minimizes potential hazard of this.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this. It would be nice if this was your local course because you could practice a wide variety of shots on a consistent basis.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park w/Lots of Trees

1    5/28/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 43.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate tee pads for beginners and league players.

A large map at the beginning of the course shows you where all of the holes are and the alternate tees for each hole.

Lots of big beautiful trees which are tall enough that their branches rarely come into play but they are dense enough in placement that you have to "thread the needle" on a few holes to get to the basket.

Easily accessable location within Grand Island on a main road.

Playground, picnic shelters, pool, bathrooms, and plenty of places to sit for a minute.
Cons: Only 9 holes! For such a beautiful DGC you would think they would have 18 holes or at least another DGC in town somewhere but at the time of this review there is only 1 in town.

When we went there was a TON of people in the park and people were setting up picnics and playing football or softball right were we were throwing across. It made for a few uncomfortable throws but I'm sure this was only because of the holiday weekend.

Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this DGC but found that it was very over crowded. I was disapointed that there was not a back 9 in another section of the park or another 9 hole DGC somewhere else in town. I think it would be a great place to play if your passing through town or live near the area but until they add more baskets or another DGC in town I wouldn't get off the interstate or go out of my way to play this. Good DGC with lots of shade for those hot sunny days.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: scottritta22
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a good mix of technical and open holes

well maintained

alternate tee's gives each hole a different look and the possibility of different routes

rarely crowded
Cons: little elevation changes

roads do come into play on some holes

Other Thoughts: Defiantly worth a stop if your in the area!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Drive Responsibly...I mean, Accurately

2-4    9/29/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice looking park and a well maintained course. There are lots of trees and just a little elevation changes in the last few holes. There was a creek to deal with on #7 behind the basket. #1, 4, & 5 are like a lumberjack's dream. Lot's of fun there! This course was an excellent challenge to make your drives accurate. There is a hole that makes you avoid the tennis courts and the fence. So, if you are RHBH, better throw forehand or get you anhyzer out. ;) The fun factor here was good enough to make sure I played this one twice. The tee signs were getting worn, but they were all there and the cement tee pads were nice and long. Bathrooms are located right before #2 tee and I did see an occasional trashcan. This is safe course and the only people on the course were golfers. The message board was informative and had a map with distances on it.
Cons: There are roads that could come into play as far as OB, but not much of a worry. Navigation wasn't too bad. The signs that were legible did tell you where the next tee would be located.
Other Thoughts: There was a beautiful flower garden with walking paths behind basket #1. It never comes into play, but it was something to see. This was a very nice 9-hole course all around. It seems like they may have been able to make 18 holes, but why make things too crowded.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A fairly challenging 9 holes here. A little water hazard on holes 7 and 8 to make things a little interesting.

Nice trees, plenty of shade.
Cons: Flat course, limited space in some areas.

Some conflicts of interest. There were a lot of cars parked on the grass and in the way when I played here.
Other Thoughts: Not too hard to find your way around. There's a large map at the beginning of the course, and red arrows on the pins will point you toward the next hole.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.