Lincoln, NE 
Scott Whitcomb Memorial Share
Uploaded By: bigchiz Hole #1 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short But Fun

2-4    2/2/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on most (all?) holes. There was snow covering the blues which were just boxes with no signs so I wasn't sure if all holes had them. Some of the holes it made a huge difference and was a totally different shot. Hole 2 includes a water hazzard on the blue tee.
-Nice course map at the start, take a peek at that.
-Probably won't lose your discs here. The woods aren't too dense and the shots are fairly short so you can watch your disc.
-Multiple pin positions on most holes.
-Signs by the red tees are pretty good. You may have to scout which location the basket is at.
-Good concrete pads for both reds and blues.
-Good variety of holes, some wooded, some open, some straight, some doglegs. A few longer holes thrown in. The second set of pads makes for a good 18.
-Looks like a decent discing community- signs for winter leagues, a superclass tourney, and an ice bowl were posted.
-Probably not busy, I assume more traffic goes to the 27 holer across town.
-It doesn't look like this part of the park gets much use. There is a shelter and playground behind the first tee but they shouldn't come into play. Decent parking lot. You can bring the kids, park seemed pretty safe.
-Good place for learning the game as it forces a few different shots without making them too hard. There are a variety of lanes on the wooded holes if you look for them.
-A few ace runs.
Cons: -Navigation was worse than expected for a fairly short, mostly park type course. The flow wasn't really there. Maybe it is better without 3" of snow?
-Basket 7 was straight up missing. There was a pole where I think it was supposed to be.
-Overall short course. Not overly challenging.
-Grafiti painted on two tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I had fun at this course but based on the other reviews, it may be better played in the winter. That keeps the trash hidden, vandals inside, and woods down. I thought it was rather pleasant and I enjoyed my rounds here (one from each tee). I would go back but if it was in the summer, I would be prepared to expect worse than my review. I am surprised that Lincoln cannot at least keep up the two disc golf courses that they have and I would usually expect a city of this size to have more than 2. I went to school in a town of 20K and they had 3! Lincoln is not a disc golf destination but if you are here I would recommend Roper over this course by a bit but I do think that one is overrated and this one is underrated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ok

2-4    4/18/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of difficult shots that are pretty hard and challenging.
Cons: Can easily lose a disc and the course is starting to get too over grown. It could really use a good mowing. Could use some longer holes right now there are only about 3 that can really get a good toss behind em.
Other Thoughts: Will play again but if your in lincoln Roper park is better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most of the holes on the course are wooded, providing a decent number of tight technical shots.
-Multiple tee positions to throw from for each hole
-Course is acceptibly maintained in the early part of the season, but becomes more unkempt as time goes on.
-Hole 2 from the alternate tee features a nice left turn over water to get to the basket.
-Water comes into play on 1-2 holes.
Cons: -The holes on this course are rather short, even when using the long tees.
-On holes #1(alternate tee), 2(both tees), and 9(both tees), the fairways cross walking paths where people are usually riding bikes through the park.
-Layout of course can be confusing for people who havent played here before.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a decent course to practice your midrange technique. The only opportunity to really let loose is from the alternate tee for hole 1. The course is only 9 holes, but playing through a second time from the alternate tees really adds a different approach to how you play the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/1/2009   3/17/2010
Review By: huskerfan74
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: plenty of trees to provide obsticles. Lots of shade. multiple tee pads.
Cons: in the summer the overgrowth and bugs are just horrible. Can take a long time just hunting for discs if your off just by a little bit. when they added the ponds in the park they took out hole 9 and did not replace it. people trash this course, there are broken bottles and trash everywhere. it gets very muddy after rain so avoid playing in or right after any significant rain.
Other Thoughts: it is a different place to play when Roper is in a tournament(if your not in that) or just tired of the same park. not a lot of choices in Lincoln so it is what it is

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/10/2009   3/5/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of good technical holes. A nice change of pace from the other course in town, Roper. Nice course to play on a windy day because of the timber. The mult. tee pads are awesome, although some get lost during the summer due to overgrowth. Great course to play in the late fall/winter/spring seasons. Tee signs are awesome.
Cons: Better be wearing Jeans! Plan on lots of bugs and itching. During the summer this course toes the line between being out of control and overly weedy. Keep an eye on your disc, it's easy to loose them out here. Lot of trash all over the place even though there are trash cans on the course. If I remember right basket 7 was missing and 9 was gone.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, but if I had to choose I'd to go Roper instead. Tierra has a lot of potential and the LFDC is doing their best to keep it maintained, but it just isn't there now. Hopefully the re-design will give it some life!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.