Lincoln, NE 
Scott Whitcomb Memorial Share
Uploaded By: bigchiz Hole #1 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good accuracy test

1    4/17/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers multiple tees that will provide you with a different look from different positions. Also there are 2 sets of pins placements to mix it up a bit.
The signage is adequate and the pads are plenty long.
The flow is logical(at least from the red tees in which I played). The course and grounds were well maintained upon my visit.
There are low ceiling shots, dog leg L/R shots, and a bit of water threat on 1 and 7 in particular.
This course offers you a couple of open holes like 1 and 9 and then several wooded holes on the interior of the course.
There are some good lines to be hit here in order to score well.
There are other amenities in the park too.
Cons: The rough can get rough and disc loss could be possible so keep an eye on where you land. This would be especially true during the summer months when the vegetation is in full growth.
This course can get crowded at times so if you think you are going to play speed golf here you might want to plan accordingly.
Could use some trash cans, however upon my visit there were trashbags hanging from the red tee markers.
Crossing the creek on hole 7 to retrieve an arrant shot is treacherous at best. Maybe a footbridge and some clearing on the east side of the creek could be done to help with this problem?
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid 9 holer that should challenge but not frustrate players. Its not a grip and rip park style course, and thats a good thing. You will have to have a decent and accurate short game at this course. This course is a good compliment to Max Roper across town.
If you have the time while you are in Lincoln and want to get warmed up before you hit Max Roper then hit this course up. I think you will be surprised by this little 9 holer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    12/10/2014   12/10/2014
Review By: huskerfan
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: Nice course, I was surprised as its not a typical 'park' course. I liked this better then Roper, however it was Nov. without leaves, challenging and fun, two rounds go quick.

Cons: Cons: It does need some 'next' fairway arrows, as its a little confusing for a first time thru player.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: Nice job guys!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun at the Ice Bowl 2012

2-4    1/8/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Was challenging for this beginner. Course forces you to throw all the different shots. Water was shallow.
Cons: Had a little trouble finding the next tee box on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I will definitively come back and play this again. A HUGE thanks to the local group NEBdisk for putting the fund-raiser/tournament together.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ice Bowl 2012

2-4    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 45.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course forces you to make a lot of risk versus reward choices. A lot of times you see a window to the hole but you know your chances are slim of success if to try to throw it in that window so it tests your decision making ability. I really enjoyed getting to play this course the day before the Ice Bowl 2012 and today with other more experienced players. Without a guide you can find your way around but it can be confusing the first time. I really enjoyed holes 3 - 8 because they challenge you to throw through tight windows at times.
Cons: The course has some extra tee pads currently that are left over from previous holes or tee pad positions that can be confusing to first time players and although the maps do a good job of displaying the layout they do not explain the purpose of the old tees so players who are new to the course don't get confused.
Other Thoughts: Good course that I would recommend to anyone in the area to expose areas of their short to midrange game that are lacking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 played in the summer

1    6/24/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: kmelton
Played: 115  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of shade in the summer for most of the course.
Cons: I played in the summer so the pictures on this site are barely recognizable! It was so overgrown we we searching for our discs almost every hole. We also had a hard time finding the layout due to overgrowth. Broken glass all over the 3rd basket area. Hole 9 wasn't even up--construction I think. The upkeep was non-existant
Other Thoughts: Mostly a technical course with a few open shots on 1,2, and 9--when it is up.
Play in the spring or fall.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Novice opinion

1    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: gfellerjm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun and challenging course. Most of the holes play through the trees which make it interesting. There are a couple open hole to give you a much needed break from the trees (2 and 9). The signs are awesome. They have a drawing of the hole, distances from each tee to each pin, and tell you where the next tee is, see photos. Speaking of tees the cement ones for the shorts and longs were very good and kept my shoes cleaner, see cons. The park its self is nice and the course only takes up a little protion of it so for the most part you don't have to worry about hitting bystanders.
Cons: The paths/fairways in the wood are mainly dirt, which is understandable but we played in a mist so they were mostly mud. Also when we played there was quite a bit of trash around, which is silly because lots tee signs had trash bags on them.
Other Thoughts: The map on here has one slight mistake. They've changed hole 9 on the map to hole 1 and everything else was moved up acourdingly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.