Lincoln, NE 
Scott Whitcomb Memorial Share
Uploaded By: gfellerjm Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 153ft.   3 / 156ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great shape!

5+    9/24/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: jevans03
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful conditions as of late! mowed fairways and holes 3-8 have been cleared out. Great time to try out this course. Im really glad i gave it another chance and encourage everyone else to do so
Cons: holes 1 and 2 are difficult because of the very tall grass/swamp areas nearby. lots of discs to be lost there if youre not careful. this is something the parks dept controls

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2013 Nature Nurture Project

5+    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: bigchiz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In 2013 the club renovated the course. All holes have tee signs and baskets, fairways have been trimmed back and are well defined.
Cons: Some holes are short and require precision for a drop in 2.
Other Thoughts: Holes 6 & 7 look like throw and hope, requires imagination to find the best route.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short But Fun

2-4    2/2/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 336  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on most (all?) holes. There was snow covering the blues which were just boxes with no signs so I wasn't sure if all holes had them. Some of the holes it made a huge difference and was a totally different shot. Hole 2 includes a water hazzard on the blue tee.
-Nice course map at the start, take a peek at that.
-Probably won't lose your discs here. The woods aren't too dense and the shots are fairly short so you can watch your disc.
-Multiple pin positions on most holes.
-Signs by the red tees are pretty good. You may have to scout which location the basket is at.
-Good concrete pads for both reds and blues.
-Good variety of holes, some wooded, some open, some straight, some doglegs. A few longer holes thrown in. The second set of pads makes for a good 18.
-Looks like a decent discing community- signs for winter leagues, a superclass tourney, and an ice bowl were posted.
-Probably not busy, I assume more traffic goes to the 27 holer across town.
-It doesn't look like this part of the park gets much use. There is a shelter and playground behind the first tee but they shouldn't come into play. Decent parking lot. You can bring the kids, park seemed pretty safe.
-Good place for learning the game as it forces a few different shots without making them too hard. There are a variety of lanes on the wooded holes if you look for them.
-A few ace runs.
Cons: -Navigation was worse than expected for a fairly short, mostly park type course. The flow wasn't really there. Maybe it is better without 3" of snow?
-Basket 7 was straight up missing. There was a pole where I think it was supposed to be.
-Overall short course. Not overly challenging.
-Grafiti painted on two tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I had fun at this course but based on the other reviews, it may be better played in the winter. That keeps the trash hidden, vandals inside, and woods down. I thought it was rather pleasant and I enjoyed my rounds here (one from each tee). I would go back but if it was in the summer, I would be prepared to expect worse than my review. I am surprised that Lincoln cannot at least keep up the two disc golf courses that they have and I would usually expect a city of this size to have more than 2. I went to school in a town of 20K and they had 3! Lincoln is not a disc golf destination but if you are here I would recommend Roper over this course by a bit but I do think that one is overrated and this one is underrated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tierra ,just an opinion.

1    11/5/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: T-Manz420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for recreation. The layout is fair,with a couple of perm. pads &1 natural pad per hole. There are some holes in the woods that challenge your accuracy.
Cons: Very rough. I am sure those that try to keep this course up do their best,but it is overgrown, baskets & signs missing,(Vandals) Just needs work.
Other Thoughts: If you want to go to Lincoln for D.G., go to Waverly or Max, then try Mahoney state park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid Until Renovation

2-4    6/11/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There were not many pros about this course. Holes 1 and 9 are actually very unique open shots, especially 9 which starts as a forest tee shot and ends up in an open field. The course is also located in a fairly central location in Lincoln making access to it fairly easy.
Cons: Too many to list all of them, but a few are that the wooded area of the course has a high concentration of vandalism of the tee signs and the pins. Three of the pins in the woods were actually missing when we went to play. With the course hardly maintained the grass in the open areas gets very long making discs hard to find, and the obvious overgrowth in the woods makes some shots more than challenging and bordering on absurd.
Other Thoughts: This course was a pretty big mistake in planning due to the vandalism in the wooded parts. If this course was better designed throughout the open area and maybe 1 or 2 wooded area holes it would actually be quite fun. Finding the alternate tee pads is frustrating and there is a lack of flow throughout the entire course. I would avoid this and spend the extra 10-15 minutes to drive out to Roper.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ok

2-4    4/18/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of difficult shots that are pretty hard and challenging.
Cons: Can easily lose a disc and the course is starting to get too over grown. It could really use a good mowing. Could use some longer holes right now there are only about 3 that can really get a good toss behind em.
Other Thoughts: Will play again but if your in lincoln Roper park is better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun at the Ice Bowl 2012

2-4    1/8/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Was challenging for this beginner. Course forces you to throw all the different shots. Water was shallow.
Cons: Had a little trouble finding the next tee box on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I will definitively come back and play this again. A HUGE thanks to the local group NEBdisk for putting the fund-raiser/tournament together.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ice Bowl 2012

2-4    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 43.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course forces you to make a lot of risk versus reward choices. A lot of times you see a window to the hole but you know your chances are slim of success if to try to throw it in that window so it tests your decision making ability. I really enjoyed getting to play this course the day before the Ice Bowl 2012 and today with other more experienced players. Without a guide you can find your way around but it can be confusing the first time. I really enjoyed holes 3 - 8 because they challenge you to throw through tight windows at times.
Cons: The course has some extra tee pads currently that are left over from previous holes or tee pad positions that can be confusing to first time players and although the maps do a good job of displaying the layout they do not explain the purpose of the old tees so players who are new to the course don't get confused.
Other Thoughts: Good course that I would recommend to anyone in the area to expose areas of their short to midrange game that are lacking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New layout is more logical. Still needs some cleanup work.

5+    11/22/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent rec to intermediate course with three tee boxes on every hole. Some cool, albeit short wooded holes. Despite this being a mixed use park, most of the course is out of the way of other activities. Fun for winter time play when there's no foliage and lines open up. Good tee signs with all tee-pin distances located at the red tees. Wooded shots despite their short length in most cases, require some precision.
Cons: Some pretty dull under 200' pitch and putt holes that just didn't excite me. Not terribly well maintained in the woods as there are a lot of dead limbs around. Gets overgrown in the summer. White (middle) tees can be hard to find. Some sign and nickel vandalism. Hole 9 tee sign is missing.
Other Thoughts: Tierra has always had a reputation as a niche course compared to the 27 hole Roper Park course across town. This course has moved slightly over time. The layout here used to be bewildering. You had to walk all the way to the back of the park to get to Tee #1. Now its conveniently located up by the restroom which despite the simple, short hole, improves the flow. Some added trees in the open section to tighten things up would improve things, as would some cleanup in the woods. Not the best in town, but with all the different tees, you can mix it up for variety.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very poor

1    7/24/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mfrench
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of activity at park: skate park, playground, pavilion.
Cons: Poorly maintained, the holes are surrounded by waist high weeds while the grass is cut around the walkways. One long tee had a tree planted recently right in front of it. Hole nine is an open hole of maybe 150-180 ft, no features.
Other Thoughts: Not worth playing until it gets maintained.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.