Lincoln, NE 
Scott Whitcomb Memorial Share
Uploaded By: gfellerjm Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 249ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most of the holes on the course are wooded, providing a decent number of tight technical shots.
-Multiple tee positions to throw from for each hole
-Course is acceptibly maintained in the early part of the season, but becomes more unkempt as time goes on.
-Hole 2 from the alternate tee features a nice left turn over water to get to the basket.
-Water comes into play on 1-2 holes.
Cons: -The holes on this course are rather short, even when using the long tees.
-On holes #1(alternate tee), 2(both tees), and 9(both tees), the fairways cross walking paths where people are usually riding bikes through the park.
-Layout of course can be confusing for people who havent played here before.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a decent course to practice your midrange technique. The only opportunity to really let loose is from the alternate tee for hole 1. The course is only 9 holes, but playing through a second time from the alternate tees really adds a different approach to how you play the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Neglected

1    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: cbernadt
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has the potential to be a solid, short, wooded course that would make a nice alternative to the larger more open course in Lincoln.
Cons: The wooded holes are severely overgrown with weeds making it difficult to locate discs even on good throws (there is really no "fairway" left). Two of the nine baskets are missing making it hardly worthwhile to make a trip to this course.
Other Thoughts: I find it amazing that a community the size of Lincoln cannot maintain two disc golf courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/1/2009   3/17/2010
Review By: huskerfan74
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: plenty of trees to provide obsticles. Lots of shade. multiple tee pads.
Cons: in the summer the overgrowth and bugs are just horrible. Can take a long time just hunting for discs if your off just by a little bit. when they added the ponds in the park they took out hole 9 and did not replace it. people trash this course, there are broken bottles and trash everywhere. it gets very muddy after rain so avoid playing in or right after any significant rain.
Other Thoughts: it is a different place to play when Roper is in a tournament(if your not in that) or just tired of the same park. not a lot of choices in Lincoln so it is what it is

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/10/2009   3/5/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of good technical holes. A nice change of pace from the other course in town, Roper. Nice course to play on a windy day because of the timber. The mult. tee pads are awesome, although some get lost during the summer due to overgrowth. Great course to play in the late fall/winter/spring seasons. Tee signs are awesome.
Cons: Better be wearing Jeans! Plan on lots of bugs and itching. During the summer this course toes the line between being out of control and overly weedy. Keep an eye on your disc, it's easy to loose them out here. Lot of trash all over the place even though there are trash cans on the course. If I remember right basket 7 was missing and 9 was gone.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, but if I had to choose I'd to go Roper instead. Tierra has a lot of potential and the LFDC is doing their best to keep it maintained, but it just isn't there now. Hopefully the re-design will give it some life!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disgrace to Club

1    7/17/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: jay@just-disc-golf
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes where challenging
Cons: Walked around for a while looking for one's basket...was over grown, was waiting for bums to jump out of woods, tons of garbage. Hole 9 missing?
Other Thoughts: We we cruising through from Ohio to Utah and it was a waste of petrol to visit this park. was a eye sore

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 played in the summer

1    6/24/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: kmelton
Played: 103  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of shade in the summer for most of the course.
Cons: I played in the summer so the pictures on this site are barely recognizable! It was so overgrown we we searching for our discs almost every hole. We also had a hard time finding the layout due to overgrowth. Broken glass all over the 3rd basket area. Hole 9 wasn't even up--construction I think. The upkeep was non-existant
Other Thoughts: Mostly a technical course with a few open shots on 1,2, and 9--when it is up.
Play in the spring or fall.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Novice opinion

1    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: gfellerjm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun and challenging course. Most of the holes play through the trees which make it interesting. There are a couple open hole to give you a much needed break from the trees (2 and 9). The signs are awesome. They have a drawing of the hole, distances from each tee to each pin, and tell you where the next tee is, see photos. Speaking of tees the cement ones for the shorts and longs were very good and kept my shoes cleaner, see cons. The park its self is nice and the course only takes up a little protion of it so for the most part you don't have to worry about hitting bystanders.
Cons: The paths/fairways in the wood are mainly dirt, which is understandable but we played in a mist so they were mostly mud. Also when we played there was quite a bit of trash around, which is silly because lots tee signs had trash bags on them.
Other Thoughts: The map on here has one slight mistake. They've changed hole 9 on the map to hole 1 and everything else was moved up acourdingly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No Big Bad Wolf

1    10/1/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fantastic through the woods mini adventure! For only being 9 holes, I have to say this is a top-notch setup. The baskets were great and it had cement tee pads on the long and short tees. The mids are grass tees. The fairways through the woods were fair and yet still a challenge. I did not play the longs as I was short on time, but I did look at them. That is a challenge! Wow, would this be a fun course to have in your backyard. All the signs were in great shape, although #9 needs some distance adjusted. I think they moved that hole up to protect people for throwing long with walkers. Bathrooms & trashcans were both present and accounted for. Fun factor in a word: YES!
Cons: The long tee on #2 is ill advised unless you can clear the hay field of long swirls of grass. You will lose a disc easily in that. Outside of that, my only complaint is it too short, as in the number of holes. The first tee was tough to find. Walk all the way out toward the woods and along the edge of the forest near the middle is the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: The designer did an awesome job! What a great way to remember someone; simply put up a memorial disc golf course. I really enjoyed the trek through the woods. I did not see Grandma or the Big Bad Wolf, and no I was not wearing red. This is a proud little course for Lincoln. I would not miss playing this bad boy if you are ever nearby.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.