Layout Extinct

Metairie, LA 
Lafreniere Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #7 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 26 holes and two sets of tees!

5+    5/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: battsypants
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The designers of this course did a good job making every hole interesting and making the best out of the space they have. There are 26 holes and multiple tee options on most holes, so you can get multiple looks at the course.
Cons: If you're a first timer here, the layout may seem confusing. Once you play it a few times you'll see it makes complete sense. On the weekends there are soccers games, picnics, and others who are totally unaware of what those silly chain baskets are to contend with. This makes it difficult to play the entire course during busy times.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of potential. I'd love to see some work put into adding signs with yardage markers at each hole as well an overhead view of the hole. This would help clear up any confusion as to were the baskets are and where the next tee box is.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SO MUCH POTENTIAL!

1    3/26/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: JTacoma03
Played: 102  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: In a park which doesn't have a ton of variation in terrain, the layout of the holes gets pretty creative. The park space is utilized well, and the course stays interesting and fun once you make it to the next tee (see cons).
Cons: 1- This course is one of the worst in terms of navigation. Here's some help for other first timers so they don't waste the time that I did.

Hole #9 - cross the street and parking lot from 8. Go straight past the display board to the tee sign directly behind it. #9 is blind and plays to the left behind the rock waterfall.

Hole #10 - walk on the concrete path bordering the "lagoon" - around basket #23 - the path runs into #10 tee. It looks like you could play to 2 possible baskets, one over the lagoon and one to the right.

Hole#11 - the tee is where the "over the lagoon" basket for 10 is. So if you play to the other basket you'll be by Basket #11. Walk to the other side of the huge sand pile and play back towards where you just walked from.

Hole #13 - cross the divided street, Tee is between the soccer field and the street.

Hole #16 - cross the divided street again near the entrance to the park. You'll play back towards where 12 is.

Hole #18 - tee is on the hill, "top of the world" style hole

Hole #24 - the basket is on the top of the largest hill near the parking lot, hard to see and the tees look like they're facing a different basket.

2- Baskets: the actual basket area is not big enough, so expect bounce outs. The baskets are not uniform either - # of chains differs, basket size and depth also differ.

3- Basket labeling - normally I don't count this as a huge problem unless in a situation like this course has, where multiple baskets are visible and potentially playable from a single tee.

4- Tee signage: the only signs are numbers to label the teepads, which adds to the confusion of not having baskets labeled. distances might be nice, but I don't count off for that personally.

5- directions to the course: There's no way tell where the course starts, since there are 3 or 4 parking lots which border the course.

Directions: When you enter the park from Veterans Blvd. take first left past gates. Follow around until you see baskets on your right AND left, pull into that parking lot. If you pass the playground and park office you've gone too far.
Other Thoughts: This course has a ton of potential. I really debated between a 2.5 and a 3 rating. If the course could get new baskets, some tee markers/signs, and some navigation signs it'd boost up to a 3.5 or 4 without even touching the layout. I would love to see this course shown a little bit of love and make it really a gem in Louisiana.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly open classic feel course

1    12/30/2009   1/4/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Yellow Tee signs only have a # on them, but that is very helpful in finding your next hole. It is better than nothing and the brightness of the yellow is helpful to watch out for.

2) There is a sign along the walking path around hole #6 warning the walkers about this being a frisbee golf course. That is not something you see, it is normally up to us to watch for runners, it is nice to be both peoples jobs. However we know where the runner is going because they are usually on a path, and we know how our "frisbees" fly and they do not so it still falls on us to make sure the runners are safely out of play before throwing. Regardless a warning sign like that can only help the acceptance of our sport to multiuse parks.

3) Turf in the park is in excellent shape. It isn't too worn down, and seems to be pretty helpful.

4) Baskets are homemade or older versions, they catch just fine for the most part and they have the large yellow # plate on top which is also very helpful in finding your appropriate basket to throw at.

5) This course has a fair amount of variety on tems of distance of holes, basket locations in relation to trees and other obstacles and even water on a couple holes. The variety was as good as it could be on this property because there are no tight wooded areas, and there really is not much elevation change, but what "mounds" they did have were used for tees and baskets. Notice my use of the word "mounds" those are simply mounds to me because they were definitely manmade, a hill is only a hill if it is natural in my opinion.

6) Water is used on a couple holes. It is nice because the lack of deep woods and lack of major elevation keep this course from having the ultimate of variety. The water usage is not overly difficult because you have options, on #23 you can lay up short and not risk one overshooting the basket into the water, on #9 you can stay wide right to avoid the water and boulder waterfall formation, and on #10 you can stay right again and just leave yourself an easy layup and putt for par rather than risk going right at the basket.

7) Beginner friendly because the park is mostly open. There are no tight wooded holes and there are no forced water carries, plus the park in general is fairly wide open to where errant shots will not punish much more than simply adding more distance.

8) Course is mostly isolated from other activities in the park. The path is mostly out of play. The soccer fields look to be far enough away from 13, 14, 15. The wide open field along hole #12 could be a bad spot also as it crosses a large wide field where general use is certainly going to be popular with pickup soccer, football, etc.

9) Garbage baskets are scattered throughout the park. It was wierd in that they were not near tees or baskets just plainly in open areas, between holes, and in general just in the turf not associated with any other activity or location, but nonetheless the garbage cans were visible, The course was very clean so I am sure the park maintenance is high.

10) Course was very well maintained, turf was mowed and the trees seemed to be in ood overall condition.

11) Course has a nice vaiety in hole lenghts from 200's to 300's and a few 400's
Cons: 1) Some of the number plates are unnumbered creating some serious confusion. There are a lot of tees and baskets in a small area and I got more lost here than on any course I have ever played.

2) Christmas in the park was going on when I was there on December 30th so I went at a bad time because that contributed to my confusion on 13, 14, 15, and 16. I couldnt see the baskets and wasnt sure where the tees were in the end.

3) Turf tees are wore out to dirt in many locations. They could use some aeration and seeding and would probably be ok again, because the soils are nice and sandy and they will handle some rejuvenation while the tee was moved 10-15' one way or the other.

4) Hole #12 is basically a throwaway hole it is only used to get you from one side of a field to the next to make sure you end closer to the next hole.

5) Layout was massively confusing for me. Fairways were generally defined but I could not find #9 basket initially, then from 9 basket I wouldnt find 10 tee, I walked the other way and got so turned around because I had not seen 10 tee just past #23 basket. Had I found #10 I would have been ok for the most part, but finding 13, 14, 15, would have been nearly impossible with the Christmas in the park decorations lining the road. The # plates were also a contributing factor to my confusion. It doesnt help that this course is set in multiple sections of the park, 1-8 on the outside corner of the park, then cross the road and play 3/4 of the way around a large open field, then cross the street again (about a 300' walk away and not visible from the 12th basket to play 13, 14, and 15, cross back to the other side and play 16-20 in a small area and work back to the corner where 9 and 10 are. This creates some confusion well at least it did for me.

6) Course lacks the ultimate variety on the course in that there are no densely wooded holes. i think those are virtually necessary for a top notch course. This course is more grip and rip than anything, but the features they used well were the water, the spotty trees, and the mounding on the course.

7) Course does not offer enough shot diversity. You can just grip and rip as far as you can on virtually every hole (unless it is easily reachable). The lack of trees allows for you to pick whatever line you want and take it. Some more trees and other obstacles would have forced you into more shot types and shapes.

8) The only maintenance issues I found were a few of the trees near tees were almost unfairly unpruned. One had some really low branches and was virtually in front of the tee. There also was another tree with what is called suckers. A bunch of little chutes had shot up from th ebase of the tree. Suckers are not a healthy growth on a tree they are simply a tree trying to send up more vertical trunks and they should be removed when noticed, this had obviously been a few years since they had been pruned off.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was an above average course. It was challenging in some ways but lacking in others. It has some good qualities though like the water, the use of the mounding, and having those classic open shots with spotty trees. These things work well together to offer a course that is still fun to play but just doesnt challenge you enough on much else but its length. If I lived in the area I would be happy to have a course since the other closest courses are about 30 minutes away. What a horrible dead zone . . . it is akin to AT&T . . . as Milwaukee is Verizon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: karottop420
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very open but still chalanging. pretty easy to navigate. glad about the am tee that have gotten put in
Cons: to many people on course on weekends, as the course is in one of the few parks in the New Orleans area. but during the week it's better

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/15/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: NOLASem
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its fairly open allowing for those with distance to use it. There are some holes where trees comes into play. The new set-up holes now challenges the recreational player, like myself, to use new shots. It's an enjoyable course.
Cons: There are too many people. South Louisianians are not very aware of the game of disc golf so walking in a park with guys throwing frisbees at something is new for most. Many, with ignorant kindness, will pick up your disc. Others walk right past where you plan to throw without any knowledge of what you are doing. Hole 13's pro tee is right next to a soccer field. Without good control, you could possibly hit a soccer mom.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I learned how to play the game. I'm, then, naturally biased. Nonetheless, it is an enjoyable course with a few tiny hiccups.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  GOOD

5+    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: PMurrdah
Played: 84  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some great hole, nice for those of us with big arms, great use of the land we have. New AM tees make the course more funto play, especially with some doubles
Cons: plenty of OB,people get in the way at times but its usually not that big of a deal the dont seem to mind moving.. most of the time

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Makes me not want to play

5+    5/18/2008   10/25/2008
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a course, some good difficult holes, new layout makes it slightly more challenging
Cons: The PEOPLE! (I haven't finished a full round since I moved here two years ago), the bugs, some holes are just absurdly long, 500+ ft of nothing but open field is pointless, that's when you can play it because people are playing soccer in the open field or kids are trying to play on the tee because it's the only hill in south LA.
*UPDATE* BTW if you throw a disc in the water expect to get a call at 2 am from some stoners who dredged the water for your disc and want you to provide pot to them to get your disc back. 2 years after throwing my first Wraith away I got woken up to find out they found it and had to tell them I didn't want it back because I wouldn't "pack the bowl".
Other Thoughts: Why would you have 24 holes if you can't even play 18 of them because it crosses multiple soccer fields and picnic areas. The beginning of the course is promising but after the 8th hole it becomes the worst course I've ever played. I have dropped off from 3+ rounds a week when I lived in MD to once a month if I'm lucky because I hate playing the only course within an hour of me. And when ever I run into the guys who got it up and running they always try to make it sound like it's so wonderful and on par with any other course, they need to stop dreaming and step back into reality this is just a poor course

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Only course in New Orleans area

5+    7/4/2010   3/6/2008
Review By: MikeK
Played: 194  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the available land. Expanded to 24 holes in 2008. Alternate pin placements on holes 2,3,4,9,10,20 add to the fun. While mostly open, the course requires players to use several shot types to excel.
Cons: Park is crowded and best avoided on weekends after about noon. More trees would be nice. Bathrooms close to only a couple holes---6 and 16.
Other Thoughts: Usually windy. Drains well except for hole 22.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

6/25/2007   6/25/2007
Review By: jtfurr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course with 21 holes. Even though this course is located in south Louisiana, there are some holes where elevation changes come into play. Located near a lake with water hazards on several holes.

There have been trees planted on parts of the course that will make it even better in coming years.
Cons: The heat, insects, and sometimes joggers, soccer players, etc. can make playing difficult.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very good course and one of the better ones I've played in south Louisiana and Mississippi.

Enjoyable for both beginners and advanced players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.