Washington, IL
Washington Park Share
Uploaded By: sthomas128 Hole #13 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful fun course for all but the hardcore

5+    8/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: PeoriaRa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Fun grip it and rip it course 2. Beautifully maintained in a nice park with plenty of parking. 3.No ravines, sticker bushes or poison ivy to be found. 4. Excellent course for beginners and kids 5. No pathfinding difficulties - each tee is visible from the previous basket. 6. Fun accessible course who play disc golf as a game, not as an extreme sport.
Cons: If you prefer to play in dense woods or climb around in ravines, go to Eureka or Morton instead.
Other Thoughts: It seems like nearly all of the reviews on this site are written by hardcore, young players who like extreme sports. If you just like a nice day out, throwing the disc and making some pars or maybe birdies, without getting covered in mud or stickers, this is the course for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Exceeded Expectations

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The friend that took me to Washington Park DGC described it as being very open, and therefore I thought that I was in store for a boring round, but I quickly realized that this course would offer a lot of fun shots when I got to the first tee and saw a nice big drive with some interesting obstacles making me think about my throw! Enjoyable features of the course:

*Good variety of distances, with two sets of tees (though the shorter tees seemed to be the only concrete ones)

*Every hole had at least a moderate amount of challenging obstacles

*Very large, nice park

*Probably will not lose a disc at this course
Cons: This course isn't a championship caliber course because

*The pro tees aren't concrete!

*The holes are easy enought that an experienced dg-er can easily go into a round expecting to get a few deuces (from the concrete tees), which kind of made me feel less happy about getting them

*Signage was not perfect... no indication of the fairway or picture of the hole, and some of them seemed slightly inaccurate

Other Thoughts: In all, I really enjoyed this course. It was pleasant disc golf where I could let loose a couple drives and try some interesting lines. It was exciting to have a few ace runs, but also exciting to have a few holes where a three was not easy. In all, a very fun round!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If your in the area

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: Stoney311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: -park is nice, fairways were mowed. -had newer Disc Catchers installed, I prefer Mach 3 but to some this would be a pro. -Nice concrete tee-pads.
Cons: -Too open, most holes only required a hyzer to get into deuce range, made for a boring round. -because of the lack of trees it was very windy. -no water, and only a porta pottie at the parking lot. -Signage not very informative other than hole # and feet to basket, minor con, but con non the less.
Other Thoughts: -If a beginner and in Peoria area this course would be a nice option. If your experienced player peoria has a bunch of other courses, Mcnaughton (a.k.a. McNasty), Icc, Eureka, Bradley, that would be more fun and challenging to you.

 A good warm up

1    6/20/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long holes
Very well kept park
Beginner friendly
A good ace run par
Cons: Minimal trees
People in the way, one kid took my disc
Easy repetitive holes
Other Thoughts: My buddies and I use this course to start our long days of discing
A neat store in town, right across the taco bell on the main drag buys and sells used discs

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open

1    8/22/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through an open grassy park with scattered mature trees. There are some rolling hills, and they add some interest and variety to the course, and come into play on most of the holes. The design tries to incorporate the available trees as much as possible to force different lines and keep it from being totally wide open. There is nice variety of distances from ace run holes to a couple longer shots where you'll pull out a distance driver. There are good concrete tee pads, and the baskets are in nice shape.
Cons: The course is too open to offer much of a challenge, most holes only have one or two trees in play to avoid and that gets pretty repetitive after a while. As a RHBH thrower, I was able to throw a hyzer on nearly all the holes, and it looked like a hyzer route for lefties was just as available on most. The walking path comes into play on a couple holes, though the course avoids it for the most part, just a couple spots where you need to watch out for pedestrians. Navigation is a little difficult in a couple spots, there's some backtracking after some holes. The tee signs are pretty useless, they have only distance and that was often wrong. The long tees are natural and not very easy to find.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a beginner friendly course. Only a few holes have much length, and there isn't much chance of getting into any kind of trouble with an errant drive. There are enough trees that a beginner will be encouraged to try some different shots, but not enough that it will get frustrating. More experienced players won't find much challenge here. With most holes fairly open and a reachable distance, there are lots of easy birdies out here. It's not a bad place to get a quick round in, but don't go out of your way for this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Washington

5+    9/26/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Washington Park is a very well kept neighborhood Park. It's pretty quiet and peaceful. The grass is mowed nicely and this park is scattered with large mature trees. There are some minor rolling hills in a few places.

Nice cement tee pads.

The course flows nicely and it's easy to navigate.

Long and short tees. There is a nice variety on open shots on this course.

Very good beginner course.
Cons: Pretty wide open with lack of obstacles.

The long tee pads are natural and can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: If you play Washington make sure you make the drive to Eureka to play.

I would not drive to far out of the way to play this course.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: sobkwk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A well maintained park that is fun to play, especially if you are a beginner.
Cons: Not many obstacles to avoid.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a good challenge I would consider another course. It's an easy course compared to some of the others in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty city park

1    8/7/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This was a really pretty park, nicely maintained with a small smattering of trees thrown in to make you think about it.
-Easy to follow design, navigation only a probelem in 1 or 2 places (where you have to cross the walking path.)
-Some nice challenging holes (#1(tree on left and pines on right make it a tough straight shot or a huge annie, 7(I think?), 17 only real multishot hole)
-Some decent slight elevation changes across the walking path.
Nice concrete pads
Cons: -Signs were insufficient (6x6 posts with hole # and yardage carved in, they didn't depict the hole and most of the yardages were off.
-Except for a few holes, no real challenging holes: most were under 280 and had no real obstacles
-Multiuse park (watch out for pedestrians and bikers on paved paths)
-No alt pin locations, could be made into a much more difficult park.
-Only a crappy stinky portajohn for facilities, no water, no garbage cans on course (but a few on the walking path), but a nice parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Really a fun little course, good for a casual beer round with some buddies. Very nice for beginners but does offer some challenges for more experienced players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course for Beginners

1    8/7/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: Picker3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I agree with the other reviews. This is a nice course (not to mention Park) that is very well maintained. The baskets and tees are in great condition. I can see where an experienced player might not feel challenged by this course, but I am the "newbie" they are referring to. As such, I can't think of a better course to learn on. I found it both challenging, yet forgiving.
Cons: I don't have any Cons to add that haven't already been covered. And yes, hole 16 was soft when I went through also!
Other Thoughts: I printed off a map from this site as well as from Washington Park's web site, and they did come in handy. There were a few times I had to refer to the map to find the next tee. However, apparently they have moved the basket for hole 17. The actual location didn't match either map, which had it near the playground equipment. Instead, it is near the parking lot by the 18th basket. It made the hole noticeably longer than listed. Still, I figured it out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Washington Park

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very, very well maintained. This course is laid out over a beautiful park with playgrounds (which aren't in the way at all) and volleyball courts, etc. It was nice to play here.
-The baskets seem to be very, very new and in pristine condition, as are the tee pads.
-It's obvious that there's a disc golf community here that really care about the sport and the coures.
-The grass was beautiful here.
-Very easy to find and navigate.
Cons: -The whole park had the same length grass which made it seem like the whole course was a fairway. -It was kind of boring because a lot of the holes were just throw it straight at the basket because there aren't a lot of obstacles here.
-Hole 16 was very swampy when I played. It was basically pure mud.
Other Thoughts: I drove out here from Normal to check out some of the courses in Peoria. I was very happy about the condition of the course but I probably won't come back to the Washington one because it's a very easy course. I also lost my Flick here on hole #12. :(

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.