Kearney, NE 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: fretgod321 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 187ft.   4 / 187ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun 9-Hole

5+    7/20/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: washabh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Impossible to lose a disc
- Clean park
- Easy to navigate
Cons: - Not very challenging
- First hole is next to a busy street... don't screw up!
- Holes are very similar
Other Thoughts: This is an enjoyable and clean 9-hole course to get your daily fix of DG. The park is well maintained and has a nice structure. A few more obstacles to make it a little more challenging would be great.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course for a quick game with anyone

1    7/19/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: gfellerjm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great landscaping/grass
easy to follow layout
great cement/asphalt tees
good baskets
very forgiving (no chance of loosing a disc)
Cons: simple layout (straight holes)
few things to make you control your line
under the baskets gets muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: This is a simple park course with well manicured grass and tees. That and it's forgiving nature are its best attributes. Overall the course is pretty simple, mostly shorter, straight holes with very few trees in the way but that doesn't mean it's not fun. The park is very well kept and never too busy. It's a great place to start, a great place to take anyone who hasn't played a ton or even those who've never played. It's also good for a one disc round or working on certain shots. Like I mentioned earlier, there are few trees to get in your way and no real way to lose a disc (unless you through it in the pool during the off season) so you can try out whatever you want. Overall I would say this is a very well kept course and great for a quick game to work on things or just have fun with anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

General purpose course for training or quick, carefree play

5+    9/21/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: hollman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 6/28/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's fun if you don't have a ton of time or if you only have a couple discs on hand. If you are learning, have kids who want to play, or friends who don't play often, it is for you. If you like shady courses, this is a good one. Ace holes, it's for you. A few trees thrown in the way make for a little challenge so you feel like you accomplished something. If you are drained from playing long, challenging courses, those that are physically demanding, or those that swallow discs, this is the change you have been looking for. If you want to practice your short game...perfect course. Easy to find and well maintained. Burger joints are close by as well as restrooms on site.
Cons: No elevation variety. All holes seem pretty short, with the exception of Hole 9. Not every hole/tee is labeled, although it is pretty easy to find each tee and the flow is decent; a map is not necessary. It isn't particularly challenging or frustrating to play, but that might also be what makes this course a fun changeup. Most holes are straight so there isn't a lot of variety on left/right doglegs.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing. It really doesn't take a ton of commitment so just swing in with a few discs and knock it out quick if you are in the area. Unlike many challenging, heavily-wooded courses where you might spend half your time looking for your disc, this is a course where losing a disc is nearly impossible. Trees are pruned up high and in park-like condition. No special clothing attire or extra luggage is needed to play this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well taken care off.
Well suited for new players.
one of the few courses in the area with actual tees and the tees are in good shape.
Some trees as obsticles make it a nice course for a local to play on a lunch break, but it is not a challenging course.
Lots of ace runs....about 9 :)
Cons: Minimal signage. Signs missing on several holes. Baskets unmarked.
Holes were super short, all but one hole was under 250. I threw 3 discs for the entire round.
Dual tees is a joke. Hole 6 is the only hole with 2 tees.
a few small safety concerns with other areas and the street, but the course makes an effort to minimize those issues.
Other Thoughts: This is a very quick play in a safe area. Travelers can be in and out in well under 30 minutes. There is not much to say about this course. It is short and common, not much stands out good or bad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Always enjoyable.

5+    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Gardengrower
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: Nicely laid out, well maintained, restrooms and playground available. Enough, but not too many trees. A nice enjoyable course for when you simply don't want something too challenging. It is a pretty easy course.
Cons: I really only have one. The first tee is only feet from the road, and it is sometimes difficult to keep my disc from going into the busy traffic of this street.

 Short and Sweet

1    2/5/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 358  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice big tee pads
-Nice baskets with a little landscaped circle around them. Not big enough to be greens but probably help with erosion.
-Decent flow, I found my way around easy enough without getting too confused
-Many, many ace runs here. Every hole has potential.
-There's a lot of stuff at this park and the course does a good job of avoiding most of it. I'm sure there will still be some conflict here and there but not too bad.
-Going back to the last point, this park is a good one to bring the kids to. Playground, pool, picnic areas, bathrooms, and it's short enough that they might want to play too.
-The course looks good. Even in the winter without much snow the grass is somewhat green and you can tell it is well kept. No trash.
-You won't lose a disc here for sure.
-Probably not very busy.
Cons: -Very short and not hard at all.
-The signs weren't all that good but you don't really need them.
-Hole 6 is way too easy to put it on the road behind the basket. The hole is super short and super close to the sidewalk/road.
-Not a lot of trees and the ones that are there aren't really in the way of the course at all.
-No elevation changes at all.
Other Thoughts: The first hole is immediately on the left when you pull into the lot. You probably won't need your whole bag here, maybe a putter, mid or two and a fairway for hole 9 if you have a noodle arm. I shot a 21 on this course in 35-40 mph winds and could easily get 2s on the whole course with less wind and a little focus. I haven't played any of the other courses in Kearney yet but I would imagine this is the best for beginners. Cottonmill looks pretty good so put that on your priority list. I had fun on this course but you can't give short park courses too high of ratings.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh, Not a bad place for beginners

1    7/10/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros of this course fall under three categories: great pitch and putt practice, great for people learning the game, and great for families looking for a casual round with their kids. If you fall under one of these three categories then plan to be pleased with a well manicured park course complete with nice concrete tees and typical park amenities.

The central location is good, which explains the amount of traffic a course of this caliber gets, and a round can be punched out in about twenty minutes. Then you can continue your putting while the kiddies take a break on the playground.

Cons: The obvious con of this course is that no matter how much I appreciate a well intentioned scout project - this course is way too simplistic for even a novice player. Holes are too short with little to no obstacles or imagination. There are no hyzer or anhyzers, or even holes you have to mildly shape. Basically, just grab a buzzz and your favorite putter and aim straight.

There are also a few logistical errors with holes not matching the map. It seems as if the last half of the course has been condensed down further giving players a gimme #6 and taking away the old #9. Finally, it always bugs me when par is oddly marked for a course. Granted you should play this all as a three, but many holes are marked four and five, which is just dumb.

Other Thoughts: When it comes to playing Kearney courses, you basically have Cottonmill DGC and then the rest. And while Cottonmill towers over the others in distance, terrain, playability, and overall quality - having played all of the Kearney courses, I will give and ordered rating of what I viewed as the best courses as well as my personal favorite courses in the area.

The best courses are ordered in what I believe are the variables other DG reviews would require to create a quality disc golf course. My favorite courses will vary a bit from the other rating just based on my overall playing experience and personal preferences. Take each with a grain of salt, and then go hit them all yourself and make your own list.

Overall Course Rating:
1. Cottonmill DGC - 4.0 discs
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area - 2.5 discs
3. Centiennial Park - 2.0 discs
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC - 1.5 discs
5. Kearney High School DGC - 1.5 discs.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best and 5 is worst)
1. Cottonmill DGC
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area
3. Kearney High School DGC
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC
5. Centennial Park

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Want to pitch and putt?

5+    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: thejake78
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nicely maintained pitch-putt course in a well-kept city park
-Playground, swimming pool, pavilion, restrooms provide activities for families
-Asphalt tee pads
-Mature trees provide a few obstacles
-Good for beginners just learning the game
Cons: -No real challenge; course is generally very short and flat with only a few obstacles
-It is plausible that an errant throw could hit the playground, the street, or someone's yard
Other Thoughts: This course in town is a nice place to take a beginner to let them get a feel for the game. For the experienced golfer, this course provides a quick (<30 min) round or a chance to practice short approaches. Also, this isn't a bad place to warm up a bit for Cottonmill DGC, which is the true disc golf destination locally.

I give it a 2.5 because, for what it is (practice/beginner-friendly course), it is perfectly adequate, and I generally stop by if I'm in the neighborhood and have a few minutes to kill or the kids want to play in the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love this place!

5+    7/17/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic beginner course! If you are looking to take someone for the first time and have them be excited about the game, bring them here! All the holes are fairly short and can be approached with a putter or mid off the tee. Hole 9 is the only hole requiring a driver for intermediate players. Great course to work on your short game and try and add a few more aces to your resume. The park is maintained very well and is just an overall fun little spot to play if you don't have a ton of time. Anytime i am in Kearney, i make it a point to stop here.
Cons: Advanced players will probably dismiss this course because it isn't technical at all. The holes are short and pretty straight forward. Hardly any obstacles on the course. Again, a beginner style course.
Other Thoughts: The simplicity of this course and easy access makes it one of my favorites i have played. While i enjoy the challenge the more technical courses have, i favor courses like this due to the FUN FACTOR. 9 ace-able holes and you don't have to bring your whole bag. Just mids, putters, and maybe one driver for the last hole. I love airing out my putters for aces on this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a friend

5+    4/7/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: Well maintained.
Good flow.
Next to the swimming pool.
Great for beginners.
Cons: Very short.
Not challenging.
Can be crowded at times.

Other Thoughts: If we're in Kearney and we go disc golfing with my wife and/or mother we go here. This was the first course I played and it's not at all like the second I played--Cotton-mill. We've noticed a lot of low skill players and usually they'll allow us to play through so we don't have to wait too long.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.