Kearney, NE 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: fretgod321 Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 213ft.   4 / 213ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner course

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: Course is well taken care off.
Well suited for new players.
one of the few courses in the area with actual tees and the tees are in good shape.
Some trees as obsticles make it a nice course for a local to play on a lunch break, but it is not a challenging course.
Lots of ace runs....about 9 :)
Cons: Minimal signage. Signs missing on several holes. Baskets unmarked.
Holes were super short, all but one hole was under 250. I threw 3 discs for the entire round.
Dual tees is a joke. Hole 6 is the only hole with 2 tees.
a few small safety concerns with other areas and the street, but the course makes an effort to minimize those issues.
Other Thoughts: This is a very quick play in a safe area. Travelers can be in and out in well under 30 minutes. There is not much to say about this course. It is short and common, not much stands out good or bad.

Short and Sweet

1    2/5/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 344  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice big tee pads
-Nice baskets with a little landscaped circle around them. Not big enough to be greens but probably help with erosion.
-Decent flow, I found my way around easy enough without getting too confused
-Many, many ace runs here. Every hole has potential.
-There's a lot of stuff at this park and the course does a good job of avoiding most of it. I'm sure there will still be some conflict here and there but not too bad.
-Going back to the last point, this park is a good one to bring the kids to. Playground, pool, picnic areas, bathrooms, and it's short enough that they might want to play too.
-The course looks good. Even in the winter without much snow the grass is somewhat green and you can tell it is well kept. No trash.
-You won't lose a disc here for sure.
-Probably not very busy.
Cons: -Very short and not hard at all.
-The signs weren't all that good but you don't really need them.
-Hole 6 is way too easy to put it on the road behind the basket. The hole is super short and super close to the sidewalk/road.
-Not a lot of trees and the ones that are there aren't really in the way of the course at all.
-No elevation changes at all.
Other Thoughts: The first hole is immediately on the left when you pull into the lot. You probably won't need your whole bag here, maybe a putter, mid or two and a fairway for hole 9 if you have a noodle arm. I shot a 21 on this course in 35-40 mph winds and could easily get 2s on the whole course with less wind and a little focus. I haven't played any of the other courses in Kearney yet but I would imagine this is the best for beginners. Cottonmill looks pretty good so put that on your priority list. I had fun on this course but you can't give short park courses too high of ratings.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meh, Not a bad place for beginners

1    7/10/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros of this course fall under three categories: great pitch and putt practice, great for people learning the game, and great for families looking for a casual round with their kids. If you fall under one of these three categories then plan to be pleased with a well manicured park course complete with nice concrete tees and typical park amenities.

The central location is good, which explains the amount of traffic a course of this caliber gets, and a round can be punched out in about twenty minutes. Then you can continue your putting while the kiddies take a break on the playground.

BEST HOLE/S: #9
Cons: The obvious con of this course is that no matter how much I appreciate a well intentioned scout project - this course is way too simplistic for even a novice player. Holes are too short with little to no obstacles or imagination. There are no hyzer or anhyzers, or even holes you have to mildly shape. Basically, just grab a buzzz and your favorite putter and aim straight.

There are also a few logistical errors with holes not matching the map. It seems as if the last half of the course has been condensed down further giving players a gimme #6 and taking away the old #9. Finally, it always bugs me when par is oddly marked for a course. Granted you should play this all as a three, but many holes are marked four and five, which is just dumb.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: When it comes to playing Kearney courses, you basically have Cottonmill DGC and then the rest. And while Cottonmill towers over the others in distance, terrain, playability, and overall quality - having played all of the Kearney courses, I will give and ordered rating of what I viewed as the best courses as well as my personal favorite courses in the area.

The best courses are ordered in what I believe are the variables other DG reviews would require to create a quality disc golf course. My favorite courses will vary a bit from the other rating just based on my overall playing experience and personal preferences. Take each with a grain of salt, and then go hit them all yourself and make your own list.

Overall Course Rating:
1. Cottonmill DGC - 4.0 discs
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area - 2.5 discs
3. Centiennial Park - 2.0 discs
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC - 1.5 discs
5. Kearney High School DGC - 1.5 discs.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best and 5 is worst)
1. Cottonmill DGC
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area
3. Kearney High School DGC
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC
5. Centennial Park

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange and putter Course

1    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 617  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The asphalt/ cement tee pads were nice and the had some nice lines painted on them to let ya know if ya stepped past the tee off point. i liked that they had a green for each pin even tho it was loose gravel it caught the disc fairly well.. baskets are in good shape... parks very well maintained. The back 6 holes have light poles all over, would make for a nice night round.
Cons: Course is rather short and wide open, no signs, i feel that if it was crowded u mite run the risk of hitting someone but with 2 other courses in the area i wouldn't think it would ever be.
Other Thoughts: I am going to post my estimated lengths of the holes as there were no signs and to give you an idea of what its like.
#1 - 160'
#2 - 210'
#3 - 170'
#4 - 140'
#5 - 150'
#6 - 220'
#7 - 180'
#8 - 120'
#9 - 250'

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/11/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centennial has a very easy to follow layout. It's a really easy course, and you don't really need any discs other than a midrange and putter for it. It's a great course if you're a beginner or don't have much time to play a round.
The course has asphalt tee boxes; not as nice as concrete, but better than nothing. There are also lights in the park, in case your round carries on a bit late.
Cons: Rather short. It's also completely flat, and way too open. The Baskets are also a bit close to the following tee box; I actually got hit with a disc walking off the third tee box by someone on an approach shot to the second basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's the best course for beginners, or if you want to work on your mid range throws and putts. It's alsor not very busy, so there's never any wait to tee off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Can you say, "Beginner Friendly?"

2-4    9/30/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a clean and maintained course. It was pretty easy to navigate. Tee signs were simple but effective. The asphalt/cement tee pads were long enough and in great shape, as were the baskets. Bathrooms and trashcans are present. This is a small park, but they did a good enough job, it did not feel crowded.
Cons: #4 tee sign was missing (it is near where the end of the parking lot meets the park). There are people you have to be careful not hit throughout the park. There is no water or elevation to deal with. It would be nice if they got the right hole numbers on the baskets too.
Other Thoughts: This is a beginner course. The holes are all straight ahead with an occasional tree in the way. Not much of a fun factor except the fact that they were ace runs

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Easy Going

5/5/2007   5/5/2008
Review By: hoehnerjm
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very simple. Great for novice players. The parks system in Kearney does a really good job at keeping the park in top shape.
Cons: If you are a player who is moderate or better you will tear this course up.
Other Thoughts: Recently the course layout was changed. it still is a nine hole course but it even shorter than it was before.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center