Kearney, NE 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: fretgod321 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 213ft.   4 / 213ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Want to pitch and putt?

5+    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nicely maintained pitch-putt course in a well-kept city park
-Playground, swimming pool, pavilion, restrooms provide activities for families
-Asphalt tee pads
-Mature trees provide a few obstacles
-Good for beginners just learning the game
Cons: -No real challenge; course is generally very short and flat with only a few obstacles
-It is plausible that an errant throw could hit the playground, the street, or someone's yard
Other Thoughts: This course in town is a nice place to take a beginner to let them get a feel for the game. For the experienced golfer, this course provides a quick (<30 min) round or a chance to practice short approaches. Also, this isn't a bad place to warm up a bit for Cottonmill DGC, which is the true disc golf destination locally.

I give it a 2.5 because, for what it is (practice/beginner-friendly course), it is perfectly adequate, and I generally stop by if I'm in the neighborhood and have a few minutes to kill or the kids want to play in the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a friend

5+    4/7/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: Well maintained.
Good flow.
Next to the swimming pool.
Great for beginners.
Cons: Very short.
Not challenging.
Can be crowded at times.

Other Thoughts: If we're in Kearney and we go disc golfing with my wife and/or mother we go here. This was the first course I played and it's not at all like the second I played--Cotton-mill. We've noticed a lot of low skill players and usually they'll allow us to play through so we don't have to wait too long.

 Simple w/ a capital S

1    3/18/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very simple, easy to follow layout. This course offers great tees and nice baskets. Great course for practicing the approach game for more experienced players and a very good course to introduce kids or noobs to the game. Park is well kept. Some benches and nice trash cans.
Cons: Extremely short and simple. As in all you need is a putter. Case in point: I am a intermediate-adavanced level player and I shot a -7 on this 9 hole course. This won't give many players a big challenge and isn't worth the drive to play this course alone.
Other Thoughts: While this course is extremely short, it does serve a purpose as a short game practice course. I had fun playing it and got some great approach-game practice in. My suggestion is to use this course as a warm-up for the much, much tougher and more fun Cottonmill course just outside town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners come here!

5+    5/5/2011   8/23/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean, well kept course in a city park. Hole 1 is right next to the swimming pool with easy parking. Course flows throughout park, with no real navigation issues. Large cement teepads in great shape. Teesigns on the wood posts just shows the distance and hole number, but you don't need anything else since you can see all baskets right from the teepad. Baskets are in great shape. Fairways are nicely mowed green grass. No chance at all to lose a disc here. Large trees throughout the course come into play on several of the holes. Short holes are great for a beginner to learn on and build confience quickly.
Cons: This is a city park so watch out for other park users. 9 holes are kind of boring as most are just straight throws. No elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: If you are new to the game, this is a great course to learn on. The hole lengths are rather short and would allow most beginners to get pars all day with some birdies thrown in. I also saw a number of families playing this course and having a good time. If you have been playing for any length of time, this will get boring rather quickly. Every hole is rather easy to birdie. I can't even say to come here to work on your short game, it might not be worth it. But if you are in need of an ace, this is the place to come.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very easy course, good tees and well maintained grassy park. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: Flat course, small area, first few holes in close vicinity of houses.
Other Thoughts: A nice leisurely course, not very intimidating at all. They have a pretty good layout for what little space there is in that park.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.