Disc Golf Store
Kearney, NE 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: fretgod321 Hole #6 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 135ft.   4 / 225ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Long Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beginners come here!

5+    5/5/2011   8/23/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean, well kept course in a city park. Hole 1 is right next to the swimming pool with easy parking. Course flows throughout park, with no real navigation issues. Large cement teepads in great shape. Teesigns on the wood posts just shows the distance and hole number, but you don't need anything else since you can see all baskets right from the teepad. Baskets are in great shape. Fairways are nicely mowed green grass. No chance at all to lose a disc here. Large trees throughout the course come into play on several of the holes. Short holes are great for a beginner to learn on and build confience quickly.
Cons: This is a city park so watch out for other park users. 9 holes are kind of boring as most are just straight throws. No elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: If you are new to the game, this is a great course to learn on. The hole lengths are rather short and would allow most beginners to get pars all day with some birdies thrown in. I also saw a number of families playing this course and having a good time. If you have been playing for any length of time, this will get boring rather quickly. Every hole is rather easy to birdie. I can't even say to come here to work on your short game, it might not be worth it. But if you are in need of an ace, this is the place to come.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange and putter Course

1    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 623  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The asphalt/ cement tee pads were nice and the had some nice lines painted on them to let ya know if ya stepped past the tee off point. i liked that they had a green for each pin even tho it was loose gravel it caught the disc fairly well.. baskets are in good shape... parks very well maintained. The back 6 holes have light poles all over, would make for a nice night round.
Cons: Course is rather short and wide open, no signs, i feel that if it was crowded u mite run the risk of hitting someone but with 2 other courses in the area i wouldn't think it would ever be.
Other Thoughts: I am going to post my estimated lengths of the holes as there were no signs and to give you an idea of what its like.
#1 - 160'
#2 - 210'
#3 - 170'
#4 - 140'
#5 - 150'
#6 - 220'
#7 - 180'
#8 - 120'
#9 - 250'

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/11/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centennial has a very easy to follow layout. It's a really easy course, and you don't really need any discs other than a midrange and putter for it. It's a great course if you're a beginner or don't have much time to play a round.
The course has asphalt tee boxes; not as nice as concrete, but better than nothing. There are also lights in the park, in case your round carries on a bit late.
Cons: Rather short. It's also completely flat, and way too open. The Baskets are also a bit close to the following tee box; I actually got hit with a disc walking off the third tee box by someone on an approach shot to the second basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's the best course for beginners, or if you want to work on your mid range throws and putts. It's alsor not very busy, so there's never any wait to tee off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Family Course

1    5/2/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is what I would call the perfect family park disc golf course. The layout is simple; the holes are fairly short with only a few obstacles on each hole. The park is extremely well kept and the baskets/tees are in great condition. The holes weave their way around the park without crossing fairways while still staying out of the way of other park activities
Cons: My only negative is the need for a map or sign pointing toward the first hole. The layout is self explanatory after hole #1, but the first hole can be a (very small) challenge to find without a map since #1 is located south of the pool. Distances are not posted, but I don't view this as much of concern considering this is a family park and is not likely to consistently attract the type of players who change discs and types of throws based on distance.
Other Thoughts: I took my family to this park and we had a great time. There are all kinds of activities for all ages including a great playground, pool, courts, and even flower gardens. I believe that a course should be designed to compliment context. With this being such a family/kid oriented park, I believe that the course compliments it perfectly. The distances are short, the "fairways" open and forgiving, and overall the course is very easy. (I shot seven under on nine holes) Bottom line, if you want to throw a quick round and/or need your kids to be entertained, this is the park for you. If you want more of a challenge, head down to Cottonmill for a higher caliber course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Can you say, "Beginner Friendly?"

2-4    9/30/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a clean and maintained course. It was pretty easy to navigate. Tee signs were simple but effective. The asphalt/cement tee pads were long enough and in great shape, as were the baskets. Bathrooms and trashcans are present. This is a small park, but they did a good enough job, it did not feel crowded.
Cons: #4 tee sign was missing (it is near where the end of the parking lot meets the park). There are people you have to be careful not hit throughout the park. There is no water or elevation to deal with. It would be nice if they got the right hole numbers on the baskets too.
Other Thoughts: This is a beginner course. The holes are all straight ahead with an occasional tree in the way. Not much of a fun factor except the fact that they were ace runs

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very easy course, good tees and well maintained grassy park. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: Flat course, small area, first few holes in close vicinity of houses.
Other Thoughts: A nice leisurely course, not very intimidating at all. They have a pretty good layout for what little space there is in that park.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Easy Going

5/5/2007   5/5/2008
Review By: hoehnerjm
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very simple. Great for novice players. The parks system in Kearney does a really good job at keeping the park in top shape.
Cons: If you are a player who is moderate or better you will tear this course up.
Other Thoughts: Recently the course layout was changed. it still is a nine hole course but it even shorter than it was before.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.