Fort Madison, IA 
Rodeo Park - Scenic Drive Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #11 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great course

2-4    7/23/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: sndmn762
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: great course,great layout, nice big tpads, close to home
Cons: alot of trees so if you cant throw low on some holes your banging a tree
Other Thoughts: only problem i have with the course is during the winter months they close the course to vehicles, so you have to park seems like 3-4 blocks away and walk to the first t


1    7/16/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in Rodeo Park, Ties into the much harder Pioneer Trail course (Ties in after the 15th Hole) Giving the player the option of playing 36 holes.
Beginner friendly course, Front 9 is pretty straight forward easy shots. The back 9 starts into the woods and starts playing in the woods with tree-lined fairways. The front 9 has tree's lining only one side of the fairway
Concrete Tee's, Detailed Tee Signs, with map, distance (Yards, Feet, and inches)
Bulletin board with map at the Shelter house
Shelter house at the start Front and Back 9 start near the shelter house. This offers a quick round of 9 for either the front 9 or the back 9.
Back 9 had a bigger fun factor than the front 9
Back 9 requires more accuracy, and has a sweet downhill tunnel shot that will make you empty your bag trying for an Ace!
Navigation is easy and well laid out.
If you started with Pioneer trail, then scenic drive will be a nice break from all the hill climbing.
Cons: (First time only issue) There needs to be a sign pointing to the #12 tee. When you finish #11 follow the grassy trail, NOT the gravel road. I ended up walking down the road, when I seen the picnic tables through the woods. Had to back track, and climb back up the hill.
The front 9 plays alongside a trail and a road, so you may run into a few park attendees while playing the front 9.
Park may be busy on weekends, (Primarily the front 9)
Weather may make the back 9 hard to play. (#16 may be extremely difficult to climb if it's raining)
Front 9 will be pretty plain and simple to most average disc golfers. The back 9 will be more fun, but still pretty easy to the average Disc Golfer.
Other Thoughts: The whole Rodeo Park Disc Golf setup is really nice! This would be the easier, less difficult course of the two. The front 9 may be boring to the seasoned player, but the back 9 has an interesting layout that feeds into the woods. However, Scenic drive is home to one of my favorite Downhill Ace Run shot! (#12). Even though the challenge may have been a little below par, it still had a good fun factor for me. Perhaps it was the anticipation of playing Pioneer again, but I still had a good time.

The shots at Scenic Drive are shorter, with only a couple that play out longer than 300ft. It does balance out the two courses nicely. This course being the Yin to the Yin Yang that is Rodeo park. Rodeo Park is definitely worth the drive to play. If you are a seasoned player, then show up ready to play both courses. Don't just come to play Scenic Drive. However, if you only have time for one course, then you'll want to play Pioneer Trail!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/16/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: sniper81
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very challenge with all the trees and stuff you have to throw around
all tees are cement
all holes are marked good so you can find the next hole
Cons: very challenging with all the stuff you have to throw around
in the winter seasons they lock the main gate so you have to park outside the park and walk back which is a pain
Other Thoughts: great course,learned to play the game on this course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 FM

5+    6/27/2011   6/27/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 193  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I learned to play on as my home course. High risk and reward course. Its a course where you can get a low score and a lot of birdies. I have birded every hole multiple times, but enough trees to work around that I have bogied every hole. Good course to work on winding your disc through and around trees.
Cons: Back 9 is very muddy and slippery after it rains.
Only two open holes where you can air it out.
Other Thoughts: If you go between Oct-April they may have the gates closed where you will have to walk to hole 5 and start there.
Cannot play during rodeo week (Labor Day thru following Sunday)
If you play after Rodeo there will be an abundance of horse droppings.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    7/11/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiuse park, small soccer field, walking path, lots of open areas for gatherings with a few open shelter buildings. I think I saw some playground equipment too. Park seemed to me maintained well, at least on the front 9. Another great DG park on same grounds.

Trash cans available. Kiosk area with some good information, best rounds and aces. Concrete tee pads. Nice, creative signs with measurements down to inches. A few blind pins.

Beginner friendly course. Great course to introduce newer players to wooded courses, and those with elevation, as there are 4 - 5 holes that include one or the other, or both.
Cons: Lots of very similar holes, mostly on the top 9, a few trees to navigate around with OB here and there.

Occasional walkers and runners on path, which to me isn't a true con, but worth noting.

Only three holes over 300', with the longest being 318'.

Navigation isn't too bad, but I did get confused a little after 11, as for some reason I thought 17 was 12, and didn't realize that till I got to 18 and figured out I messed up. A next tee sign would have been helpful, if there was one I missed it.

Trash cans were overflowing on the lower 9; I think hole 13 was the worst.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just after I played Pioneer. I was physically exhausted, but still really enjoyed playing. It is a shorter course and you'll be using quite a few putters and mid-range discs as the holes just don't require a high speed driver.

A couple of holes to note, 11 is a nice, tight, heavily wooded shot over a small ravine, that was fun. # 12 is an exceptional steep downhill shot, with the pin just at the bottom of the hill a few feet to the left. Not much room to allow for fade, so throw the putter, but not too far as there is rough after the flat at the bottom. # 16 was a steep uphill shot, but really short, just under 100'. At the time I played, the basket was missing, not sure if it was vandalism or it got washed out (though course updates state it was replaced).

Also, when I played for some reason the gates were shut, I had to walk from the airport road to the course, so I started with hole 5 I think then made the loop from there.

Overall, I had fun, even with some of the repetitive open holes. There are lots of chances for 2's, they aren't gimmies, but they are achievable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good older course

5+    5/5/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nicely groomed well maintained course. a little short but a good amount of ob and accurate shots are needed to shoot well under par here.
Cons: after raining the back 9 gets pretty ugly .
Other Thoughts: backs right up to the pioneer course, a longer and more difficult course. nothing wrong with shorter courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This course is crazy! But in a good way.

1    9/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm giving this a 2.0 rating which is amazingly high considering the lack of challenge provided here. However there are some fun shots to throw up and down some steep, treacherous wooded holes on the back 9. Its a deuce-fest for sure. Very good course for beginners. It would be a good course for a 1 disc challenge or something for experienced players. Otherwise probably not something a hardcore disc golfers would play often.
Cons: Holes are very very short and the baskets are in rough shape.
Other Thoughts: Don't play this course after it rains. There are some slippery slopes! I love the tee signs which have the hole design and the hole distance marked in Feet, Meters, and Inches! Always good to know how many inches you need to throw!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/12/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of easy and tough holes. The layout is clearly marked. There is a little something for just about everyone on this course. Do you like trees? There are plenty of them. Wide open shots? They are there too. This course seems to be setup as an alternative to the nearby Pioneer Trails course, being set up for the less advanced player. Players of all skills can play a round here and enjoy themselves.
Cons: the back 9's layout could be a little more clear, but the local league has installed a few signs to help navigation. The course's location can be hard to find if you don't have GOOD directions. The course can be crowded at times, but what good course isn't.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to enjoy a few rounds at. If you want to add to the feel of the area, you can cross over to Pioneer Trails after hole 15. Just follow the signs and start playing Pioneer's hole 13.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.