Hastings, NE 
Lake Hastings Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tale of Two Halves

1    5/2/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well kept course that plays by a lake for a few holes and the back 9 plays through a moderately wooded area.
There are both short and moderate length holes here and there were a few benches too.
There is water threat (a con for some) and the back 9 uses the trees to their fullest.
The tee pads are ample allowing for a good run up.
Other amenities here like pavilions and a playground, as well as the lake.
Cons: My main beef with this course was the long walks between some of the holes which slowed the flow of the game down a bit. The transition from 4's basket to 5's tee, 9's basket to 10's tee, and 15's basket to 16's tee were some that come to mind.
Some of the signage is starting to fade or has been vandalized.
Some players could lose a disc on the water holes(risk/reward for other players). And the wind could be a factor on the front 9 which will affect your throws.
Other Thoughts: This is still a pretty solid course. I liked the fact that there were a few water shots and a couple of holes where you had the opportunity to run the chains. The back nine is more my style with the trees and the technical shots that must be shaped. It appears that the back 9 gets more traffic than the front 9, at least this was the case when I played. I saw several players starting on 10 and finishing on 18 and repeating the cycle. Maybe they didn't want to lose a disc in the lake or maybe they just preferred the more tree lined holes?
My favorite hole here was #9. I liked the little creek that guarded the basket especially after the downhill shot from the tee.
If you are in the area this one is worth the play. There is a shot here for just about every player with every type of skill level.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wind and water

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in a nice park along Lake Hastings, and the scenery is pretty good, with some trails and bridges intersecting parts of the lake. The front half of the course plays pretty close to the lake in an area with some trees and bushes interspersed. The back half plays across the street through a rectangular section filled with mid-growth trees (I'm guessing 20-30 years old; point being the trees aren't super thick and have branches maybe 10 feet off the ground). These trees provide plenty obstacles to keep you honest, but you won't necessarily be punished for every bad shot.

There is not much rough on the course, other than along one edge of the back 9.

Tee signs are decent. They are just small plates on small posts but show the distance and basket location. I did not have a map, but navigation was not too difficult, especially on the back 9.

A couple holes had some fun design. I like #9's shot to an "island green" across a drainage creek (it's not really an island), and #10 calls for a good turnover shot with an approach to the basket nestled among some trees.
Cons: There are no alternate tees or pin positions here, so the way you play it is apparently the only way you can play it. I think they do put in some temporary positions for tournaments.

My major beef with the course was the way the holes along the water were designed. One hole (#3?) was just a 200 foot across a corner of the lake. Problem is, the hole plays to the northwest. In Nebraska, if there is any wind, it's almost always coming from the west, so there isn't necessarily an easy shot if it's windy. The next hole played along the shore and required a shot to stay in the 50-foot strip between the walking path and the water (again, facing northwest). This may not be a concern all the time, but when I played the wind was howling over 40mph. I lost a disc on hole 3 and didn't even throw from the tee on 4. This isn't the most rec-friendly course, although you'd be fine on most holes.

I can only recall two holes that had any elevation change. It's a pretty flat park.
Other Thoughts: The types of holes here are a little similar to Seymour in Omaha and Roper in Lincoln, but with less elevation and more water. It's worth a look if you're close by.

By the way, to get here you need to drive through a bunch of residential neighborhoods on North Shore Drive, so it's not obvious from the highway that you're heading toward a park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 High Tension Front 9 - Relaxing & Rewarding Back 9

1    1/16/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 43.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for the experienced player if you play both the front and back 9. It offers a lot of different experiences and a lot of good memories that will last for a long time both good and bad.

This course really goes out of it's way to make sure that the people playing the course have an enjoyable experience because of good signage, teepads, well kept baskets, and a good scenic view throughout the park.

The course gives you a chance to work on your risk vs. reward decision making skills in the game of disc golf and also will help to expose your strengths and weaknesses in a hurry.

The back 9 of this course has to be one of the most pleasurable places to play a round of disc golf in central Nebraska without the fear of loosing discs while still feeling challenged by the course layout.

The front 9 of this course offers you a chance to throw over or beside the lake on multiple occasions. I really enjoyed the "green" of hole 9 but wished that it was better kept like the rest of the park.
Cons: There is a very high chance of loosing a disc in the lake at this course. While we were there one of our group did loose a disc but we were able to recover it with a little help from a long stretch of rope/string which we stretched across the lake to pull the disc back to safety while the lake was frozen but not thick enough to walk on.

The course maintainers could fix one of the tee signs which was vandalized on hole 8 but it was fairly self explanatory since we could see the basket not far from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a must go to destination course for anyone in the state of Nebraska. I look forward to playing this course many more times and would recommend it to anyone of any skill level to give it a try sometime. I would caution you though that if you are working on control issues not to play the front 9 because there is a high likely hood you will loose some discs.

This course could add another 9 holes like Roper park in Lincoln and easily make it one of the premier courses in Nebraska and possibly draw people from out of state to come enjoy the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play it safe or lose it all?

1    1/15/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. 18 Holes.
The park is well maintained.
Front 9 has enough elevation changes to work up a sweat.
Front 9 has some risk reward shots.
Back 9 holes have decent distance and 3-6 trees between you and the basket.
Cons: Front 9 has multiple opportunities to lose a disc in the drink. (I would've on hole 9 due to a crazy roller but the lake was frozen and we have means of recovering discs :)
Back 9 will not challenge the advanced player.
Back 9 has very little change in elevation.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. There were 12-20 people playing Sunday afternoon but we didn't feel in-the-way or have to wait on another group.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a blast to play. It offers almost everything you could want in a course. Trees dot the course and are thick in the majority of the back nine, but not too thick. There are a couple of water holes which can be tough if the wind is really blowing. There is a good mix of long and short holes. Several holes are very technical, forces you to use multiple shots. The tee's are nice and baskets are in great shape. The tee signs are simple yet efficient. It isn't too terribly difficult to find your way around without a map. The course is a lot of fun and is probably best suited for intermediate-advanced players.
Cons: There is a bit of a walk to the restroom and only one tee per hole. The course can be very challenging if it is windy, especially the water holes, so bring extra discs. Not much for elevation. It could have used a few more wide-open shots to really drive for distance.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a great course. It had a little bit of everything. It will offer every level of golfer a nice challenge. I highly recommend it!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hastings Can Be Proud

1    9/29/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was just ok for me. It is well maintained for sure. The holes on the front 9 are fairly straight with not a lot of trouble, with 3 exceptions. Hole 3 is over the lake and the pin is right next to the lake. Hole 4 is right along the lake and hole 9 has a 15' wide creek in a short distance in front of the pin. I realy liked #9. The backside has lots of trees and will give you a few ways to look at approaching the tee shot. The cement tee pads are nice and long and the baskets are in great shape. Not an overly busy park, which is always a plus!
Cons: There really wasn't too much wrong with this course, except the fun factor just just OK for me. Number 7 was missing its sign. No restrooms and hardly any trashcans. There was a message board there, but it did not have much information.
Other Thoughts: I suppose you will have to take my rating based mostly on the Fun Factor. It is a nice course, but it just didn't overly excite me. The terrain was so different between the front and backsides that it was like playing 2 different 9-hole courses. I actually enjoyed working the trees more on the backside. Hastings can be proud of their 18-hole course and it was in really nice shape the day I was there..

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A very spacious, beautiful park. Just enough trees to make things interesting.

The pins are well placed to provide a little challenge curving around the trees.
Cons: Not a whole lot of elevation changes, but otherwise a lot of attractive features to this course.
Other Thoughts: I was glad to be with someone who had played this course before, it might be a little challenging to find your way around.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.