Keokuk, IA 
Rand Park Share
Uploaded By: Butteredtoast Hole #12
3 / 234ft.   3 / 234ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: The lights are only there between Nov. 1 and Jan. 1



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/16/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old School Course located in a Beautiful Open park with rolling hills
Concrete tee's; Tee signs with Maps and Distance
Map on the back of the RAND PARK sign near hole #1
The Fairways are mostly straight forward shots, but the hills and the trees offer multiple lines. This offers the players the options of finesse shots, hyzer, anhyzer, or straight away runs at the basket
The varying terrain really helped keep the course from feeling repetitive. Most of the shots are simple straight forwards shots, but the hills define the fairway. Some uphill, some are on rolling hills, others are valley shots.
Caters to those with longer arms, but still accommodates to beginners. (Beginners may be frustrated on the longer holes.)
Some of the hills create blind shots
Great Downhill shots!! Some you will want to throw multiple discs!
A couple of +500ft shots.
You could start this course from any tee pad. Access to the park is open on all sides.
Navigation is fairly simple and logical to follow, Some issues listed in the cons, are first time issues.
Had a Good Fun Factor and a medium Challenge factor.
#18 is a great scenic finishing hole! Definitely one of my favorites!
Cons: Parking lot isn't near the start. It's a long walk up the hill to the first Teepad, and this is also where you will finish.
Not sure why the course doesn't start on #2, and finish with #1 which is near the parking lot. TIP: I started with #2.
Some of the baskets are really close to other fairways. More than a few times I found myself wondering if I had just wandered into the middle of another fairway.
Navigation, though fairly easy, is not immune from some issues. It's easy to mistake another fairways basket for yours. it happens on more than a few fairways. Also, there were a couple of times I found myself looking for the next tee. (Limited to first time play)
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself here! It felt very old school, but it had a good fun factor. It's not a hard course, but it definitely has its challenges. You'll have a number of different options. From picking the right line through the sparsely placed trees, to placing your disc just right on the hill leading up to the basket. You'll also get work out, as you'll be walking up a lot of hills. The flip side is that there are a number of downhill shots that are fun to throw. Sometimes you may be tempted to throw more than one. Indulge yourself, as I did, and let them fly!
I can't say that I would drive way out of my way to play this course, but if you are in town to play Wildcat Springs, then you will want to add this course to your stops while you are here. I drove about 40 miles to play here and wasn't disappointed. No special footwear or clothing required here, you'll be in the open field all day. With that being said, you will want to bring liquids, sunscreen, and whatever else to protect yourself while you are out. With the hills and little shade, you could dehydrate pretty quickly. Other than that, go have fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flower garden and fountain, pond, some playground equipment in a few locations throughout park, shelter houses and picnic tables. It was also the site for a Civil War Re-enactment (not sure if that's an annual thing or not). I saw a Porta John over by the shelter house near hole 1. Nice city park, seems to be maintained well. I didn't see a single piece of trash - no beer cans or bottles of any kind!!

Very nice main kiosk map right next to hole 1. Concrete tee pads which had sufficient texture even on a rainy day to prevent slips. Signs with distance, par, and a simple layout drawing.

Some elevation available, nice rolling type hills with a few drainage ditches that the elevation flows towards. It was raining when I played, and those drainage ditches were full, acting like a few little creeks to throw over, nothing to loose discs in, but enough that I noticed the water flowing through them.

I liked the baskets, and don't recall playing on that typebrand before (Gateway Titan as noted per the main page here). All but one of those (hole 3) are in perfect shape. Some of the pin locations were blind from the tee box.

Enough trees in the park that have potential to knock down your discs, that you will have to choose your lines. Only one "wooded hole", that being hole 4.

Lots of chances for deuces. Fantastic course to work on your mid-range drives off the tee. A few holes that would let you work on rollers too. Also a few holes that will make you work for your pars and birdies.
Cons: Concrete tee pads felt very small. A few of them had some drop offs around them which could cause slipping or injuries depending on your run up or x-step.

Many of the fairways were very close together, which most of the time isn't an issue, just be aware of other players and play on, however......

Pins were very close together. With no hole #'s on the pins, it became confusing several times for a newcomer to the course which pin to throw too. The signs didn't help alleviate any of this confusion, maybe by showing the other holes pin on the tee sign but noting the appropriate pin would be helpful. I am sure if I played this course a half a dozen times this may become irrelevant, but worth noting for the out-of-towners.
Other Thoughts: A couple holes that I enjoyed: Hole 1 is a fantastic way to start out the course!! This was a nice long downhill throw. There were a few trees around 150 ft down the fairway, that added to the challenge. I think this hole is fair for both left and right handed players, using either FH or BH. Hole 4 even though very short, was a nice wooded hole for the course. There is a nice right to left lane to the basket, it's definitely a deuce-able hole.

Some of the uphill elevation made a few of the holes play longer than expected. I found myself coming up short of the pin several times.

I think this course is great for what it is. 18 holes that fit in a very nice scenic park, and a perfect place to really dial in those mid range and approach shots. The elevation and trees added to the course making it a fair challenge. As stated above, the pin # would be great for those not familiar with the course and or newbies. Worth the stop if your in the area, but if I had to choose and had the time to cross the river, I'd head over to Hamilton and play Wildcat Springs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/10/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots and is great for a beginner. Holes 1, 2 and 8 have short tees for the beginning players.
Cons: The course has almost all signs missing and baskets missing a few bolts though this is slowly being taken care of.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for a day's play and it looks like it may get tougher next year by expanding farther into the park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.