Boyertown, PA 
Earl Township Community Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/25/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: wmjar
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Very nice park with nice paved path for walking.
Cons: I will try to make this short as my goal is to keep players informed of how bad this course is. First off, you have to walk about a mile to get to the first tee. Every shot is filled with high grass that you will likely loss a disc or 2 in.
Other Thoughts: This might be the worst place I've ever played. The best part about it is that it is located 5 mins from Boyertown Park.

 Not That Bad

1    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 162  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets in a well-maintained park. Course is separate from the other park activities so no interference. Has some elevation change. Locals were very friendly. Navigation is obvious (no map needed). Sign
at parking lot direct you to correct path to course. Easy to get to off Route 73.
Cons: No obstacles; no hole over 319 feet; no tee pads; teeing area is close to previous basket. One tee position, one pin position per hole.
Other Thoughts: Nothing special but certainly not a bad place to get a few throws in. Good for the locals to practice. Not crowded so proximity of baskets and tees not really a problem. I am probably biased because I nearly aced #6 in my only round here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Missed Opportunity?

1    7/17/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Safari and/or glow possibilities. Room to expand/re-design.
Cons:
Many tee signs missing - posts still remain to identify tee location. Natural tees, although nearby paved walking path could be used for some of them. Many tees too close to baskets. Some cross-fire problems.
Other Thoughts:
Caveat: I have no idea what design and/or budget constraints were in force when this course was installed. That said, the course does not utilize the landscape as much as it might have. This course is on a huge hill, I'm guessing maybe 1/4 mile long and about equally wide, with woods at the top, bottom, and right side. Scattered about the hillsides are hedgerows, some running cross-slope, some running up-n-down. One can easily imagine an exhausting (think up-n-down the hill twice) 18=hole course, going up, down, and across the hill, in-and-out of the woods, up-n-over/along hedges, etc. Instead, you have a 9=hole course, where holes 1-2, 8-9 play along the flat top of the hill, best hole #3 down the hill and over a hedge, 4-6 a wide-open, |_|-shaped field combination, to #7, wide-open, back up the hill.

Five minute downhill walk (at the fork, bear left) to the course, so obviously a bit tougher return. Basket-3 is just behind the large tree on the left side of the hedge about 300' away down the hill.

I actually liked the course, but oh, what might have been (could be) ...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Hillside

1    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really sweet park on the side of a small mountain. The disc golf course (they label it frisbee golf here) is far away from other park activities...so feel free to grip and rip. Open hills with elevation. Nice baskets and tee signs...Easy to navigate. Well maintained mowed fairways. Open so it is relaxing disc golf. Fun to throw up and down hill at open baskets. Great place to work on shots and teach the game. The views here are really pretty.
Cons: Looong walk from car to hole #1. Takes about as long to walk to course as it does to play course. It is not real challenging, except for chances at aces, experts will get bored here. Baskets are literally next to tee pads of next hole. Just 9 holes. holes 1 and 9 literally face one another, like a game of chicken almost. A tough to see road is very close to hole 2 and 7 baskets. I did not notice it until a car roared by. woooah! Tee pads are not great, but you don't need much here. Seems like this land has a lot more potential. Trees everywhere but none on the course.
Other Thoughts: Along the long beautiful walk I observed a few open fields a lot of old growth forrest with natural lanes. Amazing elevation. This could be a destination course if someone gives some love. I keep getting pleasantly surprised by some of these 9 holers. I would suggest other disc golfers make a point to at least check some of them out. Some of them are really fun.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Good place to work on approach shots. In a really nice park.
Cons: No variety, no distance. Every hole is a couple hundred feet (117' to 339') to a wide open basket. The course is set up on the side of a hill. Only about 5 trees come into play during the whole course and they are all on hole 3. The tees are about 15 feet from the previous basket (literally). There isn't much to this course at all.
Other Thoughts: The only reason you would want to take more than one disc out is for practice on shots. I took my overstable Roc out and played the entire course. Whoever put in this course obviously never played the sport before. It gets one disc because the baskets were nice and the course seemed to be in very good condition.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.