Layout Extinct

Hattiesburg, MS 
Desert Fox DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It all leads to the water...

1    5/29/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: One pro is that there is a course there at all. Any increase in courses is great in and of itself.
The park is a great park with great scenary.
Cons: This is NOT a novice friendly course. I am a novice player and i took my children (ages 9 and 5) out there and the majority of the holes they would not through at in fear of losing a disc in the lake.
Another con is that many of the holes arounf the lake have a downhill slope where a rolling disc roles right downhill into the lake.
Navigating the course was very hard. I was a good thing I got the map from the office or i would have no clue where to have gone. The holes and directions were not marked very good.
Other Thoughts: If you are a novice golfer go ahead and take you and extendable fishing pole to get you disc out of the lake, because they WILL end up in the water. I lost one disc, rolled one disc in the water (but was able to retrieve it) and my nine year old rolled one in the water during a putt. I had to wade out in the water two retrieve two of my disc. We only played seven holes and we were not happy golfers when we left.

 could be better

5+    12/20/2009   4/28/2010
Review By: mozz46
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: They have a good Pro shop. All the basic things at a state park. They change up some holes on the coures after Katrina, and added some baskets to the course also.
Cons: What used to be hole 17 was blocked by Fema trailers. Need to update hole locations.
Other Thoughts: But overall still a good course to play.

 worth playing but needs work

1    11/7/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -weaves around a lake with great scenery
-challenging water hazards
-cool elevated basket on 11, peninsula green on 6, throw across the water on 9
-great facilities: restrooms, pro shop, vending machines
-some concrete teepads, some tee signs
-pro and am tees
-$3 fee keeps out the riffraff
-camping facilities on site
-considering there is not much else in the area, it's not bad for what is almost your only option
Cons: -very difficult to navigate (i had the course map and still had to spend time looking for tees)
-most of the new tees are marked only by small flags in the ground
-not much variety in shots, lines, etc.
-surprised there aren't any trash cans on the course at a state park. trash cans at the main building
-lots of great physical features (trees, fields, water) but not used to greatest effect
-very difficult to find hole 12
Other Thoughts: Apparently this area was affected by Katrina and the course is still being put back together. It has potential to be a nice course but there is too much that needs to be done to rate it any higher.

The two biggest problems here are design and navigation. I really don't think the space and the landscape are used effectively. This could be a great lakeside course but it needs some re-thinking. The course was redesigned after the hurricane but it looks like only the tees were moved when really the basket placements should be rethought as well.

Definitely needs new tee signs, new concrete would be sweet and some navigational aides especially after hole 11 when it moves away from the water and across the road.

Map at the main building needs visual references besides the lake (trees lines, the road, etc)

All that said, it's a fun round once you figure out where you are going. Most of the front either plays up to or along side the water. 12-18 are across the road where there are more trees (but not wooded) and an open field.

If you're in the area, this course is certainly worth playing. Improvements will make it a 3 rating.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park

1    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park that the course is located in is just awesome. The facilities and pro shop are exactly what you want. The course as I was told was re-done after Katrina's damage and it looks very good. They give you a scorecard/map when you enter the park, if you tell them you're there to play. It is free for Military, which is awesome. Very challenging shots with the water hazards. Must be precise at times due to that. Doglegs both right and left, which challenges your approach constantly. Varying distances.
Cons: I played here on a weekend and holes 4-6 play through a beach area that was heavily populated with people. This is a minor flaw but definitely don't want to hurt anyone. The baskets are pretty good but are somewhat old. They need to get an updated scorecard with the right map on it, because it was my first time and I was lost because they completely changed 7-12 from what is on the card. Also minor because the scorecard is very nice.
Other Thoughts: A great place in general to spend a weekend at this park. They have everything you'd want in a park. Cabin rentals, a huge lake, disc golf, great picnic areas and facilities for local information at the park main office which has a disc golf pro shop in it as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 totally remade

5+    7/21/2010   12/26/2007
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: excellent variety of holes. Water is in play on many holes with 2 shots across water. There are some elevation changes and a good mix of wooded and more open holes. The park has a nice clubhouse/office where you can sit and eat or cool off and use the restroom. they sell discs too.
Cons: because of the changes to the course not all of the holes have good tee pads. going from 23 to 18 holes is a step in the wrong direction.Navigation is an issue. The office was totally sold out of discs when I was there.
Other Thoughts: This is actually a different course than the one in my original review. The course has gone from 23 to 18 holes because of the park adding a kids play area. Many holes were lost and several others have changed with some totally new holes added also. the new layout is very good and overall this is one of the best courses around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Coming Back After Katrina

6/28/2007   6/28/2007
Review By: jtfurr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I learned to play on and was my home course for 5 years. I always thought this course was excellent, but it was unfortunately heavily damaged by Hurricane Katrina. The administrators at the park have done a good job of restoring the course and I would highly recommend it to other players.

This course is challenging with its most unique attribute being the extensive use of water as a hazard (especially on hole 10 where the hole is on a small peninsula in a lake). There are also several holes where mild elevation changes and trees come into play. There is a good mix of short holes and long holes.
Cons: Several of the holes, particularly 13, 14, and 15, traveled through a densely wooded area and were some of the most challenging holes on the course. These holes now have no trees and are pretty much just open shots. The pictures that are currently on here do not show the way these holes look now.
Other Thoughts: This course is a long-time favorite of mine and is still a joy to play after damage incurred from Hurricane Katrina.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.