Disc Golf Store
Middletown, OH 
Wilson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
-- / 280ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wilson

5+    3/22/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Ummm. . . Not many pro's here. Small open course, if your in to that sort of thing. Beginners can find a better place to play.
Cons: You name it. If you live longer than 10 minutes away from this one, your wasting your time. Bad baskets and worse pads.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/10/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilson Park is a 9 hole course right next to a school. There is a course map at the start of the course. It has multiple tee pads which help cater to a wider variety of skill level. There are some elevation changes that come into play on about half the holes. A couple the holes have some rough in play and most have mature trees in play.
Cons: There is a course map by hole 1 which makes the course look simple to navigate but quickly found out it isn't. Only 4 holes have tee signs, a couple have posts with numbers and some tees aren't marked. A few of the baskets don't have hole numbers on which doesn't help figuring out which basket to throw at.

There isn't a very good shot variety here.

The tees are gravel/dirt. The discatcher baskets look old and worn and only have the outer ring of chains.

The course feels pretty cramped in the park so be careful if other people are present on the course or playground.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for anyone who lives close by, but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here. There's only rough on a few holes so it's not bad for beginners although a really bad shot could end up in someone's back yard.

Be sure to take a course map with you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wilson Park

5+    8/20/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 8/21/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: practice 9 hole course, behind school in middletown. great for putt practice, and semi long shots.
Cons: not a lot of room, only 9 holes. Can they make this course with more holes and a little more room? Still needs a few more tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Noticed they added some new signs and tee posts in great shape now.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Variety despite small lot for nine

5+    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilson Park DGC is situated on a small, rectangular, rolling lot of land behind an elementary school, bordered by shrubbery and residences, but makes interesting use of the land to incorporate nine holes, plus multiple tee and positions to create variety. They have recently begun upgrading the tees to gravel, cement, and rubber (not quite flypad) material.
The hole distances range from 225 to 400 feet or so (purple, or mid-level tees), and include some potential for shaping lines around and through the bushes and trees.
The first hole runs out from the lot, on the right, with a straight 290 footer (all notes here are purple tees, rhbh), followed by a fairly tight 243' anny, where you might want to keep an eye out for folks teeing off on #3, just beyond the #2 basket. If you like quirky art, look for a blue bottle tree near the third tee, which is a bit of a blind anny into a slight tunnel, but they've cleared a lot of the bushes behind the basket, so it doesn't kill you to go in to the right. The long #4 hole parallels back across the field just past the largest pine, and you turn around there and shoot a 315 footer over the slope (peek ahead to check which pin position, if you want to park this one). The sixth hole plays along the left fence, and either through a spreading tree, or to a more exposed pin position (which didn't help me the two (!) times now I've drilled it in the center, to have it fall out on me. I don't think it's a bad basket, I just think I'm jinxed). The tees for #7 make this like two very different holes, and #8 is vastly different, depending on pin position. In the long, it's 400', beyond the large tree in the bottom of the slope, and uphill behind a pair of tree/bushes. You finish coming back into the shade of a set of pines, fairly close to the #8 tee box (see notes below).
If you happen to shank one into the occasional patch of thick stuff, you probably won't have to search too long, because it doesn't run too deep before becoming somebody's back yard.
Some of the newer tee and pin positions make (particularly the red) holes a bit shorter than the first time I played there, which seems appropriate for a school lot course. But there were one or two improvements each time I visited this summer, which corresponds to the young, energetic group of local players who hold weekly ace funds and other events to keep on upgrading the course. I heard they recently replaced one basket that had been crushed by falling timber :(
They've begun adding some nicer tee signs, which are color coded for clarity. The map kiosk is handy, but if you're there alone, print out the map included here on DGCR, or plan to go safari.
Being attached to the school, there is a nice little playground situated mostly safely between the expansive parking lot and the course, so there's at least something to do for the non-playing members of the family. I wouldn't, however, leave very young ones to play here alone, because this appears to be a bit of a gathering spot for middle schoolers who have nothing much to do in the summer, but try to impress each other with their language and behavior ;)
Cons: The new-ish tees seem to create some hazard at times, like the fact that the fairway for #9 means a likely drive right into the #8 tee (unless there is an intention to create a mando to go to the right around the line of trees: but chuckers won't likely get that notion, and might just amplify the danger by just going for the basket). Several other fairways (2,3,4,5, # 7) run the same risk as most parallel fairways: an errant throw, or grip lock may be hazardous if a crowd is present (but I've seldom been here when it was crowded).
So far, I haven't seen benches, trash cans, bathrooms or running water (but I'm sure the latter is on site, being a school playground).
Other Thoughts: There isn't much challenge here for the intermediate to advanced player (playing the course as laid out), but it feels just about right for my level (Rec).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  practice course

5+    6/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: camjam98
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course is located behind a sbhool on only about 4 acers of land. this is the best course if your wanting to practice up shots and putts.
Cons: the holes are not as long as they could be. spots need to be filled it for pads but there working on that. tress on the right are thick so if a disc gose in there be looking to climb.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

2-4    5/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: n8dawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good course to practice, but not nothing worth traveling to.
Cons: nothing is marked, and there are no pads, last time I played there were a few spots that were worn from teeing off. If you dont bring the course map then you wont know where to tee from
Other Thoughts: the course is always clean but would much rather travel to monroe on turtlecreek

If there were just markings of where to throw it would make the course so much better.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Elementary School Course?

1    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set on an elementary school property, and, as such, it is well maintained. There is little schule and very few places to lose discs.

There are decent baskets (DISCatchers with a single set of chains) and a good kiosk map. The map shows the multiple tee locations which are a big plus in giving this course length-variety. Some holes from the shorts are very short while sone of the long tees create long bomb opportunities.
Cons: First of all, without a map (which we had), we would have been completely lost. Some of the holes are marked with a single wooden stack with a painted top (indicating which tee pad it is) and most of those had a number sticker on them. However, not every hole and certainly not every placement was marked. Sometimes it was obvious from a dirt patch in the grass where the tee pad was, but most of the time it was not. There were some tee pads that had paint marking them, but it was faded and hard to see.

The course had several "fairways" that were not really defined at all. The basket was behind several large, sprawling trees with no clear path for the flight of a disc. The worst was hole 2 where, from the long pad, one had to shoot dangerously close to neighbors fences through a very narrow gap in the trees. (Hole 6 was very similar.) This is not a good combination for the type of player using an elementary school course.

This was the most disconcerting thing for me: this is not an elementary school course. I brought my wife and child, and they left discouraged at the course's length and a little nervous after we got an errant disc from someone's yard. As such, this course is not well designed for its location.

The other main design issue here is that many of the holes overlap, with tees for two holes literally on top of each other (check out the map). It was hard to stay "in the fairway" when many of the fairways ran together.
Other Thoughts: I guess the main reason I didn't like the course was that I was expecting a very easy, very beginner friendly course and instead found a longer course (the distances listed on Cincinnati's web site are way off) that was very strange in spots with no obvious fairways for beginning players.

With better signage marking all the tees and with some rerouting of a few bad fairways, this course could have potential.

But as someone who has played almost every 9 hole course along I-75 in Ohio, there are many others I would much rather play for a quick round to stretch the legs. As someone else wrote, this course is not worth the trip unless you live in town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small Course behind school

1    9/12/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: fairmike9
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short holes excellent putting practice course.
Cons: not to well marked course map definitely needed to figure tees and greens.
Other Thoughts: Definitely take a course map with you and you can figure out the multiple tee placements. Which way holes go. Stuff like that. You can get course map off of GCFDA website.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cramped

1    6/21/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was well maintained and there was a map on the course sign to give you an idea of where tees were.
Cons: Very cramped.. you are pretty much just criss-crossing the same small area for each hole.
Other Thoughts: The course plays in a small, open field behind a school. While there weren't any challenging holes as far as play is concerned, the course did present a challenge when it came to figuring out exactly which basket you were throwing at due to many baskets being pretty close to each other.

I could see coming to this course for some practice if you lived nearby but it definitely isn't worth driving out of your way to play. Even if you're already passing through town I'd say skip it as there are nicer, more challenging courses within a few miles that would be significantly more fun and worth your time.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.