Disc Golf Store
Lorton, VA 
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #17
3 / 207ft.   3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 17



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
So So

2-4    2/8/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are short and tight, which force you to think a little creatively about how to get through the trees to the basket.

The park is pretty and free (for Fairfax County residents).

The focus here is on curving mid range shots and putts. Good for skill building.

A couple of slight up and down holes but not so much that it is challenging.
Cons: The course is very tight and it is not uncommon to land a disc on one of the other holes if you misfire.

At some points, the trees are obnoxiously dense and a novice could easily become frustrated at the high likelihood of smacking one.

Not a whole lot of variety here. Many are simple pitch-and-putt holes with a slight bend.
Other Thoughts: This park is pretty close to me, and I am kind of disappointed it isn't nicer. I suppose the designer did a pretty good job with very limited space, but nevertheless Pohick Bay leaves you wanting more, especially having played a gem like New Quarter in Williamsburg.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Pitch & Putt In The Woods!

1    7/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pohick Bay is a short (most holes play around 200') technical course with enough elevation to make the course interesting. There are some interesting and creative basket placements and accuracy is much more important than strength here.

The course is well taken care of with concrete pads, Innova baskets, multiple garbage cans and benches. There's ample shade for those warm Virginia days. Long tees add to the challenge.
Cons: $8 to park seems a little excessive.

There's really only a couple of places to throw anything other than your mid-range. The holes are all fairly similar.

I don't know if this course ever gets too crowded but if it did, I could see discs possibly flying into each others fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played with Carlos, a 75 year old guy. His doctor advised him to get more exercise so now plays four rounds every day at Pohick Bay. He's practicing for the Senior Worlds in Indiana. Don't you just love this about our sport! Some of you guys might be playing 50 or 55 years from now! Getting ready for the 2063 Senior Worlds! Contemplate that for a moment folks! Think about the discs you'll be throwing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Washinton

5+    5/26/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located in Pohick Bay Park where you can stay in a cabin within walking distance from the course.
Cons: Most of the holes are right next to one another and stray disc often zoom into your fairway.
Also a few of the holes play through an open field and non disc golfers sometimes use this field
Other Thoughts: The mingolf is right next to it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange Madness

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, fun place to play. 18 Good holes with signs and benches and trash cans as needed. A generally short course. You can play the entire thing with a understable middie. Bring a Innova Wedge or an ABS Flying Squirrel and this is a 1 disc course. Tee pads have recently been enlarged. Nice, but not needed based upon the size of the holes here. What land was comitted to this was used very well. A few holes shoot in and out of the forest. Great tree pinball to be played here. Great opporutnities for shot shaping. Many ways to play many holes so as to keep out the boredom if you were a frequuent playing local. Light traffic on a beautiful Sunday kept my round moving fast. Good combination of annie and hyzer shots to play aroound with. perfect noobie/rookie course as nothing to defeat those with very little arm.
Cons: Not much length or hole length variety here. All holes play in a basic, similar length range. The few mandos were fun, but in most cases a bit silly as they are not needed to enhance the experience. But having them is a great way to teach an element of the rules to noobies and rookies.
Other Thoughts: $7 to enter park and $2 to play. I was happy to pay as I always am happy to play where the $ is well spent to provide nice golfing experiences. Well worth my $9. Zero trash. Pads, signs and other elements well maintained.
No hole stood out as a signature hole fo the experience.
the big arm crowd will gripe about the lack of distsnce here... But I would challenge many to come here, play by the rules and shoot a low score. Shot shaping, disc control and precision is king here. Wwant to just let it rip? Go play 16 at Giles meadow.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

new layout at pohick bay

5+    5/12/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: 2headstalking
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very tight course with close holes, not much walking from pin to tee.

Redone tee pads make throwing much easier (all concrete now, no wood or hard dirt)

new baskets and multiple tee set up makes this course challenging over an above the all tree set up.. (bring your 'used' discs here, or you'll be treebanging those new ones)

there is a nearby store that you can purchase discs and other items from (down the road past the water park area) it closes at 8 which gives plenty of time to check out the innova plastic.
Cons: 8 dollar parking fee for those not from the fairfax county area (you can buy a season pass to all the PW parks for 30 dollars, i'd suggest this if you plan to play 4 or more times)

new pin locations put almost every basket behind a tree. While this might be exciting for veterans and those able to control their throws well, this is very difficult for new players.

trees, trees and more trees. if you don't have lots of disc control, expect to hit lots of trees.. only 3 holes have wide open area to shoot through (that's really not a con, but the tress sure can be)
Other Thoughts: I've played this course since around 2004 and while it's changed with upgraded baskets and other minor things, the recent pin relocations really made my head spin. the course was already challenging to me, now it's a bit too difficult, even if I use the short tee set. the tee maps show multiple pins, but each hole only has one basket currently.

this is my 'home' course, since i learned on it and it's within 10 miles of my house. it's a fun course, with lots of shade and even on busy days, it only takes about 45 minutes to complete.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/28/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pohick Bay is a very entertaining course that although short plays creatively through some thick woods with very little underbrush.

The baskets and tee signs looked pretty new. The signs were accurate and very dscriptive.

Quite a few holes had two tee pads, with the longer tee usually subtlety changing the angle of the hole instead of adding distance only. There are also multiple pin positions that help create a little variety.

The course is very compact but the designer tried to make the most of it. Using all available elevation, obstacles and using some mando's to make it more interesting. There is a good balance of straight, left and right turning holes. The course also starts and finishes very close to the parking lot.

This is a very fun, very fast play. You could easily crank out 18 holes in 35-45 minutes without rushing.

A great place to have an all putter round or to work on your Mids and Putters off the tee.
Cons: Very short and not too challenging. I would imagine this was originally designed for Lids but I am not sure.

Compact. I am not too sure how fun it would be to play when the course is crowded since a lot of the tees and baskets are fairly close to each other.

No other real cons the course is what it is.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that would be a great beginner course, or a putter course for those more experienced. It will provide a nice technical challenge through the trees without being overly difficult with a couple of ace runs available.

The course itself is located is a nice regional park that has a lot of nice Non-Disc Golf activities. Plus there are two other courses right down the road: Burke Lake and Giles Run!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 convenient

2-4    7/24/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient to camping. Nice water park right next door too! Holes well marked. Very little underbrush. Easy fun course.
Cons: Short. There was no obvious flight path on many holes. Very tight. Some of the tees are old and falling apart. Several of the signs are backwards to what is really in play.
Other Thoughts: Set up a lot like a putt-putt course but pretty nicely done with the space they had to work with.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  much improved

5+    8/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: randyputt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has undergone a major upgrade since the beginning of the year (2011). All new baskets, alternate pin positions on most holes, and long tee pads on most holes. With the long tee pads the course is much more challenging than it was before. And rotating the pin positions makes for more variety.
Cons: A compact course so not alot of room for long throws, though a few holes cross over a field so there is some open area for "airing it out." Litter sometimes is a sore point but not as bad as it used to be. It still amazes me how some people can drop their trash two feet away from an empty trash can.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting and enjoyable course with a range of difficulty from pretty easy to fairly tough. The park staff deserves alot of credit for spending the money and doing the work to makes Pohick a very good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight & short

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New innova baskets, new hole signs (not all 18 yet), concrete tees, ace runs, some holes short but tough. The tees are small but you don't need to run up on these holes. Lots of deuces for guys like me is fun for a change.
Cons: The only con for me was some of the tee pads were really close to the previous basket. But most holes are short with lots of trees so the chances of getting hit are slim. Some may not like the short course as too easy but I played 2 rounds of 18 and it was quick & fun.
Other Thoughts: I was impressed. It is apparent they are trying to improve this course and it is paying off. There were a good mix of players on the course today. Families & their kids, experienced players, beginners & first timers. Discs are available at the park.

I was finishing my first 18 and a guy popped an ace on #1 as I was walking towards the #1 tee pad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 There is a reason "hick" is in the name

1    11/26/2010   1/15/2011
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close parking to 1 and 18
Nice tee pads
Cons:
Other Thoughts: For some reason this course just didn't do it for me. It just had a really old feel to it. Lots of trash on the ground and I just didn't enjoy it. Burke Lake & Giles Run are down the road and I feel are much better courses. It doesn't have that welcoming feel like Burke Lake or Rockburn Branch. I know I am gonna get some backlash for this but it's just how I feel. I won't be going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.